BBB Accredited Business since

All Pro Xteriors, Inc.

Phone: (952) 486-7834 Fax: (952) 960-1843 View Additional Phone Numbers 1115 Vicksburg Ln N STE 18, Plymouth, MN 55447 http://www.allproxteriorsinc.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that All Pro Xteriors, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for All Pro Xteriors, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on All Pro Xteriors, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 09, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1995 Business started locally: 01/01/1995 Business incorporated 10/18/2002 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Chris Knutson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Chris Knutson, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Hardwood Floor Contractors Doors Windows Kitchen Remodeling Contractors - General Carpet Installation Gutters & Downspouts Home Improvements - Additions Painting Contractors Patio & Deck Builders

Service Area
All Pro Xteriors, Inc. provides their services in AFTON, ALBERTVILLE, ANDOVER, ANOKA, APPLE VALLEY, ARDEN HILLS, BAYPORT, BELLE PLAINE, BETHEL, BIG LAKE, BISCAY, BLAINE, BLMNG PRAIRIE, BLOOMING PRAIRIE, BLOOMINGTON, BROOKLYN CENTER, BROOKLYN CTR, BROOKLYN PARK, BUFFALO, BURNS TOWNSHIP, BURNS TWNSHP, BURNSVILLE, CAMBRIDGE, CANNON FALLS, CENTERVILLE, CHAMPLIN, CHANHASSEN, CHASKA, CHISAGO CITY, CIRCLE PINES, COLLEGEVILLE, COLUMBIA HEIGHTS, COLUMBIA HTS, COLUMBUS, COON RAPIDS, CORCORAN, COTTAGE GROVE, CROWN COLLEGE, CRYSTAL, DELANO, DELLWOOD, EAGAN, EAST BETHEL, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDEN VALLEY, EDINA, ELK RIVER, ELKO, ELKO NEW MARKET, ELKO NEW MRKT, EXCELSIOR, FALCON HEIGHTS, FALCON HGTS, FARIBAULT, FARMINGTON, FOREST LAKE, FRIDLEY, GLENCOE, GOLDEN VALLEY, GREENWOOD, HAM LAKE, HAMEL, HAMPTON, HANOVER, HASTINGS, HEIDELBERG, HILLTOP, HOPKINS, HOWARD LAKE, HUGO, HUTCHINSON, INDEPENDENCE, INVER GROVE, INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, JORDAN, LAKE CITY, LAKE ELMO, LAKEVILLE, LANDFALL VILLAGE, LANDFALL VLG, LAUDERDALE, LE SUEUR, LINO LAKES, LITTLE CANADA, LONG LAKE, LONSDALE, LORETTO, MAHTOMEDI, MANKATO, MAPLE GROVE, MAPLE LAKE, MAPLE PLAIN, MAPLEWOOD, MARINE ON SAINT CROIX, MARINE ST CRX, MEDICINE LAKE, MEDINA, MENDOTA, MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MENDOTA HTS, MERIDEN, MINETONKA BCH, MINETONKA MLS, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNETNKA BCH, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA BEACH, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MONTEVIDEO, MONTGOMERY, MONTICELLO, MOUND, MOUNDS VIEW, MOUNDSVIEW, N SAINT PAUL, NEW BRIGHTON, NEW HOPE, NEW MARKET, NEW PRAGUE, NEW TRIER, NEWPORT, NO OAKS, NORTH BRANCH, NORTH MANKATO, NORTH OAKS, NORTH SAINT PAUL, NORTH ST PAUL, NORTHFIELD, NOWTHEN, OAK GROVE, OAK PARK HEIGHTS, OAK PARK HGTS, OAK PARK HTS, OAKDALE, ORONO, OSSEO, OTISCO, OTSEGO, OWATONNA, PINE SPRINGS, PLYMOUTH, PRIOR LAKE, RAMSEY, RANDOLPH, RED WING, RICHFIELD, ROBBINSDALE, ROCKFORD, ROGERS, ROSEMOUNT, ROSEVILLE, SAINT ANTHONY, SAINT BONIFACIUS, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT PAUL, SAINT PAUL PARK, SAINT PETER, SAVAGE, SHAKOPEE, SHOREVIEW, SILVER CREEK, SOUTH SAINT PAUL, SOUTH ST PAUL, SPRING LAKE PARK, SPRING LK PK, SPRING PARK, ST ANTHNY VLG, ST ANTHONY, ST ANTHONY VILLAGE, ST BONIFACIUS, ST LOUIS PARK, ST PAUL PARK, STILLWATER, SUNFISH LAKE, VADNAIS HEIGHTS, VADNAIS HTS, VESELI, W LAKELAND, W SAINT PAUL, W ST PAUL, WACONIA, WADENA, WASECA, WAYZATA, WEBSTER, WEST LAKELAND, WEST SAINT PAUL, WEST ST PAUL, WHITE BEAR LAKE, WHITE BEAR LK, WHITE BEAR TOWNSHIP, WHITE BEAR TP, WOODBURY, YOUNG AMERICA & ZIMMERMAN, MN.
Products & Services

According to the information provided by All Pro Xteriors, Inc., this company offers residential and commercial exterior and maintenance services, including roofing, siding, windows, doors, gutters, painting, staining, and decks.

Industry Tips
Foreclosure Services Remodeling your home Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Additional Locations

  • 1115 Vicksburg Ln N STE 18

    Plymouth, MN 55447

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/7/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Siding replaced,window wraps & drip caps paid for but not installed. Water leaking in, structural damage; exposed foundation plywood wicks up water. Contract signed November 29, 2012, to replace roof, siding, and gutters on our home as well as detached shed roof. Total amount paid for this and all extras was $21,972. Contract included removing existing window ban board wraps & wood ($307.62), wrapping all windows & doors with window tape ($30 per window w/ max of $300), installing drip caps($250),& replacing any wood damage at $40 per sheet.We were very concerned about the work being done correctly around the doors & windows (all are high end ****** model)& emphasized that repeatedly with our salesman,***** *****, that this was a top priority. He agreed he would call us & send pictures when the windows/door were exposed if there was any existing damage. The work was done in December, 2012, & we received a phone call from our salesman indicating that a small area around the master bedroom window had water damage on the plywood & no other problems. He confirmed after the entire job was finished that there was no other water damage & no pictures were sent. Around June, 2013, I contacted ***** as I had noticed a water stain on the lakeside wall by the bottom left corner of our patio door after it had rained. When I put my finger on the small area the sheet rock was soft & my finger went through. ***** promptly came out & investigated. He reported to me by cell phone that he had removed all of the siding on that section of the house by the door and that he determined the problem was the door itself & not the siding installation & would probably need to replace the door in the next year. He applied some silicone. He had his associate, ********, give us a bid for a new patio door for $7600. On October 5th, 2013, after a lot of fall rains, I noticed water coming in again in that same area & also on the right bottom corner of the same door & onto the carpet. On the other side of the wall I noticed enough water had been dripping from the wall between the top window & the window below it such that it dripped through the frame of the window, onto the sill and then the carpet. ***** again responded & arrived October 9th to meet me on site. He looked over the door & said it was getting worse. He examined the windows on the lake side where we saw water & told me the problem was the windows. He said the seals were bad & water was coming in there. He also said with all the pounding and nailing on the roof & house things probably loosened up. He said the seals needed to be replaced & the windows should be sanded down & a varnish or sealer applied. I asked about water getting in the wall& mold & he said if the windows were fixed/replaced it would just dry out. Before he left he applied some silicone between the window & J channel on some of the areas of the lake side windows. I then contacted ****** Windows about what I had been told. I sent ***** an email telling him I had contacted ****** & asked for his pictures & he did not respond. I took my own pictures & sent them to ******. ****** referred me to an authorized dealer in our area. They sent someone out on October 23. He looked at the outside of one window & pulled back the siding & saw immediately there was no window tape, no drip cap, & an area without house wrap. His comment was that if one window was not wrapped it was pretty likely that the rest of them were not either.Also pointed out that foundation was not wrapped at bottom of siding and moisture wicking up into walls on N. side. Had licensed contractor out that installs ****** windows on Oct. 27 to assess. He advised to have the siding removed around all windows/doors & determine if they have the window tape we paid for. Said drip caps not installed. There is sheetrock damage, active mold growth, and likely some structural damage inside wall from water - root cause being failure of All-Pro to install window wraps or drip caps per contract (we paid extra for) or code. No problem with this until after siding replaced by All-Pro. Seal damage addressed.

Desired Settlement: There needs to be a complete assessment by a licensed 3rd party; agreeable to Marvin Windows and paid for by All Pro, to determine if window tape is present around all windows and doors. Since it is obvious that the drip caps were not installed on windows/doors and that the foundation was not wrapped with an aluminum coil or strip (leaving exposed plywood that wicks up moisture) - both paid for by our contract - this would only need confirmation. The assessment should include a determination on what damage was caused by not properly installing these materials that were part of the contract, paid for, and required by State building code. Furthermore; an assessment is required by a state licensed structural engineer of the ensuing damage since the All-Pro repairs. Items to be assessed include the windows themselves, sheetrock, load-bearing structures, and all interior wall material where it is determined that moisture and mold damage occurred as a result of All-Pro workmanship deficiencies. We are seeking monetary compensation from All-Pro for repair work to be performed by a licensed, Marvin Window approved contractor to return our windows to their original state with the already paid for wrap and drip caps. Furthermore, we seek compensation to have a licensed contractor repair any structural damage and ensuing finish work to the original state of the home before All-Pro performed their work. For medical issues of family members and the rapidly accelerating mold situation caused by the sub-standard All-Pro work; time is critical and we need to proceed with repairs before it creates an even worse set of problems this winter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/17) */ We have received and read the full complaint from the homeowners concerning the work that All Pro Xteriors, Inc. performed and inspected at their residence. First and foremost, we apologize for the inconvenience we have caused them in this matter. As an attempt to respect their request for immediate resolution, the owner of All Pro Xteriors, Inc. contacted the homeowner by phone on October 31st when the Better Business Bureau informed the company of the complaint. The owner offered to come to their home to evaluate the damages. All Pro Xteriors, Inc. and the homeowner agreed to a meeting on November 2nd. Previous to learning of the complaint to the BBB on October 31st, an All Pro Xteriors, Inc. representative inspected the the home regarding water leaking into the house from under a window on October 9th. The representative determined that the problem was with the window seal itself and not the siding installation. Windows were wrapped with house wrap tape, not window tape and were found to be intact. The representative did not see any damage on exterior of window, but when opening the window from the inside notice mold between the window jamb and sash. It was suggested by the All Pro Xterior, Inc. representative that the seal on the window was bad and caused the leak that led to the water damage that led to the mold. On November 1st All Pro Xteriors, Inc. received a call from the homeowner cancelling their meeting. The homeowner told All Pro Xteriors, Inc. that he will be taking care of the repairs himself. All Pro asked the homeowner about the structural damages and the homeowner stated that he did not know if there was any structural damage. All Pro asked the homeowner about the leak and the mold and the homeowner said they will have a Marvin Windows Installer come and replace all of their windows at a discounted rate and fix any damages. The homeowner ended the conversation by telling All Pro that he would like to just go their separate ways. All Pro offered to reimburse the homeowner for the drip caps and window wrap that was not installed and the homeowner told All Pro that it was not necessary and again that he would like them to go their separate ways. All Pro Xteriors, Inc.'s understanding from these dispute resolution telephone conversations is that the homeowner is taking care of all repairs and not seeking additional monetary reimbursement from All Pro Xteriors, Inc. All Pro Xteriors, Inc. will be reimbursing the homeowner for the missing window wrap and drip caps, and we have mailed a check to the homeowner for $550. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience this has caused. Our company aims to consistently deliver a professional service to our customers. As a result of this complaint, our company is actively working to improve and prevent anything like this homeowner's situation from happening again in the future. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2013/12/03) */ The response from All Pro does not address all of the facts or fully resolve our issue. The first step of our desired resolution has been and continues to be to have an independent assessment by a third party. We have made arrangements for that and are in the process of having that completed. The goal of the assessment includes determining what damage was caused to our home by All Pro not installing the materials around our windows and foundation that were part of our contract and required by State building code. We are also in the process of getting bids for the repairs as well as replacement for some of our windows and a door. If it is determined by the third party that the deficiencies with All Pro's work caused or contributed to the water damage to our home, we will seek advice at that time on how to proceed. The owner of All Pro did give us a telephone call after we filed our complaint and did offer to come out personally with his representative to evaluate the damage again. We initially set up an appointment for November 2. However, after discussing and thinking about what the owner said, we called him back and declined to have them do a third evaluation. The owner and representative from All Pro are maintaining that all of the water damage is due to faulty windows and a patio door. We acknowledged to All Pro that it appears some of our windows and patio door may have issues of their own. We are working with the window vendor and a licensed local contractor to resolve those issues and replace any faulty windows. We appreciate All Pro's representative pointing out the deficiencies with our windows but do not believe that they are responsible for the recent water intrusion after the siding and roof replacement by All Pro. We cancelled our appointment for a number of reasons. First, we did not feel that All Pro had the expertise to make a fair assessment of the cause of the water damage. Second, we also did not feel that they had any particular expertise in mold remediation and repair of water damage. In addition, they could not explain how they were going to coordinate with the other licensed, local contractor and window vendor we are working with. And finally, it was never explained who was going to be actually doing the work if they came out - it was not going to be All Pro directly, but someone apparently to be named later from a pool of other contractors / window installers they sub-contract with. All Pro wanted to come out to evaluate the damages by opening up the siding on the exterior and cutting into the sheetrock on the inside. We had concern with having them do that without a plan especially if more extensive repairs were required or if windows were going to be ordered and replaced. It would have only complicated the situation to have All Pro open up our walls and leave material exposed as well as potentially spread mold farther into the home. In fact, we were advised that the inside should not be opened up for evaluation until the exterior work and any window and door replacement was completed and sealed up. Only then should we open up the interior to dry it out and make repairs. Which walls are opened up for evaluation will depend on what is found on the exterior when the siding is pulled back. The owner seemed unwilling to meet with us and someone with the necessary unbiased expertise to evaluate the problem. Instead, the owner wanted to bring with him the representative that had two previous opportunities to evaluate the problem. Assessments by this representative were incomplete and biased. The only work he did was to apply some silicon caulk to the J channels around the windows on the exterior and to the threshold of the door (which, by the way, I am told should not be applied in J channels around windows). He never addressed the deficiencies with the work of their subcontractors and instead focused on our windows. We do not feel that a third assessment by the same representative is warranted. We know what his opinion is. The fact is that there was no water leaking into our home until after the new siding and roof were replaced by All Pro. Water started coming inside our home with the first spring rain after the replacement of siding as detailed in our complaint. Regarding All Pro's response on the extent of the damage: we and the other contractors have established that damage has been done. We witnessed water dripping, wet spots on the sheetrock in multiple areas on different sides of the room, cracks that were not there previously, and new visible mold - all after the All Pro work was performed. Regarding possible structural damage: no one can say with certainty at this point how much and what material needs to be replaced until the wall is opened up. However; with the mold and cracks showing, at a minimum, some framing members will likely need to be replaced. Again, the history of this project is that every time All Pro came out, nothing got fixed. Therefore, we only want to do this one more time and put it right. We do not want things opened and closed multiple times. If the owner is so sure that a window that is causing the water intrusion, he should be open to a third party evaluation. We came to the realization that any meeting with them on site would only be a repeat of previous meetings and telephone discussions. We are looking for a resolution, not further debate. The owner did not seem to be open to the suggestion that the deficiencies with the work of his siding sub-contractors may have any contribution to the waterproblem. In fact, in his response to our complaint, he states that "windows were wrapped with house wrap tape, not window tape and were found to be intact." First of all, we had someone come out and pull back the siding around one of the windows. He not only found no window tape or house wrap tape, there was also no house wrap by the window either; just bare wood. Without removing siding from all of the windows, we can only assume that the other windows and doors are not wrapped with anything either. However, we acknowledge that we need to confirm that. Second, house wrap tape around windows is not a State code recognized alternative to window tape. Window tape is rubber based and expands and flexes with the window. It is 4-6 inches wide and costs about $100 per roll. Its specific purpose is to prevent damage caused by water penetration around the windows. House wrap tape is narrower (about 2 inches), costs about $10 per roll, and is more like packaging tape; hardly a substitute or adequate protection. It is questionable if even house tape was used on all the windows and door. Although All Pro seems to have a sincere desire to resolve this situation, it seems to us to be only if they manage the work with some undefined resources that they cannot name to us. Prior to the contract being signed, we stressed repeatedly to have a photographic record of damage found and work performed; to date, we have not received a single photograph of any of the work or repairs. Yet, after this complaint was filed, in 3 subsequent conversations, All Pro has made multiple references to photographs they say they have of our home and of damaged window areas - none of which they have ever shared with us. We became suspicious that the November 2 meeting was really more about gathering more photos of our home than about getting to a resolution. In sum, we believe the focus on the windows themselves are detracting from the real issues with All Pro's deficiencies with applying the necessary materials around them. We believe that deficiencies with the work of All Pro's sub-contractors are responsible for water leaking into our home (missing drip caps, window wrap tape, and aluminum trim coil on the foundation). The All Pro owner and representative were also deficient in quality control and failed to supervise and evaluate the work of their sub-contractors. Again, once we have confirmation on the cause(s) of the water damage, we will seek advice on how to proceed. We in no way feel that this matter has been resolved. I think at this point we just need to let the evaluation process unfold and see what the results are and what it will take to repair the damages. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2013/12/23) */ In response to information provided by the homeowner on December 3, 2013, All Pro Xteriors, Inc. has been more than willing to work with the homeowners regarding the water damage issue and has been open to working with a third party. The owner had planned to come to the home on November 2nd and re-asses the problem to determine where the issue was. The homeowners canceled that meeting and told the owner of All Pro Xteriors, Inc. that they wanted to go their their separate ways and that they were going to have their contractor install all new windows. As far as All Pro Xteriors, Inc. knew, that was the end of it. It has been brought to our attention that the homeowners are still unsatisfied with All Pro Xteriors, Inc., but the company has not been allowed to properly assess the damage. The interior walls and siding must be opened up to determine where the leak is coming from, but the homeowners do not want All Pro Xteriors, Inc. to do that. If we are not allowed to open up the walls, then we cannot fix the problem. We would still be willing to meet the homeowners with a 3rd party at the homeowner's convenience. All Pro Xteriors, Inc. wants the opportunity to complete the project to the homeowner's satisfaction.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on All Pro Xteriors, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)