BBB Accredited Business since

Berkshire Home Solutions

Phone: (763) 432-9855 Fax: (763) 432-9854 2605 Fernbrook Ln N STE A, Minneapolis, MN 55447 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.berkhs.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Berkshire Home Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Berkshire Home Solutions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Berkshire Home Solutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 26, 2008 Business started: 05/29/2008 Business started locally: 05/29/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Andy Filer, President Mallory Biegert, Owner/Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Andy Filer, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Windows - Repairing Contractors - General Patio & Deck Builders

Alternate Business Names
Berkshire Construction Company
Products & Services

According to information provided by Berkshire Home Solutions, this company offers window replacement, siding, and roofing projects in the residential market throughout the state of Minnesota.

Industry Tips
Foreclosure Services Remodeling your home Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Additional Locations

  • 2605 Fernbrook Ln N STE A

    Minneapolis, MN 55447

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Original contract was for $7365.11 plus applicable tax and supplements. There was no extra or additional work preformed but was billed $9134.95 As stated above the original contract was for $7365.11 for removal and replacement of our roof (house and garage) The day the work was completed I turned over the check from our insurance company in the amount of $5789.90 Berkshire home solutions was to submit paper work to our insurance company. Once the insurance company reviewed the paper work they would release the balance. Berkshire sent us a invoice for the balance, but instead of the balance being the remainder of the contract ($1575.21+permit fee) They billed for $9134.95 minus the $5789.90 for a balance of $3345.05 There was no additional work beyond the scope of the contract. The only addition should of been the permit fee of $85.00 The reason give for the increase was the software used for estimating cost had been updated. But this had been done after the contract had been signed. How can Berkshire take this updated software and us it retroactively?

Desired Settlement: I believe I or my insurance company should be returned the amount that Berkshire billed over the original contract amount. This was a clear bait and switch. At no time after the contract was signed did Berkshire or its representative contact me by phone or email to inform me that the cost was going to increase.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/28) */ I sincerely apologize for any confusion on the agreements signed by Mr ****** and Berkshire Home Solutions. We provide all agreements with our customers in writing, and we have multiple agreements at different dates throughout the project, to try and avoid this type of confusion. I do know that our agreement to bill Mr ****** for just his insurance deductible plus whatever the insurance company approves on our estimate was fully upheld by Berkshire. The insurance company (AAA Insurance) approved additional supplemental monies per agreement with Berkshire Home Solutions, and those payments are due to Berkshire Home Solutions and are not for the profit of Mr ******. Had the insurance company not approved the supplemental payment requests, Berkshire Home Solutions would not have billed Mr ****** for them (which is what our agreements also state). The spirit of the agreement has been "Any insurance monies negotiated and approved for the work Berkshire Home Solutions completes are due to Berkshire, and the customer will not ever pay more than their deductible." Berkshire has followed this agreement and Mr ****** has paid in full per this agreement. Exact language and details of the agreements is outlined below and copies of all agreements are attached. Original Agreement (copy attached) August 17, 2013 - The original agreement with Mr ****** signed: 1) Describes in the second line of the Payment Terms Section (line #2) "Any insurer-approved supplemental work shall form a part of this Agreement. 2) Bolded in the Payment Terms Section is states "Unless otherwise provided in this Agreement, we accept the first check from your insurance company as down payment; we collect any progress payments from the insurance company along with the customer's deductible for the final payment." Roof Spec Sheet and Scope and Price Addendum (copy attached) September 10, 2013 - The Roof Spec Sheet and Scope and Price Addendum was signed: 1) "For the total price of $7,365.11+ applicable tax and supplement......". 2) The section beneath also states "Berkshire Home Solutions has the right to all supplemental payments provided by your insurance company for any and all additional damages or missed items. If supplements are approved, you agree to pay that money to Berkshire Home Solutions. Insurance Estimates (copies attached) The original insurance estimate dated 8/29/13, and the final insurance estimate dated 12/19/13, are attached showing specific dollar amounts that identify the amount of supplemental payments the insurance company approved. They also support the final invoice we billed Mr ******; which shows we billed Mr ****** for the monies the insurance company approved plus his deductible....as our agreements have stated all along. Please feel free to contact me directly with any additional questions on these agreements. Sincerely, **** ********** President Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/02/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Berkshire's response might detail what has taken place. But not the justification for not honoring the original contract amount. Again the original contract was for $7365.11 plus applicable tax and supplements. This was the amount approved by AAA for the scope of work authorized by them. Berkshires contract also states "The final amount is subject to changes orders approved in writing by all parties to this agreement" There were no change orders issued yet Brekshire bills for over and above the contact amount. The fact that AAA updated amounted what they would pay for various works should have no bearing on this contract. Due to the fact these updated amounts occurred after our contract was signed and work completed. If Berkshire is allow to do this what good in their contact? To this point, then should not Berkshire inform their customers that the contact amount is useless and in fact the work will cost substantially more. I would really like to put this issue behind me. To do so I would like a refund from Berkshire in the amount of the final check I received from AAA in the amount of $421.13. This would not represent me "profiting" but would be used to complete repairs to the other damages to my home. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/02/12) */ Here is a quick summary of what supplemental charges were approved by the insurance company - including our actual invoice to them, and the insurance adjuster's email approval along with the attached supporting final estimate from the adjuster (to which the insured was also copied on this email as you'll see). Please feel free to contact me for any further clarification. The 1st attachment is Berkshire's estimate sent to the insurance company for the house and garage roof (Document Name "******_BHS EST.pdf"): See Attached-$9,663.55 Our supplements were: 1. Standard Insurance approved current market price increases 2. Asked for 25 year 3-tab shingle instead of 20 year (this was denied, and was therefore NOT invoiced to customer) 3. Permit The final approved amount in the second attachment for the house and garage roof were (Document Name "***********_.pdf INS FINAL PW.pdf"): House: $6,528.85 Garage $2,606.10 Total: $9,134.95 - (NOTE: we didn't ask h/o for the applicable taxes) These are the exact notes in blue we received from the adjuster when he returned the final numbers/estimate to us: *****, The review team came back with a roofing total of $6,528.85 for the dwelling and $2,606.10 for the garage. Comes out to a total of $9,134.95 including the roofing permit. All of the changes that you'd spoke of were reflected in these values with the exception of the change from 20 YR shingles to 25 YR shingles due to 20 YR shingles being available at your local home depot: http://www.homedepot.com/p/t/100037174?storeZip=60540&zip=60540&store=&state_1=&distance_1=50&langId=-1&city=&recordId=1918&latitude=41.749531&storeCity=Naperville&longitude=-88.204780&storeState=IL&catalogId=10053&rough=Value&storeId=10051 With the current numbers, the member has been paid out $8,663.55 ($9,663.55 (RCV) - $1,000 (Deductible)) so far and will be entitled to a remainder of $421.13 based on full roof replacements along with ACV for misc items (fascia, paint, etc.) Basically at the end of the day the total payout for this claim at this time would end up being $9,084.68. Please review the attached PDF for updated estimate reference and let me know if you have any issues. Upon hearing back, I will go ahead and issue the remaining $421,13. This email is also being CC'ed to the member for reference. Thanks for all your help. Regards, ******** Claim Specialist AAA Catastrophe Team


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Berkshire Home Solutions
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)