BBB Accredited Business since

Budget Exteriors, Inc.

Phone: (952) 887-1613 Fax: (952) 887-1659 8017 Nicollet Ave S, Bloomington, MN 55420 http://www.budgetexteriors.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Siding, Soffit/Fascia, Windows, Entry Doors, Patio Doors, Roofing, Gutters, Attic Insulation, RetroFoam Wall Insulation


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Budget Exteriors, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Budget Exteriors, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

31 Customer Reviews on Budget Exteriors, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 29
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 31

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 05, 1992 Business started: 02/25/1992 in MN Business started locally: 02/25/1992 Business incorporated 02/25/1992 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Kenneth Thompson, President Cassie Meyer, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Cassie Meyer, Vice President
Principal: Kenneth Thompson, President
Business Category

Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Insulation Contractors Equipment & Supplies Kitchen Remodeling Contractors - General Gutters & Downspouts Roofing Contractors

Service Area
Budget Exteriors, Inc. provides their services in MINNESOTA.Budget Exteriors, Inc. provides their services in AFTON, ALBERTVILLE, ALMELUND, ANDOVER, ANNANDALE, ANOKA, APPLE VALLEY, ARDEN HILLS, ARLINGTON, BAYPORT, BECKER, BELLE PLAINE, BELLECHESTER, BETHEL, BIG LAKE, BISCAY, BLAINE, BLOOMINGTON, BROOKLYN CENTER, BROOKLYN CTR, BROOKLYN PARK, BROWNTON, BUFFALO, BURNS TOWNSHIP, BURNS TWNSHP, BURNSVILLE, CAMBRIDGE, CANNON FALLS, CARVER, CASTLE ROCK, CEDAR, CEDAR E BETHL, CEDAR EAST BETHEL, CENTER CITY, CENTERVILLE, CHAMPLIN, CHANHASSEN, CHASKA, CHISAGO CITY, CIRCLE PINES, CLAREMONT, CLEAR LAKE, CLEARWATER, CLEVELAND, COKATO, COLOGNE, COLUMBIA HEIGHTS, COLUMBIA HTS, COLUMBUS, COON RAPIDS, CORCORAN, COTTAGE GROVE, CROWN COLLEGE, CRYSTAL, CRYSTAL BAY, DALBO, DARWIN, DASSEL, DAYTON, DELANO, DELLWOOD, DENNISON, DODGE CENTER, DUNDAS, EAGAN, EAGLE LAKE, EAST BETHEL, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDINA, ELK RIVER, ELKO, ELKO NEW MARKET, ELKO NEW MRKT, ELYSIAN, EXCELSIOR, FALCON HEIGHTS, FALCON HGTS, FARIBAULT, FARMINGTON, FOREST LAKE, FORT SNELLING, FRIDLEY, FRONTENAC, GAYLORD, GLENCOE, GOLDEN VALLEY, GOODHUE, GRANDY, GREEN ISLE, GREENWOOD, HAM LAKE, HAMBURG, HAMEL, HAMMOND, HAMPTON, HANOVER, HARRIS, HASTINGS, HEIDELBERG, HENDERSON, HILLTOP, HOPE, HOPKINS, HOWARD LAKE, HUGO, HUTCHINSON, INDEPENDENCE, INVER GROVE, INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, ISANTI, JANESVILLE, JORDAN, KASOTA, KENYON, KILKENNY, KINGSTON, LAKE CITY, LAKE ELMO, LAKE ST CROIX BEACH, LAKELAND, LAKELAND SHORES, LAKELAND SHRS, LAKEVILLE, LANDFALL VILLAGE, LANDFALL VLG, LAUDERDALE, LE CENTER, LE SUEUR, LESTER PR, LESTER PRAIRIE, LINDSTROM, LINO LAKES, LITTLE CANADA, LONG LAKE, LONSDALE, LORETTO, MADISON LAKE, MAHTOMEDI, MANKATO, MANTORVILLE, MAPLE GROVE, MAPLE LAKE, MAPLE PLAIN, MAPLEWOOD, MARINE ON SAINT CROIX, MARINE ST CRX, MAYER, MAZEPPA, MEDFORD, MEDICINE LAKE, MEDINA, MENDOTA, MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MENDOTA HTS, MERIDEN, MINETONKA BCH, MINETONKA MLS, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNETNKA BCH, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA BEACH, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MONTGOMERY, MONTICELLO, MONTROSE, MORRISTOWN, MOUND, MOUNDS VIEW, MOUNDSVIEW, N SAINT PAUL, NAVARRE, NERSTRAND, NEW AUBURN, NEW BRIGHTON, NEW GERMANY, NEW HOPE, NEW MARKET, NEW PRAGUE, NEW TRIER, NEWPORT, NICOLLET, NO OAKS, NORTH BRANCH, NORTH MANKATO, NORTH OAKS, NORTH SAINT PAUL, NORTH ST PAUL, NORTHFIELD, NORWOOD, NORWOOD YOUNG AMERICA, NOWTHEN, NYA, OAK GROVE, OAK PARK HEIGHTS, OAK PARK HGTS, OAK PARK HTS, OAKDALE, ORONO, OSSEO, OTISCO, OTSEGO, OWATONNA, PINE ISLAND, PINE SPRINGS, PLATO, PLYMOUTH, PRINCETON, PRIOR LAKE, RAMSEY, RANDOLPH, RED WING, RICHFIELD, ROBBINSDALE, ROCKFORD, ROGERS, ROSEMOUNT, ROSEVILLE, SAINT ANTHONY, SAINT AUGUSTA, SAINT BONIFACIUS, SAINT CLAIR, SAINT FRANCIS, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT MICHAEL, SAINT PAUL, SAINT PAUL PARK, SAINT PETER, SANTIAGO, SAVAGE, SCANDIA, SHAFER, SHAKOPEE, SHOREVIEW, SILVER CREEK, SILVER LAKE, SKYLINE, SOUTH HAVEN, SOUTH SAINT PAUL, SOUTH ST PAUL, SPRING LAKE PARK, SPRING LK PK, SPRING PARK, ST ANTHNY VLG, ST ANTHONY, ST ANTHONY VILLAGE, ST BONIFACIUS, ST CROIX BCH, ST CROIX BEACH, ST LOUIS PARK, ST MARYS POINT, ST MARYS PT, ST PAUL PARK, STACY, STANCHFIELD, STANTON, STEWART, STILLWATER, SUNFISH LAKE, TAYLORS FALLS, VADNAIS HEIGHTS, VADNAIS HTS, VERMILLION, VESELI, VICTORIA, W LAKELAND, W SAINT PAUL, W ST PAUL, WACONIA, WANAMINGO, WARSAW, WASECA, WATERTOWN, WATERVILLE, WAVERLY, WAYZATA, WEBSTER, WELCH, WEST CONCORD, WEST LAKELAND, WEST SAINT PAUL, WEST ST PAUL, WHITE BEAR LAKE, WHITE BEAR LK, WHITE BEAR TOWNSHIP, WHITE BEAR TP, WILLERNIE, WINSTED, WINTHROP, WOODBURY, WYOMING, YOUNG AMERICA, ZIMMERMAN, ZUMBRO FALLS & ZUMBROTA, MN.
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Budget Exteriors, Inc., this company provides siding, roofing, windows, decks, porches and kitchen remodeling. They also offer seamless gutters, soffits and fascia.

Industry Tips
Foreclosure Services Remodeling your home Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Budget Exteriors, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8017 Nicollet Ave S

    Bloomington, MN 55420 (952) 887-1613

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I live in Minnesota and I can't shut my window. I bought these windows 6 years ago, the slider has not worked since the day I bought them and the crank window cannot be opened or closed because the lock mechanism is broken. I called them a week after buying them, they came out and told me the weather stripping hasn't stretched in yet and to give it a week and it would be just fine. I have called them at least 5 or 6 times over the years and they have told me they would set an appointment and call me back. They had salesmen come to my door to try and sell me windows and I told them, if they would fix the ones they put in the first time maybe I would buy more windows from them. The salesman also said he was going to make sure someone came out immediately. Through all of this communication and promises not one person has contacted me or came out. I recently called them again and they ordered the parts for a crank out window they also. They called me 2 weeks after the parts were ordered for the window and said they set an appointment for first thing in the morning so I took the morning off of work. They said they were going to be there at 8:30, they called me at 9:30 and said they'd be here by 11:00. They called me back again and said they wouldn't be here until after 11:00. So I told them they needed to set an afternoon appointment after 3:30 because at this point I had already missed a half day of work for the windows and couldn't afford to take anymore time off work. The lady, Lisa, said she would call me back the next day to schedule another appointment but she never did. So today, over a month later I finally call them again and they said once again they will call me with an appointment tomorrow. It's costing me more money to heat and/or air condition my house because these windows do not work like they should, it's costing me time off work to have to wait for them to come out and fix them when they never do. I'm tired of calling them, I'm tired of paying more then I should have to in utilities and I'm tired of wasting my time.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to come out and fix my windows so I can use them the way they are supposed to be used. I would like them to contact me for once instead of me having to chase them down just to get false promises.

Business Response: On 6/21/16 we received a call from homeowner stating that he needed crank for casement window to the left of his picture window.  Also stated that his double slider window wouldn't shut or lock properly. The crank was ordered and once received on 7/13/16 a call was placed to homeowner to set up service for 7/19/16. Homeowner confirmed appointment.  The morning of scheduled appointment, we needed to move the appointment to 11 am, instead of 9 am due to unloading a window semi truck. He said that would not work.  We called back on 7/20/16 to reset appointment and left message.  We did not receive a call back, so we called again on 7/25/16 and left a message.  Still no call back from homeowner, so we called again on 8/5/16 and 8/11/16 with no calls back.  On 8/15/16 after business hours, homeowner called in stating he hadn't received any calls from our service dept and would like service completed.  On 8/16/16 we called again and scheduled appointment for installation at 9:00 am 8/29/16. Issues will be resolved today.

8/6/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Budget Exteriors continues to call us from the numbers ###-###-#### and ###-###-####. They have been told not to call and have also be informed we are on the do not call list, they then claim either that it was a mistake that our number was included for telemarketing purposes or that they can call us if they want because they are a "charity".

Desired Settlement: Budget Exteriors is using fraudulent and illegal telemarketing practices that constitute harassment and it needs to stop.

Business Response:

***corresponding documents attached.

RE: Case #********: ******* ******

Dear Ms. *******,

I am writing in response to your letter dated June 24th, 2016 regarding the complaint you received from ******* ******.  As much as I would like to say that my telemarketing department does not call people who are on the no solicitation call list, it can happen from time to time.  Budget Exteriors exhibits at over 50 events/fairs/shows.  When an individual signs up for the drawing, the cards all get stamped for which event they came from, then are bunched together and put in a container with the year on it from the drawing.

We have no way of sorting these by individual name, address or telephone number because they all get put together and gone through randomly by a number of the staff for calling material.  I have made a flyer (see enclosed) with Mr. ******'s information and distributed it to my entire staff to try and eliminate any calls from being made to his home.  I do apologize on behalf of Budget Exteriors, Inc to Mr. ****** and his family for any inconvenience this may have caused them.

If you have any additional questions or concerns regarding this matter, please feel free to contact me at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

Cassie *****

Budget Exteriors, Inc

Vice President

Enclosure

5/18/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Facia and soffet keeps falling off of the house or garage every year. I purchased facia and soffit in august of 2007 and had it installed. Every year there after a piece of the material will come off of the house or garage. I have called budget exteriors and get a different reason why which turns out to be just a run around. They have come out and replaced some of the pieces of material but never faster the remainder of the material to eleviate the problem. I have put some of the material on myself when it has not been damaged. I feel that if they can not repair a job that was never done correctly in the first place, they can return my money and I will get some one to install it correctly so it isn't falling off all the time.

Desired Settlement: I feel the majority of the money I paid them should be returned to me because the material was never installed correctly. If it had been it wouldn't be falling off all the time.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/05/05) */ RE: Case # ********: ******* ***** Dear Ms. *******, I am writing in response to your letter dated April 13, 2015 regarding the complaint you received from ******* *****. On April 22nd, I spoke to Mr. ***** in detail about his concerns, as this was the first time I had heard about this issue. After speaking with Mr. *****, I felt it necessary to inspect the job and his concerns. We originally completed this installation on August 27, 2007. Our records also indicate a service for the same issue was conducted on May 28, 2009, more than nine months after the labor warranty had expired. The cause of the problem is that the nails are working themselves loose over time. This is caused by frost forming on the exposed side of the nail due to the sub-fascia. We did not install the sub-fascia and really do not have control over this situation. This job is now almost seven years out of warranty; but to help with Mr. *****'s frustrations I have offered to have our service technician to replace the nails with screws. This is not a common practice, but in light of the ongoing problem I feel it is the best solution. I left a message for Mr. ***** late this afternoon that we plan to change out the nails for stainless steel screws and to contact our office to schedule the service with myself or Lisa for the week of May 11th, providing the weather is good. He did call back and the service was scheduled for Thursday, May 14th. ; this service should take the better part of a day and I am confident the end result will solve Mr. *****'s issue. If you have any additional questions regarding this, please feel free to contact me at (952)********. Sincerely, ****************** Budget Exteriors, Inc. Production Manager

4/24/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/11/15 a sales representative came to estimate new siding for my house. During presentation he said the company was certified with BBB and all installers were certified. He told me that the financing would be completed within 2-3 business days which he gauranteed me as a stipulation so I could apply elsewhere after that. He told me a $500 good faith check was required for financing and until approved was only for good faith. Only upon approval of financing would my work order became a contract. So I agreed to apply for financing and I signed the paperwork. I got no response them so I called 3/18/15 to get the final status. The Office Mgr told me the representative, Mr. ******* had the file and would call me the same day. He didn't. I waited until 3/22/15 and called again. I was told nothing had been done up to then. The Sales Manage, **** ******, called and I told him I had to know that day. They emailed me a financing request for another Co., Killowatt Financing so I signed and sent it. He said he didn't see a problem and would call before end of day. He didn't so I sent a signed notice to cancel application I want my $500 (which they cashed 3/14/15) in 7-10 days and to not call me again. **** called me next morning said he got the cancellation and so then he found financing. He said he would not sent me my money, because I signed the contract and they had already ordered material. I had to pay them for 25% of order and restocking fee. He had scolded the rep and told him he would not get paid for job; but it didn't matter what I was guaranteed because I signed the paperwork. I told him he now had 6 days and I owed him nothing. I demanded my money and he began yelling at me that he WOULD NOT give me the money and DID NOT HAVE 6 DAYS and he was sending me an invoice. Since I am a Disabled American Veteran with 80% PTSD and 100% unemployable total and permanent I have only disability compensation (on work order). They lied to me and took advantage of my vulnerability. Product_Or_Service: Vinal Siding Order_Number: none Account_Number: none

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want my $500 and due to their neglect (which I believe is breach of contract by verbal guarantee) I don't owe anything.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/13) */ RE: Case # ********: ****** **** ***** Dear Ms. *******, We are writing in response to your complaint dated March 31, 2015 regarding ****** *****' contract. At the point of sale we were able to get Ms. ***** approved for $7,500 financing through EnerBank for her siding project. However she declined that offer, because she required $10,535, and asked that we seek other financing options on her behalf. The following day, she was declined at Synchrony Bank. At that point her file was turned back to the sales rep to contact Ms. ***** for additional options, or to reduce the scope of work and to accept the EnerBank loan for $7,500. On March 18th Ms. ***** spoke with our Office Manager, *****, stating that she could put additional money down and that she had been approved with Synchrony Bank for $8988 for 5.9% loan. She also claimed that she had been approved for the full loan amount through Kilowatt Financial with another contractor. When ***** checked the Synchrony Bank loan portal online, it said she was declined. At that point, ***** called our rep to get more information. ***** then waited to hear back from our rep on their decision to finance Ms. *****. On March 23rd, Ms. ***** called back and was informed that Synchrony Bank did not approve her, but that we could email her the credit application for Kilowatt Financial and submit it the same day. At 3:36pm Ms. ***** emailed back the signed credit application, at such time ***** submitted online. At 3:57 pm ***** emailed Ms. ***** stating that she would get the approval and have **** (our Sales Manager) call her the following morning to discuss her options. The following morning, ***** discovered an email from Ms. ***** (from the previous evening) stating that she wanted to cancel her contract. **** called Ms. ***** regarding her finance approval and discussed with her the options she had moving forward. These options included 1)using Kilowatt Financial for the full amount; 2) using EnerBank for $7,5000 and paying cash for $2,035, while reducing the job $1,000 3) she gets her own financing, or 4) she pays the 25% cancellation fee of $2,758.75 (less her down payment of $500). She asked for the day to think about her options and that **** could call her back on March 25th for her decision. When **** got in to the office on March 25th at 9:00 he had a message to contact her son to discuss her cancellation. **** called her son and requested a copy of his POA (power of attorney) in order to discuss the contract. He claimed that he didn't have one and that **** could call his mother and she would provide her reason for cancelling. **** then called Ms. ***** and she claimed we were in breach of contract because we didn't provide financing "in time" and that she demanded her money back in six days or else. **** mentioned again the 25% cancellation fee, at that point he was hung up on. On March 25th, I was given her file to mail out an invoice for the remaining $2,285.75 owed for cancelling after the 3-day right of rescission. I decided to accept her $500 down payment in lieu of the full cancellation fee and suggested that once she found the financing we would apply the $500 towards future work on her home. Ms. ***** had until March 16th to cancel her contract as per Minnesota Statute 325G.07, yet she failed to submit her request to cancel her contract until March 23rd. She is in breach of contract, and according to our contract: Purchaser shall pay the Contractor 25% of the total of the contract and all its change orders in addition to restocking fees and special material costs incurred as damages for the breach of this contract. In the even of payment default, Purchaser agrees to pay reasonable attorney's fees and costs incurred, whether or not court proceedings are instigated, in addition to other sums you agree to pay the Contractor for the reasonable costs of enforcement or collection, and/or if in the event it is necessary to institute legal proceedings. At this time, we have closed her file and have accepted the $500 down payment in lieu of the additional cancellation fee that would normally be due. However, if Ms. ***** would like to proceed with the contract and use the Kilowatt Financial financing that was approved, I would be more than happy to apply that $500 to her contract at that time. The price that was written in her contract dated March 11th, 2015 will only be good for one year. Sincerely, ************ Budget Exteriors, Inc. Vice President ***original document attached.

3/13/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I told Budget Exteriors I wanted a new garage window they put in a insert window that I did not want reusing my 35 year old drip-cap that looks bad. Problem date is 8/6/2014.Purchase date is 5/22/2014.Payment amount $11,725.00.By check.Main problem is the garage window,Budget Exteriors installed a insert window meaning they reused my 35 year old drip-cap the top of the frame of the outside of the window,it looks really really bad it's been repainted a few times paint is peeling,chipped it was installed in 1980.I want my house not to have any paint inside or out.I never agreed to a insert window I wanted a new window the entire window.I think Budget Exteriors installed a insert window because it was faster and easy for them to do.Another problem is when Budget Exteriors took out my upstairs picture window they did not look good enough to see if the window was not attached to anything when they pulled out the old window they ripped a 16" x 8" of paper off my sheet rock they need to look better this is their fault.Also the garage window has a dent in the outside frame they need to fix.Also in the attic one of the vents is starting to fall down,*************** said maybe in 2 months he will put in one little staple.The one time I did talk to *************** he had me on speaker phone with other people giving me excuse after excuse why nothing is their fault,I did not buy his excuses.Also I think at least by the attic door could use some more insulation.I called to talk to *************** had to leave a message for what ever reason ****** will not call me back.I also called to talk to ************ left two messages Cassie will not call me back.I guess they think they have my $11,725.00 so they do not want to help me to do their work the right way.Hope Budget Exteriors calls back the BBB.Also would you tell Budget Exteriors to mail me a copy of our contract they will not do this either.

Desired Settlement: I want a new garage window not a new insert a whole new garage window like they were suppose to do in the first place.I want my sheet rock repaired by Budget Exteriors.I want my attic problems fixed today not maybe in two months.If Budget Exteriors wants I will hire someone else at their expense to fix all the problems Budget Exteriors left.Also I need Budget Exteriors to mail me a copy of our contract.All these problems should not be here.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/01/30) */ RE: Case # ********: ****** **** Dear Ms. *******, I am writing in response to your letter date January 15, 2015 regarding the above mentioned complaint filed against Budget Exteriors. On May 22, 2014 Mr. **** contracted Budget Exteriors to install 2 full frame windows on the front of home, 1 replacement window in the garage, AttiCat R-35 package of insulation in home, and soffit & fascia repairs on front of home and SW Gable peak. Mr. **** states that we put in an insert window in his garage. This is correct, that is what he ordered. Replacement (insert) window application does not provide to have the drip cap replaced. Mr. **** was only charged for full frame window applications on the living room windows; he was not charged this for the garage window. On August 6, 2014 both our Attic Insulation crew and our Window installer were present to do the installations to complete the contracted work. Mr. **** signed two seperate Certificate of Completion forms for the Window installer and the Attic Insulation crew. These forms state that all services have been satisfactorily performed and that materials supplied were satisfactory. On August 7, 2014 the Window installer dropped off a window screen to have our service technician rescreen and drop off/install for Mr. ****. On August 8, 2014 this was completed and Mr. **** signed a Service Completion Certificate stating that the service he requested was fully completed. At no time did Mr. **** mention any additional concerns about his contracted work to our service technician or our office staff. On December 12, 2014 (four months later) Mr. **** called in stating there was a gouge in the sash frame on the garage window. At that time we ordered a new replacement sash frame and completed that service on December 31, 2014. He would not allow our service technician to caulk around the window due the inclement weather. It was agreed that our service technician would come back in the spring when it is warmer out. On December 31. 2014 it was brought to our service technician's attention that Mr. **** had concerns with the sheetrock around his window. At that time he stated our Window Installer tore the drywall when one of the windows in the house. Our service technician offered to repair the drywall around the window and Mr. **** refused and asked for a drywall referral because he had other work to be done. If Mr. **** decides that he would like for us to repair the drywall, as our service technician offered, we can complete that when we do the caulking of the window in the spring. Mr. **** continues on in his comp(laint that there is a dent in the outside frame that was replaced on December 31. 2014. Our service technician fully inspected the product, along with Mr. ****, at the time of the service appointment. There were no blemishes or dents in the sash frame at that time. Mr. **** then states in this complaint that an attic vent is falling down. We did not install vents in Mr. ****s attic. We did however install ventilation chutes in the accessible rafter spaces as per the contract. If it is actually a ventilation chute that is falling , our service technician can reattach (with staples) the chute when he is there in the spring to do the caulking of the window. There is no harm in leaving the chute the way it is for a few months. Mr. **** goes on to state that he left two voice mail messages for me. this is true. I have been out of the office for several days recently due to teh declining health and death of my grandmother. My assistant mailed Mr. **** a copy of his contract on January 13, 2014 after he left a message on the Production Manager's voicemail January 12, 2014. As of today, I still have not returned Mr. ****'s call as I received this complaint upon my return to the office. Our service department will contact Mr. **** in the spring, per his request, to schedule the caulking of the window, reattachment of the ventilation chute and repair of the drywall (if he chooses). If you have any additional questions regarding this matter, please feel free to contact me at (952) ********. Sincerely, ************ Budget Exteriors, Inc. Vice President Enclosures ***Corresponding documents attached. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/02/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I told Budget Exteriors salesman over and over I want a new garage window,I would never agree to a insert window reusing a 35 year old drip cap that looks real bad.I didn't even know what a insert window was so how could I order one?I said I want a new garage window so the contract says replacement window replace it with a entire new window including a new drip cap,now it's replacement(insert)window,why did they not write(insert)in the contract and explain to me they where going to reuse my 35 year old drip cap?I would of put a stop to that right away.Also ************'s service technician never offered to repair the drywall and why would I refuse to let them fix the damage they did to my drywall?I do not know why ************ is not telling the truth about the drywall if they would of offered to fix my drywall I would of let them for sure.When I asked *************** to fix my drywall he said it was not their fault and I have to hire my own drywall repairman for about $25.00 to fix the damage they did,I guess ************ forgot to mention that.Also ************ is not telling the truth about the dent in the frame of outside of the garage window I showed their service technician the dent he saw the dent I do not know why ************ is not telling the truth about the dent,everyone is welcome to come see the dent it's still there.And yes one of the ventilation chutes is starting to fall down you know one one the vents they installed.And if ************ could not return my calls why didn't the girl answering the phone tell me this instead of always putting me to ****** voice mail?I also left a message for *************** to call me back what's the reason why he would not call me back?I do not know why ************ is making up a story and not telling the truth but she is.Again I want a new garage window including a new drip cap like I told their salesman.Since I never refused to let them fix my drywall fix my drywall.And yes fix all my attic problems.To this day ***************,************,nobody from Budget Exteriors will call me back to resolve all the problems they left behind.Thank-you BBB ****** ****. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 15, 2015/03/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all Budget Exteriors never tried to contact me to do the repairs the week of February 9th,how can I return their phone calls when they never called me?Budget Exteriors has not called me for months and months and months.I have caller ID and a answering machine they never called.This is ************ being a liar again.Please call me for real I will be happy to return their phone calls.And if ************ dose not like being called a liar how about telling the truth for once.I think ************ is irrational individual and she will not reason to fix things right as per the contract.All ************ likes to do is be a liar.I have tried to deal with ******'s co-workers they are just as bad as her if not worst.The fact that I never agree to a insert window is true!!!I demand they replace my garage window with a whole new window including a new drip cap I asked for a whole new window,the contract says replace the window,I paid for a whole new window,I got ripped off.************ keeps saying over and over (if he chooses)to have them fix the dry wall,I asked *************** months and months and months ago to fix the drywall they wrecked Dan said no.Lets see their phone records that they called me we can not there is none.Lets put ************ and I on a lie detector ****** won't show because she is a liar.Main thing is they have to replace the entire garage window,I know for a fact there is not a man women or child on the face of the earth that would agree to reuse a 35 year old drip cap that looks real bad nobody.I just wish ************ would stop being a liar and start telling the truth.Problem is the truth would cost her money.My house would look better but ****** dose not care about my house.BY the way I am not a liar I am telling the truth.Hope the BBB can some how help me.Thank-you.****** ****. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2015/03/13) */ **************, I am tired of being bad mouthed by Mr. **** and continually being called a liar. He seems to be under the influence of alcohol, or some other substance, each and every time he has either called our office or we have contacted him. He needs to read his contract, plain and simple. We will not replace his garage window. He got what was in the contract and what he paid for. My Customer Service Rep Lisa did in fact call him during the week of February 9th to schedule his service, only to not receive any calls back. At this point, Mr. **** can contact our office and schedule the service items (caulking of the window and the reattachment of the ventilation chute) at his convenience. I am done responding to these letters, and as far as I am concerned you can close this complaint as unresolved. Sincerely, ************ Vice President

2/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repeat telemarketing calls, despite being on the do not call list and having asked them in the past to stop calling. In the past, I was getting telemarketing calls from them, and asked them to stop. They did for a time, and they've started again, from a new phone number, 952-698-3452, a couple times a day. I am on the Do Not Call List. When I asked them to stop calling me, they told me that they are not subject to the Do Not Call list - I don't know why they think that. To the best of my knowledge, they are not a political organization, a charity, or a survey company. Tonight they told me they'd put me on their "personal" do not call list -- they've said that before, but here they are again. Why are they not subject to the regular do not call list, particularly when they've been asked not to call? I have never had a business relationship with them. I have never been a customer. I have never requested information from them. I have never given them permission to call me. I have never attended a home show, or filled out any kind of survey or card for them which seems to be the usual excuse they use. I do not even live in a home where I have control over the exterior, I could not possibly even BE a customer! I have no say in the exterior of my building whatsoever, and I have told them that in the past. My request is that they permanently remove my number from their call list.

Desired Settlement: I request that they PERMANENTLY remove my number from their telemarketing list. FOREVER!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/01/30) */ RE: Case #********: ************* Dear Ms. *******, I am writing in response to your letter dated January 14, 2015 regarding the above referenced complaint that was filed against Budget Exteriors. I have recently discovered that the employee that is in charge of documenting our internal DNC requests is not up to date on her record keeping. This issue is being rectified by having someone else in our company update the records. However, the only other reason she may be being contacted is that she possibly lives in a neighborhood that surrounds a jobsite that we have recently completed work at. Postcards are sent to these neighborhoods based on a list pulled from the Cole's Directory. We have a subscription with Cole's Directory to only provide scrubbed calling lists against the DNC list. I apologize for the inconvenience of the phone calls received. Again, we have implemented a new way of tracking internal DNC requests and are confident that this will prevent further issues regarding this. Sincerely, ************ Budget Exteriors, Inc. Vice President ***corresponding document attached. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/01/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In the first place, their excuse is lame and phony. I do not live anywhere near a construction site. I've been here for 20 years. This subdivision has been here for that long. It is a townhouse community with no single family homes, and no construction. And this isn't about postcards -- this is about their telemarketing by phone. Secondly, I have been getting calls from them, from various numbers that they use, at least three different ones, and asking them to stop, since 2013. So their story about an employee being "not up to date on her recordkeeping" can't be true either, unless she's been "not up to date" for a couple of years. Third, if you check 800notes.com and search for their company name, you will find pages and pages of complaints about them. This is NOT an isolated issue. Here's a link. http://800notes.com/nb/search.aspx?q=Budget%20Exteriors The plain and simple fact is that they do not honor the do not call requests, and they will say right out that they do not have to. They offer a phony excuse every time someone complains. I am keeping track of this and this report. I request no further action from the BBB at this time and will mark this as accept as long as they're agreed (again) to not place calls to my number. However, should they begin again, violating this request once again, I will request that penalties for such be invoked to the highest extent. Thank you.

1/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Violation of the Do Not Call registry. A rep from this company called me @ 3:27 on Friday 12/19/2014. I am on the Do not Call registry. The rep informed that Budget Exteriors is calling residents in the Hastings, MN area about siding. I stopped her right there and informed her she was violating the Do Not Call registry. She informed me that her company is not bound by the DNC registry because they don't sell anything and because of that the DNC rules don't apply to them. I informed her she is to never call again and to take me off their call list. After doing some research on this company it appears to me that they do in fact sell products and services. I don't believe this company should be conducting buisness like this. I live in a town home and do my shopping online so the possibility of myself or a family member entering me in a drawing or whatever at some mall is next to zero and I will not accept that excuse.

Desired Settlement: This company is to never call my number again and remove my number from whatever advertising source they got it from. I also want them to stop calling people on the DNC list. Inform their employees that they do in fact sell goods or services so they may not tell people their company doesn't sell anything if they actually do. I've looked into this company and it seems my problem is not unique. They need to stop this practice.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/01/09) */ RE: Case # ********: ***** ****** Dear Ms. *******, I am writing in response to your letter dated December 24th regarding the above complaint from Mr. ******. His complaint states that the rep informed him that we don't sell anything. this could be a matter of misunderstanding. As we do not sell anything over the phone and never have. Budget Exteriors has been in the home remodeling business for 25 years and we strive to provide quality products and installation to home owners that are in the market for home improvements. Yes, we do sell products, but not over the phone or online. Mr. ****** has been added to our internal DNC list and should no longer receive calls from our company. Please feel free to contact me if you have any further questions regarding this matter. Sincerely, ************ Budget Exteriors, Inc. Vice President

12/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unsolicited sales calls when they were expressly told to put on the do not call list. I get several calls a day. I have answered on a couple of occasions to inform them to put me on their do not call list. They have ignored my request.

Desired Settlement: DO NOT CALL ME EVER.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/28) */ I am writing in response to your letter dated August 19th regarding the complaint you received from ****** *********. As much as I would like to say that my telemarketing department does not call people who are on the no solicitation call list, it can happen from time to time. Budget Exteriors has had kiosks at several of the local malls, and has recently exhibited at over 45 events/fairs/shows. When an individual signs up for the drawing, the cards all get stamped for which mall or event they came from, then are bunched together and put in a container with the year on it from the drawing. We have no way of sorting these by individual name, address or telephone number because they all get put together and gone through randomly by a number of the staff for calling material. I have made a flyer (see enclosed) with Mr. *********'s information and distributed it to my entire staff to try and eliminate any calls from being made to his home. I do apologize on behalf of Budget Exteriors, Inc to Mr. ********* and his family for any inconvenience this may have caused them. If you have any additional questions or concerns regarding this matter, please feel free to contact me at (952) ********. Sincerely, ************* Budget Exteriors, Inc Vice President Enclosure

6/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Harassing telemarketing calls, will not stop calling This company has called repeatedly, multiple times per day at times, and will not stop calling us even after we have repeatedly asked them to remove us from their call lists. We are on the Federal Do Not Call List, we have never done business with this company nor have we requested information from them. Now, they have changed their outgoing Caller ID- it no longer reads "Budget Exterior" but now it reads "Out Of Area." They have also changed the phone number that shows on the Caller ID- now it reads ************. I feel that this is a deliberate act to fool people into answering the phone. They are hiding their identity purposefully. This is harassment and needs to stop.

Desired Settlement: To stop calling immediately.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/05/28) */ We apologize that Ms. ****** has been called against her will. However, we are not capable of changing our numbers or what her Caller ID says. It is never our intention to call people that are on the Do Not Call List. We do 75+ shows/events a year and have several giveaways going on. We have found on many occasions that someone is entered into a drawing by a family member or friend, not realizing that the entrant will be called. We have no way of knowing if it is the actual person filling out the entry card. The entry cards all say "you will be contacted by phone". We have added Ms. ****** to our Internal Do Not Call List. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

12/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Warranty replacement of kitchen door still open; cannot get calls back. Sub-par work not addressed. Budget Exteriors did a remodel to our kitchen over two years ago. The experience has been a dreadful the entire time. The specific issue we are addressing today is a door that seems to have melted and other parts of the kitchen that are once again coming apart. It is my understanding that the door has been ordered and ordered again, as the specific details either are not making it to the manufacturer, or the manufacturer is creating an error. Out of frustration for missed appointments and Budget Exteriors now refusing to return my calls, I arranged to pick up what was supposed to be the new door today. When I brought it to my house, I discovered that yet again the door was not manufactured correctly. I want Budget Exteriors to provide me with the correct door in all due haste. While we would desire that budget exteriors address some of the other poor workmanship in our kitchen, we must confess to having lost faith in either their ability to do good work or their desire to do so.

Desired Settlement: Supply us with the correct door; assure that it is correct. Address peeling laminate, etc. in kitchen.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/12/11) */ This letter is in response to the letter we received from your office dated November 14th 2013. On November 18th 2013, we received your letter stating concerns from **** ********. I was a little surprised due to the fact that I was in communication with Mr. ******** at the time he filed the grievance with your office. I spoke with Mr. ******** in some detail about his concern on November 12th 2013. I normally do not handle service issues and was not fully aware of all the issues he was having until that time. After being brought up to speed by Mr.******** and my Service Manager, I was able to have a new door delivered overnight directly to his home as you can see by the attached order acknowledgement. He would have received his cabinet door on November 15th 2013. On Monday November 18th I called Mr. ******** to do a follow-up, at which point he explained he could not get the old hinges off of the old door. So after contacting the manufacturer again, I was able to convince them to send him a new set of hinges even though this is not normally done. Unfortunately he received the wrong hinges, as I was notified by Mr. ******** on December 2nd via email. I immediately contacted the manufacturer once again and had them overnight another set of hinges to him. Both the email correspondence and the new order acknowledgement are also attached. It is my belief that most of the issues being had are due to the fact that the job is several years old and the manufacturer of the product has since changed their part numbers and product lines. As such it has been a bit difficult for the manufacturer to cross reference the old part numbers to the new numbers in their system. Budget Exteriors has been making a concerted effort to help Mr. ******** with his requests. It has been unfortunate that the miscommunication between the manufacturer and our office has caused such delays. it is my understanding that Mr. ******** should have what he needs by the end of this week to satisfy his service request. ****************** Production Manager Budget Exteriors Enclosures Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2013/12/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As of Wednesday, December 18th, the correct hinges have still not arrived. It should be noted that I initiated the ordering of the door, etc. on my own in response to my belief that Budget Exteriors could no longer be trusted to address any issues at all in my home. As a result, I've resigned to doing all that is practicable by my own hand. Budget Exteriors has a storied history of shoddy work an unfulfilled promises with us. Despite having learned to keep our expectations to the absolute minimum, we still cannot seem to get to end-of-job. Thus, one might conclude that mis-steps such as this are indeed "normal." As suggested earlier, we have given up on Budget Exteriors fixing the others issues we had discussed with them. Despite simplifying this for them as much as can be expected, this seemingly small ask cannot come to resolution. We'd be happily amazed if this door issue were resolved before year's end.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

31 Customer Reviews on Budget Exteriors, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart