Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/05/2009

Shock Doctor, Inc.

Phone: (952) 767-2318Fax: (952) 767-2359View Additional Phone Numbers110 Cheshire Ln Ste 120, MinnetonkaMN 55305-1009 Send email to Shock Doctor, Inc.



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/05/2009

BBB has determined that Shock Doctor, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Shock Doctor, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Shock Doctor, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
11/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a Shock Doctor mouth guard at ********* in Anderson, IN on 6/29/13. The cost was $10.69 with tax. It was too large for my mouth and very uncomfortable. I took it back to ********* on 7/1/13 to see what they would do about this and they said there was nothing they could do. I sent a letter and the mouth guard, to Shock Doctor in MN on 7/3/13 and included the original sales receipt(I have a copy of t he receipt). I asked for "a refund check in the amount of $10.69 and if that is not possible, then I'd like to have a coupon for that amount that I can take back to the store for a replacement". I have not heard anything from the Shock Doctor in regards to this issue. I would like to get my money or an equivalent coupon. Thanks for your help.
Product_Or_Service: Mouthguard
Order_Number: *******************

Desired Settlement
refund or equivalent coupon.

Business Response
Hi, We do not have record of receiving a letter from this customer. We would be happy to send him a replacement mouth guard of his choice or the same mouth guard to take back to ********* for a refund. We cannot send a check to a customer that did not purchase directly from us.
We are sorry to hear that he did not like this mouth guard.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I tried to return the original mouth guard to ********* and they would not give me a refund. I sent the mouth guard and original receipt to the address on the dental warranty disclaimer that came with the mouth guard----Shock Doctor, Inc. **** ********* **** North, Suite **** Plymouth, MN 55447. If the Shock Doctor sends me a letter that tells ********* to give me a full refund, $10.69, then I'm OK with that resolution.

Final Business Response
Shock Doctor will issue the consumer a check for $10.69 and mail it to him with in 2 weeks.

04/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sizing of Shock Doctor supporters are grossly misleading. My waist size is 34 (a S.D. Large), and the Large supporters I bought were far too small.
I recently signed up for Muay Thai training and was advised to purchase an athletic supporter and cup for safety. I've never worn ShockDoctor brand supporters before, but have always worn other brands for other sports throughout high school and college. I am no stranger to wearing such garments, and I have never been uncomfortable nor disappointed with the performance of them. However, this time I decided to go to a Dick's Sporting Goods location for the first time and discovered ShockDoctor was the only brand they carried in this department. I was highly dissatisfied with the outcome.

I went to Dick's Sporting Goods in El Paso, TX on 2/23/15 and purchased the "Core Supporter w/o Cup Pocket" and the "Ultra Supporter with Ultra Carbon Flex Cup," both size Large. My waist size rarely deviates from 34". The advertised sizing on the packaging for these products said the Large would cover 34"-37". I figured this to be a simple decision and maybe they would even be a little bit on the loose size. However, immediately upon trying these products after purchase, the waistband was digging hard into my skin, the tags were scratchy, and I could not imagine having to do any form of athletic endeavor wearing them (even over compression shorts).

Aside from the misleading sizes, the material of this product was highly unsatisfactory as well. I've never worn a supporter that had such insanely uncomfortable waistband and strap material. It felt as if they were lined with sandpaper. Very uncomfortable.

After going online to see if others had the same issue, there was an overwhelming majority of people who described similar issues where they wish they had "sized up" when purchasing these products. If you are going to put a waist size on the packaging, it should really be an accurate one. If I sized up to the XL, that would mean (according to ShockDoctor standards) my waist size is at least 38". This is HIGHLY inaccurate and I feel like I was misled in the purchasing this product.

Needless to say, I'm surprised to find myself typing up a complaint for an athletic supporter, but it goes to show just how unsatisfactory this product was. They were tried on once, only to remain in their original packaging with the receipt in the bag they came in thereafter. I've subsequently purchased a different brand for Muay Thai and have had no problems.

Desired Settlement
I'm seeking a full refund of what I payed for the two products.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *************, CS Mgr
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ******@shockdoctor.com
Our apologies for the delay in response.
We apologies for the issue that this consumer is having. If we were to send a shipping label to the consumer would he be willing to mail the product to use so we could inspect it for a sizing and comfort issue. We will also send him a check for what he paid for the items if he includes a copy of the receipt in the package.

05/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
First, I love Shock Doctor's products. My issue is with the velcro on the ANKLE SLEEVE WITH COMPRESSION WRAP SUPPORT. It has routinely failed.
First, I love Shock Doctor's products. My issue is with the velcro on the ANKLE SLEEVE WITH COMPRESSION WRAP SUPPORT. It has routinely failed.

I own these products from Shock Doctor:
2 ANKLE SLEEVE WITH COMPRESSION WRAP SUPPORT
2 ULTRA WRAP LACE ANKLE SUPPORT
2 WRIST 3-STRAP SUPPORT
2 THIGH-GROIN SLEEVE
1 TENNIS ELBOW SUPPORT STRAP

I am happy with all, especially the tennis elbow support. However I am very disappointed in the quality of the ankle sleeve velcro. It has not held up under regular workout conditions.

Desired Settlement
Replacement of product.

Business' Initial Response
Shock Doctor is working with complaint to replace the ankle brace that tore.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Sporting Goods - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Safety Equipment & Clothing, Manufacturers & Producers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/15/2007Business started: 01/01/1991
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2008, MN

Contact Information
Principal: Anthony Armand (President/CEO)Customer Contact: Jeff Burnett (VP - Operations)
Business Category

Sporting Goods - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Safety Equipment & Clothing, Manufacturers & Producers

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Shock Doctor, Inc., this company is a manufacturer and distributor of sporting equipment.

BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.

If you choose to do business with Shock Doctor, Inc., please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Shock Doctor, Inc.

110 Cheshire Ln Ste 120

Minnetonka, MN 55305-1009

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 110 Cheshire Ln Ste 120 

    Minnetonka, MN 55305-1009(952) 767-2318
    Fax: (952) 767-2359

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Shock Doctor, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 233-6956
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Sporting Goods - Wholesale & Manufacturers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.