BBB Accredited Business since

American Residential Services, Inc.

Phone: (763) 447-0123 View Additional Phone Numbers 8160 County Rd. 42  Suite #300-355, Savage, MN 55378 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.agreatgc.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

American Residential Services provides a customer friendly affordable means of planning and completing remodeling or construction projects.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Residential Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for American Residential Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Residential Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 28, 2000 Business started: 06/23/1999 in MN Business started locally: 06/23/1999 Business incorporated 03/17/2006 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Codes and Licensing Division
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.doli.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 284-5012
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Rob Rettmann, Owner Stuart Louden, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Rob Rettmann, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Commercial Roofing Siding Contractors Windows - Installation & Service Windows Windows - Vinyl Windows - Repairing Soffit & Fascia Gutters & Downspouts Contractors - Gutters

Products & Services

American Residential Services, Inc. offers the following product(s): Doors, Gutters, Roofing, Siding, Windows

Service Area
American Residential Services, Inc. provides their services in CRYSTAL SPGS, CRYSTAL SPRINGS & MEDINA, ND.American Residential Services, Inc. provides their services in ADAMS, ADOLPH, ADRIAN, AFTON, AH GWAH CHING, AITKIN, AKELEY, ALBANY, ALBERT LEA, ALBERTA, ALBERTVILLE, ALBORN, ALDEN, ALDRICH, ALEXANDRIA, ALMELUND, ALPHA, ALTURA, ALVARADO, AMBOY, AMIRET, ANDOVER, ANGLE INLET, ANGORA, ANGUS, ANNANDALE, ANOKA, APPLE VALLEY, APPLETON, ARCO, ARDEN HILLS, ARGYLE, ARLINGTON, ASHBY, ASKOV, ATWATER, AUDUBON, AURORA, AUSTIN, AVOCA, AVON, BACKUS, BADGER, BAGLEY, BAKER, BALATON, BARNESVILLE, BARNUM, BARRETT, BARRY, BATTLE LAKE, BAUDETTE, BAXTER, BAYPORT, BEARDSLEY, BEAVER BAY, BEAVER CREEK, BECIDA, BECKER, BELGRADE, BELLE PLAINE, BELLINGHAM, BELTRAMI, BEMIDJI, BENA, BENEDICT, BISCAY, BLAINE, BLMNG PRAIRIE, BLOOMING PRAIRIE, BLOOMINGTON, BRAINERD, BROOKLYN CENTER, BROOKLYN CTR, BROOKLYN PARK, BUFFALO, BURNSVILLE, CENTERVILLE, CIRCLE PINES, COLUMBIA HEIGHTS, COLUMBIA HTS, COLUMBUS, COON RAPIDS, CORCORAN, COTTAGE GROVE, CROWN COLLEGE, CRYSTAL, DELANO, DELLWOOD, DOWNER, DULUTH, EAGAN, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDINA, ELKO NEW MARKET, ELKO NEW MRKT, ESSIG, EXCELSIOR, FALCON HEIGHTS, FALCON HGTS, FOREST LAKE, FRIDLEY, GAYLORD, GIBBON, GLENCOE, GOLDEN VALLEY, GREENWOOD, HAM LAKE, HAMEL, HAMPTON, HASTINGS, HEIDELBERG, HILLTOP, HOLT, HOPKINS, HUGO, INVER GROVE, INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, JORDAN, KLOSSNER, LAKE ELMO, LAKEVILLE, LANDFALL VILLAGE, LANDFALL VLG, LAUDERDALE, LE SUEUR, LINO LAKES, LITTLE CANADA, MAHTOMEDI, MAHTOWA, MANCHESTER, MAPLE GROVE, MAPLE LAKE, MAPLEVIEW, MAPLEWOOD, MARIETTA, MARINE ON SAINT CROIX, MARINE ST CRX, MEDICINE LAKE, MEDINA, MEIRE GROVE, MELROSE, MENDOTA, MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MENDOTA HTS, MERRIFIELD, MINETONKA BCH, MINETONKA MLS, MINN CITY, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNEISKA, MINNEOTA, MINNESOTA CITY, MINNESOTA LAKE, MINNESOTA LK, MINNETNKA BCH, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA BEACH, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MONTGOMERY, MONTICELLO, MONTROSE, MORA, MOUND, MOUNDS VIEW, MOUNDSVIEW, N SAINT PAUL, NASSAU, NAVARRE, NEW AUBURN, NEW BRIGHTON, NEW HOPE, NEW MARKET, NEW MUNICH, NEW PRAGUE, NEW TRIER, NEW ULM, NEW YORK MILLS, NEW YORK MLS, NEWFOLDEN, NEWPORT, NICOLVILLE, NO OAKS, NORTH BRANCH, NORTH OAKS, NORTH SAINT PAUL, NORTH ST PAUL, NORTHFIELD, NORTHOME, NORWOOD YOUNG AMERICA, NOWTHEN, NYA, OAK GROVE, OAK PARK HEIGHTS, OAK PARK HGTS, OAK PARK HTS, OAKDALE, OAKLAND, ODESSA, OGEMA, OKABENA, OKLEE, OSSEO, OTSEGO, PINE SPRINGS, PITT, PLYMOUTH, PRIOR LAKE, RAMSEY, REGAL, RICHFIELD, ROBBINSDALE, ROCKFORD, ROSEVILLE, SAINT ANTHONY, SAINT BONIFACIUS, SAINT LEO, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT PAUL, SAINT PAUL PARK, SEARLES, SHAKOPEE, SHOREVIEW, SILVER CREEK, SOLWAY, SOUTH SAINT PAUL, SOUTH ST PAUL, SPRING HILL, ST ANTHNY VLG, ST ANTHONY, ST ANTHONY VILLAGE, ST BONIFACIUS, ST LOUIS PARK, ST PAUL PARK, STILLWATER, SUNFISH LAKE, TRACY, TURTLE RIVER, VADNAIS HEIGHTS, VADNAIS HTS, W LAKELAND, W SAINT PAUL, W ST PAUL, WEST LAKELAND, WEST SAINT PAUL, WEST ST PAUL, WHITE BEAR LAKE, WHITE BEAR LK, WHITE BEAR TOWNSHIP, WHITE BEAR TP, WILTON & WOODBURY, MN. We service ALL of Minnesota and North Dakota
Products & Services

According to the information provided by American Residential Services, this company offers exterior remodeling for residential and commercial.

Industry Tips
Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Additional Locations

  • 8160 County Rd. 42
    Suite #300-355

    Savage, MN 55378 (763) 447-0123

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unable to file insurance claim On 3/14/14 we signed an agreement with American Residential Services to replace the roof above our porch after damage from an ice dam. The estimator was ****** ******. We told him we would be submitting photos from the removal of the roof to our insurance company. He assured us that the roofers would take photos as they removed the roof and said this was standard for all work they did. The intention was to see if there was damage to the rubber membrane of the roof after the tar and gravel was removed. It was not possible for our insurance adjustor to see this until the day of the removal, and he said photographs would be sufficient for review. On 4/10/14 the roofers came and tore off the roof. When I returned home from work, the roofers were finishing work for the day, and I asked them about the photos. There seemed to be a language barrier and they did not understand what I was asking. On 4/11/14 they completed the work and installed the new roof. On 4/12/14 ****** called me to set up an arrangement to receive final payment, which he picked up later that day. I inquired about the photos and he said he would talk to his boss, who would deliver them to our house. On 4/18/14 I called ****** again to inquire about the photos, which I had not received. He said he would again talk to his boss. I did not hear anything back. On 5/5/14, I once again called ******. He gave me his boss's direct phone number. I spoke to him, and he said his roofer had problems with his phone and was having difficulty retrieving the photos. He said he would work on getting the photos and would get back to me. I talked to ****** again, who emailed me a set of photos. I viewed them on my phone, and there were about ten photos, but was unable to look at them closely at the time. I thanked him, assuming I had the photos I needed to send to insurance. When I returned home that evening, I had the opportunity to review the photos on my laptop's bigger screen, and discovered the photos I had received were from 3/13/14 - the day ****** came to do the estimate - and 4/11/14 - the day work was completed. There were no photos from the day the roof was torn off. I responded to the email 5/5/14 and asked for a phone call, as I still have not received the correct photos. No one has contacted me. As it is right now, I am unable to submit any of this repair work to my insurance company. I paid a total of $1815 for the work with the understanding I would be provided photos that would allow me to submit an insurance claim.

Desired Settlement: I would like the photos I was told I would receive. I have been given a run-around by this business. If the photos do not exist, I would like to be contacted by the company to discuss a refund of the work, as I'm unable to submit an insurance claim. I am out of pocket $1815.00 for contracted work that could be covered by my insurance because they did not follow through on their agreement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/06/06) */ Dear BBB and Ms. ******, I apologize for the tardiness of my response. Unfortunately, the incorrect email address is listed for my account and I only check my American Residential Services mailbox every few weeks. The email address for all BBB correspondance should be americanres@yahoo.com. Ms. ****** signed a contract with American Residential Services to tear off and replace a small flat roof above a porch. ************* put together the contract. We performed on the contract exactly how it was stated. Upon completion, we were paid on the roof and Ms. ****** gave us all positive feedback on our satisfaction survey. The contract did not say anything about pictures for insurance purposes. ****** did not remember the unusual pictures that the homeowner is requesting, but instead, remembers her asking for normal routine pictures of the job. After completion of the contract, we sent Ms. ****** before-and-after pictures of her roof and the only picture we didn't have due to our data loss was a picture of the pristine condition of the wood decking surface. We did not have any pictures of a rubber membrane because it is impossible to get a picture of a rubber membrane by itself. If Ms. ****** would have requested these pictures at the contract signing, ****** would have told her these pictures were impossible to take. The flat roof we replaced was several layers of tar and rock build up fused together. We don't even know that there was a rubber membrane fused into all of these layers. In order to remove this roof, we had to get down to the decking and roll it up like a burrito. I have 16 years of experience in the roofing industry and working with insurance companies and I believe the insurance company is asking for pictures that are unattainable. The homeowner is working with the insurance company and my company was never asked to work with the insurance company on her behalf. Normally, insurance companies do not base the acceptance or denial of an insurance claim on a picture of the roof from the roofing crew or on a picture of the decking. They usually look things over and draw up the paperwork before a roofing crew ever arrives to do the roof. Desired resolution I will put together an affidavit to explain to the insurance company that the pictures they are requesting are unattainable due to the composition of the roof. I will explain that the wood was in perfect shape and no damage was done from ice dam/water intrusion. I will not offer any refund of this roofing contract. In my professional opinion, based on the age of the roof, the roof needed to be replaced with or without an insurance claim. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/06/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We are currently experiencing issues with this particular roof as we woke up with the ceiling leaking in several places and the floor wet. I can give a more complete response to these issues as soon as this current damage is assessed and corrected by American Residential Services. I called the company this morning and they said they would send someone out.

1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had estimate done payed deposit then changed my mind and went with someone else. Haven't gotton my refund for the deposit after almost a month when they cashed my check within 12 hrs of receiving pYment. Called many times and always get different answers depending on who I talk to.

Desired Settlement: I want my $250 deposit back and potentially more since I have been out of that money for almost a month

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/24) */ Customer called salesman verbally cancel job. The full amount of $250 check was mailed back. Customer called the day after I mailed it to let me know he had not received it yet. Customer called back again after week later and still not received the check. I canceled the check for $250. I reissue the new check for 251.00. I didn't want his new check to get denied. This time I have my salesman hand-deliver it to him. He wasn't home so we taped it onto his door. The check was cashed. Thank you ***************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on American Residential Services, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)