BBB Accredited Business since

Shock Doctor, Inc.

Phone: (952) 767-2318 Fax: (952) 767-2359 View Additional Phone Numbers 110 Cheshire Ln Ste 120, Minnetonka, MN 55305 http://www.shockdoctor.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Shock Doctor, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Shock Doctor, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Shock Doctor, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 15, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1991 Business started locally: 01/01/1991 Business incorporated 11/02/2008 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Anthony Armand, President/CEO Jeff Burnett, VP - Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Anthony Armand, President/CEO
Customer Contact: Jeff Burnett, VP - Operations
Business Category

Sporting Goods - Wholesale & Manufacturers Manufacturers & Producers Safety Equipment & Clothing

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Shock Doctor, Inc., this company is a manufacturer and distributor of sporting equipment.


Additional Locations

  • 110 Cheshire Ln Ste 120

    Minnetonka, MN 55305 (952) 767-2318

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned a small knee brace for a refund. The company received the small brace returned on 1/20/2016 via UPS. I have called twice and emailed several times and have been told that the refund will be made within 3 to 5 days of my call. I still have no refund to my PayPal account. I was told that the company was acquired by another company and that they were very busy. I would like my refund as promised. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Refund due of $74.19 to my PayPal account.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 5, 2016/02/24) */ Thank you for your response. I have received my refund. I would like to cancel my complaint.

2/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order#************, have not received a refund or a confirmation of cancellation for 3 weeks despite repeated requests I placed an order on Jan 23 for $80. the note said please allow 3-5 days for shipping and Fedex will contact you with tracking details. No update for a week. Called them on Jan 28 and emailed them the same day. " we are trying to get more of so currently this has not shipped. We are very sorry and we will get back to you when we have more information and when we have an update when this will exactly ship!" So I requested they cancel the order and refund me the money. I spoke to Andrew in customer service, who promised me a call back to confirm that he has "contacted the warehouse and spoken to the credit department to square this out". No call back. when I called back, I was put on hold for over 30 minutes while Andrew checked with the warehouse, ending with him vaguely telling me he will talk to the credit department and get my refund "squared out" again and that I would receive it in 2-3 business days. No refund. Called again about the refund on Friday, 5 February, spoke to andrew again and I was very bothered that none of these promises were being recorded anywhere and I asked andrew to send me a confirmation of cancellation. He said he would CC me on the email to the credit guys to make sure I knew he was getting it done. I did receive an email from his account but no CC, just telling me has has processed it. "I just passed you on to the credit list to have your order canceled and get your money back. If you have any other questions next week give us a call- hopefully by the beginning of next week all of this will be squared up. Thanks again for your understanding! (Here is a promo code "CUST15" which will give you 15% off any of your orders in 2016)" Like I'm going to go through this nightmare again! Called back to ask him about the cc bit, spoke to somebody called Nick this time, who isnt even sure if this order has been cancelled yet. Called back today on 8 February, spoke to Nick again, he is still not sure they have cancelled this order, he is still talking about calling the warehouse to make sure they have held this order back and if they have THEN he can talk to the credit department about sending my money back. So so disappointed by how much they are making me run around to give me my own money back. I am flying back home in March first week and looks like they are going to keep me running around till I leave and my bank account closes, at which point they will conveniently claim that they "tried" and that they were unable to send my money back.

Desired Settlement: I just want my money back.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2016/02/09) */ Update: Have received a full refund from McDavidUSA.

4/27/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sizing of Shock Doctor supporters are grossly misleading. My waist size is 34 (a S.D. Large), and the Large supporters I bought were far too small. I recently signed up for Muay Thai training and was advised to purchase an athletic supporter and cup for safety. I've never worn ShockDoctor brand supporters before, but have always worn other brands for other sports throughout high school and college. I am no stranger to wearing such garments, and I have never been uncomfortable nor disappointed with the performance of them. However, this time I decided to go to a Dick's Sporting Goods location for the first time and discovered ShockDoctor was the only brand they carried in this department. I was highly dissatisfied with the outcome. I went to Dick's Sporting Goods in El Paso, TX on 2/23/15 and purchased the "Core Supporter w/o Cup Pocket" and the "Ultra Supporter with Ultra Carbon Flex Cup," both size Large. My waist size rarely deviates from 34". The advertised sizing on the packaging for these products said the Large would cover 34"-37". I figured this to be a simple decision and maybe they would even be a little bit on the loose size. However, immediately upon trying these products after purchase, the waistband was digging hard into my skin, the tags were scratchy, and I could not imagine having to do any form of athletic endeavor wearing them (even over compression shorts). Aside from the misleading sizes, the material of this product was highly unsatisfactory as well. I've never worn a supporter that had such insanely uncomfortable waistband and strap material. It felt as if they were lined with sandpaper. Very uncomfortable. After going online to see if others had the same issue, there was an overwhelming majority of people who described similar issues where they wish they had "sized up" when purchasing these products. If you are going to put a waist size on the packaging, it should really be an accurate one. If I sized up to the XL, that would mean (according to ShockDoctor standards) my waist size is at least 38". This is HIGHLY inaccurate and I feel like I was misled in the purchasing this product. Needless to say, I'm surprised to find myself typing up a complaint for an athletic supporter, but it goes to show just how unsatisfactory this product was. They were tried on once, only to remain in their original packaging with the receipt in the bag they came in thereafter. I've subsequently purchased a different brand for Muay Thai and have had no problems.

Desired Settlement: I'm seeking a full refund of what I payed for the two products.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/04/13) */ Contact Name and Title: *************, CS Mgr Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ******@shockdoctor.com Our apologies for the delay in response. We apologies for the issue that this consumer is having. If we were to send a shipping label to the consumer would he be willing to mail the product to use so we could inspect it for a sizing and comfort issue. We will also send him a check for what he paid for the items if he includes a copy of the receipt in the package.

11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Shock Doctor mouth guard at ********* in Anderson, IN on 6/29/13. The cost was $10.69 with tax. It was too large for my mouth and very uncomfortable. I took it back to ********* on 7/1/13 to see what they would do about this and they said there was nothing they could do. I sent a letter and the mouth guard, to Shock Doctor in MN on 7/3/13 and included the original sales receipt(I have a copy of t he receipt). I asked for "a refund check in the amount of $10.69 and if that is not possible, then I'd like to have a coupon for that amount that I can take back to the store for a replacement". I have not heard anything from the Shock Doctor in regards to this issue. I would like to get my money or an equivalent coupon. Thanks for your help. Product_Or_Service: Mouthguard Order_Number: *******************

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund refund or equivalent coupon.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/09/26) */ Hi, We do not have record of receiving a letter from this customer. We would be happy to send him a replacement mouth guard of his choice or the same mouth guard to take back to ********* for a refund. We cannot send a check to a customer that did not purchase directly from us. We are sorry to hear that he did not like this mouth guard. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2013/09/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I tried to return the original mouth guard to ********* and they would not give me a refund. I sent the mouth guard and original receipt to the address on the dental warranty disclaimer that came with the mouth guard----Shock Doctor, Inc. **** ********* **** North, Suite **** Plymouth, MN 55447. If the Shock Doctor sends me a letter that tells ********* to give me a full refund, $10.69, then I'm OK with that resolution. Final Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2013/10/25) */ Shock Doctor will issue the consumer a check for $10.69 and mail it to him with in 2 weeks.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Shock Doctor, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)