BBB Accredited Business since

Al Hackbarth Construction, LLC

Phone: (763) 568-0802 View Additional Phone Numbers 6675 Pagenkopf Rd, Maple Plain, MN 55359 http://www.hackbarthconstruction.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Al Hackbarth Construction, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Al Hackbarth Construction, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Al Hackbarth Construction, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 06, 2012 Business started: 01/01/1981 Business started locally: 01/01/1981 Business incorporated 06/13/2008 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Al Hackbarth, Co-Owner Lee Hackbarth, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Al Hackbarth, Co-Owner
Business Category

Siding Cleaning Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Contractor - Sheetrock Contractor - Interior Trim Contractors - Flooring Kitchen Remodeling Contractors - Ceiling Contractors - General Basement - Contractors Contractor - Remodel & Repair Drywall Contractors Contractors - Gutters Contractor - Insulation Painting Contractors Deck - Repair Deck Builder Vinyl Decking Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Roof Decks Roofing Contractors Contractors - Framing Siding Contractors Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Hardwood Floor Contractors

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Al Hackbarth Construction, this company offers siding, windows, gutters, fascia/soffit, insulation, drywall, painting, tiling, wood flooring, cabinets, decks, entry ways etc.

Industry Tips
Attic Radiant Barriers Remodeling your home Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Al Hackbarth Construction, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6675 Pagenkopf Rd

    Maple Plain, MN 55359 (763) 479-2032 (763) 568-0802

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hackbarth LLC replaced roofs on my residence. The ridge vent was not properly installed resulting in black mold issues and water damage. Hackbarth construction replaced the all roofs and siding on my residence and buildings within the last two years.We have experienced "spots" and water leaking in our home since roof replacement. Regarding the "leaking water" in our Four Seasons porch, according to ** Hackbarth he has on six occasions attempted to make repairs on the roof and still unable to solve this issue. Meanwhile the cedar ceiling, walls and windows are damaged by water stains and unforeseen damage behind the ceiling and walls. Secondly, there is an extensive mold issue in our residence. The first year where spotting was present in our second floor ceilings turned this spring to a couple foot diameter fuzzy mold, with wet spots through out the upstairs floor ceilings. Hackbarth Construction checked the attic and informed us of the mold issue and they had no responsibility to the issue. *** Hackbarth(** Hackbarths son) provided his opinion that there was no vapor barrier, inadequate insulation, soffit vents blocked, and heat being trapped in the attic causing condensation. He explained they have no expertise in mold removal and couldn't help. We followed up with Wright County Planning Dept. and Hackbarth Construction did not have a final inspection completed on the repairs. Next an engineering consultant firm was hired with findings in summary. To address *** Hachbarth concerns; vapor barrier was present, insulation was adequate,and soffit vents were not blocked. There was not enough ventilation in the attic that caused condensation. The "ridge" vent was not installed properly,on several ways. We have sent a certified letter to both ** and *** Hackbarth advising of the findings, requesting a written response in five business days. No written response was received.

Desired Settlement: We have major repairs and corrections that are needed. The health of our family is a matter priority. Two family members have chronic lung issues and we need to have a positive, permanent and thorough resolve. Currently,the extent of damage is unknown.We are aware of damage to the upstairs and main level bedroom and entry closet. The four season damage is to woodwork but yet it needs to be removed to look behind the insulation and decking. The roof needs to be repaired or replaced to solve the leak. Other: Housing- we are sleeping on the basement floor. Clothes- Mold is on clothing, cleaning and replacement. Heat ducts- cleaning. Carpets- replacement where removed/ to match new and cleaned. Sheetrock removal ,replaced,repaired,sealed,finished,painted. Insulation-includes vapor barriers-venting Replace roofing,decking,framing, vents Cleaning-soffit vents and exterior from mold stains and if needed replaced. Mold detection and removal in residence. Replacement and correction to other buildings that they installed ridge vents on. Debris removal Moving of furniture and property back. Medical cost associated with this issue. Electrical costs- we have had an increase of $100 plus for heppa filter air exchangers used. Costs already accumulated for the removal of insulation, demolition, sheetrock and air exchanger usage. Plus furniture and property moving. I want to stress that this is major issue and I can't provide a dollar amount until repairs start and are completed. In addition, the firm that started the mold removal has experience in this area and was recommended by our homeowners insurance.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/06/02) */ Contact Name and Title: *** Hackbarth, Vice Pres. Contact Phone:************* Contact Email: **********@frontiernet.net Mr.S contracted Al Hackbarth Construction, LLC to replace the roof and siding in spring of 2011 resulting from a previous hail storm. We replaced the roof and siding in May of 2011 on his home. Before we replaced it, the homeowner stated that there was interior leaking in his master closet and near the chimney. There are no vents or intrusions near the master closet, we thought it was occurring from ice damage over that area during the previous winter. We installed ice and water shield as needed to prevent future occurrence. We also added ice and water shield around the chimney, along with additional flashing, and a water diverter to solve the leaking. In the winter of 2011/2012, the homeowners wife, Mrs.S contacted Hackbarth Construction and advised that there was leaking around the vent in the four season's porch. We went back to the home and surveyed the four season's porch and thought the leak was occurring from the down spout near the vent in the four season's porch. We changed out the down spout and we were not advised of any more leaking that winter as well as all summer. In the winter of 2012/2013, Mrs.S contacted us again and advised the vent in the four season's porch was leaking again. We removed and replaced the vent along with adding sealant around it. We were not advised of any more leaking for that winters months as well as the summer. In March of 2014, Mrs. S contacted us again and advised the vent in the four season's porch was leaking along with water coming in the master closet. We went there to remove ice demands on the roof by the master closet and also survey the vent in the four season's porch. When we arrived there was zero snow on the roof so the leaking was not coming from ice dams. Since we could not determine how the roof could be leaking we asked to see the attic. At that time, we saw all the interior roof boards of the attic were covered in mold along with the gable ends. This is caused by excessive frost in the attic from extensive heat loss. Therefore, the leak was not coming from the roof. We noticed the attic was insulated with Kraft faced R13 with R19 rolled over the top along with big gaps between the R19. We advised Mrs.S that the Kraft faced would no longer pass code and that the attic insulation was not suitable for our climate. We advised them to call an insulation company and that adding a vapor barrier would be ideal but adding more insulation is probably mandatory. At that time, Mrs. S did not request Hackbarth construction to further assist them in this matter. A couple days later, we contacted Mrs. S to see if she got in contact with the insulation company and what they advised on. Mrs. S said in response, they decided to instead of contacting an insulation company they called their insurance company. Their insurance company denied their claim and she advised they will now go after Hackbarth Construction Insurance Company. She also apologized for attempting to try and fix the attic in this way. Mr. & Mrs. S claim that our ridge vent was installed incorrectly because an "engineer" told them it was, yet we have not been given any documentation showing that claim. Our insurance company denied their claim as we utilize **************** to verify proper installation of the ridge vent. In ****************'s inspection they found that the attic insulation along with the insulation in the four season porch was a pre-existing condition prior to Hackbarth Construction replacing the roof and that the roof was not leaking. Hackbarth Construction has been cleared of any wrong-doings in this matter by ****************. We would appreciate your review of our findings while you complete your assessment. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/06/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Thank you Ms. ***** for assisting with this matter. I would like to respond by the points I can agree with. Agreement to the facts that Al Hackbarth Construction was contracted to reside and re roof buildings at our residence. Agreement that the "Four Season" porch still leaks water,to the present day. Agreement that we have repeated contact Al Hackbarth Construction for follow up in the leaks in the second floor and porch. Agreement that there is a major mold issue. Disagreements; In reply to the major disagreements. The ridge vent was not installed properly. Al Hackbarh Construction should be able to document the manufacturer, model and application specs of the ridge vent and compare measurements to his install. Secondly, there was no mold in the attic/second story area prior to Al Hackbarth Construction. Third, insulation r values are in question. Insulation was in recommended levels with vapor barrier. In addition Al Hackbarth Construction did not have a "final inspection". Al Hackbarth Construction is liable for the damage, repairs and associated costs. It is requested that this is completed at a timely manner. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/06/18) */ In response to the consumer comments on the disagreement points; First reference: 3rd party engineering firm found that the ridge vent was installed properly according to manufacturer's specifications. 2nd reference: Reference to no mold in the attic prior to our work would be unknown to Al Hackbarth Construction or any other construction company that may had been contracted at that time of replacement so that reference is left up to be subjective. 3rd Reference: At time of Al Hackbarth Construction view of the attic, the insulation was not up to current code requirements. 4th Reference: Al Hackbarth construction has all necessary documentation and pictures of the work completed on the home. These items would be used in order to pass a final inspection. Final comments is that Al Hackbarth Construction is not liable for the water damage as the 3rd party engineering firm advised the water intrusion existed prior to any work being performed by Al Hackbarth Construction.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Al Hackbarth Construction, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart