BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Minnesota and North Dakota
Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/09/2011

Imation Corporation

(651) 704-40001 Imation Way, OakdaleMN 55128-3421 Send email to Imation Corporation

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Imation is a global scalable storage and data security company. Our portfolio includes tiered storage and security offerings for business, and products designed to manage audio and video information in the home.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/09/2011

BBB has determined that Imation Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Imation Corporation's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues5
Problems with Product / Service10
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Imation Corporation

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (15)BBB Closure Definitions
07/01/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: TDK A33 speaker, bought Dec 22, 2012. Technical Support - Reference ******. Rep ** ******* ignoring several service requests.
TDK A33 Weatherproof Speaker by TDK/Imation. Technical Support - Reference ******. I have been in contact with a customer rep named ** *******, who is now ignoring my email requests for this defective unit which was bought 12/22/2012. The unit does not work and now over heats when charging. This is a safety hazard and the rep has suggested I take the unit apart to confirm weather it is the battery or power source which are overheating. The unit can not be opened with conventional tools and I don't feel safe handling it. I have continued to email and request service and now I get no response. Upon calling the support number I get no where after holding for almost two hours.

Business' Initial Response
We received a complaint filed with your office by Mr. ****** *****-****. We appreciate the opportunity to reply to this customer's complaint.

Our specialist ** ******* has been out sick as have been other members of our team in the last week. This has caused a delay in responding to incoming emails.

We will send a pre-paid shipping label today to Mr. *****-**** so he can send his unit back to us for review and we will refund him once we receive it.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

03/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I needed a new alarm clock. I purchased an Xtrememac Luna SST from Marshalls while in the states on R&R. The box stated compatible with IPOD and IPHONE. I shipped the product to myself so that I would have it while working in Afghanistan. It takes mail approximately 10 days to reach Afghanistan. Marshall's return policy is 30 days. When the box reached Afghanistan I attempted to connect my IPOD Classic on the docking station. It would not work. After a day or two I emailed the support line. I eventually ended up calling the support line at ************. I was finally advised that the LUNA SST was not compatible with the IPOD Classic. The models that it was compatible with were listed on the box. I went to the box and no where on that box does it list any compatible models. If it had listed compatible models I would not have purchased because I knew I had the IPOD Classic. Now by now if I attempted to ship the LUNA SST back to Marshall's for a refund I would be outside the return period. The support line is now telling me that they cannot assist me number one because I have a P.O. Box in the states and number 2 they cannot use my address in Afghanistan. This 800 number is being answered in Guatemala. What customer service is that? Your call is being answered out of the country but they cannot assist you because you have an out of state address. I am a US citizen that is currently working out of the states. My address is on a US military base where US mail can be delivered. I would like a refund or a product that I can use my IPOD.
Product_Or_Service: Xtreme Mac

Business' Initial Response
We received a complaint filed with your office by Ms. ****** E ***************. We appreciate the opportunity to reply to this customer's complaint.

One of our supervisors reviewed Ms. ***************'s case and contacted her. The unit has the capability of placing a well adapter into the dock where the iPod is placed; this is designed to fit smaller iPod units like the iPod Nano and iPod Touch. Our supervisor sent some pictures of how to take this adapter off the docking well to Ms. *************** and it is our understanding that her XtremeMac unit is now functioning as it should.

If Ms. *************** needs further assistance with her unit, now or in the future, she can always contact us at ********************* or by calling us at ************. For faster access to her information she can use reference ******.

Business' Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
It did not happen as the company states. The company was advising me that the "BOX" states my IPOD Classic is not compatible with their product. This was the same supervisor that re-contacted me after I initiated a complaint with BBB. I saw the adapter there and it does not come out easily. I did not want to force parts out and then "void" any warranties. The most important thing in this situation is I can now wake up listening to my IPOD. I know that more than likely I will not purchase this company's products any more.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

02/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: Memorex CD/DVD Labelmaker does not include proper software as advertised. Company is committing fraud in product marketing and description.
Memorex CD/DVD Labelmaker does not include proper software as advertised. Company is committing fraud in product marketing and description. I purchased Memorex exPressit Label Design Studio. The CD would not load the software so I returned it and purchased another of the same. The CD again would not load on any of my four PC computers, all with an operating system and sufficient memory in line with Memorex criteria. I tried customer service and they wanted to me jump through various hoops describing all the computer systems I own. I got fed up and returned the second product purchased. THEN, I went to Staples and bought just the DVD Label Refills. IT CLEARLY STATES ON THE PRODUCT: "exPressit Label Design Studio Download design software free." It also states on the labels themselves to "Download Free Memorex exPressit Label Design Studio Software at Memorex.com/labelmaker." That link does not work as the website states that there is no such product. So, I contected customer service and they tell me they no longer provide such software and they will email a couple of templates instead. I EXPECT TO RECEIVE WHAT I PAID FOR - exPressit Label Design Studio software. NOT JUST A COUPLE OF TEMPLATES. THIS COMPANY IS COMMITTING FRAUD BY STATING ON THE PRODUCT LABEL THAT SUCH SOFTWARE IS FREE AND AVAILABLE WHEN IT IS NOT. I FULLY EXPECT TO RECEIVE THIS SOFTWARE DOWNLOAD OF THE FULL PRODUCT AS STATED IN THE PACKAGING. ANYTHING LESS AND I WILL SEEK A LEGAL REMEDY.

Business' Initial Response
We received a complaint filed with your office by Mr. ***** ****. We appreciate the opportunity to reply to this customer's complaint.

One of our escalation team representatives contacted Mr. **** and provided the link to download the software he requested. On February 23rd, we received an email from Mr. **** letting us know the link and software worked for him.

If Mr. **** needs any additional information he can always contact our call center again via phone or email and mention reference ****** for quick access to his case.

Business' Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Company delivered what they had promised.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

01/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: Memorex failed to mention on the package that it is not compatible with older CDR burners. This is planned obsolescence. Many complaints on Internet.
I own the Philips CDR 765. I purchased a package of Memorex CD-R Music (UPC: ************) on 10/25/12 at 8:45 from the ******* Store on ********************* in Westfield, MA (Phone: ************). See sale #*******************. I paid $10.99 for the discs and $0.69 for the standard tax. The total came to $11.68 and it was charged to my Visa card.

Business' Initial Response
January 2, 2013

BBB of Minnesota and North Dakota
2706 Gannon Road
Saint Paul, MN 55116

RW: Case#: ******** - ***** *******

Dear Sirs:

An understanding of Drive-Disc compatibility will help Mr. *******. Discs are manufactured to International Specifications and assigned an MID, or Media IDentification code, from the governing bodies after the disc process is tested and approved to specification. This means the discs are manufactured to operate in a compatible drive or recorder whose write strategy has been tuned to the disc MID. Drives must be tuned to the disc in order for the disc to properly burn and/or play. The disc is not tuned to a drive. Therefore, no compatibility statement is required on our packaging.

The drive tuning process for drive-disc compatibility is a lengthy process. Therefore not all discs are tuned at initial release of the drive into the market. The drive manufacturer will select, at their discretion, discs that have been submitted for compatibility testing by the disc manufacturers. The drive will be tuned to the disc MIDs of the selected discs and released to the market. After the drive is released to the market the drive manufacturer continues to tune the drive to discs in their test queue and will update the compatibility with additional disc MIDs through firmware updates on their website. Once the drive manufacturer no longer supports the drive no additional disc MIDs are tuned to it.

We contacted the Philips technical support line (1-866-323-9916) in order to gather more information. The Philips representative had a difficult time finding information about the Philips CDR 765 - the unit Mr. ******* has. This unit was released in 2000-2001 and is a discontinued unit which is no longer supported by Philips.

Imation is not responsible when a drive manufacturer no longer supports their unit with firmware updates for their older drives. In this case it is Philips responsibility to provide compatibility information to a customer who has purchased their unit.

We publish tested compatibility on many - but not all - drives in the market as a convenience to our customers. Please refer to support.imation.com and search for disc compatibility. This allows the customer to check compatibility with their drive/recorder before purchasing discs.

We suggest Mr. ******* contact Philips support for a listing of compatible discs for his drive/ recorder.

Best Regards,

************
Consumer Support Coordinator
Imation Corp

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Imation is using Philips as a scapegoat.

Imation is deliberately manufacturing discs which are no longer compatible with older units. Imation could still manufacture discs which are compatible with older firmware.

The firmware update has nothing to do with this. Imation could still produce discs which are compatible with older firmware. Imation has chosen not to. Moreover, Imation has chosen also to not warn customers about this.

A warning in advance would have been kind. However, no warning was provided.

In regards to the Imation support website, there is absolutely nothing in terms of support for checking for disc compatibility. Where is it? Please show me the URL for the Imation compatibility for the Philips CDR765, even any Philips CDR in general! Where? It cannot be found.

Please issue a refund by check.

Business' Final Response
RW: Case#: ******** - ***** *******

Dear Sirs:

As we explained in our previous response discs are not made compatible to drives. Drives must be tuned to the disc in order for the disc to properly burn and/or play. It is not in Imation's best interest to make incompatible product.

Mr. ******* can check the following links for additional information on media and drive interaction and compatibility tables.

https://support.imation.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/870/session/L3RpbWUvMTM1ODI3OTM1MS9zaWQvRUlPS1BuZ2w%3D

https://support.imation.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/180

Best Regards,

************
Consumer Support Coordinator
Imation Corp

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/03/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: 60 out of 100 CDs do not work
I purchased a spindle of 100 Memorex CDs (CD-R 52X 700MB 80min) for $22.48 on 03/31/12. The first 40 CDs worked fine. The remaining CDs are giving me errors. Last week, Memorex customer support (*****) told me that they obtain their CDs from different suppliers and that the first 40 apparently came from one supplier and the rest from a different supplier. I was told that I needed to buy a new CD ROM drive for my PC, since mine was too old. I believe that most customers expect all of the CDs that they purchase to work properly. Or if there is a problem with them, for none of them to work properly; not 40% work and the other 60% have a problem. We expect them to work the same regardless where Memorex says they obtained them.

Business' Initial Response
We received a complaint filed with your office by Mr. **** ******. We appreciate the opportunity to reply to this customer's complaint.

On 7/30/12 we received a call from Mr. ****** and as Mr. ****** mentioned in his letter to the BBB he was provided inaccurate information from one of our representatives. That representative is no longer supporting any of Imation's customers.

Two of our supervisors have tried to reach Mr. ****** on 8/6/12 and 8/13/12 so we may assist him. We will continue to try to contact him this week.

If Mr. ****** wishes to contact us, our call center's number and hours of operation are: **************, between 12:00pm and 9:00pm EST Monday through Friday. He can mention reference# ****** so he can immediately be transferred to a supervisor who will handle his case.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The best time to reach me is after 6 PM Eastern time. I am not completely convinced another spindle of discs will resolve the problem either. I bought a new CD/DVD burner - some of the Memorex CDs burn, some do not. I also bought a spindle of Sony brand CD-R CDs, and all of them burn fine.

Business' Final Response
Please close the case as resolved. Thank you.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 3
06/19/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised written warranty or guarantee

Complaint: SSD drive failed 2 years into a 5 year warranty. "If any defect within 5 years of the date of original retail purchase of this product it will be...
repaired or replaced at Imations option." This 5 year warranty is written right on the box.

Here are my replies from Imation.

Good evening *****,

Our warranty department doesn't have direct contact with consumers, for this, I will escalate your ticket to my superiors. They will be contacting you within the next 24 hours.

Should you have any other questions or need further assistance, please don't hesitate to reply to this email or you can also contact us via phone at **************, opt. 2 Monday Thru Friday from 9:00 AM to 6:00 PM PST.

Best regards,

**********
Technical Support Specialist

To reply to this E-mail, paste the information below on the subject line.
Reference *******


Hello Mr. *****,

My name is *********** and I'm a supervisor here at Imation Technical Support. This case was escalated to me.

While reviewing your case, I noticed that the eBay seller of this product is not an Imation authorized seller. This individual seller may have many Imation products sold and with good reviews, but he still continues to be an unauthorized seller.

The warranty states nothing about "authorized sellers." The truth is for whatever reason Imation no longer manufactures or supports the drive. The original point of contact told me I would be issued a refund upon Imation receiving my receipt.

Initial Business Response
As Mr. ***** mentions in his claim, our product has a 5 year warranty from the date of "original retail purchase". This means that Imation requires a copy of the receipt from the original purchase made by the individual selling this on eBay in order to validate the drive is still within the warranty.

We suggest if Mr. ***** is interested in pursuing a warranty claim, he contact the individual from whom he purchased the drive on eBay to get a copy of receipt that shows the date the drive was purchased from a company within Imation's distribution channel.


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Imation has a dated copy of my PayPal receipt. Imation has the Ebay confirmation of purchase from Ebay. They have evidence of this retailer selling hundreds if not thousands of Imation products. I have searched the Imation site there is not a list of approved retailers! Have them provide one in rebuttal. The warranty states retail not distribution. Legally it is neither the customer or retailers responsibility. The product worked for two years.

It should have been a distribution issue. Imation has the drive ID they should know the distribution channel. If the drive was recalled or discontinued Imation should not have dumped the product on the open market, the product should have been destroyed, or original packaging along with warranty removed. Distribution is an Imation issue.

I have both the original box with written warranty.

Final Business Response
Imation contacted the eBay seller multiple times without a response. Our warranty begins from "the date of original retail purchase". The individual who sold the product on eBay would have to provide a copy of the original sales receipt showing it was within the warranty period.

Warranties generally only apply to the original retail purchaser and do not transfer with the sale of the product. Imation must follow the warranty statements for all our products and our customers in order to be fair to everyone. In this case, it means we have to deny the warranty claim.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Waiting on Imation to publish sellers response, and remedy.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

09/07/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: I received Memorex mini move boombox system for Ipod for Christmas 2012.It suddenly stopped working & company refuses to either offer refund/exchange.
I received the Memorex mini move boom box system for Ipod for Christmas 2012, and after a few months of using the system it stopped working. As it was a gift & I wasn't certain where it was purchased. I called up the manufacture for help. I was disappointed to hear no offer of replacement or anything computable. I was told to take it back to the store I brought it from by ******* ******, the customer service representative. The product was obviously defective because ******* informed me that it has since been discontinued. Since that was the case I really believe I should be reimbursed for the defective device. Please help.

Business' Initial Response
We received a complaint filed with your office by Ms. ******** ******. We appreciate the opportunity to reply to this customer's complaint.

On 6/6/12 we received an email from Ms. ****** regarding a Memorex Mi3X unit that was no longer playing. This unit has a 90 day limited warranty from the date of original purchase. Ms. ****** stated she received the unit as a present for Christmas. Since the unit was over 2 months out of the warranty period when Ms. ****** first contacted us we are unable to replace the unit for her.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't accept their response because it's not true. A warranty was never mentioned. Their story has changed several times to avoid replacing the unit. This is bad business practice. I spoke with ************** at Imation Corp over the phone, she informed me that my device was not working because it was not programmed for apple products and I would need a receipt to get a replacement device. I was also told the device was discontinued. What was never mentioned was the unit cannot be replaced because it was out of warranty for over 2 months. I was not asking for a refund I was asking for the same device or something comparable what I received was a lot of poor customer service a product that doesn't work. Please help

Business' Final Response
We reviewed the call recording Mrs. ****** had with the supervisor ***************. The supervisor did explain the unit comes with a 90 day/ 3 month warranty. She also explained to Mrs. ****** that we could not make an exception in her case since she did not have a copy of the POP and the SN placed the unit as being produced in 2010.

What the supervisor explained is that the Memorex unit she has was designed and manufactured before the release of the Apple device she is using with it, not that the Memorex unit is not programmed for apple products as stated by Mrs. ******. We have tried to answer all of Mrs ******'s questions in a timely and accurate manner. We are sorry the answer is not what she was hoping to hear.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company provided proper verification that indicated there was no obligation to resolve the issues of the complaint.

06/28/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Disputed warranty coverage and/or terms

Complaint: Unit purchased after one year it failed.It is a 2 year warranty. I am requesting replacement. They are refusing. I want them to honor their warranty.
I purchased the unit New June of 2011 online. I paid through paypal. Shortly after I called tech support to help me setup. They were no real help.I eventually got unit installed and it has been working since till this month. Unit one morning would not boot up operating system. Because of the nature of this drive that meant I lost all info and would have to re-image the unit. Which I am prepared for...I try to re-image and unit does allow to be done. All tools used to secure erase return drive have come back with drive failure. So I call tech support, give them my information and the drive serial number. The rep confirms, Ten she and I go through all steps to test the drive. She determines drive is unrepairable. But then tells me she cannot send me replacement because they no longer make unit...I tell her but those units are still being sold by major vendors. She states maybe they bought the last lot. So I ask where does that leave me? She could not answer because she was basically saying I was out of luck. She then refers the matter to her management which in turn say we cannot do nothing we have no more units and if he wants refund he has to provide receipt.
I bought this unit over a year ago online and paid with online service. I no longer have receipt available. I was never told by vendor I needed to keep a receipt in order to receive service from manufacturer.
All I am looking for is for them to replace drive. I do not want monies.

Business' Initial Response
We received a complaint filed with your office by Mr. ******** *********. We appreciate the opportunity to reply to this customer's complaint.

On June 7, 2012 we received a call from Mr. ******** regarding a drive that was not working any more. The specialist tried to troubleshoot the unit but the attempt was unsuccessful. The specialist then requested for a copy of his receipt to validate the 2 year warranty the product has. Imation's limited warranty for this product states: ''If any defect in material or manufacture appears within 2 years of the date of original retail purchase of this product, it will be repaired or replaced at Imation's option. This warranty is provided only to the original retail purchaser and is not transferable. Proof of purchase is required to obtain warranty service.''

We will need to obtain a copy of this receipt in order to proceed with his warranty claim.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I explained in earlier email and to rep. No where when I purchased unit was I related to that I had to keep my original receipt. I purchased online a new and sealed unit 5/1/2011.

(http://www.ebay.com/itm/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=170635065377&ssPageName=ADME:B:EOIBSA:US:1123)

I paid 99.95 plus $8 shipping through PayPal. I told the rep. i have never had to provide receipt for a drive to any other manufacturer. I have bought hundreds of drives from WD and Seagate. They ask for the serial and they provide RMA if unit needs to be replaced.

All I have is my bank statement stating the amount I paid Paypal.

Also the above statement the company has made about they repair or replace is not what they stated to me. They stated they no longer made the product, so that is why they had a problem with fulfilling their ...

All I want is for them to honor the warranty and send me another unit if that is true..

Business' Final Response
We received a complaint filed with your office by Mr. ******** *********. We appreciate the opportunity to reply to this customer's complaint.

On June 7, 2012 we received a call from Mr. ******** regarding a drive that was not working any more. The specialist tried to troubleshoot the unit but the attempt was unsuccessful. The specialist then requested for a copy of his receipt to validate the 2 year warranty the product has. Imation's limited warranty for this product states: ''If any defect in material or manufacture appears within 2 years of the date of original retail purchase of this product, it will be repaired or replaced at Imation's option. This warranty is provided only to the original retail purchaser and is not transferable. Proof of purchase is required to obtain warranty service.''

We will need to obtain a copy of this receipt in order to proceed with his warranty claim.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company provided proper verification that indicated there was no obligation to resolve the issues of the complaint.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Storage - Data

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/06/1996Business started: 05/24/1996
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1996, MN

Business Management
Principal: Dale Hopkins (Support Operations Mgr)
Business Category

Storage - Data

Products & Services

According to information provided by the business, Imation Corporation offers data appliances for SMB backup and archiving.
Encrypted USB devices, mobile workspaces, management software.
Audio systems, headphones, chargers, cases.
Removable media including tape, optical discs, EHDD, flash, RDX.

Hours of Operation

Noon to 9:00 PM EST Monday thru Friday

Refund and Exchange Policy

Imation will replace the defective product with either a new, refurbished, or equivalent model if the unit is within the established warranty for the product.

Service Area

USA & Canada

BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.

If you choose to do business with Imation Corporation, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Imation Corporation

1 Imation Way

Oakdale, MN 55128-3421

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1 Imation Way 

    Oakdale, MN 55128-3421(651) 704-4000

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Imation Corporation is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Storage - Data

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.