BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Minnesota and North Dakota
Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

National American University

Phone: (651) 855-6300

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues4
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
11/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: Been calling and leaving messages with no returned response in over a week, this school is bad about being in the office and returning calls.
I been calling Ms. ***** for over a week, I have left messages and emails with no response. I even visited the location and again no one in the office. This has gotten out of hand, they want to graduate professional students but they don't set forth a great example of being at work. I'm really thinking of going back to UOP!!

Initial Business Response
The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974, 20 U.S.C. § 1232g (FERPA), prohibits the university from disclosing confidential information from your education records without your prior written consent or a subpoena directing such disclosure.

A FERPA consent form was mailed to the student. We will be able to respond when we receive the signed form.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The description of my complaint I started school there on December third and almost every time I tried to submit my school work there it was always a technical issue and in the second semester I never got a password until a week before the semester ended so I lost my financial aid.
Account_Number: **********

Initial Business Response
A copy of the FERPA consent has been sent to the student. Once it is received, we will be able to respond.

The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974, 20 U.S.C. § 1232g (FERPA), prohibits the university from disclosing confidential information from your education records without your prior written consent or a subpoena directing such disclosure.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/30/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: Trying to get my Associates Degree papers given to me and cant seem to get signed up for fall classes the first time around i went in there
I have been going for my Paralegal degree at National American University Brooklyn Center Campus and i finished my Associates level degree in February 2012, it is July now and still not recieved my Associates Papers. I went in on July 3, 2012 to sign up for my fall classes and it was very unsituated couldnt get signed up correctly due to the admissions rep not having my file and saying i needed to take classes i either already have taken or were transfered from a previous college. This school has always been going through e mployees very quickly and i am getting frusturated that they can not seem to be able to grab my file and see that i have taken most of my generals and only need 2-3 more and the rest is my law classes...... I have tried and tried to be patient, but i am fed up with how they are doing things at that school that i dont know how they survive with not getting things done right the first time.

Business' Initial Response
The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974, 20 U.S.C. Sec. 1232g (FERPA) prohibits National American University from disclosing information from Ms. *****'s education records without her prior written consent or a subpoena directing such disclosure. The university will contact Ms. ***** directly to address her concerns, and if necessary, we will request that she sign a FERPA consent form so that we may communicate further with the BBB.


Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/02/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: My school told me I cannot do other courses because I did not pass my anatomy class.
My school told me I cannot do other courses because I did not pass my anatomy class. The reason I was not able to pass my anatomy class was because my online class video links damaged my video card that enabled me to see my screen to take my quiz. The school was notified the same day of my quiz. I feel it's wrong and I've had pretty descent grades during the course of the assignments my instructor graded. I like the school because it allows me to be at my home with my husband who is bedridden.

Business' Initial Response
While we sympathize with Ms. ******'s situation, a video link related to an NAU online class could not have caused any damage to her video card. The head of our Information Technology department has confirmed that it would not be possible for a video link to physically damage the hardware in Ms. ******'s laptop computer.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/30/2012Problems with Product / Service
07/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: From the time period of April 5, 2013 to July 2 2013 the school has repeatedly enrolled me into classes and drop me from classes and bill me for them.
During the winter quarter my advisor told me I would have to appeal my grade for my winter courses because of failure to pass. But I had passed both courses. I explained this to my advisor and after review of my grades, my advisor called me back and agreed that I did pass my winter courses, and enrolled me into my spring courses. During my spring courses my mother was suffering from stage four colon cancer and I had to go out of state to assist in helping her after a stroke and couldn't post attendance in class, but I alerted my advisor and instructors that I had to leave out of state to assist my mother. When I came back home I was able to start my spring courses. Within 3 and a half weeks of attending my spring courses my mother died in hospice care on April 5, 2013 in the state of Wisconsin. I alerted my instructors and advisor of my situation and that I would be taking a leave from school again. Within that time frame of my leave my advisor repeatedly called me to post attendance in my online courses to maintain in the class. I told my advisor to drop me from the class, during the period to drop classes without penalty so I could receive full refund and retake the classes during my summer quarter. My advisor said that would have been okay, and I was dropped from one class and not the other. After a couple of days or so I received a call from the director that I would have to pay for the class, because financial aid had not paid for the courses, and I told them once again to drop me from the classes. My advisor said that I could do an incomplete. I asked my advisor what If I fail the class or am unsuccessful in keeping up with the class. My advisor then told me to wait and see if my completed assignments would give me a high enough percentage to pass the class. My advisor kept me in my other classes to finish my spring quarter while I started my summer quarter. Within 3 weeks of my summer quarter and continuation of my spring courses, my advisor called me back and said my percentage wasn't high enough to pass my spring courses and that I would have retake the classes, and drop my summer courses. They also told me I would have to pay for my summer courses and spring courses retake. Then a week prior to the call I was dropped from all classes with a balance of $2,064.00. The school failed to comply with my orders of dropping my spring courses during the period drop regular classes without penalty and charged for the class, which I did not to take. Then the school enrolled me into my summer courses, with out passing my spring courses, that I told them I would not be able to pass during the summer courses, with failure to comply with my orders again, the school dropped me from all classes, which I told them not to enroll me in, and charged me for classes, I did not want to take. The school also is demanding a refund of my pell grant from my financial as a refund to the school. The school also said they will be sending all the money received from financial for my summer courses back to financial along with the money I received a grant, that was not supposed to be for the courses.

Business' Initial Response
We will need a FERPA consent before we can respond. The consent form was sent to the student on July 8, 2013.

The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974, 20 U.S.C. § 1232g (FERPA), prohibits the university from disclosing confidential information from your education records without your prior written consent or a subpoena directing such disclosure.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company has failed to contact me back on the matter of the complaint, and has yet to handle the problem or find a reasonable solution. I just want the company to correct my billing statement.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

05/22/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: NAU is charging me $13,000 for attending online classes for 3 months. I do not believe I owe them that much money.
I attended NAU back in 2010. I was pregnant and unemployed and was not in the right state of mind to be doing online classes. Bad judgement on my part.
I was very dissatisfied with their customer service reps as they do not get back to you in a timely matter. I was late starting one class due to them not getting my book voucher to me on time(I was 2 weeks late starting). I did try to contact them regarding issues and that I wanted to stop taking classes. No body every responded to me regarding that issue. I then had my baby and that was put on the back burner.
I now have a student loan bill that is $13,000 and I will not be paying them that money as I feel I do not owe that much for attending the school for 3 months!!!!! NAU states that I attended the school for 2 semester which is NOT true!!!! I do not know who I need to talk to in the is matter, but this is not right.
I would not recommend anyone going to National American University!!!!!

Business' Initial Response
The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974, 20 U.S.C. § 1232g (FERPA), prohibits the university from disclosing confidential information from the student's education records without her prior written consent or a subpoena directing such disclosure.

A letter and the FERPA release have been mailed to the student. Once I receive the form back, I will be able to respond with more information.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not agree with NAU that I attended until feb 2011. I had emailed NAU in Dec of 2011 about putting classes on hold until after I had my baby. I never heard back from anyone regarding that. I sent 4 emails, not one response from them.( unless they can prove that). i will say i did only attend NAU for 7 months after looking back at emails. not sure what the next step would be now. I did receive an email that I did pay the $159 to the college. As far as student loans taken out for the amount of time I attend is outrageous .

Business' Final Response
We recently received a signed FERPA consent form from **** ******, authorizing National American University (NAU) to disclose information from her education records to your office.

NAU is now able to thoroughly review this matter and respond to Ms. ******'s concerns. I anticipate that we will complete our review and provide a response to you by May 15, 2013.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

02/08/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: I was overcharged $2,259.09 my first quarter at NAU and they refuse to refund overpayment.
I first enrolled at National American University (NAU) in fall quarter 2012. I enrolled into the nursing program and when I enrolled everyone was aware that I am an active duty service member. Active duty military pays a reduced rate of $166.60 per credit hour and unknown to me I was charged at the full rate the first quarter at $334 per credit hour. The difference in price is $2,259.09. I have asked several times for the school to make the adjustment and credit me back the correct amount because of the overcharge. I do not feel a mistake of the school should personally cost me $2,259.09. When I first came into the school I was introduced to everyone and also as a service member. When I initially went to financial aid I fully disclosed my involvement in the military.

Business' Initial Response
The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974, 20 U.S. C. § 1232g (FERPA), prohibits the university from disclosing confidential information from Mr. ******' education records without his prior written consent or a subpoena directing such disclosure. A consent form is being mailed to Mr. ******. The university will be able to respond to his complaint after receipt of the signed form.
**************
System Director
Office of Dispute Resolution
******************
Rapid City, SD, XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX
*****@national.edu

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I believe it was unfair of them to overcharge me for school. My very first day I acknowledged I was a full-time military member and due to their administrative error I should not suffer over $2,000 in damages. I am currently on active duty orders from being injured and the fact this is an issue being dragged out is very disappointing.I would also consider changing schools if this treatment continues. I hope this is made public on the internet.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

08/22/2013Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.