BBB Accredited Business since

Performance Pool & Spa

Additional Locations

Phone: (763) 230-5002 Fax: (651) 731-8372 View Additional Phone Numbers 2405 Annapolis Ln N Ste 280, Plymouth, MN 55441 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.performancepools.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Performance Pool & Spa meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Performance Pool & Spa include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Performance Pool & Spa
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 21, 1990 Business started: 04/01/1990 Business started locally: 04/01/1990
Business Management
Mike Pearson, CEO Dave Spilde, Owner/Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mike Pearson, CEO
Customer Contact: Dave Spilde, Owner/Manager
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Enclosures Swimming Pool Service & Repair Fence Contractors Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts Landscape Contractors Cabanas - Beach & Pool Patio & Deck Builders

Alternate Business Names
Dependable Pools
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Performance Pool & Spa specializing in pool and spa sales and installation. The company is a one-stop-shop to serve customers' backyard needs as well as concrete, fencing, and landscaping. Work is performed throughout Minnesota and Western Wisconsin.


Additional Locations

  • 1270 County Road 42 W

    Burnsville, MN 55337 (952) 435-9743 (763) 230-5002

  • 1890 Wooddale Dr Ste 800

    Woodbury, MN 55125

  • 2405 Annapolis Ln N Ste 280

    Plymouth, MN 55441 (651) 731-3440

  • 6922 55th St. No.

    Oakdale, MN 55128 (651) 773-5883 (651) 779-6610

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have an Aquamatic Hydromatic automatic pool cover that was opening rough and was told it needed a bearing replaced. To prevent damaging the system I left the cover in the open position and hired performance to complete the repair. Performance initially estimated the repair would cost 300 + parts and assured me they were more than qualified to complete the repair. Once onsite their staff associate Pat indicated to me that repair may take longer and eventually informed he would not be able to complete the repair as it would require having the concrete decking removed as the track bearing was encapsulated. Pat convinced me that encapsulating the bearing was done incorrectly, after talking with the manufacturer and other pool companies this is a common way to install the track. He was very quick to persuade me that we should replace the entire unit and that they would send me an estimate for that service. We did discuss the condition of the cover and that he would at least put some of the new parts in and it would be in the same condition it was in before he started servicing it. Upon returning home I noticed the cover had been damaged and the ropes had been stretched to a point they were not able to be used. I immediately contacted performance and corresponded with Justin who indicated that Pat had damaged the ropes in an effort to complete the repair. I wanted additional information and Justin was quick to provide the estimate to completely replace the cover but slow to provide any information on the service completed. I eventually found out that no new parts were installed. I contacted Aquamatic directly and they indicated Pat had also contacted them and indicated he was not familiar with this cover and requested assistance on the repair. Aquamatic explained the process for removing the encapsulated bearing. I asked them to explain the process to me and provide documentation. After receiving the replacement parts from the vendor I was able to remove the track and replace the bearings and rope in a few hours. This is a blatant example of an unskilled labor hired to do professional work. I myself have no previous experience working on pool covers and was able to follow the directions provided by the company without removing or damaging the concrete that performance was so adamant needed to be removed. Not only was performance not able to complete the repair but damaged a main component of the cover. I have left voicemail's and emails for Justin and he has not returned my calls or attempted to contact me.

Desired Settlement: Performance refunds the 570 charged to complete the repair. Performance also indicated the cost of the replacement rope is estimated at 800, I will agree the rope was cut short prior to service but still opened 99% and was still functional. The rope was stretched and damaged beyond function by Performance and required immediate replacement. I was able to order the rope directly from the vendor for 250, I believe performance should cover this cost.

Business Response:

The shop and technician both communicated fully with Mr. ****** through the process.  He had even complimented us on how quickly we were able to get out and how responsive we were while on site.  Pat, the technician, called Mr. ****** after 1 hour of work and informed him of the dire condition of the auto cover and got his permission to continue working on it.  Pat also contacted the manufacture while on site and explained how the cover track was installed.  The manufacture informed him that due to the tracks being extended further into the concrete than recommend when installing, that concrete would need to be chipped away in order to get to the pulley.  It should be know that Pat has been working on auto covers in this industry for 19 years.  There are multiple steps to accessing the pulley, the first of which is to remove a section of the tracking.  Due to how this was installed, and shifting over the years, Pat had to custom make a tool onsite to remove the shims that lock the track into place.  After finally getting the shims out, he then needed to pull the rope out of the system.  The rope was not moving so he had to create a winch system to try and pull the rope through.  This resulted in the rope stretching due to the amount of pressure that had to be applied, and was explained to Mr. ******.  After many hours on the job Pat and his helper were still unable to gain access to the pulley and didn't want to break up the concrete.  A conversation was had with Mr. ****** and it was agreed that we would reassemble everything onsite.  Due to the stretch in the rope the cover was unable to operate.

 

I am not disputing that Mr. ****** was able to fix the system himself, but suffice it to say if he was trying to perform this work in the state the cover was in originally (before we spent hours working everything free) he would not have been able to fix it.  I would contend that he likely tried to fix it already, and then contacted us.  We don't run into customers that are do it yourself customers like this who call first and then attempt to fix the cover.  We communicated throughout the process and got approvals along the way.  I am glad his cover is now functional, but know that we did nothing wrong in our process.  An experienced technician was onsite working along with the manufacture via phone contact to try and fix the cover issues.  I feel we owe nothing at this point and should be fully compensated for our time.  I would offer to pay for the rope at our cost, or if Mr. ****** can provide a receipt from the manufacture for his cost on the rope, as that seems high if he purchased it directly from them.

 

Justin ******

Performance Pool and Spa

###-###-####

***************************

Regards,

 

Consumer Response:

 I am rejecting this response because:

While I agree that Pat remained in contact during the visit and I do appreciate that, Performance admits they did contact the supplier while onsite. If Pat had 19 years of experience working with this product why would he need to reach out. Why would the supplier tell me that Pat called them and express that he wasnt familiar with it. I also agree that I am a DIY but this is a brand new pool and house that we had moved into very recently and this cover was beyond my understanding and I did not want to get involved and that's why I hired performance. It's concerning that rather than accept that your staff admitted to a vendor they were not familiar with the product you blame the customer for previously damaging the product. If I had previously worked on it why would I have contacted your company and allowed you to damage my ropes without completely the repair. It was only after performance failed to complete the repair that I got involved after consulting another pool company and the vendor of the cover directly. 

 

I believe Performance is not being honest in this matter and even though they stayed in contact they did not have the experience or knowledge required to complete the repair professionally and should refund the charges. Performance is still standing  by the belief that the concrete needed to be removed to complete the repair and fails to address that I was able to complete the repair without removing it. I have sent pictures to both the vendor and another pool company and both agree the track and bearings were encapsulated correctly, so the notion that performance is saying it was wrong is further evidence they were not skilled in repairing this product. 

 

 

 

Business Response:

It was stated that our technician has 19 years’ experience working on covers, not 19 years on this specific brand of covers.  It is common practice by our company to have technicians contact tech support for any manufacturer if they run into problems.  No one is disputing that Pat was running into problems on-site.  When he explained to the manufacturer what he was dealing with, they were the ones that told him the installation was incorrect.  He called you to ask if you wanted him to proceed, and told you he was struggling and would be there for a while.  This was the opportunity for you to say “no, please hold off while I investigate further into the matter.”  By authorizing him to continue the work, and then continue with a BBB claim and request for no charges you have painted us into a corner.  We did the correct thing and we need to be compensated for our time on site.  As was previously stated we will cover the cost of the rope at the $250 rate, and only request that you provide a copy of the receipt.  We will also credit back 1 hour of 2 man labor ($170) in an attempt to meet some type of compromise.  You are welcome to think what you want about our technicians, but they are very experienced and work on every make and model of cover.  Often times other pool companies actually refer their cover customers to us such as Atlantis Pools in Brooklyn Park, MN.

12/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company performed spa repair work without authorization. I called Performance Pool & Spa ("PPS") on a Monday about scheduling a repair visit for my spa. I was told on the phone that the technician would probably be at my house no later than Wednesday. I was not given a day or time range specifically for the technician. In order to make the appointment, I was required to provide my credit card information. When I returned home from work on Wednesday, I find an invoice from PPS for more than $700 which invoice indicates that PPS will charge the credit card on file for the amount. The line on the invoice for my signature authorizing the work is of course blank. PPS did not call me prior to performing the work to obtain authorization for the work. My husband and I both called PPS and spoke with Alex in the office. He provided inconsistent information regarding our spa during these calls and indicated that this is how PPS does business. After a long call with Alex, I was given the option of either paying the bill or having a technician come out and remove the part which was installed. I indicated that I needed to talk to the technician and ask appropriate due diligence questions before I could decide if that was what we wanted to do. PPS indicated that they would not permit me to talk to the technician and would also not provide a time frame for the technician to come back to the house which I requested so I could be present when the technician was there.

Desired Settlement: On site discussion with technician regarding work completed and potentially return of spa to original condition.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2015/12/04) */

9/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They damaged the pool liner during installation. Twice, they charged my credit card without authorization. Showed up with out notifying us. The following is a summary of the issues: 1)The pool liner they installed is now damaged. And we believe they caused this damage (tear) either during the installation process or when they repaired their improper installation of the pool coping. 2)They never scheduled appointments to do any of their work. Even though I expressly and repeatedly asked this be done. Instead they just showed up without any prior notice and did the work while neither my husband or I were present. 3)They charged my credit card twice WITHOUT my authorization. They just told me since I gave them the credit card number for the downpayment, that I authorized the card to be on file for future use. I NEVER would have authorized this! Below are some of the details of what happened during this whole process. On May 21st, 2015 we signed a contract with Performance Pool to replace the liner on our pool. We then contacted Justin (over the phone) to give him our credit card number for the down payment. At no point, did I authorize this credit card number to go "on-file" or that it could ever be used for any further charges. On June 17th, the company just showed up at my house without any notification. They began working without anyone being home. Later that day my mom returned to the house and was surprised to see people in our backyard. at this point, my mom told me the pool liner had already been installed. This was a shock for two reasons: (1)I was clear with Justin that I or my husband wanted to be there when the liner was removed. (2)I was also very clear I needed notification when they would be at our house so I could let my mom know (since she is there alone with both my kids). On this date, they completed most of the installation. The next day, again without notification, they came to complete the installation. When my husband got home from work, they asked him to sign-off that the pool liner had been installed (which it had been) and that they would just need to finish up the installation on the coping around the pool before they left. Later that evening, my husband went out to the pool to start it for the season and noticed the coping was improperly installed. Around 1/3 of the pieces weren't hooked in to the ledge piece - which resulted in loose pieces which sat above the properly installed coping pieces. (which made them trip hazards.) We called Justin immediately letting him know there was an issue with the coping. We heard nothing back from Justin. On June 23rd, a person came to fix the coping (again without notification). My husband happened to home and explained what was wrong with the coping. A little while later my husband went back outside to check on the progress but he had already left. A few days later (sometime the following week), I found a bill in our front door (in an area not easily noticeable). This bill for $60 was for them coming out to fix their error in the installation of the coping. On the bill it said charging card on file. When I went to check my credit card, they indeed had charged my card again WITHOUT my authorization. Plus, I never would have agreed to pay them extra money to fix their installation issue. For the next two weeks nobody was near the pool, because the water was too cold to swim and we were up north or busy with family. On Jul 4th, my husband went down to get the pool ready to use for the first time this year, and noticed the tear in the liner. We called Justin immediately to tell him the issue. Justin left a message on Monday (July 6th) asking some questions about the tear. I called him back answering his questions. On Tuesday, AGAIN someone showed up and just went in a fixed the pool liner. There was not agreement with us to have this done. After completing the fix they handed my mom a bill. I immediately contacted them and was clear this charge was not authorized - so this time they didn't charge me.

Desired Settlement: I tried to work with the Performance Pools (through Justin) to resolve this issue. On July 7th, I sent him an email summarizing all the issue we have had with his company and the installation of the liner. As of now, he agreed to credit back my card for the $60 service call to fix the incorrectly installed coping (this was credited back on July 8th) and told us he wouldn't charge us to repair the tear in the liner. However, he is not taken any responsibility for the tear in the pool liner or any of the improper business practices. His plan is to do nothing else regarding this. Which is why, as of today, we are disputing the second credit card charge ($2,400) which we never authorized. So, we want them to agree not to dispute this and return this money to the credit card. I also want them to change their practices and (1) never charge people without their permission (2) Schedule service appointments. We also wanted to try and make sure this doesn't happen to anyone else, which is while we are filling with the Better Business Bureau.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/07/24) */ ********, Please see attached documentation in additional to the following response. July 21st 2015 Re: Case ******** ***** ****** Ms. ****** signed her contract for the replacement of a new liner on 5/21, in doing so agreeing to the terms including payment procedure. Payment is due at time of completion, thus her card was run after install of liner on 6/24. In regards to the scheduling of this project, it is our practice to attempt to contact the customer the morning of service but if we cannot reach the homeowner, we proceed with install in an effort to complete the project in a timely manner. We apologize that we did not reach you before the work was completed. In regards to the fixing of the coping, it was not necessary for us to remove the coping as part of our liner install and was not caused by our technicians. We refunded the charge for this trip and fixed the coping. In regards to the tear in the liner, we addressed the issue with Ms. ****** and agreed to patch this without a fee. When we were asked for her recommendation on how to remedy the situation, she asked that we refund the $60 and cover the costs to fix the repair, which we did. Attached documentation shows that the size of the tear in the liner and how it mirrors the size and shape of a vacuum pole. We do not take responsibility for this tear and agreed to fix this tear as a courtesy. In regards to charging people without their permission, this permission was granted with the signed contract attached ($2400 being both the liner replacement and final bill completion). In conclusion, we apologize for the inconvenience that our schedule may have caused. Our intention is to provide you with the service as fast as possible so you can enjoy your pool in our short Minnesota summers. Kindest regards, Performance Pool and Spa Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2015/08/04) */ Sorry for the late response. We have been in the up North and this is the first time I have been able to connect to the internet. In response to Performance Pool and Spa In terms of scheduling: We requested an estimated time for when they thought they would do the installation (we never received this estimated date - even an approximate week would have been nice). In terms of them contacting us prior to any of their visits, this never occurred. We never received a phone call, voice mail, email, or any type of contact letting us know they were going to be on our property. This included them coming out to our house to repair the tear, which we never even agree to have them do. Also, we were very clear that we wanted to be present when the old linear was going to be removed (we wanted to see the condition of the pool walls - which we now have no idea of there condition). I even told Justin we could be available with one day notice. In terms of charging our credit card: In the contract we signed, it was clear when payment was due. Nowhere in the contact does it state that we grant their company authorization to automatically charge our credit card for these payments. We gave Justin our credit card over the phone for the downpayment (this was done because when we went to their store to give them the downpayment, the staff member there did not know what to do). At no time during this conversation, where I gave Justin my credit card number, did I agree (or would I ever agree) to grant their company the authority to charge my credit card for these other payments or for whenever they performed work on my pool. I especially would never do this since the final payment is all the customer has to ensure the work is done well. They charged our credit card before we had agreed the work was done to our satisfaction. In terms of the coping: We talked with Justin regarding the coping (before we signed the contract) and he knew they were going to have to install the coping because it was not currently installed (which they would have seen when they came out to measure our pool - which they also did without contacting us). They did the installation of the coping at the time they installed the linear, they just installed it incorrectly (including damaging some of our j channels). So, they came back to fix it (this is when they charged us the $60, again against our credit card without our permission). They did credit us back for this charge, but this was only after I told them I was going to dispute it with the credit card company. At this time, some of the coping is still not properly installed. We don't want them to do anything about it (since the damage j channel fixing it the first time and either they don't know how to properly install these or don't care about how it was done). We will either correct it ourselves or work with another pool company to fix them. In terms of the tear: Only their staff was near the pool with any type of equipment or tools which would cause this type of tear. I'm not sure what the pole is in the picture. Our vacuum pole was stored away from the pool attached to the vacuum head. At no point prior to our initial cleaning, was our vacuum pole in the pool without the head and handle so it couldn't have made the tear. Also because of the company patching the tear without any notice we didn't have a chance to compare the size of the tear to our vacuum pole. (In fact, we had called them telling them we wanted to discuss what should be done.) We never authorized them or even discussed with them the possibility for them to come out to our house to do anything regarding this tear. It is possible that the company put a pole into the water to fish out a piece of coping or from a piece of coping falling into the pool. We were planning on doing a more thorough investigation of the tear ourselves (when we came home from work that day), however, they had already come out and patched it. So this ended up in us not being able to do a thorough investigation of the tear ourselves. We didn't know there was a tear until my husband vacuumed the pool for the first time this season. At first glance it just looked like there was some sand on the pool floor and only after my husband tried to vacuum it up and it didn't come clean did he notice that it was actually a tear. Right after they completed the repair, they handed my mom a bill for this unauthorized service. The bill stated they were going to automatically charge my credit card for this bill as well. The only reason it wasn't charged it because I contacted the service department and told them (again) they didn't have authorization to use my credit card and that if they did I would dispute this charge as well. In terms of installing the liner as quickly as possible so we can enjoy the short summer: Because of them not communicating any type of schedule on when they were going to install the pool linear, we ended up not ordering the solar cover until the day they just showed up (it was back ordered and we didn't receive it until july 6th). This means it took more than two weeks before the pool was even warm enough to swim in (since we didn't have a solar cover). Had they even bothered to tell us the approximate week they planned to install the liner, we could have had another week or more of use of our pool (including time we had family here from out of town). We had even emailed them towards the beginning of June asking for a schedule or estimated installation date. The only response we got was that the pool liner was still being manufactured (nothing about how long this would take or when we could expect the liner to be installed). We are not satisfied with the response from Performance Pool and Spa. They have credited back an unauthorized charge for fixing the coping and stopped processing another charge that was not authorized to patch the pool liner, however their business practices are poor and they didn't notify us prior to doing any of the work on the pool. And most importantly from their poor work we have a damaged pool liner and we don't think we should owe the full price for a damaged liner. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 18, 2015/08/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It sounds like we are not going to agree on what happened with this project. As we said before, we don't have an issue with when the payments were due. The issue lies in that the company used a credit card number associated with a prior transaction to make the final two payments (which they were not ever authorized by us to do) and that they charged this final payment when they knew we were unhappy with the installation. We contacted the company the next day or so (can't remember exactly anymore - but it was definitely less than four days) to tell them the issue with the coping and that we needed that resolved before I would make the final payment. It is not our issue that there service department didn't talk with their business department. Another issue is that we are not satisfied with the final product. All of the j-channels (associated with the coping) are still not installed correctly, there is a now repaired tear in the liner (which we are still positive we did not make), and as we started using the pool we found that the pool floor is also not flat (there are many dents). In general, we feel more and more uncomfortable with their level of competency and are worried about what other problems we will encounter with their installation. Just a couple other items to address the vendor's response. Yes, when they came out to fix the tear in the pool (which we had not yet agreed for them to do) people had already been in the pool. As we stated in one of our prior responses, we had people coming over in the afternoon of the 4th of July. My husband found the tear in the pool as he was about to start cleaning the pool for the first time after they installed the liner. We called the company and left a message, regarding the tear, many hours before anyone got in the pool. Also, during the time we were in the pool, we had the people stay away from that area of the pool. In terms of the solar cover. Since the end of May / early June, we had been trying to figure out when they were going to install the liner. The last time they responded to us regarding this issue was June 5th (and that response was a generic response about the liner still being manufactured - they gave us no estimated time of completion for the liner or any type of estimated installation date). After the 5th, we no longer got any responses regarding when the liner was going to be installed. We did not order the solar cover because we were starting to worry the liner wasn't going to be installed by them at all and that we wouldn't have a pool up for this season (so why order a solar cover). We were right about to take further steps to deal with this issue when they just showed up to install the liner (without ANY type of notice to us). The comments about the solar cover are also meant to explain why it took as long as it did to notice the tear. Without the solar cover the water was too cold to use. No using the pool meant no one was near the tear and there was no need to vacuum the pool. The tear was noticed the first time the pool was vacuumed. We didn't have the vacuum or poles in the pool before that, and we called and left a message right after we noticed the tear. At this point, with the fact that the company was not interested in resolving these issues when they occurred (we got this impression since they did not return our calls to discuss these issues), we don't like how they performed the work, and since they never bother to schedule any of their work (they just show up), we are not interested in ever working with this company to have them resolve any of the outstanding issue. In fact, we never want this company on our property again. Since the credit card has found that the company did not have the authorization to charge our credit card, the credit card company has credited us back the second half of the payment for the pool liner ($2,240). So, at this time, we are willing to consider this issue resolved if both parties just walk away. We agree to not contact them regarding any additional fixes or warranty issues and not to take any further actions regarding the unauthorized use of our credit card. They agree to not pursue the second half of the payment for the liner and agree not to show up on our property again. Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2015/09/22) */ ********, We continue to stand by our work and would be more than willing to remove the patch to allow the ****** family to see the puncture. There has been no response or recognition on their part as to what the diving rings were doing in the pool after claiming the pool was not used and how they were retrieved since no one entered the pool due to how cold it was. It is regretful that the only resolution in their minds is to not pay for half of the liner, when we have continually offered other solutions. The credit card was provided to us by the ******'s at the time of signing the contract and making the down payment. The contract clearly outlines the payment schedule and this was discussed. Nowhere in our contract does it state, nor should it state, that all payments are withheld until complete customer satisfaction. The reality is that the ******'s have a new liner in there pool, which they have had the pleasure of enjoying throughout the summer. The J hooks that she is speaking of where not a part of the original agreement. We put them on as a courtesy, as they had purchased them elsewhere and asked if we could install them. They do not need to be touched in any way, shape, or form in order to install the liner; and I would be happy to refund the labor we charged to install them but we didn't charge any labor. We extended it as a courtesy for choosing PPS to install their liner. Since the credit card company has since returned our money back to us, we will assume this matter is resolved.

9/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: our one year old swim pool has lemon heater which has been broken down for many times. Performance Pool and Spa refuse to replace it. Our heated swim pool was built by PPS (Performance Pool and Spa) on April 23rd, 2014 and completed and opened by them on June 17th, 2014. We turned off the heater in Sept, 2014. This year, we turned on the heater in the middle of May, it worked for couple weeks and broke down, and PPS replaced the high temp sensors and it only worked for less than a month, on June 22nd, it quit working again, so they replaced the blowers, the burner, and the fuse was blown when they try to fix it, and they have to come back 2nd day to replace that. We were promised by PPS that they will build a worry free pool for us, and the sales manager and service tech told us the heater is solid product with good quality. But we didn't get what we should get after we selected PPS as our builder, and we trusted them 100%, we are very dispointed so we contact their sales manager, service department and the owner to have them replace the lemon heater, but they refuse to do so, they said if they can fix it, they will not replace it, on August 18th, the heater quit working again after they repaired it for about a month, also they charge tech trip fee for $75 for each trip even we have 3 year warranty contract on equipment (they didn't charge us this time since it is still under one year warranty) the heater quit working again. The problem becomes such headache for us, we just don't know when it will break down again every time we use the pool, especially when we have family and friends visiting us. We never get response from the owner on whether they can replace the heater so we can use our pool whenever we want to in MN cooler weather comfortably (we paid around $50,000 for the pool, heater is one of the most important part of the pool, that is why we paid high price for it, we deserves better product and service). We purchase hundreds of dollars chemicals each year from PPS, pay high fees to have them open/close the pool, testing the water quality every week to make sure that our pool in excellence condition. We have been doing our part, they should do their part too. No matter how many times the heater break down, and how many times we explain to PPS on how important that we need the heater and it truely need to be replaced, we cannot get it resolved. We really need your help to resolve the problem, so we can move on and live normal life. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: We need Performace Pool to replace the current heater with a brand new heater, also check to make sure everything else working properly so we can have fully functioning heated pool to use without worrying about it every single day.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/09/01) */ Performance agrees that on three occasions the heater has stopped working. We also agree that Performance has been responsive in restoring the heater operation when it had malfunctioned. We do not agree that the ****'s have been charged for these visits, quite simply, they haven't. Perhaps this misunderstanding stems from a visit that was made where in the tech notes there was a labor charge ($40) on his visit as the *water chemistry (water quality is not warranty, please see addendum that speaks to this specifically) seemed to be the cause, ("corroded high limits") however that charge was credited back to the ****'s card. The other visits and any parts replaced, have been covered under the warranty at no charge. While we certainly recognize the inconvenience heater failure can cause, a replacement heater is not warranted at this point. A replacement heater offers no solution that isn't presently available to us. Our understanding is that the heater has been working since our last visit. Of course if a need were to arise, we stand ready to service this or any other component of the pool. As an fyi; I have included some water tests performed at our Burnsville store. These tests offer some evidence to the technician's diagnosis that improper water chemistry may have been the issue. They show very high PH, alkalinity (as well as chlorine) and also the presence of copper in the water. A likely source of this copper is the heat exchanger. As the exchanger is made of copper, corrosive water (as the tests describe it), strips the exchanger of its copper until eventually it becomes so thin it leaks. When exchangers leak, the heater must be replaced. I mention this to remind the ****s that water chemistry is an important aspect of this. If the water is not properly balanced, the water will destroy the heater. While we recognize that water chemistry wasn't the singular cause of these issues, it's likely it was the cause of one of the calls. It is important enough to mention and to strongly suggest it be rectified very soon to avoid issues in the future. Please contact the service department with questions on this or any other aspect of the pool operation. Kindest regards, Mike ******* Performance Pool and Spa Service Department Margo ********* Administrative Assistant to Dave ****** Performance Pool and Spa ***************************** Plymouth MN 55441 ************ *****@performancepools.com This email and any files transmitted with it are confidential and intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom they are addressed. If you have received this email in error please notify the system manager. This message contains confidential information and is intended only for the individual named. If you are not the named addressee you should not disseminate, distribute or copy this e-mail. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/09/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We strongly disagree with the business response since they are blaming us for their own fault. Please see our response in attached document, thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2015/09/17) */ Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/09/17) */ In an effort to respond factually and fully, I have offended. Please accept my apologies. My intent wasn't to blame but to clarify the situation. The heater is, and has been working for a prolonged period, it maintains its current warranty and the repairs have been covered by Performance Pools. The source of copper in your water is likely from heater, not your water supply. Chemistry is vital to the health of your heater and we cannot warranty negative effects from water Having said that, it's apparent that your confidence has not only been shaken in your heater, but in Performance Pools as well. In order to restore that confidence, I will have a new JXI260 heater installed at your residence as soon as possible (within the next 4 weeks). The warranty on this heater will continue until 06/17/2016 . Mike ******* Performance Pools

7/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Re: Mr. Mike *******, OwnerPerformance Pool and Spa**********************Oakdale, MNDear Better Business Bureau,I paid in full $3,260.00 for liner installation that remains incomplete. I received the incorrect liner pattern which I have been compensated by the national manufacturer, Latham, with a mesh safety cover. The national companys compensation is a completely separate matter. Mr. ******* of PPS has not initiated a process, and as he states in multiple emails he would like to shelve the issues. On three, occasional a technician from PPS came to my home to secure the trim and reinstall the pool light. . Mr. *******s agreements are confusing because before he became involved PPS had sent out technicians on two separate occasions took pictures and could not complete the work of securing the trim and reinstalling the pool light. So, these two issues are part of the installation process and agreement that I had with Justin the Service Manager. It was only on the third visit one year later that the pool light was able to be reinstalled, and PPS deliver the mesh safety cover. It certainly is not up to me to select the appropriate technician that is the responsibility of PPS. However, It is obvious in reading the emails that PPS leveraged the safety mesh cover delivery so that I sign off on the installation work as is... delaying the winterization of my pool. I definitely do not agree to any further delays and do not absolve PPS of the incomplete work or for the damage to my pool lines that were cut because Mr ******* delayed my pool closing 6 weeks (after I asked 5 times). The most important issue is that the under ground pool lines have not been pressure tested, and damage to the above grounds lines have not be fixed and replaced. I paid in full 234.25 for the winterization. I want my pool operational!!! I can be flexible to dates. This has been a horrible experience for a loyal customer of 20 years! I have 2 pounds of emails and pictures that support my situation. *********** Product_Or_Service: liner replacement/ winterization of pool Account_Number: I need to pick up my

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) The edging, trim, coping to be secured, deliver warranty information for the liner. Remove/replacement of the dirty water that is currently in my pool. I would like a written verification of the "pressure test" that demonstrates the integrity of the lines under the the concrete in my pool area. I would aslo like guarantees that the undergroud lines to the skimmer jets are intact, if not replace lines concrete, haul off debris. Replace cut above ground lines: new lines,and new valves.New housing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/02) */ ********, Please see response from owner, Mike *******. Response to case # ******** To whom it may concern: In 2012, **** ****** requested that a vinyl liner be installed at her residence;******************** Savage. **** ****** was provided a proposal to accomplish her request. The proposal was specific both to the cost and the service that would be provided (included within this response). **** made several payments over the course of the next 12 months and in the spring of 2013, Performance Pools accomplished the work outlined in the proposal. Upon the liner installation, Ms ****** noticed that the pattern was slightly different than the one she ordered. When the liner manufacturer was contacted, the manufacturer presented Ms ****** with a choice. She could have the liner re made and installed with the correct pattern OR, in lieu of that, she could keep the existing liner and be provided with a mesh winter safety cover free of charge. Eventually Ms ****** choose the new mesh safety cover and agreed to keep the existing liner. Performance Pools was ambivalent to the choice Ms ****** would eventually make although it seemed that a mesh safety cover, with a value of $1500 would be a real value. In my opinion, the pattern mix up event has been used as a platform in which Ms ****** presses Performance to do additional services that were not part of any agreement. For example, the coping concern was an issue before Performance ever began the liner installation. We hadn't suggested improvements for this aesthetic concern nor were those concerns and improvements listed as part of our bid. Of course the winterization of her pool and the testing of plumbing pipes have nothing to do with our original scope of work either. As for the light, if memory serves, we simply took care of it because we wanted to minimize Ms *******' concerns. It's clear that Performance Pools lived up to the terms of the agreement, in this there can be no dispute. As for Ms *******' additional and subsequent requests, Performance Pools has offered discounted pricing on its services as a way of alleviating Mrs ******* concerns yet as these service requests were not part of the contracted work, they would involve extra costs. Sincerely, Mike ******* CEO Performance Pool and Spa. Margo *********

1/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Performance Pool & Spa performed an unauthorized repair on my hot tub that didn't correct the problem, charged my credit card and will not resolve it. I originally contacted Performance Pool & Spa on 11/25/14 to perform service on my Sundance hot tub, which was not running properly. I stated that the tub was old and that I inherited it with the house and wasn't sure that I wanted to spend a lot of money to fix it; however, I agreed to the charge for the service call. I was told that someone would contact me to discuss the problem before a repair was made. On December 2nd, I received a voice mail (which I still have) from the repair technician, confirming that process. He stated that he couldn't make it that day, but that he would give me a call to let me know what he found. That call never occurred, and Performance performed $637 worth of repairs, replacing the circulation pump (a $350 item), and directly charging my credit card. The repair did not correct the problem. The original problem, where the temperature readout would incorrectly spike and shut off the jets almost immediately after turning them on, was still occurring. I called Performance back, and talked with one of the managers of the service department, ***, who said he would send someone back out. A technician did come back, adjusted some filter cycle settings, leaving a description of the changes he made with the implication that the tub should be working properly and charging me an additional $60 in labor. In the meantime, I had contacted *** again, stating that I should not have been charged for the initial repair without authorization, and that I should also not be charged an additional $60 for something that they did not repair correctly in the first place. Performance agreed to waive the $60 and knocked an additional $50 off the cost of the circulation pump, apologizing for the "communication error" in not contacting me for authorization to do the repair. The next time I tested the pool, once again, it was not operating properly. My original problem, where, when turning on the jets, the temperature reading spikes and the jets immediately shut off, was still occurring. I contacted Performance. They, once again, sent out a technician, who, this time, left a note stating that the problem could be a software update that is required, but that the tub is operational. That is incorrect. The original problem is still occurring, and the tub is not operational. I once again contacted Performance on 12/17, and left a voice mail letting them know they still haven't fixed the problem, and now they are no longer returning my calls. In summary, they performed $637 worth of repairs that were unauthorized, including the replacement of a $350 circulation pump, and the hot tub is still malfunctioning in the same way it was when I originally called in the problem in late November.

Desired Settlement: I would like Performance Pool & Spa to send out a qualified technician that can correctly diagnose and fix the problem at no additional charge. I will agree to pay the amount for the initial service call ($109) and reach a reasonable settlement on the cost of the circulation pump they replaced. 50% of the price Performance charged ($175) would be reasonable, since it is a new pump, but it did not fix the original problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/22) */ Hi Mr. Lewis, I'm replying regarding case #XXXXXXXX, from a Mr. ******* ******** in Long Lake/Orono. Prior to seeing this email from the BBB, I had been in contact with Mr. ******** on Friday and earlier today in an attempt to resolve the issue. He had made no mention to me that he had filed this claim, and we are going there in the next day or two to work on a solution. Don't know if I need to provide you with any additional information or follow-up, but we are working on the problem. Thank you! Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/12/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) At this point, the problem is still not resolved. Performance Pool & Spa suggested that I purchase and install an additional computer chip to correct the problem. I questioned whether this would solve the problem, and based on my response, my understanding is that they are sending out someone to review the problems again tomorrow (12/23).

11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We accepted a landscaping proposal on April 27, 2014. After several months we are still waiting for full completion. We accepted a landscaping proposal and signed a contract with PPS on April 27, 2014 and as of today (October 1) the work has yet to be completed in full despite numerous promises to finish the job. We accepted a $23,000+ landscaping proposal with an estimated completion date of June 30th. The work included yard restoration, trees, decorative rock, flagstone, pergola, sitting wall, and fireplace with gas insert. The yard restoration, decorative rock, flagstone, pergola, sitting wall and trees were completed at the end of July. The fireplace has yet to be completed despite half a dozen promises to finish the job. It is now uncertain if our fireplace is compatible with a gas insert despite what was promised and identified in our contractual agreement. The work completed has been good to fair with uneven grading and an insufficient amount of rock to complete the job. Trees, sod and finished rock look good. The total length of time this project has taken, the completion promises not kept, missed appointments, and the lack of communication regarding the numerous delays has been very frustrating and our patience has run out.

Desired Settlement: We only want the job finished as specified. We had hoped to use our fireplace this Fall and are disappointed. From our first meeting we indicated we wanted a gas insert and this was nonnegotiable as wood burning was not an option. We were told by our PPS contact that he would check to be sure gas inserts were made for this specific model. I was obviously confused when a log set was left here for us to assemble when our contract and invoice clearly indicated we were paying for a gas insert. We chose PPS landscaping so the construction process from pool to landscaping would be seamless however that has clearly not been the case. I never imagined when pool construction began May 5th that we would still be dealing with this October 1st (nearly 6 months later).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/10/29) */ October 24th 2014 RE: Case # ********: *** ******* To Whom It May Concern, We have worked with the customer to arrange completion of the project mentioned. We have arranged a meeting with Ms. ******* to discuss the next step towards resolution and satisfaction. I would be happy to follow up with correspondence following the meeting with Ms. *******. Kindest regards, *************** Administrative Assistant to *********** Performance Pool and Spa ***************************** Plymouth MN 55441 ************ *****@performancepools.com This email and any files transmitted with it are confidential and intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom they are addressed. If you have received this email in error please notify the system manager. This message contains confidential information and is intended only for the individual named. If you are not the named addressee you should not disseminate, distribute or copy this e-mail.

9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We accepted a landscaping proposal on April 22 and as of today (August 2) the work has yet to be completed despite numerous promises to finish the job We accepted a $11,228 patio landscaping proposal on April 22. The work included a brick wall, patio blocks, new entry steps and a vinyl privacy fence atop the brick wall. After 3 months, the wall, blocks and steps have finally been completed. But the fence has yet to be completed despite half a dozen promises to finish the job. The work completed has been very good and there has been some legitimate delays due to the weather (rain). But the total length of time this project has taken, the completion promises not kept, and the lack of communication regarding the numerous delays has been very frustrating and our patience has run out.

Desired Settlement: Finish the job NOW and knock 5% off the total project cost: $11,228 - $561.40 = $10,666.66 due to all the delays and unkept promises to complete the job

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/09/15) */ Regarding Case # ******** To Whom It May Concern, We have worked with the customer to arrange completion of the project referenced. The work requested has been completed as of August 15th 2014. Mr. ******* and I have agreed upon a small additional job as a compensation for his patience and frustration. We aim to consistently deliver a professional service to our customers and I have attached the correspondence between PPS and Mr. ******* regarding this additional job. This case has been resolved to the customer's satisfaction. Please confirm that you have noted accordingly. Kindest regards,

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: PPS failed to honor their winterization warranty; tub still leaks, components that were disconnected by PPS were not reinstalled We had our hot tub inspected and winterized last fall (2013). They found 2 leaks and provided a quote to fix the 2 leaks they found. They then performed a winterization on the hot tub, starting from a fully operational status (minus the 2 minor leaks that leaked 1" of water over 7 days) and said if anything is damaged over the winter, it's covered by the winterization. Come spring, we go to fill up our Spa, and it wouldn't hold water. We ask about the winterization warranty covering it and *** said he'd have the tech take photos for him to look at. When they came out to fix the 2 leaks they found prior to winterization, they found other parts were broken. As the tub was no longer able to hold water they had to return again to make further repairs. 2 weeks later, never hearing back from *** about the Winterization warranty coverage, they return to fix the broken part(s) and left an invoice for the full repair costs (about $240). We called max for an update, and he was still waiting for pictures. Now that the tub was filled, we could start running it! We filled it, added Chems, and let her run! That night, the spa tripped the GFCI. Reset it. Tripped again, Reset, Tripped. Called ***, and he gave us tips on how to find the component that was failing. I Open the controls, and I instantly see what's wrong. The Tech who winterized the spa, disconnected the ozonator, as that was the source of 1 of the original leaks. Strung through the wires of the ozonator was a white wire, that was ripped from it's "home." I plugged in the Ozonator, reconnected the wire... no more tripped GFCI. I called *** back to let him know what his Tech's missed, and he didn't acknowledge it. Oh, and We're still waiting on the photos The next Monday, I called *** back, We're still waiting on the photos. I asked when he'd have them, and he said "tonight or tomorrow morning. Not hearing a follow up, The next Monday, I called *** back, We're still waiting on the photos. I asked him why he didn't have them last week when he said Monday or Tuesday, he said his Tech was Off on Thursday and Friday (he should have had them on Tuesday or Wednesday). I then said we really need to resolve this soon, he jumped right in and gave me a very condescending "We have no proof it was freeze damage, and it's very unlikely it was, but since we don't have proof, I guess I have to refund you." He quotes me a refund of aprox $100. I ask about the difference between the refund and the amount invoiced on the return visit being aprox $240. he said, "we had to do more work on the other leaks." These are the leaks that were "fixed" on the 1st visit... or were they leaks that their winterization caused? Reminder, PPS was the ones to check for leaks and drain down the spa, and then they were the ones to complete the first fill and find the new leaks. Here's a list of where I feel they went wrong: 1) They did not reinstall the ozonator when they completed their work on it. 2) They did not reconnect the wire they tore out when disconnecting the ozonator 3) They did not honor their warranty on their winterization. 4) They missed several follow-up requests 5) The tub STILL Leaks! 6) This review was posted on their Facebook site, and the post was deleted and I was banned.

Desired Settlement: We'd like PPS to come out, at no cost, and fix the remaining leaks in the spa by September 31st. This is the preferred resolution as the remaining leaks were not there prior to the winterization, and there was a guarantee on on their winterization. If this is unacceptable to PPS, we request a full refund of all charges paid to the company, starting with the Winterization, through the First and second visits.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/08/05) */ Hello Mr. *****: This email is in regards to case #********, a complaint filed by Mr. *** *****. To recap, we originally were contacted about the hot tub by Mr. ****** ****** last November to winterize the hot tub at ******************** in Coon Rapids, MN. At the time, he also wanted us to assess the overall condition of the hot tub, as he was buying the property. At the closing, my tech notated "Spa seems to have multiple leaks. Found bad glue joint one-inch line out of manifold to be dripping. Also ozonator is leaking (side note: Ozonators themselves don't leak, but the check valves that stop water from going to the ozonator do, as do ozonator jets). Marked bad glue joint with green tape in equipment bay." This information was left on the customer's copy of the work order which was left on site (I have attached a scan of this work order). Per a follow-up conversation with Mr. ******, we agreed to investigate the leaks come springtime, since the tub had been winterized. Of course, being that most fittings on a hot tub are hidden behind foam and panels, it is difficult and impractical to check every fitting to make sure it isn't leaking - the cost to do such a test renders it senseless. After the first visit in early June, my technician noted that the bottom drain fitting was also found to be bad. He did not have the part with him, which, given the many variations in spa fittings, is very common. So we had to return, which we did on June 24th to complete the notated repair. There was never any evidence from my technicians that the drain fitting was damaged by winterization (the alluded-to photos I was waiting on), but I also didn't have any evidence it wasn't damaged by winterization. After a conversation with ***, I agreed to err in his favor in terms of that part of the repair, and credited him for a courtesy call of $30, labor in the amount of $40, and a drain fitting that cost $29.99 plus tax. At the end of the day, he was charged as though we had only made one trip to fix the original known leaks diagnosed at last year's spa closing. In terms of the Mr. *****'s list of "what went wrong": Points 1 & 2.) If an ozone line is leaking, it allows water to get into the ozone chamber, which will damage the ozonator. For this reason (and if in doubt), it's a good idea to leave the line disconnected. This was a pretty simple thing to walk Mr. ***** through over the phone, and the issue was resolved. Point 3) When we winterize a pool or spa, we guarantee the plumbing won't have any sort of damage due to freeze-up because of improper winterization. Hot tubs have literally dozens of areas at which leaking is possible (glue joints, barb fittings, PVC, etc), and winterizing a tub certainly doesn't engender culpability for every leak the tub may have going forward. I'm still of the opinion that the tub did not have a leaking drain fitting due to the winterization, but again, to err on the side of the customer, I did credit the parts and labor (and return trip cost) to make that specific repair on the tub. Point 4) Due to the volume of calls we receive in the spring because of pool openings, it is not always possible to get back to customers as promptly as I would like. I did talk with Mr. ***** on several occasions, and I also talked with Mr. ****** at least two and maybe three times during this process. Especially since I didn't have the appropriate information in hand, it's possible I may have missed a return call to them. Point 5) If the tub is still leaking, I'm happy to get a technician out to reassess the tub. I would not charge Mr. ***** a standard service call to come back, but because we did originally determine there were multiple leaks on the tub, I think billing for any time and materials on-site would be a reasonable request. Provided the leaks aren't related to freeze damage or one of the two areas we've already addressed (which I would certainly have my technician document thoroughly while on site), I think that would seem fair. Of course, a "let's move past this" attitude requires a buy-in from both parties. Point 6) In talking with the Facebook page administrator, the comment was deleted from the page, but he was not banned from the site. In terms of posting on the Performance Pool & Spa page, we certainly have the right to delete comments that defame our business, and would prefer that issues like this one be handled in a more professional mediation situation (such as this). Thanks for your time. Please let me know if you have any questions or need clarification on any points. Sincerely, ******** Performance Pool & Spa ************************ Oakdale, MN 55128 ************ ***@performancepools.com This email and any files transmitted with it are confidential and intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom they are addressed. If you have received this email in error please notify the system manager. This message contains confidential information and is intended only for the individual named. If you are not the named addressee you should not disseminate, distribute or copy this e-mail. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/08/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In terms of the Recap, as *** states he informed Mr ****** that there were more than the 2 leaks, which were documented on the winterization receipt, I can't further dispute the comment that some of these leaks may have been pre-existing. However, the handling of the whole experience still stays the same. I'll go directly off of what *** stated: Points 1 & 2. I think it's great that the technician had the knowledge to disconnect the ozonator at the time of winterization. However, the tech that opened the spa, and repaired the leak failed to reconnect the ozonator. This was a service we paid for, and it was not delivered. ***, again, failed to acknowledge the fact that the original technician pulled out an extra wire when disconnecting the ozonator from the control board, causing the spa to trip the breaker. This was a fix that needed to be performed in addition to connecting the ozonator back up. The cumulative time of these 2 fixes totaled 45 minutes. Would like that credited back, at your labor rate, on future part costs (see point 5) Point 3) *** was unable to provide any sort of photo documentation of the damage, hence the issue with believing him that this was not freeze damage. Point 4) If you're overwhelmed with work, when a customer asks "when should I expect to hear back from you, Don't tell the customer "tonight or tomorrow morning." You set the expectation for the call, and you should be following through. Point 5) I'd be happy to have a "lets move past this" attitude. However, since there has been 3 visits already, I think that the trip out, and time for inspection should be free. During this inspection, leaks should be documented, by marking the leaks in the housing, and by photographs, and discussed regarding how the leaks were caused. We can then discuss costs to repair and decide how to proceed from there. Point 6) You do have the right to control your Facebook page as you wish. However, it's a shady business practice to respond to positive praise on your page, at the same time delete any poor ratings given. This gives your potential customers a false impression that all people have to say are glowing reviews. In summary, We'll find the following as an acceptable resolution: PPS to come out to the spa, at no charge, and inspect the spa for leaks. To mark and document these leaks, both on the spa, and by photographs. To provide the photographs to us, and to have a conversation regarding all leaks, and if they are freeze damage, or why they are not, and then, to discuss repairs. If repairs are made, the dollar value of 45 minutes of labor would be credited for the mistake of not reconnecting the ozonator after it was repaired, and for repairing the wire that was pulled out of place when pps disconnected the ozonator. Final Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/09/05) */ Hello Mr. *****: This email is to continue the discussion involving Mr. *****'s hot tub in Coon Rapids. I am happy to have a technician back out to assess the hot tub for additional leaks, and will document said leaks in writing and with photographs. At this point, we will provide Mr. ***** with an estimate on the necessary repairs. A few notes: As we are rapidly approaching pool closing season (and therefore another extremely hectic time of our season), I would ask that we are allowed to perform this trip by September 9, 2014. Alternately, we could perform this assessment between October 13th and October 31st, 2014. With regards to Mr. *****'s suggestion of discounting any upcoming work 45 minutes of labor for the ozonator issue, I think this credit amount would be excessive considering the scope of work to reconnect an ozonator. As mentioned in prior correspondence, we left the ozonator disconnected because of the concern of additional damage, and I was able to walk Mr. ***** through reconnecting the ozonator over the phone. I don't think a credit towards future work is an unreasonable request, but I think a $30 credit towards future work would be more in keeping with nature of the fix. Please let me know Mr. *****'s thoughts toward this proposal; thank you. ******** Performance Pool & Spa ************************ Oakdale, MN 55128 ************ ***@performancepools.com This email and any files transmitted with it are confidential and intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom they are addressed. If you have received this email in error please notify the system manager. This message contains confidential information and is intended only for the individual named. If you are not the named addressee you should not disseminate, distribute or copy this e-mail.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Performance Pool & Spa
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)