This business is not BBB accredited.

Imation Corporation

Phone: (651) 704-4000 1 Imation Way  2A-TSS-040, Oakdale, MN 55128 http://www.imation.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Imation is a global scalable storage and data security company. Our portfolio includes tiered storage and security offerings for business, and products designed to manage audio and video information in the home.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Imation Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Imation Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 06, 1996 Business started: 05/24/1996 Business started locally: 05/24/1996 Business incorporated 05/24/1996 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dave Bartizal, Owner / Manager Dale Hopkins, Support Operations Mgr
Contact Information
Principal: Dave Bartizal, Owner / Manager
Business Category

Storage - Data Information Technology Services Digital Media Manufacturers & Producers Audio-Visual Production Services

Hours of Operation
Noon to 9:00 PM EST Monday thru Friday
Refund and Exchange Policy
Imation will replace the defective product with either a new, refurbished, or equivalent model if the unit is within the established warranty for the product.
Service Area
USA & Canada
Products & Services

According to information provided by the business, Imation Corporation offers data appliances for SMB backup and archiving.
Encrypted USB devices, mobile workspaces, management software.
Audio systems, headphones, chargers, cases.
Removable media including tape, optical discs, EHDD, flash, RDX.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1 Imation Way
    2A-TSS-040

    Oakdale, MN 55128 (651) 704-4000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: TDK A33 Speaker battery is not taking a charge. Company refused to replace as the item was purchased new for my birthday 10/2/15 by my sibling that came from Iraq to share my day. I do not have the proof of purchase because it is with him overseas protecting our country. I am so upset of the level of support from the company I just want to enjoy the unit I got from him because who know if and when I will see him again alive. I wish I could call to get the info but of course I can't

Desired Settlement: I want the device replaced so I can utilize it

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/20) */ We have reviewed Mr. ******'s case and we will send a replacement battery to him at no charge so his unit will function properly. The unit can't be replaced as it is no longer in inventory. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/11/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I want to know when and where the replacement will be going. After reading many forums about the product it is a known issue with the battery and I just do not want to be back in the same boat. If the company know the items are defective and discontinued why was it still available for retail sale and not pulled? I pray that no other issues arise with this model or I will be seeking a replacement of similar from the company Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2016/02/17) */ The battery was replaced after being denied and filing with BBB now the unit is still not working Here is my org. compl. TDK A33 Speaker battery is not taking a charge. Company refused to replace as the item was purchased new for my birthday 10/2/15 by my sibling that came from Iraq to share my day. I do not have the proof of purchase because it is with him overseas protecting our country. I am so upset of the level of support from the company I just want to enjoy the unit I got from him because who know if and when I will see him again alive. I wish I could call to get the info but of course I can't Desired Settlement I want the device replaced so I can utilize it I want the item replaced by like or similar product as the battery is not working properly to maintain charge! I called to company today to try and resolved but instead I received nothing but attitude from the guy on the phone talking about I wasn't within time frame to get a new battery and I need to send receipt. and I tried to explain that the battery I have was sent by TDK as replacement but he continued to talk over me without listing to my explanation as it became so frustrating I just hung up... so here we are again me filing another complaint about the same issue as previous. Again, at this point I am looking to have the item replaced as it seems the batteries for this model is pure junk

1/27/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is about Memorex's SimpleSave Photo & Video back-up discs. I just transferred all of the pictures and videos (dating back to 2008) stored on my old laptop to four Simple Save Photo & Video back-up discs. When I put the discs into my new laptop, I am unable to view anything. This is the message that pops up: "Sorry, you are running the 64 bit version of Windows on this computer, this operating system is not supported at this time." I searched online for some help and found that hordes of other people have had the same issue because Memorex irresponsibly created this product which won't work with newer operating systems, such as Windows 7. Why would a well-known tech company, such as Memorex, create a media storage product with a shelf life? The point of a product like this is so that people can save their memories for future viewing. And when do most people save a large batch of photos and/or videos? That's right, when they get a new computer. Fortunately, I checked to see if I could view my photos before deleting them from my old laptop. However, I spent money on these discs and wasted time loading them with my photos and videos, and now the discs are useless.

Desired Settlement: Refund I want my money back

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/19) */ Sear Sirs, Ms. ******* contacted our technical support team back in June 6, 2013 with her complaint. After requesting further information from her one of our supervisors replied back on June 10, 2013 and stated: "Dear Ms. *******, I'm ***************, from the Escalations Department at Memorex-Imation. Your case was brought to my attention, since you stated in your contact emails that you were unsatisfied with our SimpleSave media, for which I was hoping I could provide you with useful information. It's of my understanding that you're trying to use this media in a Windows 7 64bit computer. However, as stated by our specialist, the SimpleSave media isn't supported by Windows 7 and 64bit platforms, for which the error message being displayed in your computer is normal under these circumstances or environment. The reason why this particular situation is being experienced is because Windows 7 was initially released on July 22nd, 2009, and as you can see on the pictures attached, the license for the software used in the SimpleSave media was released in 2008, when this operating system wasn't available. Unfortunately, we don't have other options that we could offer for you to use in your computer or upgrades for this media, for which we recommend for you to use other storage devices such as regular media (e.g: CD-R or DVD-R discs), flash drives or even consider a hard drive. I hope you find this useful, but if you have further questions or comments, please feel free to contact us back." The back cover of the packaging for this product lists Windows 2000/XP/Vista as the system requirements but not Windows 7. Ms. *******'s product is not defective it is just not compatible with the new operating system she has. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Poor response from Memorex-Imation. I am not tech savvy, but at least now I know not to purchase anything from this company again. I still want my money back. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/01/27) */ We understand Ms. ******* isn't happy with the result, but nothing has changed since the last time she contacted us. This product was released in the market before Microsoft released Windows 7. Our packaging states this product will work with Windows 2000/XP/Vista. The product works as intended it just won't work with Windows 7.

1/19/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have tried to get in touch with Memorex numerous times of a defective products that I have purchased 2 of to no avail. Please help me. Dear Sir/Madam: I purchased your Memorex Disc Player at my local Walmart Store in June of 2014. It played for a while and then skipped tracks on my CDs. I tried numerous CDs even a new one I purchased and it did the same thing and was hot with a plastic smell. I exchanged it in October 2014 because I went on vacation since retirement and upon my return decided to exchange it. Walmart customer service did this one time exchange, so I got a second one. Since December, this same player has done the exact same thing and I cannot get my $46.96 back due to a prior exchange. I suffer from PTSD and music is one thing what helps with it. I cannot play my CDs for longer than 3 or 4 songs until it starts to skip and jump around again. The info on this product is: Intertek 3125681 , Bar Code 048520209896 Manufactured: February 2012Model # MP3851BLK J. Please advise what I should do. Patricia Mullins, Retiree from the USN ******************, Lebanon, VA 24266 ************ Thank You. ALL OF MY E-MAILS ARE RETURN WITH FAILURE TO DELIVER.

Desired Settlement: I would like my Refund of $46.96 for the Disc Player that I have replaced twice to no avail. I cannot get a response from this company even though I have tried.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/16) */ We are sorry to hear Mrs. ******* is having issues with her unit and that she has been unable to communicate with us. This unit comes with a 90 day warranty, which has already expired, for this reason we are unable to fulfill Mrs. ******* request for a refund. Instead we would like to offer a onetime exception and replace the unit for her. We would also like to know the email address Mrs. ******* has been using to try to communicate with us. Our correct email address is: techsupport@memorex.com. A case has been opened for Mrs. ******* and a replacement unit will be shipped to her next week. If Mrs. ******* would like additional information she can call or email us and use Reference# ******* for easy access to her case. Our toll free number for support is: ************** and our lines are open Monday through Friday from noon to 9pm EST.

6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SSD drive failed 2 years into a 5 year warranty. "If any defect within 5 years of the date of original retail purchase of this product it will be... repaired or replaced at Imations option." This 5 year warranty is written right on the box. Here are my replies from Imation. Good evening *****, Our warranty department doesn't have direct contact with consumers, for this, I will escalate your ticket to my superiors. They will be contacting you within the next 24 hours. Should you have any other questions or need further assistance, please don't hesitate to reply to this email or you can also contact us via phone at **************, opt. 2 Monday Thru Friday from 9:00 AM to 6:00 PM PST. Best regards, ********** Technical Support Specialist To reply to this E-mail, paste the information below on the subject line. Reference ******* Hello Mr. *****, My name is *********** and I'm a supervisor here at Imation Technical Support. This case was escalated to me. While reviewing your case, I noticed that the eBay seller of this product is not an Imation authorized seller. This individual seller may have many Imation products sold and with good reviews, but he still continues to be an unauthorized seller. The warranty states nothing about "authorized sellers." The truth is for whatever reason Imation no longer manufactures or supports the drive. The original point of contact told me I would be issued a refund upon Imation receiving my receipt.

Desired Settlement: Since they can not service or replace the existing drive, I have purchased another SSD drve which was less expensive. I understood their position, and I volunteered this information. The cost was @ $80.00. They have this information.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/13) */ As Mr. ***** mentions in his claim, our product has a 5 year warranty from the date of "original retail purchase". This means that Imation requires a copy of the receipt from the original purchase made by the individual selling this on eBay in order to validate the drive is still within the warranty. We suggest if Mr. ***** is interested in pursuing a warranty claim, he contact the individual from whom he purchased the drive on eBay to get a copy of receipt that shows the date the drive was purchased from a company within Imation's distribution channel. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Imation has a dated copy of my PayPal receipt. Imation has the Ebay confirmation of purchase from Ebay. They have evidence of this retailer selling hundreds if not thousands of Imation products. I have searched the Imation site there is not a list of approved retailers! Have them provide one in rebuttal. The warranty states retail not distribution. Legally it is neither the customer or retailers responsibility. The product worked for two years. It should have been a distribution issue. Imation has the drive ID they should know the distribution channel. If the drive was recalled or discontinued Imation should not have dumped the product on the open market, the product should have been destroyed, or original packaging along with warranty removed. Distribution is an Imation issue. I have both the original box with written warranty. Final Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2014/06/18) */ Imation contacted the eBay seller multiple times without a response. Our warranty begins from "the date of original retail purchase". The individual who sold the product on eBay would have to provide a copy of the original sales receipt showing it was within the warranty period. Warranties generally only apply to the original retail purchaser and do not transfer with the sale of the product. Imation must follow the warranty statements for all our products and our customers in order to be fair to everyone. In this case, it means we have to deny the warranty claim. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/05/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Waiting on Imation to publish sellers response, and remedy.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Imation Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)