BBB Accredited Business since

Topside, Inc

Phone: (612) 869-1177 Fax: (612) 259-7722 3109 W 50th St # 129, Minneapolis, MN 55410 http://www.topsideinc.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Topside, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Topside, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Topside, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 20, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1980 in MN Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated 01/01/1980 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Codes and Licensing Division
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.doli.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 284-5012
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Kathy Bodger, Office Manager Robert Olson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Kathy Bodger, Office Manager
Principal: Robert Olson, President
Business Category

Siding Contractors Windows - Installation & Service Construction Estimates Contractors - General Gutters & Downspouts Contractor - Insulation Painting Contractors Roofing Contractors

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Topside, Inc., this company offers residential roofing, siding, gutters, soffit/ fascia, and window insulation- all work on the exterior of the house.

Industry Tips
Attic Radiant Barriers Remodeling your home Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Topside, Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3109 W 50th St # 129

    Minneapolis, MN 55410 (612) 869-1177

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The roof continues to leak and now has destroyed internal ceiling, window shades and possibly insulation and windows. The roof was replaced last year and leaked in the fall. They came out to fix it, but it continued to leak a number of times this winter. We were told they can't fix it until it's above 40 degrees. It is now really leaking again and has ruined the ceiling and the window shades. I am unsure whether the insulation and windows are ok until I can see behind the sheet rock.

Desired Settlement: I want my roof fixed. I want the sheet rock replace, painted and the shades replaced. I also want to know if the insulation is ruined and whether the windows have been compromised. If they can't do it, then I will have someone else do it and have Topside pay the bills.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 19, 2015/07/07) */ We installed a flat roof on the front porch of this house. We were contacted about a leak and our investigation found that the downspout was filled with debris and ice, causing a large ice back-up on the roof. We cleared the ice from the roof and downspout and notified the homeowner that they needed to keep the downspout clear of ice throughout the winter and we would come back in the Spring to see if there was any repairs needed to the flat roof due to the ice build-up. We were not once notified of any further leaking until the day before this BBB complaint was filed. We, once again, went out to the house to find the downspout filled with ice again. We cleared the ice and told the homeowner they needed to keep the downspout cleared from ice and recommended a heat wire in that area. We followed up several weeks later with them to see if they wanted us to install the heat wire or had any further leaks and was told the leaking was fixed and they were still thinking about the wire. This was not a roof leak. We cleared the ice for the homeowner twice, at no charge, and felt we provided great customer service in a timely manner after both phone calls.

11/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Topside has not responded to multiple attempts to get them to change their website from our HOME address. They have not replied to any communication. We purchased the home at *****************, 55419 which was the base of operations for Topside, Inc and we closed on the house on June 4th, 2014. We have made multiple attempts to contact Topside to request that they update their website with current information. They have not responded to our requests, nor have they changed their website. We still receive mail for Topside, that we mark "moved, please forward" and give back to the Postal Carrier. We've had multiple clients come to the door, who we've informed them that Topside is no longer at this location. We've tried to get the address removed from Google Maps, but cannot as we do not own the company. The email address on the website in nonfunctional. We've left multiple voice mails on the phone number on the website requesting that they change their address and almost 6 months later we have received no response and nothing has been updated. We are left with no choice, but to report this behavior.

Desired Settlement: We want them to update their website with current contact information for their clients.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/11/11) */ We have changed our business address and we have been contacting all of our accounts and our customers. The post office is supposed to be forwarding the mail; we cannot control what they do. To the best of our knowledge I only received one email and one phone call asking for us to change our address which we have. They did not ask us to contact us directly. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/11/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Your website... http://www.topsideinc.net still lists ***************** as your address. Google Maps... https://www.google.com/maps/search/topside+inc+minnesota/@44.8918413,-93.3068372,17z still lists ***************** as your address. You removed the bad email address from your website, but didn't change the address. Please fix that and Google and then we will be satisfied. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/11/17) */ We have now corrected all the places on our website with the updated address. We continue to contact all the business, vendors, etc. with whom we correspond. It is the first time we have had to change our address in 35 years of doing business so it is taking longer to change all the records.

9/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: TopSide replaced our roofing and siding in 2011. Everything looks great, but now we have leaks caused by poor workmanship. TopSide replaced the siding and roofing on our house during the summer of 2011. The final bill was sent in September 2011 for $18,997.22. In June of 2014 we notice a leak in the ceiling of our first floor bedroom, and suspected it was coming in around some flashing on a 2nd story window. It took TopSide a week to come out, take a look and lackadaisically added more caulk but the roof continues to leak after that. TopSide is not returning phone calls or resolving the issue in a timely manner - it's been over a month since we initially contacted them and our roof is still leaking and they have not scheduled an appointment to do further work. Meanwhile, we have had other roofing contractors come out to take a look and they have listed many problems related to poor workmanship - flashing not installed properly, windows not wrapped and caulked properly, no step-in flashing, etc. 4 weeks after our first call TopSide sent an employee out to take a second look, and he agreed that there were workmanship issues. 4 and a half weeks later TopSide has still not taken any action to resolve the workmanship issues. Upon calling the city of Richfield for advice on how to address this problem, we discovered that a final inspection was never scheduled by the TopSide and was therefore never conducted. On July 2, nearly three years after the work was completed, an inspector for the city of Richfield finally came out (after we scheduled the appointment ourselves) and found a host of other issues that need to be resolved.

Desired Settlement: We want our roof and siding fixed ASAP so that it passes inspection. If TopSide is willing to do that, fine. But so far they have not been returning our phone calls in a timely manner - it has been a month since we initially reported the issue to them. If TopSide cannot fix the issue in the next few weeks I expect them to reimburse us for the work that we have to pay other contractors to do.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/08/06) */ *** Hard Copy Attached *** Topside, Inc. has been serving the Twin Cities area for over 34 years. We value our customers and take pride in our service and workmanship. We disagree with some of the homeowner's comments. We installed a new roof in 2011. There were no problems for 3 years. We came out and caulked the area around the window scupper where Topside, Inc. and the homeowner thought the water may have been entering. We did not originally do any work on this metal window scupper area but we wanted to try to help the homeowner if we could. This leak occurred after our record rainfall this spring. We did a thorough inspection of the areas where the homeowner's were concerned. We disagree with the comments of the other roofing contractors who they had come out to look at their house. There were a few items on which we agreed to make some adjustments and take care of. There were only 2 small workmanship items that the city inspector asked us to take care ofone was the window scupper which we did no work on originally, the other was a small trim flashing on the garage eaves. We are taking care of the areas of concern right now and are following up with the City of Richfield's requests. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/08/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We will be satisfied with the outcome once Topside secures a passing ***** inspection from the City of Richfield. Final Business Response /* (1000, 18, 2014/08/29) */ We have been trying to coordinate meeting the Richfield building inspector that looked at the *******'s house. We have been trading voice mails and we will call the main department of inspections and set up an inspection through them. There are a few items on the inspector's report that were not part of our original work that we need to review with the inspector. We hope to have this taken care of within the next week. Hopefully the inspector will be able to coordinate a time to meet with us so we can get this taken care of.

9/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Agreed to repair interior damage caused from leaking issue during winter after they repaired the roof. Failed to respond/setup time for repairs. After Topside completed some roof repairs before winter (finished in late November), we still had a leaking problem. They failed to respond to my attempts to contact them for help. After five calls over four weeks they finally answered a call, and agreed to come out. After arriving they explained the cause, and how to fix the issue. However, due to their lack of communication there was much internal damage to ceiling and walls. They then agreed to repair that damage once everything was cleared up. I have been contacting them since mid May trying to set up a time for them to complete this work. After stating they'll "return my call the next day" several times, I have never received a call back. I am still waiting for them to contact me to get this work done. I have talked with *** (the owner) directly, but he has failed to contact me back with any times/dates to do this work. The lack of communication of any kind is unsettling.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to complete this last task before mid-August, since by that time it will have been three months of attempted contact.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2014/08/29) */ In response to **** *****'s complaint, Topside, Inc. had roofed a portion of the back of their house late last fall. This winter, with the heavy snow and ice we had, the *****'s had very large ice dams which caused the leaking on the old portion of the roof near the new part. In a way to fair, I agreed to paint some of the areas where the water was leaking in. I talked with our painting subcontractor to schedule the work. He became very busy and was not able to get out there in a timely fashion. I contacted 2 other painting contractors who I had been referred to and they were also very busy. My original painting contractor is finally caught up on his schedule and will be doing the repairs in the next week and a half. I did contact **** ***** to let him know that.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Topside, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart