BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Northwoods Exteriors

Fax: (763) 244-13291738 Commerce Ct, White Bear LakeMN 55110-4686 Send email to Northwoods Exteriors

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

According to information provided by Northwoods Exteriors, this company is a exterior contractor and builder serving the twin cities area.

BBB Accreditation

Northwoods Exteriors is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business is not currently rated. Business has filed for bankruptcy and is seeking to dissolve the business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Northwoods Exteriors

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
07/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I gave the company $500 a month ago, they have not completed any work or called me without me calling them first.
My ceiling started leaking in my home, and I needed a contractor to make repairs as soon as possible. On 5/22/2014 Northwoods Exteriors bid a job to remove shingles, soffit, and fascia. Build soffit boxes, reinstall soffit, install new fascia. Replace wall flashing, install ice and water barrier up the wall, replace shingles. And remove and dispose of an antenna. I gave the company a $500 deposit that day and was told repairs would be made within a few weeks. They deducted the money from my credit card on 5/29/2014. The company has not contacted me on their own since. I contacted them on 6/16/2014, and was told they were behind and they would call me the next day. They did not, so I called again on 6/18/2014, they again left me a message that they are behind. Still no work has been completed on my house.

Desired Settlement
Northwoods Exteriors must complete the work on my house within one week, since my roof is leaking again. This would have given them a total of 5 weeks to complete the work, which is more than enough time. I would also like a discount on the work of at least $200 for the lack of communication and no work being done on my property. If they do not wish to comply with that they can refund my $500 within one week and refer me to a contractor who can complete work within a timely fashion, since they are in the business they must know other companies.

Business Response
On 5/22 Northwoods went out to the consumers' home to estimate repairs. The Consumer contacted us on 5/23 and asked us to take the 500 down payment as a commitment to the contract. At that time Northwoods stated we were multiple weeks out and not sure exactly of when we can target the install and stated will call as we are closer to doing work. On 6/16 consumer called to find out when he would be scheduled. Northwoods did respond that day and stated that due to weather condition and a significant amount of rain, Nothwoods was behind but that we would call back to schedule his appointment we did not commit to a timeframe as to when we would call back. On 6/18 the customer called again asking for a call back on status and Northwoods called back twice apologized and stating we can schedule early next week. Northwoods did receive a call on 6/19 from the consumer stating we need to call on 6/20 and on 6/20 at 12:00 am we called to confirm a Monday (6/23) or Tuesday (6/24) start time which the customer called back and accepted at 12:20 pm on 6/20

Each phone call Norhtwoods received we did call back to contact the customer right away. Unfortunately, the message that we have been push out was not taken well but the consumer has never asked for the money back due to delays or a discount. Once we had suggested a time frame that we would like to target on 6/18, the consumer left a us a message on 6/19 stating the delays were our problem not his and wanted his refund or fixed within a week. Then on 6/20 after suggesting a install date, Northwoods found that a complaint had been registered.

Business proposed resolution: We do not feel that a discount is warranted but are willing to return the down payment and refer him to another contractor.


Final Business Response


Northwoods did work with the customer to help bring final resolution and we did apologize that this worked did take longer than expected due to multiple weeks of rain. As mentioned, Northwoods did call the customer back each time we were contacted and did work closely with the customer. In the end, Northwoods did complete the work to the customer satisfaction with the agreed contracted price.


Thanks


07/31/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Business did not return phone calls or emails related to a revision to completed work.
Business did not return phone calls or emails related to a revision to completed work. Calls were placed over a two-week span. Four or five voice messages were lett and one email was sent. Currently experiencing drainage issues related to gutters put on house in May 2012.

Desired Settlement
I would just like them to call me.

Business Response
The existing contract for this customer was completed mutiple years ago and cannot be revised. A new contract would need to be established. Unfortunately, Northwoods has lost key employees which has created a gap in our ability to respond to new contract requests at this time. We recommend that the customer seeks out a new contract and services from another company.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Doors - Installation, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts

Additional Information

top

On August 06, 2015, the company filed for bankruptcy under Chapter 7 of the federal Bankruptcy Act, case number 15-32852.

Those with monetary claims against the company are advised to obtain a Proof of Claim form by writing to Minnesota Bankruptcy Court CM/ECF, 300 s. 4th st, Minneapolis, MN, 55415 for resubmission to that court.

The case number should be entered on the form.

Claims must be submitted by 2015-11-27.

BBB file opened: 07/07/2010Business started: 07/07/2010New Owner Date: 07/07/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Codes and Licensing Division
443 Lafayette Rd N
Saint Paul, MN 55155-4344
(651) 284-5012
http://www.doli.state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 2000, MN

Contact Information
Principal: Bernard Scheller (President) Nancy Scheller (Vice President)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Doors - Installation, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Northwoods Exteriors, this company installs and repairs roofs, siding, gutters, downspouts, soffit, fascia, windows and doors.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMTue: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMWed: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMThu: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMFri: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMSun: 12:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

This company states they offer a life time warranty on labor.

Service Area

Entire Twin Cities Area

Industry Tips
Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

If you choose to do business with Northwoods Exteriors, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Northwoods Exteriors

1738 Commerce Ct

White Bear Lake, MN 55110-4686

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1738 Commerce Ct 

    White Bear Lake, MN 55110-4686Fax: (763) 244-1329

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Northwoods Exteriors is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

Storm Damage Repair/Restoration
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

On August 06, 2015, the company filed for bankruptcy under Chapter 7 of the federal Bankruptcy Act, case number 15-32852.

Those with monetary claims against the company are advised to obtain a Proof of Claim form by writing to Minnesota Bankruptcy Court CM/ECF, 300 s. 4th st, Minneapolis, MN, 55415 for resubmission to that court.

The case number should be entered on the form.

Claims must be submitted by 2015-11-27.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.