BBB Accredited Business since

Ritchie Engineering Co, Inc.

Phone: (952) 943-1300 Fax: (952) 943-1605 10950 Hampshire Ave S, Bloomington, MN 55438 http://www.yellowjacket.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ritchie Engineering Co, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Ritchie Engineering Co, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ritchie Engineering Co, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 26, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1952 Business started locally: 01/01/1952
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Tom Ritchie, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Tom Ritchie, Owner
Business Category

Refrigeration Equipment - Supplies & Parts Industrial Manufacturers Manufacturers & Producers

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Ritchie Engineering Co., Inc., this company offers manufacturing of refrigeration service tools and HVAC supplier.


Additional Locations

  • 10950 Hampshire Ave S

    Bloomington, MN 55438 (952) 943-1300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/6/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They have decided to deny warranty services on a vacuum gauge # XXXXX . The gauge is about 11 months old and was purchased from a website brand new along with other gauges and tools, it fialed, i sent it in they said it cost $33.79 to repair, i asked for warranty services, they asked for a recipt, i faxed a recipt and they denined to repair under warraty, nw they have my property that is worth over $175.00 and refuse to return it to me, this is absurd and the folks at Richie are rude and abusive, they are the worst folks that i have ever delt with. i want my property returned and repaired. thanks much

Desired Settlement: I just want my gauge that they now have in their hands fixed and returned to me, that is a simple request

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/16) */ Mr. ***** (BBB), A copy of the referenced case was given to me this past week. I would like to respond informing you of the resolution since this letter was written. I have spoken with the aforementioned consumer and have resolved this issue in our opinion. The product in question was sent to our attention with the claim it was not functioning properly. The product was out of the warranty period, therefore we offered to repair the product for a nominal fee or send the unit back. After a phone discussion, Mr. ******** appears to understand this and he was given the option to have his item sent back. Ritchie Engineering also offered to send along with his returned item - a replacement part (at no charge) that potentially was causing part of his concern. ******* ******* Vice President, Domestic Sales and Marketing ******* Engineering Company, Inc. Direct: XXX-XXX-XXXX Mobile: XXX-XXX-XXXX ******************** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) THIS IS NOT A FAIR RESOLUTION, THE PRODUCT HAS SEEN MINIMAL USE AND SHOULD NOT HAVE FAILED ESPECIALLY A USA MADE PRODUCT, I EXPECT THAT THE MANUFACTURE WOULD JUST GO AHEAD AND SWAP THE O-RING FOR ME OUT OF GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE, THEY WANT TO CHARGE ME IN EXCESS OF $30.00 FOR A LOW BATTERY, THAT IS NOT ACCEPTABLE. THANK YOU Final Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/10/03) */ Product was returned with a non-verifiable receipt (Could not verify the receipt to any approved wholesaler or customer of ours). With lack of verifiable receipt, we look at the serial number (date of manufacture of product) which was Sept 2009. Product carries a one year warranty. Customer was given the choice of us repairing the unit for said price or we would gladly return the product as it was received. On Sept 15th customer was also offered a free O-ring to be included with the returned unit if he chose to have it returned without repair. To date, we have not received authorization on which option the customer wants us to do (repair for said amount or return with free O-ring). The customer simply has to authorize us to do one or the other by signing the repair estimate form in his possession. By the receipt of this rebuttal from the customer, it appears it his desire for us to send unit back. We will gladly do so, along with the free O-ring. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2014/10/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) With the unit seeing minimal use the failure is for sure a one off material failure, since this manufacture makes and sells high quality instruments, it is assumed that when a good customer asks for assistance with a unit that has failed and should not have failed, it would have been addressed as a good business relationship deal. the folks at Richie have played hard ball and have been very rude to me, I want this item repaied and returned to make. thanks so much


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ritchie Engineering Co, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)