BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


According to the information provided by Family Leisure of Minnesota, this company is a leisure product superstore providing pools, spas and a variety of accessories. Family Leisure has an outstanding display area in the store and a knowledgeable staff available to answer questions.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Family Leisure of Minnesota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Family Leisure of Minnesota include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Family Leisure of Minnesota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 24, 2001 Business started: 10/10/2000 Business started locally: 10/10/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Business Management
Kevin Bolden, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Kevin Bolden, Owner
Business Category

Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair Sporting Goods - Retail Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Alternate Business Names

Additional Locations


    6283 Oaklandon Rd.

    Indianapolis, IN 46235

  • 7590 160th St. West

    Lakeville, MN 55044 (952) 997-7727


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Family Leisure sent contractors through them to install a 13,000 gallon above ground pool. The contractors were supposed to start and finish the project on 6/16/16, yet they failed to finish with any reasonable excuse. The only thing informed to me by the contractors was that they would return on 6/17/16. As the day finished on 6/19/16 they again failed to show up at 7645 west river road to finish installing the rest of the components which were the pump, liner and latter of the pool. I then went ahead and contacted family leisure to figure out why they didn't return, and to let them know that they had done a bad job, family Leisure assured me that they would be back on 6/20/16. The contractor showed up at the site with bad attitude and customer service to finish the half job they had started from the beginning.

Desired Settlement: Repair and Replacement

Business Response: I have left a message with customer and am scheduled to go to customers house on 8/9/16 to address all complaints. I am very sorry for the trouble this has caused Mr. *****. We strive to make every customer happy and will do so at this time. We were scheduled to call customer 1/2 hour before service call. I called and left message with customer and no answer. I left a message and had to move on to my next job. It will be scheduled at Mr *****'s time frame so he may be there to make sure all problems are solved at time of service call.

7/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a swimming pool had it installed, the crew came out and there were various issues with the installation, quality control does NOT seem to be a priority with this company as they had an excuse for every issue including parts not lining up correctly, leaving big gaps in top rail, resulting in a poor finished looking product, wrinkles in the pool liner, and poor communication, store owner and service manager not willing to compensate for lost time nor willing to correct issues to my satisfaction, nothing but excuses, wish I would have done business elsewhere......

Business Response: Family Leisure did install an above ground pool for Mr ********. The installation was scheduled for Friday July 1st. The installers were in the process of installing the pool (and had almost completed it) when Mr ******** asked them to stop working and leave. Mr ******** came into the store on Saturday morning, July 2nd, and expressed concerns with the process of installation with our store manager, Tim *******. Mr  ******* tried to explain the steps of installation to Mr ********, but he did not want an explanation, just a $1000 discount. He then said he would settle for $500. Mr ******* then agreed to go to Mr ******** house (on a very busy Saturday afternoon) and inspect it in person. Upon visiting the install site, Mr ******* saw that the install was correct and that it was nearly complete. Mr ******** did not like this explanation and again asked for money back. We agreed to bring in our install crew and finish his job on Sunday morning, July 3rd, which we did. We explained to Mr ******** that the pool should be filled when in sunlight and above 65 degrees and would probably take several days. We assume Mr ******** filled his pool overnight on Sunday because it was completely full by Monday afternoon. This causes stress on the liner and while it is purely cosmetic, it does effect the overall look of the pool. Mr ******** came into the store on Monday July 4th to get chemical advice and said that his pool was fine, but that he still wanted "compensation for his trouble" or he would contact the BBB and give bad reviews to Family Leisure. Family Leisure feels that we went above and beyond to take care of Mr ******** by bringing in a crew on a Sunday to finish the installation that could have been completed on the first trip if he would have let our crew do so. We do not feel like compensation in any way is in order and will not compensate a customer simply because he says he is going to post negative comments about us.

Consumer Response:

 I am rejecting this response because:

Here are photos of the pool that I took when I asked the installer to leave, as you can see the top rails have large gaps and are crooked, and the concrete footings were barely supporting the pool uprights which support the pool, when he came back on Sunday he kicked with concrete footings to try to get them under the pool wall uprights which in my mind is NOT the correct way to correct the issue, and then had to drill a bunch f new holes in the top rail plates and move the top rails to try to make the last top rail connection, the last top rail section was off by at least 6 inches and looked terrible, family leisure is Not telling the truth about me asking for $ 1000.00 I did tell the service manager when he came out to inspect that I wanted compensation for NOT getting what I paid for, which was a professional installation, you can also see the wrinkles n the walls, which they say is normal, but the installer said he didn't have a special vacuum with him that he needed to get them out but that when the pool fills up they would be gone, well they are NOT all gone. My point being is they sold me on there product and professional installation and it is obvious that I didn't get that as you can see by the photos, I've never said I was satisfied and that's why I filed this complaint to begin with, after the install manager told me they are doing nothing to compensate me for the job I received and I told him I would pursue further action, he said go ahead.


thank you

***** ********

10/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: "Upon purchase of our in ground pool, we were reminded 4 times to order sand for the installation. The crew arrived and I let them know we had sand. They kept insisting they did not need it. My husband called the store they did not come to the site. Due to a bumpy floor on the pool, use of pool vacuum not moving since pool floor is not smooth. Calls I made to install manager are not returned. He cut the call immediately and said he would be out to my home. Other employees refuse to speak to me. It infuriates me."

Desired Settlement: "Come out and remove pool and start over with a good base of sand. New liner required. Refund my payment and remove pool. Take away."

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/10/21) */ Family Leisure has done everything customer has requested. Tore down pool added more sand and replaced liner. I have been in contact with the customer and all seems fine. Consumer Indicated that he/she accepted the business response.

7/20/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went to get a replacement pool liner. They knew what size pool I had because they sold and installed it. They sold me the wrong size. Date of purchase:Mach XX XXXX. Was sold a 48/52 inch by 24 feet round pool liner when actual pool is 54"X 24'. I questioned them three times including calling and talking to the store manager. *** informed me that is what they install in all their 54"X24' above ground pools. So I preceded to take out old liner and replace with the one they sold me. Installed liner on April X XXXX had proper temperature requirement and pool leveled as needed started filling with water due to the fact it was not the right size it totally destroyed my pool and also caused extensive landscape issues. Went to Family leisure of Minnesota on April 6th met with store *** ***** store manager informed that it was my fault. Tried to get compensation for their error received nothing. I also used a lawyer to do a demand letter on April X XXXX. No response so I filed in Dakota County court system May XX XXXX have not received a date yet at this time. My concern also is that if they are installing these in other pools in voids all warranty on both pool and liners.

Desired Settlement: I want them to give me replacement value of the same pool I had and liner. Also all labor and other costs involved to get it back the way it was.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/06/24) */ As per manufacture warranty line 6 states. "The ideal temperature should be above 70 degrees Fahrenheit." The high temperature on April 4th was 52 degrees. Liners of this caliber are made to stretch when filled with water. Stretching of the liner occurs in full sunlight with temps above 70 degrees. Mr. ***** first contacted me after the liner had been installed and pulled down his pool wall due to the cold temperatures. When I talked to Mr ***** I asked to see pictures. He stated he had pictures but I never saw them. I asked Mr ***** what he would like for us to do. I offered a new liner and a new wall. He stated he wanted a full refund of the original price of the pool which was installed 8 years ago plus his labor to put in the liner that he put in and labor for his landscaping time. I would have no problem talking to Mr ***** again, but the last words when he left the store was I don't want anyone from Family Leisure coming to my house. I am still willing to go to Mr *****'s house to determine the damage and see what is able to still work and what parts need replacement. We at Family Leisure are willing to go above and beyond to try to make Mr ***** happy. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/07/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The reason we filed a complaint was we were sold the wrong size pool liner. Which caused the destruction of the pool and landscaping around the pool. That was why we filed the complaint and why we had no trust with the company even after questioning them on proper size. Trust and integrity is not there. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2015/07/09) */ We were contacted by there insurance company.Saying that they wanted to settle the complaint before going to court. Individuals name is *** ******* works for Federated Insurance. His number is XXX-XXX-XXXX have not heard anything back from him. His office is in Owatonna Mn. email is ********* Thank you

3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Broken new sofa. Wanting to return. When asked about return policy never mentioned a 15 % restocking fee. They will only fix sofa. Went to family leisure to purchase a sofa. Left to measure for sofa. Before leaving asked about the return policy. 15 % never came up. Purchased over phone. Never got receipt on delivery or in mail. When sofa came I unpacked them and one seats mechanism was bad, the packing had left indents in leather, cup holders looked used, and one of the headrest was lumpy And the arm rest were loose. Decided we did not want this sofa due to quality issues. all they would do is fix or charge us the restocking fee.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking 100 percent of cost of sofa

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/03/05) */ Family Leisure has a strict policy on returns. "A 15% restocking fee will be charged on all returned merchandise." When Mr. ***** called after his furniture was delivered, he did state he had a few issues with the furniture. Notes were taken and we agreed to replace the piece he thought was defective. That was not an option for Mr. *****, he really wanted to return it. Attached you will find pictures of the condition of return.(paw prints, salt from the highway, Chatter marks on chair) Family Leisure went above and beyond by accepting the merchandise back in it's condition and refund his purchase price minus the 15% restocking fee. We did give Mr. ***** a gift card in the amount of the restocking fee which is not store policy but to show some good faith. We consider this matter closed upon the refund and gift card. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2015/03/10) */ I now have a gift card for 225 dollars that I cannot use because I will not shop at family leisure. the receipt was mailed out to me a week after purchase. They hung thier teturn policy ovet my head. When i called the sales person back to quiz him about the return policy he told me 7 days and please return with boxes. He said nothing about the 15% restocking fee until i asked him to read his reciept. Upon return I was notified by an employee that the sofa on the floor had the same issue and I should have noticed the issue and have known that I bought a broken sofa. I only took the gift card because I felt I had no choice. I would like tI get my 225 back from this business from that gift card. I do not want this company to have any of my money Thanks **** Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2015/03/20) */ Family Leisure has gone above and beyond by giving Mr ***** a gift card instead of keeping said money. When motion furniture is delivered and set up by Family Leisure, minor adjustments need to be made. Uneven floors, carpet settling are two reasons for these adjustments to be made. Mr ***** paid for door stop delivery not set up. We asked Mr ***** to let us come out to make said adjustments, which he refused. We also were willing to exchange said piece. We consider this case closed. Again, we ask Mr ***** to look at attached pictures to show how items were returned.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Family Leisure of Minnesota
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)