BBB Accredited Business since

Best Buy Trade Ins

Phone: (888) 602-6963 View Additional Phone Numbers 7601 Penn Ave S, Richfield, MN 55423 http://www.bestbuytradein.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Best Buy Trade Ins meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Best Buy Trade Ins include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Best Buy Trade Ins
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 02, 2011 Business started: 06/14/1993 Business started locally: 06/14/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Edward Rampley
Contact Information
Principal: Edward Rampley
Business Category

Services - General Recycling - Computers & Other Electronics

Products & Services

According to Best Buy Trade Ins this company offers a website that allows customers to redeem Best Buy gift cards or cash for their unwanted electronics.

Industry Tips
Consumer Tips for E-waste Recycling

Additional Locations

  • 7601 Penn Ave S

    Richfield, MN 55423 (877) 310-4227 (949) 305-6600 (888) 602-6963

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SENT BEST BUY TRADE IN A PHONE FOR TRADE IN VALUE OF $121. WAITED TWO MONTHS WITH NO RESPONSE TO FIND OUT THEY RECYCLED IT WITHOUT AUTHORIZATION. I SHIPPED A PHONE TO BEST BUY TRADE IN FOR A PROMISED $121 GIFT CARD IN NOVEMBER. GOT AN EMAIL ACCEPTANCE LETTER ON NOV 19, 2013 "Accepted Best Buy Trade-In Center #10193372 - SPRINT APPLE IPHONE 4S 16GB". THIS INDICATED BEST BUY IS IN MY SAFE EMAIL LIST. I NEVER RECEIVED ANYTHING FROM THEM. I CALLED THEM JANUARY TO FIND OUT WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS. THEY TOLD ME I WAS SENT AN EMAIL AT THE END OF NOVEMBER THAT MY PHONE WAS DAMAGED AND HAD NO WORKING WI-FI AND THEY HAD IT RECYCLED FOR ME SINCE I DIDNT RESPOND TO THEIR EMAIL WITHIN 72HRS. ALL THIS INFORMATION IS COMPLETELY WRONG. IM A PREVIOUS BEST BUY EMPLOYEE AND SPRINT EMPLOYEE. I KNOW WHEN A PHONE IS DAMAGED OR NOT. MY PHONE WAS IN MIND BRAND NEW CONDITION AND WORKED PERFECT. CONTACTED BEST BUY TRADE IN CENTER MULTIPLE TIMES, WITH PROMISES BACK THAT SOMEONE HIGHER UP WILL CONTACT ME WITHIN 24 HOURS. I CALLED JAN 2, JAN 3 JAN 4 AND JAN 6/ 2014 AND HAVE STILL NOT GOTTEN A CALL BACK. ID LIKE TO GET MY PROMISED GIFT CARD VALUE FROM THEM AS I WAS WRONGFULLY RECYCLED A PERFECTLY CONDITION PHONE. NOT CALLING BACK WHEN PROMISED WITH MULTIPLE TRIES IS ENOUGH TO WRITE THIS COMPLAINT.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE MY PROMISED $121 GIFT CARD VALUE FOR THE VALUE OF MY PHONE, OR MY PHONE BACK. THATS IT. THANK YOU.

10/22/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent my phone to them for a Best Buy trade in. While in their possession they damaged it. Order_Number:******** Account_Number: Trade in********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Per their evaluation, $100.00 is the estimated damages. I want a check for $100.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/10/21) */ When creating an online trade in the customer is informed that the quote being created is only an estimate as we are unable to provide a true value offer until the item is in our possession. When this item was received it was not in the "good" condition that the customer had submitted as there was visible signs of use on the phone. We received written communication from the customer on 9-25-13 asking us to cancel the trade in and return the item to them. The phone was returned and delivered to their address provided on 10-2-13. Since the item has been returned no form of payment will be issued to the customer. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2013/10/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Best Buy did not address the damage they caused to my property. They also need a policy to assure this does not happen to others.

10/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wasn't informed that I needed to reply within 72 days if I'm not satisfied the value of the item until I read the email they sent on Monday. I don't check emails everyday. I just checked that E-gift was delivered with the half of amount I expected, and read another email they sent on Monday. In that email, I needed to reply within 72 hours. However, I wasn't notified if they got my item, or they were in the middle of processing. Not everyone check his/her emails everyday. If I sell the item by myself, I could get more than $300. Even the cell phone is cracked, it is worth more than $150. I didn't see any clause about 72 hour time frame when I submitted the trade-in. I want to my cell phone back.

Desired Settlement: I want my item back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/04) */ The Best Buy online trade in program is an eCommerce site that communicates with our customers electronically. The customers order was received on 9-9-13 and a Receipt confirmation email was sent to the customer. In that email the customer is informed that once the item is verified they will receive another email that verifies their value. The customer received the verified value on 9-9-13 which informs the customer that they have 72 hours to dispute the value offered. It is the customers responsibility to maintain communication. At this time the trade in has been completed and the customer has been paid. The item that was traded in is not longer available for return.

10/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Traded-In Phone Not Properly Refunded I traded in my ***** 4 through the Best Buy trade in program. I marked the item as being in "good" condition because, as per the description, it allows for some scratches as long as they are not on the screen. My phone had two small scratches but they were not on the screen. The inspector decided to mark the item as being in poor condition because of the scratches and because of this I am only being offered less than half of the original quote. While I understand that Best Buy isn't the company doing the inspection, it is their name on the program so I was hoping they could help them to correct the amount to the full $250 valuation. Unfortunately, Best Buy and their trade in partner have been of no help and they even took my phone before I had the chance to accept the offer or ask for it back. Because of this, I have lost $137.50.

Desired Settlement: Please issue a gift card for the amount originally offered that was not given upon trade in ($137.50)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/04) */ After speaking with the customer we have approved that the original value be honored and the customer has been paid the remaining balance owed as of 9-30-13.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Best Buy Trade Ins
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)