BBB Accredited Business since

D.C. Annis Sewer, Inc.

Phone: (952) 746-4706 View Additional Phone Numbers 12124 12th Ave S, Burnsville, MN 55337 http://www.cloggedplumbing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Water jetting, pumping, Drain cleaning from kitchen sink to main line


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that D.C. Annis Sewer, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for D.C. Annis Sewer, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on D.C. Annis Sewer, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 08, 1997 Business started: 12/08/1997 in MN Business started locally: 12/08/1997 Business incorporated 12/08/1997 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Jaysha Ashton, Manager Ms. Kelly Duff, Office Bob Immerman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Jaysha Ashton, Manager
Principal: Ms. Kelly Duff, Office
Business Category

Sewer Contractors Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Method(s) of Payment
Credit/Debit Cards, Cash, Check
Refund and Exchange Policy
There are no refunds or exchanges
Alternate Business Names
DC Annis Sewer INC
Products & Services

According to the information provided by D.C. Annis Sewer, this company offers sewer and drain cleaning.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

D.C. Annis Sewer, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 12124 12th Ave S

    Burnsville, MN 55337

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They cleaned out my main sewer line. About a week later it backed up again. They said there was no warranty on the work and will not refund my money. On Dec. 25, 2015 I had DC Annis clean out my main sewer, which had backed up the previous evening. I previously had them clean it in 2014 and 2012, with no problems, and each time they guaranteed the work for a year. John, the serviceman, worked for about an hour cleaning the sewer. He pulled out some roots. He ran the snake all the way through the sewer once, and tried unsuccessfully a few more times to get it all the way through again. He kept having trouble about 30' into the line. (The sewer is a total of 60' long.) He finally gave up trying to get the snake through a second time. He told me he felt the line was clean, but there might be a problem with the sewer at about 30'. He recommended I have a camera pushed through the line to see what the problem is. I told him I probably would have that done after the holidays were over. I paid him $175 with a check. The following day I left for San Francisco on vacation for 6 days. I came back home on Dec. 31st. The following day, as my wife was washing clothes, the main sewer backed up again. I called DC Annis, assuming they would send someone out to fix the problem at no charge, only to be told there was no warranty on the work that they had done about a week earlier. I needed something done soon, so I called a competitor, *** the ***** **** asking to have them come out and send a camera through the line, as I was concerned that the line could possibly be broken. They came out on Jan. 2nd to do the work. They tried to get the camera through, but at about 20' it went under water and they could not get much further than that. Because it was under water, they could not tell what the problem was. I ended up having them run their snake through to see if they could get it to drain. They ran the snake through several times at my request, pulling out more roots than DC Annis had pulled out. They used the full size, 6" cutters. They didn't have any major problem running the snake through. They than ran the camera through again, this time it went through easily. There were a couple of small offsets between sections in the sewer, one of the offsets was at 30', but overall, it was in good shape for a 90 year old sewer.

Desired Settlement: I feel I am entitled to a full refund of the $175 I paid them. I ended up paying another company $175 to finish cleaning the sewer and another $150 to have a video done of the sewer, which was actually unnecessary. That is a total of $500 I paid to get a job done that should have only cost $175. The previous two times DC Annis cleaned the sewer I was given a 1 year warranty. When I signed the authorization for the work this last time, the contract said the work would be warranted for one year, unless otherwise stated. After the work was done, the serviceman marked on the contract that there was no warranty, but did not mention that fact to me at all.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2016/02/09) */ We have gathered all the information on the case with ****** *****. We are also sending a copy of the work order from DC ANNIS as well as the copy from Ron the sewer rat. ****** called in on Christmas day with a main line back up. We dispatched technician John. John went to ******s house like we have in the past more than a few times. John worked diligently to get the massive amounts of roots that were in the line. He was using a D6 size blade (the largest available) to clean the line correctly. There were issues getting the blades in due to the amount of roots and possible offsets. He went down in size of blade to try and get through. John was still having issues and suspected there was an offset causing more issues. John talked to the customer that he would need a camera to inspect or John could keep working but that would go into overtime. The customer said he would get a camera at a later time and denied having extra time spent to adequately clean the line. This is why we did not warranty the line. The customer denied paying for extra time to get the line fully removed of roots. When you have older lines and your line gets offsets that leaves adequate space for roots to grow. With not having his line cleaned 7/23/2014 that gave the roots a lot of time to grow. This is why we recommend to have your line cleaned on a yearly basis when you have an older line with a lot of tree roots. This particular time they grew in massive amounts that would take longer than the normal one and a half hour that the $175.00 covers. We also did not even charge him the holiday rates as it was on Christmas day. He was supposed to be charged $257.00. When the customer called back, when the line had backed up again we advised him prior to coming out so there was no surprises that it would be chargeable as there was no warranty. We did not warranty it because we advised of needing a camera or more time which the customer refused. When we advised the customer of this he became angry. The office staff offered to get his information over to the owner so that he can contact the customer and come to an agreement. Bob ******** (owner of DC ANNIS) called ****** to talk about situation and get more information. Bob went over all the details with the customer and tried to explain the reasoning. ****** became even more upset and hung up on Bob. Bob contacted the customer again and asked if it was fair to charge him half price. ****** refused and said he wanted all his money back or nothing and he would go to the BBB. Bob requested a copy of the DVD provided from Ron the sewer rat, customer refused. We had no proof as to what the customer was saying that the line is in good condition. Being that it has offsets, it means it is not in good condition. We worked on the line for 1 hour and 15 minutes and pulled large amounts of roots out. The customer also notes that Ron the Sewer rat had to run line multiple time as well. Meaning there were massive amounts of roots, which would require additional time to complete which we were refused to do. We performed the $175.00 of work for one hour and 15 mins. We should be paid for the work done. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2016/02/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the response submitted on Feb. 9th, and would like to submit a rebuttal. Nothing mentioned in the response really affects the bottom line of my complaint, but I feel the need to clarify some of the "facts" mentioned in the response. I've attached a copy of the response with the "facts" I am rebutting numbered. 1) The response says John tried several times to get the snake through the sewer, which is correct, but fails to mention that John(the technician)actually did get the 6" cutters all the way through the line on the 2nd try. That fact is confirmed in John's write up on the work order. I asked him to run it through again to make sure there were no roots left behind and he couldn't do it. 2) The response says I did not want John to continue working to remove all the roots from the line because it would go into overtime. The fact is, John gave me every indication that the roots were all removed and he said the sewer was draining well, which he mentioned in the write up. He never mentioned, at any time, that there would be no warranty 3)The response states that the $l75 flat rate for the job is supposed to only cover only l-l/2 hours of work. Now where on the work order does it say that, and that fact was never mentioned to me at any time, before, during, or after the work was done. I have no idea where that comes from. 4) There are several lies that are mentioned by Mr. ********. First, he did not call me, I called him, after *** the ***** *** did the work for me and I discovered that there really wasn't any big problem with my sewer, I called him requesting a refund. Second, he became belligerent and hung up on me, I didn't hang up on him. Third, I never made any threats to him about contacting the BBB. I only decided to complain to the BBB after he hung up on me. Fourth, he never offered to return half the price, or anything at all for that matter.It's true that I refused to send him the DVD that was made by *** the ***** **** but i did tell him he was free to look at the video. Also, they did not pull "massive" amounts out of the line. They have pulled more roots out of the line at other times when they were here. In fact, *** the ***** *** pulled out as much, or more, than John did. I was actually somewhat surprised at the small amount that John removed, considering the trouble he seemed to be having. The bottom line is, I paid for the line to be cleaned and it was not cleaned, forcing me to pay someone else to do it, along with paying to have a camera run through ii, which would not have been necessary had it been cleaned properly the first time! Oh February 09, 2016, the business provided the following information: We have gathered all the information on the case with ****** *****. We are also sending a copy of the work order from DC ANNIS as well as the copy from Ron the sewer rat. ****** called in on Christmas day with a main line back up. We dispatched technician John. John went to ******* house like we have in the past more than a few times. 1. John worked diligently to get the massive amounts of roots that were in the line. He was using a D6 size blade (the largest available) to clean the line correctly. There were issues getting the blades in due to the amount of roots and possible offsets. He went down in size of blade to try and get through. 2. John was still having issues and suspected there was an offset causing more issues. John talked to the customer that he would need a camera to inspect or John could keep working but that would go into overtime. The customer said he would get a camera at a later time and denied having extra time spent to adequately clean the line. This is why we did not warranty the line. The customer denied paying for extra time to get the line fully removed of roots. When you have older lines and your line gets offsets that leaves adequate space for roots to grow. 3. With not having his line cleaned 7/23/2014 that gave the roots a lot of time to grow. This is why we recommend to have your line cleaned on a yearly basis when you have an older line with a lot of tree roots. This particular time they grew in massive amounts that would take longer than the normal one and a half hour that the $175.00 covers. We also did not even charge him the holiday rates as it was on Christmas day. He was supposed to be charges $257.00. When the customer called back, when the line had backed up again we advised him prior to coming out so there was no surprises that it would be chargeable as there was no warranty. We did not warranty it because we advised of needing a camera or more time which the customer refused. When we advised the customer of this he became angry. The office staff offered to get his information over to the owner so that he can contact the customer and come to an agreement. 4. Bob ******** (owner of DC Annis) called ****** to talk about situation and get more information. Bob went over all the details with the customer and tried to explain the reasoning. ****** became even more upset and hung up on Bob. Bob contacted the customer again and asked if it was fair to charge him half price. ****** refused and said he wanted all his money back or nothing and he would go to the BBB. Bob requested a copy of the DVD provided from *** to ***** **** customer refused. We had no proof as to what the customer was saying that the line is in good condition. Being that it has offsets, it means it is not in good condition. We worked on the line for 1 hour and 15 minutes and pulled large amounts of roots out. The customer also notes that *** the ***** *** had to run line multiple time as well. Meaning there were massive amounts of roots, which would require additional time to complete which we were refused to do. We performed the $175.00 of work for on hour and 15 minutes We should be paid for the work done. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2016/02/18) */ We do not wish to go back and forth on the same information we will need to disagree at this point. The responses that you have made, contradict what you have said in previous complaints with us or with the BBB. We are still willing to settle this and refund you half of the money. Our tech John did work for over an hour which should not be discredited and he should be paid for. Mr Smith can see there were still roots in the line which John asked for extra time and was denied. At which point the other company of course was able to remove the rest of the roots in the time allotted for that company. To end this, again as we stated, we are still willing to work with the customer. We will refund 50% of his money. Please let us know if this can be resolved and we will get that back to you as soon as possible. Thank you Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 19, 2016/02/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Nothing I said in any response contradicts anything I said previously. I had to pay another company an additional $325 because D.C. Annis did not do what I hired them to do. Partially cleaning the sewer line was of NO VALUE to me, therefore, I am entitled to a full refund. Thank you

4/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ________________ February 20, 20147 ?geau 220 South Riverridge Circle Burnsville, Mn 55337 To Whom It May Concern: My name is ***********, I am a retired widow on a fixed income. I state that information to inform you that times are hard and money is hard to come by. On Tuesday, February 18th, l called and scheduled an appointment for a clogged kitchen sink resulting in Water in the basement. A technician came out and after two or three tries the sink was draining. He was Very professional with a pleasant attitude. We talked about a leak, but didn't find anything prior to his leaving. Upon his leaving he gave me a receipt which also served as a Warranty. He stated "this is your receipt and serves as a Warranty and it's good for 30 days. If you have any problems just give me a call." I called in and I was told that the technician who previously came out was not available as he was with another customer. The lady answering the phone said she would send out another technician. At that point, I feel if there was going to be additional charges, she should have informed me at that time. The second technician, ****, came at 2:20 and left at 2:30. He turned on the Water in the sink, Walked down stair With a small flashlight, and couldn't see anything and didn't do anything. I then said let's get the same` situation that happened when I did the dishes after the lst technician had left. Then there Was Water Corning down. He said We don't cover leaks and suggested that it was a busted pipe. He then informed me that there was a $85 service charge. I was shocked. I had just paid $125 to the first technician a few hours earlier. **** Was there 10 minutes. I've done dishes and there is no further Water leakage to date, something is going on but We're not sure what it is. I was thinking that there was a clog further down the drain line, thus the reason I called in. The second technician ****, told me that he Won't honor and is not responsible for what the first technician said.

Desired Settlement: I have called the office twice, and to date no one has contacted me. I would not have called back in for service, except the lst technician said if I have any problems just give him a call. Seeing I had just gave him $125, and then to pay $85 to **** an unfriendly technician, is just unconscionable. **** came in the door saying sign right here, I said for what, Why do you need my signature and you haven't done anything, he said you're giving me permission to Work, I can't do anything Without your signature. The company is D.C. Annis Sewer, Inc, ***********************, Burnsville, Mn 55337 I saw the Better Business emblem, the only reason I choose them. Hopefully there is something you can do.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2014/04/15) */ Thank you for the information. We will be contacting this customer and giving them a refund as there was a mistake on our end with the communication from a new dispatcher at the time. We will reach out to *********** and address the refund accordingly and mail it to her. If you have any questions, let me know..


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on D.C. Annis Sewer, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart