Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/10/2013

Black Jacks Sealcoating

Phone: (952) 992-0243

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
09/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was told on phone when scheduled service I would pay $129.00 for sealcoating. On date sealcoating was received total I was to pay $149.00.
I called Blackjacks Sealcoating talked with ***** about receiving a quote on sealcoating a 3 car driveway. Was told it is $149.00 but will come out and give a quote. I asked if I got my neighbor next door to have it done too would I receive anything off the price. ***** said yes, $20.00. I received quote on Thursday 9/11/14(I believe)in mailbox. I discuss with my neighbor over the weekend and he said yes. I told my neighbor I would call Black Jacks on Monday September 15,2014. I called Black Jacks Monday morning and talked with ***** saying my neighbor and I were interested in getting our driveways seal coated. I said to ***** that my quote say $149.00 did that include the discount for getting my neighbor to do his driveway also. Told that my driveway cost would be $129.00 and my neighbors driveway would be $140.00 because his was a little different then mine. I said ok then we will schedule, but we would like a 1 day notice so we could move cars out of garage etc. I made sure ***** had both of our phone numbers. ***** said he would call the night before he came out, that he could do it Wednesday 9/17/2014 or Thursday 9/18/2014 but definitely by Friday 9/19/2014 depending on weather. I said ok. Received an e-mail from neighbor on Tuesday 9/16/2014 saying the guy (*****) wanted to do Tuesday but we can't but can do Wednesday 9/17/2014 can we be ready. My wife answered our neighbor back saying yes. We wondered why we didn't receive a call from ***** as I was the one to scheduled the service. No big deal. ***** did the Sealcoating of both driveways Wednesday 9/17/2014, I was home and watched him sealcoat the driveway. When ***** completed the job he said the cost would be $149.00. I went into my wife and asked for the quote, I took it out to show ***** as it was different from what he said in our phone conversation on Monday 9/15,2014. He said the quote was written by his girlfriend and our driveway not our neighbors needed 3 times the amount of filler. When I questioned him that our quote clearly said no charge no extra crack filler and that he quoted me on the phone $129.00 he just said it was $149.00 and that it was really $169.00 originally and received $20.00 off now $149.00. I came into the house and had my wife write out check for $149.00 as I didn't want a confrontation. I gave ***** the check in return he gave me a flyer. Later looking at flyer it clearly states Standard 3 car driveway $149.00 no mention of any extra charges what so ever and to ask about Group discounts and referral offers. My neighbor did pay the quote price of $140.00 which was quoted to me per phone conversation on Monday 9/15/2014, but I did not pay the price I was quoted of $129.00 in that same conversation. I was overcharged $20.00. Not my problem that *****'s girlfriend did not do the quote properly.

Desired Settlement
I would like ***** of Black Jacks Sealcoating to honor his quote of $129.00 per our phone conversation on Monday 9/15/2014 and refund me a valid check for $20.00.
Change his flyer to state extra charges may apply?
Just a suggestion.

Business Response
Yes it's.true Blackjacks did tell *** we could do his driveway for as low 129.00 needed address for free quote
Look ah driveway quoted it ah 149.00 in writing
Never the less refunded him 20.00 on 9-24-14
Thanks Blackjacks Sealcoating


Industry Comparison| Chart

Seal Coating, Snow Removal Service - Commercial, Snow Removal Service, Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.