This business is not BBB accredited.

Silver Rapids Lodge

Phone: (218) 365-4877 Fax: (218) 365-5504 View Additional Phone Numbers 459 Kawishiwi Trl, Ely, MN 55731 http://www.silverrapidslodge.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Silver Rapids Lodge include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Silver Rapids Lodge include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Silver Rapids Lodge
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 28, 1994 Business started: 11/21/1979 Business started locally: 11/21/1979 Business incorporated 02/14/2001 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Gary Tedrick, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Gary Tedrick, Owner
Business Category

Resorts Retreat Facilities Banquet Facilities Restaurants Motels

Products & Services

According to the information supplied by Silver Rapids Lodge they offer resort services including cabins, RV sites, motel suites, banquet facilities & a restaurant.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    459 Kawishiwi Trl

    Ely, MN 55731 (800) 950-9425 (218) 365-4877

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Deposit 4/21/14 of $93.52 had to cancel the week before serious family illness requested a refund via phone was told would ask boss no refund. I paid Deposit 4/21/14 of $93.52 for five days (half of campsite cost) to stay August b11th thru 15th on Discover Credit card. Policy is less than a 30 days before reservation cancelation loses deposit EXCEPT in "dire" emergency I had to cancel the week before due to serious family illness and requested a refund. via phone was told that the site was rented out to someone else, I was happy that they didn't lose. Due to the fact they didn't lose AND I was told that they DO refund in "dire emergency" I requested a refund. I was told on the phone someone would "ask the boss" I asked that they would get back to me, I also asked for an e mail response of cancellation, no one got back to me or an e mail response. I WILL contact the credit card company and dispute the charge if I still get no response from Silver Rapids.

Desired Settlement: Full Refund under their "dire emergency" policy.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/04) */ This is the first I am hearing of this situation. I apologize for the complete communication break down on our end. A refund of 86.04 will be issued today on your credit card. That refund includes the $93.52 less an 8% service fee.

8/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Serenity Cabin/Resort not as described and cabin has Propane/Electrical/Structural/Foundation issues This Fourth of July was supposed to be a good trip, we rented a cabin a Silver Rapids Lodge from 07/03 thru 07/07 for a total of $1,136.58. The lodge is described as being "situated on a private peninsula on a chain of 4 lakes with access to the BWCA." Silver Rapids is described as an outdoor enthusiast's haven. And here is how the cabin "The Serenity" is described: Lakeside with a fantastic view. Enjoy the sunrise and sunset from the new large wraparound deck as the Silver Rapids flows into Farm Lake. A truly peaceful getaway with two bedrooms plus queen hide-a-bed. Enjoy the wood fireplace with open living and dining area in a north woods lodge style cabin right on the water. Private fire pit, picnic table, barbecue grill (available upon request) and docking right in front. Easy parking. Issue 1: Not as Described: The resort has a highway going straight through this private peninsula; separating the beach from the actual resort. Also, the cabin was nowhere near as described. The cabin did not have a new large wraparound deck. By definition a wraparound deck is shallow veranda "enclosing" two or more sides of a house. It was a porch that didn't even extend to the front door and it was not covered. Also, this cabin was not "right on the water". Lakeside means the ground near the edge of a lake, the land adjacent to a lake. This cabin is neither lakeside nor "right on the water". Lakeside gives the impression there is private access to the lake. Also, there is not a fantastic view. The trees are overgrown, thus obstructing the view of the boat docks. The whole lakeshore is just one big boat dock, with about four to five large docks protruding from the shoreline dock. The boat ramp for loading and unloading was in spitting distance from the front door of the cabin. There was so much foot, boat, and vehicle traffic, that there was nothing enjoyable about the experience. The exaggerated description was so far from the actual experience. The only thing that was right in the description was "docking right in front"; well sort of. Oh yes, it was all dock and it was on the shoreline. However, if you were to walk in front of the cabin you would have fallen down a steep hill, probably broke a couple of bones, and then you would have painfully landed on the docking right in front. The only direct access to the docks from the cabin was to walk down the main boat ramp. There was not a private cabin trail that leads to the boat docks. Now let's go into the private fire pit. There was a fire pit, but it was not so private. If you use the word private in the sense that it is supposed to be for your use only. Okay I will grant you that. However, there were cars parked by our "private" fire pit all weekend. Had we started a fire at our private fire pit we would have lit someone's vehicle on fire. There was nothing serene about the three out of the four nights that we stayed there. Issue 2. There was an obvious propane leak. We could smell the propane throughout the cabin, and more so if lying on the floor (which is where I slept, more to come on this). Issue 3. Faulty Electrical: All of the sockets could barely stand having two items plugged in at a time; especially in the kitchen. Issue 4: Customer Service: Horrible Issue 5: Beds: The beds in that cabin were so uncomfortable that I took off the cushions from the couch and slept on the floor, which by the way made the propane leak even more present. Every spring and wire in all the mattresses could be felt. A horrible nights rest no matter where you slept. The mattresses in the rental were easily 30 years old +. Issue 6: Structural/Foundation: The roof leaked in the kitchen during a rain storm. Also, there is an obvious foundation issue. No matter where you try and lay down in the cabin your head is always at a slope. You can also tell just by walking inside the cabin. I have never stayed in such a sub-par structure in my life.

Desired Settlement: I requested that a refund for the last night's stay, since we checked out a night early. I also requested 25% off the total per night for the other three nights that we did stay there.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/31) */ We have several satisfied guests, and even those that have stayed in that cabin right after the ******* party. I did not receive her email compliant timely as it went into my junk email several times, so my lack of prompt response I believe added fuel to the fire. First, she fails to mention that rate paid was the rate to stay with her FOUR dogs. Additionally, NONE of her complaints were brought to our attention DURING her stay; giving our staff no way to react, correct or fix the problems; perhaps move her to a different cabin that might better suit her needs. She did leave early, she handed the keys to our front desk staff and said "we are leaving early", without any reasoning. Our resort policy, is there is no refund for early departures. As a business, I would have considered giving her money back for the night she left early, IF we were able to re rent that cabin to someone else. That is the case with any business; if you make a reservation you do not receive your money back if you leave early. We had you blocked out in that unit for the duration of the stay, without the ability to re-rent it. As I explained to *****, we did during her stay, run out of propane; unknown to us until we checked all our tanks. We transferred to a new propane company, of which we are on keep full; however they neglected our account. We ran out of propane. In doing so, every unit on the resort needed to have the pilots relit; thus resulting in the smell of propane throughout the resort. Additionally, I explained to her that our resort is inspected annually for the items she claimed are faulty. As far as her other complaints, yes, our property is on a peninsula. The deck is a wrap around. It is right on the water. In my opinion, this is just splitting hairs. It was raining the day she left, she failed to mention that. So maybe it wasn't so much that cabin that was so HORRIBLE although she managed to stay 3 nights in, but rather the weather. What upsets me the most about all her complaints is that she NEVER brought it to anyone's attention. We NEVER had an opportunity to make it right with her, or to show her that we are customer service oriented and would have worked to find fix any of the faults she claimed were in this cabin. As stated before, several of people have been in this cabin in loved it, so that puts in all in prospective to me. Please feel free to contact me directly with any comments, questions, etc. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The fact that emails go to Silver Rapids junk mail is not my concern. As a business they should rectify this problem; considering this is the email address used for reservations. This is poor customer service. In response to Silver Rapids I did not fail to mention that the rate paid included my four pets, because the Better Business Bureau only asks that the claimant to include the amount paid. If having four pets were a problem with Silver Rapids, they should have said as much when I was making the reservation over the phone. During which time I also gave the breed description of each pet. The emphasis on FOUR (and other words) by the lodge is in very poor taste; it should not matter if it were four dogs, four adults, or four children. We did not report the smell of propane to the maintenance staff during our stay, as we opened the windows the first day/night thinking it may have been residual from something (giving the resort the benefit of the doubt). However, the smell remained and we were so frustrated at our accommodations we let it go and kept the windows open. In regard to saying that it is pretty tough to react, correct, or fix problems when we did not say anything. I am a person that feels more comfortable expressing my thoughts in writing versus aloud; I should not be chastised for this. I sent my first email in regard to our disappointment and the cabin problems as soon as we arrived back in Idaho. We left on the 7th and it is a 26hr+ drive (over 1,460 miles one way). My email was sent on July 9th. That was the first opportunity I had to calmly write down our disappointment and concerns. The gal at the front desk exhibited horrible customer service at check out because she did not ask how our stay was nor did she say thank you. When I checked out of the cabin the receptionist saw me, yet I was ignored. I waited patiently at the front desk until she finished what she was doing. Then finally I was able to turn in the keys. She did not ask how our stay was. She only mentioned that we were paid through the 7th. I told her I was aware and we were leaving early. In Silver Rapids Lodge first email this is the response I received in regard to the propane issue. "Did you report the smell of propane to any of our maintenance staff? This is the first time I am hearing of this information and we have had people in their since without any of the issues you listed. We later found out that our new propane company had allowed our "keep full" propane service to run out; which would explain the propane smell. It was by no means hazardous." The fact that there was a propane smell present during our stay after attempting to air out the cabin is still unacceptable; it was not our fault that they ran out of propane as they claim. If the propane had run out, how was it that the stove worked? And, just because there is an annual inspection does not mean that between inspections everything is as it should be. Things break down, it is possible. The electrical in the kitchen is bad. There is also a roof leak in the kitchen. The whole cabin is at a slant, there is a foundation issue. The fact is that the resort description says "private" peninsula. This is not the case. There is a highway that runs through it. Private by definition means "belonging to or for the use of one particular person or group of people only". This was not private as a highway split the peninsula; separating the beach from the cabins/resort. A "wraparound porch" as described in the cabin description is false. A wraparound porch is covered and encloses two sides or more. This was a deck that did not enclose two sides. It enclosed one side and a quarter; as it did not even extend to the front door. The view was obstructed by overgrown foliage and the cabin was not right on the water. There is docking right on the water, however no cabin. The description of the cabin/resort and the actuality of the cabin/resort are not splitting hairs. The words used to describe the cabin/resort on-line and what exists is not an accurate description and is very misleading. Splitting hairs makes it sound as though these are trivial details. They are not. The picture portrayed by words should depict an accurate description for travelers who have never stayed at this resort. In response to Silver Rapids I did not mention that it was raining, because that was not why we left. It was not raining constantly all day, as it is made out to sound. If the rain was a factor, we would have left the first night; as it was raining sporadically then. However, as I mentioned we gave the resort the benefit of the doubt and opened all of the windows and even tried sleeping in the beds. It was also raining on the fourth of July, which is when the kitchen roof started to leak. The second night I took a mattress off of the frame and slept on the floor thinking it was the frame and not the mattress that was so uncomfortable. It was also raining on the fifth of July, this was the night I removed the cushions from the couch and slept on the floor. And, on each of these days rain was sporadic. We left because we did not want to stay another night in such a horrible accommodation. So, horrible that the mattresses were past their warranty and were not sleep worthy. Silver Rapids lodge's response that "What upsets me the most about all her complaints is that she NEVER brought it to anyone's attention" is not true. I did make my complaints known on July 9th. Silver Rapids lodge did have an opportunity to make it right before we brought the issues to the attention of the Better Business Bureau. Our grievances are not "claims" they are facts. 1.Propane Smell (possible leak), 2.Faulty Electrical, 3.Roof Leak , 4.Uncomfortable Sleeping Accommodations, 5.Foundation Issues, 6.Poor Customer Service Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/08/07) */ I don not wish to banter back and forth any longer. My only reason for referring to the 4 dogs was to accurately represent the price as there is a $15/night fee per dog per night. No, we were not able to make this right during your stay, you emailed after your stay. We could not react after the fact. In your email you requested 25% off each night and the refund for the early departure giving me a deadline of 7/22/14 or else you were going to seek action. Had I given you your demanded refund would it had gone this far? Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2014/08/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I requested that our stay be made right by offering a token of 25% each night with a refund for the last night; as we did not sleep there. This was not an unreasonable request. An unreasonable request, in my opinion, would have been to stress a full refund for all nights; which by the way was the recommended course of action from everyone that I spoke with as to the condition of our stay. You also could have countered with what you believed was fitting compensation. We were truly disappointed that there was no indication that you would look into or rectify the problem(s). The facts remain that the cabin itself is not a described, is at a slant, there is a roof leak in the kitchen (to the right of the sink, about two inches away from the countertop), the electrical (especially in the kitchen) is shoddy, there was an obvious propane smell and possibly a leak (because the smell is more present when lying on the floor), and the sleeping accommodations are unacceptable for a business that is in the business of putting up lodgers. Had a discount been given and a pledge to look into the issues been made, the need to involve the Better Business Bureau would not have been necessary as there would have been accountability. The only way you could have made this right during our stay, would have been to offer 25% off each night, purchase new mattresses, trim the trees obstructing the view, mow the hill, and hire a construction crew to look into/fix the various structural/electrical/propane smell issues. We travelled over 1,460 miles one way, across three states, to stay in the lowest quality accommodations we have ever stayed in. As I mentioned before you do not state anywhere that vacation rentals are made with no implied warranties of merchantability, habitability, fitness for a particular purpose, or any other kind or that the cabin is rented in its present condition, "as is - with all faults." Nor did we sign anything that states such. The fact is that this vacation rental was not as advertised and the rental had many issues that are not acceptable. This is a breach of implied warranty. There is still an opportunity to make good on the situation as well looking into/fixing the aforementioned issues. Taking the time to look at all of the different things associated with this complaint would not only help us, but other guests as well. I have brought forth these complaints because they are legitimate issues with the accommodations. We spent good money on the lodging and deserved the accommodations to be as described without such great defects. We did not expect everything to be perfect (e.g. we did not mention state of the carpet, the holes in the screens, chipping in the countertops/backsplash). But, we did expect more than what was received.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Silver Rapids Lodge
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)