BBB Accredited Business since

JNS Builders, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (651) 646-0221 Fax: (651) 646-0225 View Additional Phone Numbers 2325 Endicott St, Saint Paul, MN 55114 http://www.jnsbuilders.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Founded on the principle of providing excellent workmanship and unsurpassed personal attention, JNS Builders personally manages all projects to assure you are receiving the same quality work we would demand on our own homes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that JNS Builders, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for JNS Builders, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on JNS Builders, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 19, 2006 Business started: 04/01/2003 Business started locally: 04/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Business Management
Steve Toddie, Owner/President
Contact Information
Principal: Steve Toddie, Owner/President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Windows Fire & Water Damage Restoration Windows - Repairing Contractors - General Gutters & Downspouts

Refund and Exchange Policy
JNS Builders offers a 10 year craftsmanship warranty on all of our work.
Service Area
JNS Builders, LLC provides their services in AFTON, ALBERTVILLE, ANDOVER, ANOKA, APPLE VALLEY, ARDEN HILLS, BAYPORT, BELLE PLAINE, BETHEL, BIG LAKE, BISCAY, BLAINE, BLMNG PRAIRIE, BLOOMING PRAIRIE, BLOOMINGTON, BRAINERD, BROOKLYN CENTER, BROOKLYN CTR, BROOKLYN PARK, BUFFALO, BURNS TOWNSHIP, BURNS TWNSHP, BURNSVILLE, CAMBRIDGE, CANNON FALLS, CENTERVILLE, CHAMPLIN, CHANHASSEN, CHASKA, CHISAGO CITY, CIRCLE PINES, COLLEGEVILLE, COLUMBIA HEIGHTS, COLUMBIA HTS, COLUMBUS, COON RAPIDS, CORCORAN, COTTAGE GROVE, CROWN COLLEGE, CRYSTAL, DELANO, DELLWOOD, E GULL LAKE, EAGAN, EAST BETHEL, EAST GULL LAKE, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDEN VALLEY, EDINA, ELK RIVER, ELKO, ELKO NEW MARKET, ELKO NEW MRKT, EXCELSIOR, FALCON HEIGHTS, FALCON HGTS, FARIBAULT, FARMINGTON, FOREST LAKE, FRIDLEY, GLENCOE, GOLDEN VALLEY, GREENWOOD, HAM LAKE, HAMEL, HAMPTON, HANOVER, HASTINGS, HEIDELBERG, HILLTOP, HOPKINS, HOWARD LAKE, HUGO, HUTCHINSON, INDEPENDENCE, INVER GROVE, INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, JORDAN, LAKE CITY, LAKE ELMO, LAKEVILLE, LANDFALL VILLAGE, LANDFALL VLG, LAUDERDALE, LE SUEUR, LINO LAKES, LITTLE CANADA, LONG LAKE, LONSDALE, LORETTO, MAHTOMEDI, MANKATO, MAPLE GROVE, MAPLE LAKE, MAPLE PLAIN, MAPLEWOOD, MARINE ON SAINT CROIX, MARINE ST CRX, MEDICINE LAKE, MEDINA, MENDOTA, MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MENDOTA HTS, MERIDEN, MINETONKA BCH, MINETONKA MLS, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNETNKA BCH, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA BEACH, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MONTEVIDEO, MONTGOMERY, MONTICELLO, MOUND, MOUNDS VIEW, MOUNDSVIEW, N SAINT PAUL, NEW BRIGHTON, NEW HOPE, NEW MARKET, NEW PRAGUE, NEW TRIER, NEWPORT, NO OAKS, NORTH BRANCH, NORTH MANKATO, NORTH OAKS, NORTH SAINT PAUL, NORTH ST PAUL, NORTHFIELD, NOWTHEN, OAK GROVE, OAK PARK HEIGHTS, OAK PARK HGTS, OAK PARK HTS, OAKDALE, ORONO, OSSEO, OTISCO, OTSEGO, OWATONNA, PINE SPRINGS, PLYMOUTH, PRIOR LAKE, RAMSEY, RANDOLPH, RED WING, RICHFIELD, ROBBINSDALE, ROCHESTER, ROCKFORD, ROGERS, ROSEMOUNT, ROSEVILLE, SAINT ANTHONY, SAINT AUGUSTA, SAINT BONIFACIUS, SAINT CLOUD, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT PAUL, SAINT PAUL PARK, SAINT PETER, SAVAGE, SHAKOPEE, SHOREVIEW, SILVER CREEK, SOUTH SAINT PAUL, SOUTH ST PAUL, SPRING LAKE PARK, SPRING LK PK, SPRING PARK, ST ANTHNY VLG, ST ANTHONY, ST ANTHONY VILLAGE, ST BONIFACIUS, ST LOUIS PARK, ST PAUL PARK, STILLWATER, SUNFISH LAKE, VADNAIS HEIGHTS, VADNAIS HTS, VESELI, W LAKELAND, W SAINT PAUL, W ST PAUL, WACONIA, WADENA, WASECA, WAYZATA, WEBSTER, WEST LAKELAND, WEST SAINT PAUL, WEST ST PAUL, WHITE BEAR LAKE, WHITE BEAR LK, WHITE BEAR TOWNSHIP, WHITE BEAR TP, WOODBURY, YOUNG AMERICA & ZIMMERMAN, MN.
Products & Services

JNS Builders is a custom home builder and complete exterior contractor handling all of your roofing, siding, rain gutter, window and deck home repair needs.

Industry Tips
Foreclosure Services Remodeling your home Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

JNS Builders, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2325 Endicott St

    Saint Paul, MN 55114 (651) 646-0221 (612) 524-4534

  • 3700 W. Division St., #107

    Saint Cloud, MN 56301 (320) 251-4511

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    400 S Linwood Avenue

    Appleton, WI 54914

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with JNS builders to put on a new roof, new siding, soffits, facia, exterior front door, garage doors. The work was completed around 11/2014. In May I noticed that the siding above the garage by one of the bedrooms had come off. I emailed Nick ***** @ nick@jnsbuilders.com on 5/24 and let him know. Nick responded stating: I will forward this to my job manager and get it taken care of. To date, no one has come to fix the siding and more siding has fallen off. I have emailed Nick twice (6/14 and 7/6) since the first communication and I have not received a response from him or anyone else at JNS.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the siding and any other exterior home issues repaired quickly, efficiently and correctly.

Business Response:

********,

 

This is the first time I have heard of this issue with your siding.  I will coordinate a time with you immediately and will have someone out to remedy the situation immediately.  I apologize that no one has contacted you sooner.

 

Steve ******

President

JNS Builders, LLC

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

JNS has been to the home on 8/9 and responded to my complaint. They also sent a follow-up email 8/15/2016 (see below) with their course of action.

 

********,

 

I left you a voicemail last week but just wanted to follow up in an email. Steve and I were able to stop at your house and see what’s going on. We temporarily put that piece of siding back up so you don’t have a piece of siding missing but I went ahead and ordered a couple new pieces so they should arrive in the next 1-2 weeks. We will also fix a couple metal rain diverters on the roof.

 

Another thing your son showed me was some hairline cracks in the stone. I took pictures to document them as it would fall under a product warranty issue. I will get ahold of a Versetta Stone representative and see what they can do to rectify it. Unfortunately with our climate, stone and concrete have a tendency to crack (similar to how concrete driveways crack) so that may be something we want to just monitor to make sure they don’t get any worse.

 

Lastly, I ran an idea by your son to fill in those 3 spots along the front of your house where the concrete drive was poured along the old brick. Since stone veneer is much thinner then brick there are those gaps. I could blend it in with new concrete so you don’t have that separation from the stone to the driveway. Just give me the ok if that is what you want me to do.

 

Please feel free to give me or Steve a call if you have any questions.

 

Thank you and have a great day!

 

Nicholas ***** • Regional Sales Manager

**** ******** *** **  •  Stillwater, MN 55082

(O) ###-###-#### •  (C) ###-###-#### • (F) ###-###-####

 

2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor Repairs resulting in additional damage, Now using tough collection practices without ever coming to inspect the house. I hired JNS Builders to repair my house after a wind and hail storm in August of 2013. Initially I was pretty happy with them and especially with their young salesman ****. They ended up replacing the roof first and months later the siding. They did not replace the gutters, fascia or shutters at that time for some reason. Their crew also finished the roof well after dark which may have resulted in some of the following issues. In December of 2013 I contacted JNS to inform them that I had some serious water issues in the house. I allowed a service manager from JNS to enter the house without me being which now seems like a huge mistake on my part. He claimed the attic was full of frost and it was caused from snow on the roof. Interesting how the recent snowfall didnt affect any of the neighbors houses though. He stated "I sure wouldn't want that in my house" but they never returned to inspect anything further and didn't respond to me until spring (after the snow was gone and temoeratures were well above freezing. They then returned to replace the faschia and gutters but not the shutters as "they thought I wanted black shutters and not the colored ones I had" Of course their crew threw the old shutters in the dumpster so they eventually did come back and replace the shutters. I had communicated to JNS multiple times that their is / was an issue with the house that needed to be corrected prior to making the final payment. I also communicated to JNS that I was going to have another company look at the house for damage. I had three seperate companies look at the house and all three said there was a leak which had cuased damage. Two of the companies suggested taking entire walls out and replacing them to be safe. The JNS salesman **** suggested a meeting with the Owner of JNS and stated they would repair any damage, do a leak test, do some mudding of damaged walls and pay replacement costs for damaged artwork and pottery (purchased overseas) that were damaged when their crew showed up without notice and these items were broken from excessive hammering, etc. This meeting never happened and I never heard back from JNS to which I attributed to it being winter again and there being active water issues again. I now have multiple dehumidifiers in the house and am drying out window wells weekly, running fans , etc trying to keep my house frombecoming further damaged. Now here's the kicker....I just received a certified letter with a Mechanical Lean being placed on my home for non-payment. This after they stated they stand behind their work but never bothered to send anyone out to look at the damage and try to have the house repairs done to satisfaction. To say the least I'm in disbelief and it appears my only recousre will be to have a structural engineer evaluate the house and hire an attorney to determine whether I pay this to remove the lien and then sue JNS for damages later or use the funds from the insurance money that was to be paid to JNS and then fight them in court later. For a company that claims to stand by their work this is unreal. 18 Months later and I still have water damage and now a mechanical lien. Steer clear of this company!

Desired Settlement: Would like JNS to stand by their work as promised. They should inspect the house for errors caused by the roofing, siding, etc (with an 3rd party if possible) and repair the damage if shown to be caused from a leak from the roof. Once this is done I will gladly pay the final balance as the funds are still in escrow.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/21) */ JNS Builders was contracted on 8/7/13 by Mr. ******* to repair damage to his roof, siding, and gutters resulting from a hail storm that hit the area on August 6, 2013. The roof was completed on 10/14/13, the siding on 11/27/13 and gutters on 12/4/13. During the process of repairs Mr. ******* was informed that he had had prior water intrusion problems, which JNS repaired and are well photo- documented. In addition, prior to any of the repairs being completed, Mr. ******* showed our salesperson,***********, around his house to show him condensation on the panes of his windows and requested we give him a bid "down the road" to replace them as they had been a continual problem. In mid-December Mr. ******* called JNS to say there was a leak in his front entry and master bath. We sent out our project manager, **********, to inspect the problem. During this time *** photo documented condensation on the interior sheathing in the attic and prior water stains in the front entry. He also photographed the roof showing that snowfall had completely covered the vents on his roof - an issue that is caused by excessive snowfall and is the homeowner's responsibility to keep clear. It should also be noted that the house has never had any water intrusion issues during heavy rainfall only during winter thaws. As spring approached JNS requested a water test to demonstrate that any water issues Mr. ******* was having was not due to a leaking roof. Mr. ******* continually avoided having us perform this test mostly by not responding to our requests and finally by suggesting he wanted a person from his insurance company to look at it. In May of 2014, upon request of final payment, Mr. ******* brought up that he had had some pottery damaged during the installation of his roof and siding nearly 8 months after its completion. Over the course of the summer of 2014, JNS attempted to contact Mr. ******* for resolution no less than a dozen times with no response. In September of 2014, I personally wrote Mr. *******, explaining that I wanted nothing more than to verify all work we did was completed correctly, to compensate him for any damage to his personal belongings damaged during installation and make sure all of us were content with the project. I never personally received a response from him. Only until I had my secretary follow-up several times did Mr. ******* reply explaining that he wanted yet another person to look at his home. JNS Builders has made every attempt possible to assure that Mr. ******* project was completed correctly and to rectify any problems if they are the cause of faulty installation. I have personally reached out to Mr. ******* to sit down with him and figure out how to make all parties happy. It is my utmost concern that each and every project and client we have is satisfied with the end result of the project. Unfortunately, Mr. ******* does not want to come to the table. As a business owner, I had no other recourse but to file a mechanics lien for the $12,251.24 that Mr. ******* is in arrears on the project. If there is another fair, concrete and specific way Mr. ******* would like to resolve this issue we would gladly remove the lien on his property once an agreement is reached.

2/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This business approached us at our home and asked if they could fix our roof from the damage of the July hail storm. We had quite a lengthy conversation with salesman ********** and explained that we did not have the $1000. for the deductible and we were told that they work strictly with the check amount only later we were told he was moved to another area and we were given **** ******** we explained our conversation with **** and he said the same thing that they work strictly with the check amount do not worry about the deductible. we did want to change to vent ridges from turbans and that would cost us $150.00 above the check amount we specifically discussed this with **** for at least a half hour in our garage. when we signed the contract I wrote and signed not to put the dumpster on my driveway and that is exactly where they put it and scratched and chipped the driveway. **** was told that we wanted to be let know when they were coming so that we could be home and that we wanted to try to get the porch guy here at the same time as the dumpster was here and partially there's for there use also. they originally told us that they were going to do the porch roof and when he had the partial check in hand is when he told us they would not do the porch roof I explained that a portion of the check that he received was for that roof to get started also. they never gave us any date on when they were going to show up I tried to contact them numerous times to find out for about a week and then I finally got a hold of them on a Monday and they were here I told them they were supposed to set this up with us because we had new wood for the roof which was not on the claim and that we still needed to get a porch contractor needless to say the wood did not get replaced, the dumpster was on the drive and left scratches and chips the porch now can't get done until spring the flashing did not get replaced on the skylight and they broke a broom that fell off a wall in the garage while they were on the roof

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I feel that I only owe them $6910.41 for which $5877.29 has already been paid ($4450.52 + $1424.79) this total amount comes from the numerous conversations that we had with **** and now they are threatening a lien on my property and I have told them that we can not draw on this money which is in escrow at my mortgage company until the porch is done they need to stand by their word and except the $6910.41 as payment and understand that we can not draw the rest until the porch is done

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/17) */ JNS Builders contracted with Kathleen ***** to repair the roof on her property that was damaged in a hailstorm in July of 2013. The invoiced amount correlates directly with the itemized insurance claim she received. At no time was there any agreement oral or written that JNS Builders would "cover" the deductible portion of her claim as it violates state statutes. Items that were not repaired or replaced (skylight flashing, porch roof, grill tray and patio table umbrella) have been deducted from the total cost of repairs as per her claim. An explanation of these items is as follows: Skylight flashing was not necessary in the repair of the roof as the skylight is a self-flashed sky tube. The sky tube was detached and reset in place. JNS did not replace the porch roof as it is a pre-manufactured metal roof out of our work scope. This was explained to the homeowner. Ms. ***** initiated and received separate bids for the porch repairs and has submitted these estimates to her insurance company for which she has been compensated. This work is outside of any financial amount in her dispute. Furthermore, the wood mentioned in her complaint was ordered onsite during the roof repairs to the house in the event the roofing crew found deteriorated decking during the asphalt shingle installation. This is common practice. No charges were applied to Ms. *****'s invoice for extra plywood. As a general guideline, dumpster companies will not place dumpsters on homeowner's lawns without prior written approval from the homeowner. The driveway below the dumpster was protected with plywood during the dumpster placement. The condition of the driveway prior to the dumpster placement has been photo documented. In addition, no complaint about any damage to the driveway was made whatsoever by Ms. ***** until it was time for her to pay her final invoice for the repairs. JNS Builders has been in communication with Ms. *****'s insurance company and all funds from the claim have been released to the homeowner. The *****'s mortgage company has also been contacted through a conference call with JNS, US Bank and Ms. *****. US Bank has approved the release of funds in escrow to pay for the portion of the work completed by JNS Builders. To date, JNS Builders has worked diligently and in good faith to accommodate and resolve any and all of Ms. *****'s grievances yet has found no legitimate argument as to why she is not fully responsible for payment of the total amount owed, $8,380.77 with a current balance of $2,503.48. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 16, 2014/02/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) JNS new of my dissatisfaction on day one by phone and by email they were not to be at my home without me or my husband present and the dumpster was not to be on the driveway as noted on documents we have submitted pictures that show it did not have plywood under it and there is damage to our driveway and they also know that they agreed on a single amount for the whole project which was to be 8904.99 and now since they backed out after said documents were signed we are left with a 2000.00 dollar bill for the rest they are the ones lying here and they have been caught several times in these documents they need to do the right thing and fix my drive and pay the amount we are going to be short to have the rest of the work done as said before if they had done the total job it would have been 8904.99 for all this is what they told us on numerous occasions and they know it one thing i despise is lying and really don't like when a company lies the only thing that will make this better is for them to do what they originally stated when they walked onto my property to get my business they is why we went with them because of their promise that they would do the job for 8904.99 i even questioned why that amount was not on the contract but the amount that included the grill and the umbrella and they stated so that we would not have troubles getting the monies from the mortgage they played us for fools the numerous conversations that i had with Amanda about this i mentioned this every time but was threatened with being charged more so i have turned to this with the complaint to the BBB had they started these lies before they arrived i would have gone elsewhere but the lies started when they showed up unannounced and have continued fix my drive and refund my 200.00 overpayment so that i can get my porch roof fixed Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2014/02/13) */ I believe the main complaint that Ms. ***** (homeowner) has is that she has to pay her deductible for the repairs that were made to her house. In no instance was it ever conveyed to the homeowner that she would not have to pay for her deductible as this would involve a misrepresentation on the final invoice to the insurance company covering the damages to her property. JNS has performed the work exactly as per her insurance claim settlement as stated on the contract. An explanation of the charges are as follows: Item Description (please reference enclosed claim) Less Work not Performed TOTAL American Family Insurance Claim #************$10,037.87 Item #12 - Skylight flashing - tear out $9.25 Item #13 - Skylight flashing - replace $185.79 Item #20 - Patio Cover - tear out $105.02 Item #21 - Patio Cover - replace $974.98 Item #22 - tray for ducane grill $65.95 Item #23 - patio table umbrella $60.00 Material sales tax deduction for work not performed $48.47 Deduction of 50% of dumpster cost $207.64 TOTAL Charged to homeowner as per American Family Claim $8,380.77 Notes: 1.) JNS Builders, in addition to the repairs in the homeowners claim, removed her existing roof vents and installed open ridge ventilation (quoted at $150) at no cost to the homeowner. 2.) Upon tear off of the existing shingles, JNS Builders removed an additional layer of shingles discovered upon tear off. The homeowner was not charged for these repairs (valued at $685.66 23.53 SQ x $29.14 per SQ). 3.) JNS Builders never made any repairs to the homeowner's porch roof and she was not charged for any repairs to the porch roof. The homeowner received an additional $1692 (see enclosure) from her insurance company as per a separate bid from a different contractor to make these repairs. 4.) The homeowner has never provided any estimate or documentation, photographic or otherwise, that her driveway has been damaged. Additionally, no complaint was ever aired by the homeowner as to damage to her driveway until she disputed her bill. 5.) JNS Builders never has attempted to collect any amount greater than stated on her contract and as per her insurance claim. The contract further explains that the homeowner is responsible for their deductible payment. 6.) The homeowner indicated that she would like the dumpster placed in the yard. The dumpster company would not do this without a waiver and thus placed it in the driveway. JNS deducted 50% of the invoiced cost of the dumpster on Ms. *****'s for the inconvenience. It should be noted that the actual cost of the dumpster was $565.48 (invoice enclosed) indicating that JNS actually absorbed an additional $150.21 plus the $207.64 deduction for a total of $300.42 off the actual cost of the dumpster. In conclusion, has absorbed a total of $1,136.08 ($150 ridge ventilation, $685.66 additional layer of shingles, $300.42 dumpster) in additional costs to ameliorate Ms. *****'s grievances. In reference to the violation of any Wis. Admin. Codes, please review: Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 110.02(6)(k) - Advised or assisted in falsifying contract price to obtain credit. All work performed was done as per the insurance claim as indicated in the contract. Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 110.02(6)(l) - Failed to furnish buyer with written lien waivers from all who may have a lien before final payment is made. Lien Waivers were provided to US Bank as per their mandatory policy for release of escrow funds. (copy enclosed) Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 110.02(7)(b) - Accepted payment for materials or services which the seller did not intend to provide or had reason to believe would not be provided. No payment has been accepted by JNS Builders for work that was not provided. JNS Builders, in reality, provided additional services (removing an additional layer of shingles & installing open ridge ventilation) at our own expense. Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 110.02(9)(b) - Failed to qualify a statement or ad causing it to be misleading. The complainant's contract clearly states that she is responsible for her insurance deductible as indicated in "additional Instructions", item #3. Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 110.02(11) - Made false, deceptive or misleading representations in order to induce a person to enter into a contract, to obtain or keep payment, or delay performance under a home improvement. JNS Builders made no misleading representations whatsoever to persuade the complainant to enter into a contract or obtain payment from her. All work was completed as promised for the price that coincides with her insurance claim as indicated on her contract. Position Statement: Upon examination of Ms. *****'s complaint, I believe her dispute consists of two elements. Firstly, she believes she does not have to pay her deductible. I cannot remedy that. It is clearly indicated on her contract and fraudulent to misrepresent the amount charged a homeowner for repairs to their home to an insurance carrier. We have been very forthright with her as to how the final invoice amount was calculated in direct correlation with the work performed as per the items on her insurance claim from American Family. We have honored those item costs even when actual costs have exceeded insurance carrier allowance. It is extremely disconcerting to me that after ten years in a very difficult and highly monitored industry where JNS has built an excellent reputation that a homeowner would go to such great lengths to tarnish a businesses' reputation when we have worked diligently to settle her complaints. Secondly, Ms. ***** has indicated that her driveway was damaged during the roof installation as well as a broom falling off the garage wall and breaking. If there is truth to this, by all means JNS Builders will compensate Ms. ***** for the damages. Unfortunately, Ms. *****, in addition to not mentioning the damages until she disputed her final bill, has never provided JNS Builders with any documentation of the damages or what it would cost to repair them.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on JNS Builders, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart