BBB Accredited Business since

Empire Roofing

Additional Locations

Phone: (218) 724-5584 Fax: (218) 724-5576 View Additional Phone Numbers 1632 London Rd Ste 1, Duluth, MN 55812 http://www.empireroofingmn.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Roofing and Siding 

Hail and Wind damage Inspections

Insurance claim consultation 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Empire Roofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Empire Roofing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Empire Roofing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 05, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2006 in MN Business started locally: 01/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

North Dakota Secretary of State
600 E Boulevard Ave Dept 108, State Capital, Bismarck ND 58505
http://www.state.nd.us
Phone Number: (701) 328-2900

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Marlin Nelson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Marlin Nelson, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Doors Contractors - General Doors - Repair Drywall Contractors Gutters & Downspouts Home Builders Home Improvements Plumbers

Products & Services

Empire Roofing sells the following brand(s): GAF Timbeline

Method(s) of Payment

Credit Cards

Check 

Cash 

 

Alternate Business Names
Empire Exteriors Empire Homes LLC
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Empire Roofing, they offer residential and commercial exterior repair roofing, siding, and gutters.

Industry Tips
Foreclosure Services Remodeling your home Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Empire Roofing has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1416 11th Ave. SE

    Watford City, ND 58854

  • 1632 London Rd Ste 1

    Duluth, MN 55812 (218) 724-5584 (701) 770-8388

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7828 Vance Dr Ste 201

    Arvada, CO 80003

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Empire Roofing put a new roof on, which did not correct the leaking roof problem. I called them numerous times; still leaking. They don't call me back Empire roofing installed new roof in 2012 and fixed my damaged ceiling in the bedroom. I have called numerous times since then to tell them my roof still leaks. They sent young guy out to caulk but that did not fix the problem. Now my same ceiling is being damaged all over again and roof not fixed. It's been 30 days with multiple calls to office and they do not call me back. I have a lifetime guarantee with Timberline Shingles. I want my roof fixed.

Desired Settlement: Well I am not sure this company can satisfy me anymore as I see what kind of work they do. I would like it either fixed correctly or my money back. Nothing has changed. I could have kept my old roof and my damaged ceiling.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/09/23) */ We have contacted the homeowner in question, the ceiling is still leaking in the same area it was leaking before we replaced the roof. We are meeting with the homeowner to investigate other possible areas that might be causing the leak. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/09/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am happy with how they fixed the roof with new flashing but a hard rain will tell all. Also my ceiling is still damaged where the rain had come in and Empire had fixed my ceiling when they put the new roof on and so I wish my ceiling would be corrected again too.

11/24/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Empire roofing installed a new roof that is leaking everywhere We had a new roof installed by Empire Roofing and started having serious leaks after four years. We have called the company and they were not very helpful. We had to call numerous times with no responses. When they finally came to our house they wanted payment for the fix and didn't even know what was wrong. We had our insurance and three other roofing companies look at the roof. It was noticed by all four other sources that the installation of the roof was incorrect. Many errors were found, including improper flashing. We had another contractor come in and fix an issue, but not all. Our roof still continues to leak and we keep trying to get it repaired. We now have thousands of dollars in internal damaged from a new roof that was supposed to last 30 years. Empire roofing was not very helpful in trying to correct any issues (even if payment was needed). They would not talk to or even respond to massages once we tried to contact them. At one point they eventually showed up at the house with a calk gun said they would fix the flashing issue for a few hundred dollars. They also indicated when we finally talked to them that they only guarantee their work for 2 years.

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund for the improper installation of the new roof. We need to get a whole new roof put on as no one is willing to repair an existing installation. The shingles are rated for at least 25 years but the installation is the main issue. We are trying to work with our insurance company for internal damages caused by a leaky roof, but we still need to have a new roof installed and the current one is most likely not able to be patched up.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/10/08) */ We have set up an appointment with homeowner to review problems and come up with a solution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2015/10/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Empire Roofing did call today and set up an appointment for Tuesday October 13, 2015 at 4:30pm. I am also hoping that the issue will be resolved. 10/13/15 The owner of Empire Roofing came to our house today. He talked with us and also viewed the internal damage. He then checked the roof. The company is going to replace the existing roof at no cost. He also gave some tips for the interior. He was very personable and seemed to truly want to come up with a solution for this problem. We are pleased with the out come and are expecting the new roof will fix the current issues. We appreciate the companies time and are glad that they finally came to check on the issue. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 25, 2015/11/24) */ Empire roofing has replaced the roof as of November 9, 2015. As of now the roof has not leaked. We can now begin the repairs to the interior of the house that was caused by leak damage. We are very satisfied on the work they had done and were there during the job to see what was being done. We are hopeful this will resolve the previous problem and give us a leak free roof for the life of the shingles.

11/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had 2 roofs improperly installed by Empire. We want a refund & payment for any damages, since Empire can't deliver a new roof free of defects. In 2012, we contracted with Empire Roofing to replace our roof using GAF products. As we negotiated the contract, we asked if Empire subcontracted their work. Mike ******** of Empire said that they always use the same people. Unfortunately, we did not ask for further clarification of that statement. That statement was intended to mislead. (And it did!) We did not discover that they had subcontracted the work until an insurance claim was filed (in April 2013) for the damages during the first roof installation. Consideration and scope of work was agreed upon. When the first roof was installed in 2012, we found numerous defects as well as damage to our house. During installation, 4 thermopane windows and one thermopane door were damaged. Empire did not install new drip edge (per Empire's Agreement and the scope of work), and the first course of shingles did not cover the drip edge (also as per agreement, GAF instructions and scope of work). They did nothing to remedy the scratches on the siding that they caused. Additionally, they tore off the flashing between the garage roof and house and did not replace it. To make matters worse, they drove nails through the siding flashing. Their insurance covered the cost to replace 3 windows and the door. Empire agreed to install a second roof in 2013. The second roof also had serious defects that we found after it was installed. Nails were left protruding into the shingles; the ridge vent had started to loosen; shingles were not nailed down; drip edge was loose; and, the flashing around the chimney appears to have been omitted or damaged. Although we did get a warranty, we doubt that it is valid, as they did not meet the GAF warranty requirements because Empire substituted other manufacturers' products. Marlin ****** the owner of Empire said he would replace the roof a third time at no charge to us in May 2015. He also said that he would extend the warranty period. We asked that the third roof be installed at the beginning of May 2015. It wasn't until June that we began to ask when the work would be started. Empire finally said work would be done in mid-July. The subcontractor crew who was scheduled to install the roof and whose work we had inspected was suddenly not available the day before work was scheduled to start, and a substitute crew was promised to us by Empire. We postponed the start until we could inspect the substitute crew's work. We inspected roofs the substitute crew had installed and saw serious defects. In the meantime, the materials had been delivered to our home sat in our driveway for three weeks. When we told Empire that they did not have a reasonably qualified crew, we suddenly received a pre-lien notice that was issued by BEP/Lyman, LLC. At this point, we couldn't conceive why we would have been treated to this as we had already paid in full in 2013! We suspect that this was done as an intimidation tactic in response to us telling Empire that we would hang on to the roofing supplies until we could agree to the next step to resolve the problem. Rather than having more shoddy work done on our home, we asked Empire to return the invoice amount for the first roof in the form of a cashier's check. They agreed. We also let them know that they should be responsible for all the damage known (and yet to be determined) to our house. When the first check was delivered, it was for the initial payment of $3780.00, written on their business account. When they arrived to give us a check, they said if we did not sign a release to hold them harmless for any damage they caused to our home or warranty claims, they would not refund our money. Luke ***** of Empire delivered a second check in the amount of $7565.00. After the first check, we reiterated that we wanted a cashier's check. Once again, the check was written on their business account. They asked again that we hold them harmless. We refused. We discovered that Empire did not obtain permits for roofs 1 & 2.

Desired Settlement: We would like Empire Roofing to do the right thing(s) by: * Providing us with the name and contact information of their insurance company. * Refunding the money that we paid them for a new roof that would be free of workmanship defects. * Paying for the damages that they caused when installing replacement roofs 1 & 2. * Paying the City of Hermantown for the permits that they didn't get in 2012 & 2013 when installing roofs 1 & 2 and any fees or fines that are due the City of Hermantown and the State of Minnesota.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/10/06) */ As owner of Empire Roofing I will take responsibility for the failure to provide this customer with a roof installation to their satisfaction and their loss of confidence in our ability to repair. I would like to provide the steps I have taken to remedy this difficult situation after initial roof installation was unsatisfactory. -Replaced all roofing -Replaced some gutters, some windows, patio door, section of siding removed and replaced to install new flashing. -After discussion about issues with this roof - I Requested we have GAF(roofing manufacturer)and city inspector inspect roofing and I would make necessary repairs if they found roofing installation inadequate. This offer was rejected. -Agreed to replace roof again -Material was delivered (pre lien notices are sent to everyone by supplier not just this job) -Crew scheduled for job after meeting with owners did not want to take on project. -Next crew we had scheduled was not satisfactory to the owners -Owners requested money back -I was willing to provide a refund but felt there was no known additional damages and asked to have them release us from liablilty in return for full refund. -This was rejected by owners I regret and apologize for this situation and will reach out to them to come to a settlement that would include refund and potential damages in return for releasing us from future liability. It seems once things get off on the wrong foot they become harder and harder to rectify. I would like to come to a resolution and put this behind both of us. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/10/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Marlin ****** of Empire Roofing did request that GAF (the manufacturer of some of the roofing products) or City of Hermantown inspect the second rood that Empire installed. We declined, stating so in an email on November 21, 2014 (see attachment 1): The primary reason that I was reluctant to agree to a third party inspection is because the roofing deficiencies are so obvious. They can be seen from roadside! I thought that Empire Roofing would want to quietly make remedies rather than publicly proclaim that twice Empire Roofing could not professionally install the roof on our house and garage. If there must be a third party to inspect, then it should be some one of our choosing. Empire Roofing can pay for the inspection. The issue was dropped. With regard to the pre-lien notice, we believe that the LAW regarding Mechanics' Liens was misused. The timing was suspect. Regarding the contractor, who we found reasonably acceptable and who purportedly declined to do the job, we were told by Mike ******** of Empire Roofing that the contractor was irresponsible and that Mike ******** had fired him. In a subsequent email, Mike ******** said (see attachment): Mike will not be on this project anymore, I can not rely on him anymore after not showing up or contacting me this morning. This irritates me more then I can explain and I will be bringing in one of our Latino crews on Monday when I return from vacation. I talked with Marlin and he does not want this project going on without me in town after the "no show" this morning. Our latino crews are very good, but didn't want their to be any issue with communication (why I was going to use Mike). We have had this communication issue with Mike in the past, even though he does good work, so if he shows please till him to not start. I will be onsite Monday morning (weather permitting) with another crew. Sorry again for the inconvenience, I just can't deal with a crew that I can't rely on for this project. Marlin ****** has stated that there are no known "additional" damages. We have attached pictures that document what is readily apparent. What is yet to be determined is: how long it will take before more serious symptoms manifest. At the very least, we will have to have new sheathing installed, remedies made around the chimney area, and where the house meets the garage roof. Although a refund of our money is the least due us, we believe that the 2 roof installations have done serious harm to the integrity of our home. We are working to ascertain the monetary extent of the damages. At the time of this submission, a meeting between Marlin ****** and us will tentatively be scheduled for the week of October 19th. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 17, 2015/11/02) */ On Wednesday, October 28, 2015, we met with Marlin ******, owner of Empire Roofing. Our attorney assisted us in the resolution process. We have recovered the money we paid Empire Roofing, and Empire Roofing paid us for estimated damage(s) to our home. As part of the "agreement" between the parties, we agreed to notify the entities with which we had lodged complaints that the matter has been resolved. In addition, as part of the release, we were asked to: "...request that the entities cease any and all action and investigation into this matter..." Having stated that, we must thank you for assisting us through the resolution process.

10/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Shingles installed improperly. Wrong color shingles installed. One week in advance of their service, Empire's representative called to confirm the desired color. We requested hickory to closely match our new garage. When I arrived home after their work was complete, I discovered that they installed barkwood. Upon further inspection, shingles were installed improperly on a large portion of the rear roof. They have not yet cleaned up after themselves either.

Desired Settlement: I expect that the shingles and services I paid for will be properly installed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/27) */ I'm sorry this happened! The office was not notified of this happening prior to the BBB complaint. Once this issue came to our attention we have been in contact with the h.o. and will take care of her roof. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/06) */ Empire Roofing contacted us, but we are not satisfied yet. They met with me on Monday, and I haven't heard a reply/offer yet. I left a voicemail this morning. In regards to their statement that they weren't notified before the complaint was filed, I tried contacting them multiple times at different phone numbers and didn't receive a reply until after this complaint was filed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/10) */ We called and left the h.o. a message on friday at 3:30 PM. We're in the process of coming to a conclusion on what to do with the h.o. roof but we will make sure she is satisfied. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2014/11/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We are still negotiating a solution as of this date.

1/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Empire roofing damaged siding when working on our roof. They failed to address the issue despite repeated attempts by us to resolve it. Empire roofing replaced our roof in October of 2013. During the process their driver who delivered and removed the roll-off dumpster damaged the siding of our house. We reported this to Empire Roofing in November of 2013. They requested we e-mail them pictures of the damage. I did so on three separate occasions. I repeatedly follow-up with their representative ***** who advised me they would review and resolve the issue once the photos were received. Each time I spoke with her she claimed that either the photos were not received or that she could not find them in their computer system. (They were sent to the e-mail address for ****** ****** at her request.) Note that she never advised me that the pictures were not received until I took the initiative to follow-up with her. I finally submitted the pictures in hardcopy in April of 2014 attached to our check for the monthly payment - that check was cashed so clearly the photos were received. Empire Roofing made no attempt to address this issue with us despite my best efforts. When we came to the end of our payment plan I submitted a letter advising that we were withholding $390.00 to repair the siding. I would like to note that this was based on doing the work ourselves as the professional estimates were in the $1200-$1500 range and I was trying to resolve this dispute on an equitable basis. I sent a letter on October 7, 2014 explaining our offer of settlement along with a check for the final payment of $389.39 - the balance due less the $390.00 for siding repairs. This check was clearly marked "Paid in Full when Endorsed". Empire Roofing endorsed and deposited the check. This indicated to us that they had accepted our offer and the matter was now closed. However, they are now attempting to collect this additional amount by threatening to put a lien on our property. When they cashed our check they accepted our settlement offer and the account is paid in full. I would also like to note that they deny liability for the damage to our siding as they now claim it was their subcontractor who operated the roll-off truck. This information was not furnished until a year after the damage occurred and we as the homeowners had a contract with Empire Roofing and not any subcontractors they may have chosen to employ.

Desired Settlement: I request that they cease their collection activity of $390.00 as our account is now paid in full and that any mention or detail of this that has been reported to any entitiy such as a credit bureau be reversed/removed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/18) */ Sorry for the miscommunication, the account is closed and your in good standing. We will send you an invoice paid in full. Thank you for your business!

11/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Inferior installation lead to fascia falling off. Empire Roofing has not repaired my roof after over 10 attempts of me contacting them. I choose Empire over the competition becuase I thought they would provide a quality job, and I was willing to pay more for that. I was certainly wrong there. They bid my job out and sold it to a subcontractor without me even knowing it. If I would have known that I could have saved thousands right there. Part of my estimate included new aluminum fascia. Which was installed and looked good for a few months. Then a piece near the peak of my roof fell off and dangled for about a week. I contacted them and they said "we can certainly send someone out and repair that for you at no cost" This was eight months ago in March of 2014. My neighbor had their roof done as well (through a different company) so I asked one of the roofers to look at my fascia. This man determined my fascia was improperly installed. In a ten foot piece of fascia I have anywhere from 2-4 finishing nails holding it up. He said thats why its falling down. Empire's customer service is unbelievable bad. You call the company number and you are routed to some call center where they take your call and send Empire a message. Nobody gets back to you, it's a joke. I got so angry I found their location and walked in a talked to somebody. Three times I might add. Each time their response was the same "oh we are so sorry, we'll get someone out their this week." And here I wait. They will try and tell me it's a special order color, but its not. I checked with the supplier in town who has it in stock always. There is no excuse for their terrible service. Think twice about using this company.

Desired Settlement: The least the company could do would be fix my broken fascia. When I pay $7,000 for a residential roof I want good appearance and quality. I had a bid for $5,500 that I did not accept because I was worried about something like this happening. Well, I paid $7,000 for job and service of the lower bid. So in the end Empire has cost me $1,500 and a headache of a shabby looking roof for almost a year.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/25) */ We will be in contact with the h.o. to get this taken care of, thank you!

11/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had the company reroof our home in July,the crew did the entire job in five hours. But with our post inspection we were not satisfied with the quality of work. The job site was left a mess when the crew left, I had roofing nails, plastic wrap and tar paper all over my yard even after the crew came out a second time. the siding on my dormer was not attached when the crew left. the crew then returned pushed the siding down bunching the flashing underneath and put a nail in it to make it sit. the drip edge was not one solid piece. The company sent out a inspector finally at the end of September. the only thing I hear from the company is that they have sent a crew out and they have fixed the repairs. Without getting on the roof myself I can see that they have not. Here we are in October and they are sending the owner out and if he feels that they need to fix problems he will have someone fix them. Product_Or_Service: roof on my house

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I feel absolutely helpless and I am wondering what rights I have, I have not paid the second half of the payment and refuse to do so until I get my roof fixed correctly. I had to also replace tires on my 4wd because two of the tires had roofing nails in them. Do I have any rights to recoop the cost of my tires? Do I have any rights to hold payment until after we survive the first winter?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/29) */ The Job site was cleaned up within 24 hours of the job being complete. However due to the fact that the length of **** ************* dormer was longer than 10 feet we were forced to put an additional piece of drip edge on that section of the roof. We understand that the step flashing is visible on both sides of the dormer, however the siding was done by another contractor and we merely replaced the step flashing. The previous contractor didn't install any j channel where the dormer siding meets the roof. It is common to see step flashing on the dormer. The job was completed in August, after repeated attempts to contact the homeowner to see if she was satisfied, we were able to contact almost two months after the initial job was completed. At this time we were notified there was concerns regarding the dormer flashing, we promptly sent an inspector to verify this information. Once it was verified we completed the repair. The homeowner is still not satisfied with the job. We have pictures of the dormer that is conforms with city code and state roofing codes. We look forward to resolving this issue. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) !. The roof was installed on July 28th, Crew came back on August 1st "cleaned" the site again and reattached the west corner of the siding that was ajar. The repair was done by forcing the corner down buckling all the flashing underneath and sticking a nail in the siding.I then called again to complain about the repairs and they sent the same crew out again when I was not home. August 7th both dumpsters were finally removed from my job site after called the national company again and asked them to have someone come and fix my roof correctly. I was told that they would be sending an inspector and they would get back to me. (female, possibly ***) I finally saw an inspector on 9/18. The inspector took pictures of everything and agreed with us that the corner that was forced down by the crew was not satisfactory, the drip edge that covers the width and not the length is the issue.Again never heard from anyone about the repairs or the tires on my vehicle that had two roofing nails in them. Finally spoke to ***** on October 28 and he told me that someone had been out that day and made the repairs. I was home the entire day and no one had been here. After returning my call again ***** then recanted his statement and said that there was a crew out at my house the week previous. The nail in the corner of my siding has never been lifted to make the necessary flashing repairs. In regards to the siding, it was installed in the 1960's and has never been that way. The home has been in my family since the day it was built and there has never been two layers of roofing on the roof. Somehow now it appears as if there were two layers of roofing. There was never any need for j channel. Maybe that would be something that Empire roofing could do to make it look like it used to before they showed up here. I would like to be notified when someone is on my property. If they would meet with me we could resolve the problems in person instead of relying on someone else to tell what my needs to be satisfied. Obviously what they think needs to be done and what I feel needs to be repaired is different. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/06) */ The h.o. met with the inspector in september and we thought we had resolved all issues. We have then called many times to get ahold of h.o. with no return calls. On 10/27/14 the office personnel contacted the h.o. to see if he could go out there to meet with her and she refused. At this point we don't know what the h.o. wants but if she is willing to meet with someone we can send someone there ASAP, Thank you! Please call us at the office to set up appt thanks!

11/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My roof leaks after 2 yrs.of installation and they signed a warranty on their workmanship. We have tried for 4 mo. for replacement of roof product. There was a disagreement about the installation of the roofing material at the time of installation and Empire's rep. signed a paper guarantying that the roof wouldn't leak for 2 yrs.(June 2012). In April of 2014 I started calling to report the roof was leaking,after several calls they sent someone out to take pic. and then I heard nothing for many weeks so I resumed calling again until they finally sent someone out to caulk the leaks. I explained the situation to him and he agreed,saying he would be back after ordering the new material; but I heard nothing for a few weeks again, so I started calling again. After a few weeks of calling they sent out a different crew, who also agreed with me that the roofing had been installed incorrectly and that they would be back after they ordered the new roofing material. After a few more weeks of nothing I started calling again. They have now told me that they would be here fri. or sat. for the last 2 weeks but haven't shown up yet and are not answering my calls anymore.

Desired Settlement: I want them to replace all the roofing on the shed with new material and to install it correctly. I also want their old roofing material removed from the shed and hauled away, at no cost to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/21) */ We have been working with Mr ************ for sometime in regard to his roof. The materials we need in order to fix the roof are special order and just arrived at the supplier early this week. We intend to repair the roof as the homeowner has requested as soon as the weather permits. We will be in contact with the homeowner to let him know when this will be. We regret this has taken longer than intended. THanks! **** ******** Empire Roofing Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2014/10/27) */ I'm sorry this happened, we will be in contact with h.o. to take care of this ASAP. Thanks!

2/20/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Empire improperly installed our roof causing damage to the interior of our home. The owner will not talk to us. Customer service is unacceptable. We hired Empire Roofing on 5/10/13 to install a new roof on our home. Work was completed on 6/4/13. (At the start of the demolition we came home to find them on our neighbors roof about to start removal.) We had ordered and paid for GAF Shingles, Timberline style, Weathered wood coloring, and 21 packages of it. Within the first month a large rain storm came through the area and we had water running down our fireplace in the living room and down the ceiling and walls in the office. We called Empire. They came out within a day or two and the representative said there was no caulk on the Northwest side of the home. He claimed he caulked a lot of it. He said all should be fine now. (He didn't say anything about the office which we didn't catch at the time. We trusted that all was fixed.) Then comes winter and the problems start again. On a warmer day in December we again have running water down the ceiling and walls in the office. I call Empire and get ahold of ****. He says he is not coming out because it is our fault due to ice dams. I inform him that he can't make this determination without coming to the home to see and that the problem is in the same place as in the summer. He reluctantly agrees to come out the next morning. He never shows. I call him back, 2 hours after the apt time I reach him and he says he is stuck in his driveway and won't be out. I tell him to send someone else but someone NEEDS to come out. His brother ****** shows up with another guy (****?). After much hesitation and attempts to cover up the two employees (****** claims to be the owner's son.)agree that the work is terrible work, we are missing flashing and caulk, and that is just what is currently visible. We have tongue-and-groove ceiling and walls, we ask them what they are going to do to save it, informing them that they are paying for the repair and not us. They say nothing, all they brought with them was a hammer and a flat. They advise us that we can do what we need to do to stop the water from going down the walls and into the lower level of our home where they would have another room to fix while they go to the local hardware store and buy clear housing caulk and come back to caulk the roof. We remove some tongue-and-groove, drywall, and insulation to prevent further damage and mold. They say not to worry it will be taken care of. I ask for the owners phone number, ****** does not want to give it out saying "He will be very upset if you call him." I said it's his business and we are his clients, he should talk to us. We agreed to continue going through ****** first. Upon leaving our home ****** did not return ANY phone calls, we made numerous attempts. Then, I tried calling the owner ******. He did not answer and I left a message. To this date ****** has not returned the call. I called the main office again, **** answered, she said she is really sorry for how we have been treated and that they will be taking care of it. **** came out (also the worker from the summer leaks) and said that the caulk ****** had added didn't even adhere to the house. He further added that there are many shiners, missing caulk, and other issues. He said that the crew that worked on our house was only hired for 5 homes and messed them all up. He has been repairing all of them. Empire has done nothing for our home since. We have enormous heat loss due (during polar vortex)to the unfinished repair, damage to my home, and still an inadequate/defected roof. Upon being told stories and Empire not honoring their word I took a day off work and went to the office to get the paperwork I had requested, 1-27-14. While there I find out that they had subcontracted out our home to 5 Story Construction, we had never been informed or asked approval for this. It is not stated in our contract either. Empire has filled a claim with *** at Auto Owners claim number ***********. Empire has not helped us in any way to recover our immediate loss.

Desired Settlement: We would like the $7130.00 we paid for the roof. We would like to get three estimates for repair to the interior of our home. We want them to pay for this repair in full. We want compensation for our heat loss. I have 3 children to provide for and I can't when I have two propane fills in 43 days at nearly $4.00 + a gallon. My electric bill has also doubled this month ($120 normal, $248.23 this month)and when I asked MN Power they attribute it to my furnace running full time to keep up with the heat loss. I further feel that the lack of respect for their customers, lack of communication, lack of use of my room, materials we had to purchase to bandaid the situation, and pure emotional stress involved should be considered but I don't know how or in what form.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/02/14) */ Re: Repairs for ***** and *** O'****** at ************** Cloquet, MN 55720 To Whom It May Concern: We have been in contact with the sub-crews insurance company and have attempted to file a claim for all damages caused. However there have been delays in correspondence and we assume the insurance company will not be covering the claim. We regret all inconveniences caused to the homeowner on our behalf and hope to make right all wrongs. Our plan going forward: 1. Get an estimate from a contractor of Mr. and Mrs. O'******'s choice for all interior damages. 2. Proceed with repairs once a contract with a contractor has been signed. 3. Have roof Inspected by City of Duluth 4. Repair roof if necessary (we have already repaired roof flashings) If the City of Duluth decides the entire roof needs to be replaced, we will do so. If you have any questions please feel free to call our office Thank You, *************, Office Manager Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2014/02/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Empire Roofing, I can not express to you the stress and hardship that has been placed on my family due to Empire. We were never asked if it was okay to subcontract our home out to another company. Nor is it in our agreement. We hired Empire, NOT ********************. I am appalled that this has happened to our family and our home without even an acknowledgement from *************. This speaks to the ethics of his company and leadership. What does Empire have to say for the loss of use of our room since December 27th? And the loss of heat that we have experienced during the coldest months in 20 years due to damage to our home? What is your plan to compensate the thousands of dollars that we have experienced in heat loss? Pain and suffering? You speak of repairing some and possibly all of our roof. I'm telling you, as advised by your own men, that we can not see all of the problems that are going unseen underneath. ******************** did everything wrong that we can see so it is naturally assumed that they did the same with what we can't see. You have lost my faith. I do not trust. I want my entire roof replaced. I further do not trust Empire to do it. Maybe I would have if I had been shown any amount of respect and appreciation as a customer. Therefore, my request as presented with the BBB holds. We want our contract refunded, repairs made by contractor of our choice, and appropriate and agreed upon heat compensation. You DID NOT address all of these requests in your response to the BBB and therefore we can NOT accept your response. You can continue your resolution with ******************** as you wish but our contract was with you, Empire, and we want this resolved. We have been advised to contact the Department of Commerce as well and will do so if we are not pleased with the promptness of correspondence and respect within. Sincerely, ***** and ****** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on Empire Roofing
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart