BBB Accredited Business since

Waldoch Crafts/Custom Centers Inc.

Phone: (651) 464-3215 Fax: (651) 464-1117 13821 Lake Dr NE, Forest Lake, MN 55025 http://www.waldoch.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Waldoch Crafts & Custom Centers, Inc. is a company that Don Waldoch started in 1974. It is a company that builds custom conversion vans and other car and truck packages. We also provide vehicle accessories and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Waldoch Crafts/Custom Centers Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Waldoch Crafts/Custom Centers Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Waldoch Crafts/Custom Centers Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1982 Business started: 01/01/1974 Business started locally: 01/01/1974 Business incorporated 02/06/1975 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Donald Waldoch, President Shelia Waldoch, Owner / Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Donald Waldoch, President
Business Category

Recreational Vehicles - Dealers Truck Dealers Auto Customizing Auto Accessories Truck Painting & Lettering Van Conversions & Accessories Auto Boosting Services Auto Dealers - Custom Design & Replica Motorcycles - Dealers

Service Area
Minnesota, Dakotas, Wisconsin, Iowa, National Wide
Alternate Business Names
Waldoch Crafts, Inc. Waldoch Custom Center, Inc.
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Waldoch Crafts/Custom Centers, Inc., this company offers conversions for Vans, trucks, SUV's, specialty vehicles, including sales of aftermarket parts and accessories.


Additional Locations

  • 13821 Lake Dr NE

    Forest Lake, MN 55025 (651) 464-3215

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a vehicle the was placed in service in May 2014. The DVD and rear power seat installed by Waldolf is not being fixed under the warranty. I am still waiting to hear from your company on the repair of my conversion van. How can you guys not honor a warranty that the Ford dealership states is still under the Ford Factory warranty? This vehicle did sit on the lot not sold for a few years but wasn't sold until May 2014. Is this how Waldolf operates? Are you not willing to stand behind your product? The facts are: 1. The in service date of the vehicle is May 2014. (see the attached ford document) 2. The miles on the vehicle are 6,800 miles. This can be verified by contacting the Ford service manager at ******************. phone ************* 3. Broken items on the van (power rear seat and DVD) that Ford said conversion company must cover are rear power seat and DVD player. 4. I just paid $691. 85 for this power seat repair have not fixed DVD yet.

Desired Settlement: I have paid $691.85 to ************* for 3rd seat repair which I feel I should be paid for. The DVD unit repair should also be paid to me. The company should also honor any other Conversion repair for the 3 years from the purchase date. I which to have a written document stating what warranty will be honored by the company.

5/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Waldoch customized/modified a truck in such a manner that it exceeds their own gross front axle weight limit, which may render the vehicle unsafe. In 2013 I purchased a used 2006, 2500HD (3/4 ton)Chevrolet Silverado pickup truck (crew cab, short bed, four wheel drive, diesel engine, automatic transmission) which Waldoch had modified/customized prior to its initial sale when new through a Chevrolet dealer. The Waldoch Crafts Invoice number was **********, invoice date 10/19/2005, sales order number ******. Waldoch received the vehicle directly from Chevrolet (the factory window sticker lists them as dealer), and then modified it (non-standard size tires,aluminum wheels, customized interior and exterior). Waldoch then calculated new maximum safe operating weights for the vehicle (Gross vehicle weight, gross front and rear axle weights) based on their modifications, and applied a sticker to the vehicle's glove compartment with those weights and information on the wheel and tire size (it does not list the load range/capacity of the tires they installed). Those weights differed (were lower) than those calculated by General Motors/Chevrolet for the stock truck, and which are posted on the Gross Weight sticker on the driver's door. I have recently been in contact with the Minnesota Department of Public Safety (State Police), and have been told that the Waldoch sticker would be the one to follow, since the Waldoch modifications were made after the truck left the Chevrolet factory. The State Police advised that operation of the truck at weights over those listed on the Waldoch sticker might be unsafe and make me subject to civil liability should an accident occur. On January 30, 2014 I weighed the truck at a certified scale because I was going to purchase an RV trailer and wanted to make sure the truck/trailer combination would be safe and legal to operate. The truck was weighed unloaded and with only myself (weight 210 lbs) in the vehicle. The truck is designed to carry five passengers and almost one ton of cargo. Per the scale, the actual weight of the truck on its front axle, was 70 pounds OVER the maximum listed by Waldoch's own Gross Front Axle Weight Rating category. Per the Waldoch sticker, the GFAW limit is 4250 lbs, and the current scale weight was 4320 lbs. The truck weights would only be increasingly overloaded as more passengers and cargo are added. I emailed ****** Waldoch at Waldoch Crafts on February 3 rd with my concerns about the vehicle's legality and safety. After receiving no response, I emailed the Waldoch Customer Service Department on Feb 11 th, 2014. I provided a summary of my concerns, the gross weight info from the Waldoch sticker, the Chevrolet sticker, and the actual vehicle weights per the certified scale. I offered to email photos of the sticker and all information. Within a short time on the 11th I received a phone call from "*****" from Waldoch's Customer Service Dept. He stated he had referred my concerns to Operations because he did not know the answer. ***** and I discussed possible causes for the overload condition, focusing primarily on the wheel and tire capacity ratings of the Waldoch modifications. ***** stated that often their modifications are for appearance, and not for work as a truck. I advised that the vehicle now has load range E, 10 ply truck tires on it (weight capacity 3415 lbs). The Waldoch sticker did not give a load rating for their originally installed tires. I agreed to take the truck to a garage, remove a wheel, and note the weight capacity stamped on the wheel itself. I offered (multiple times) to email a photo of the sticker, but ***** said it wasn't necessary. Later he told me to peel the sticker out of the vehicle and send it to him so he could look at it. I expressed concerns about doing that, and again offered to email a photo--he declined. I asked him that Waldoch contact be by email. While on the phone with ***** I received a voice mail from Alex Waldoch promising to immediately look into the matter and get back with me. Feb 12 I emailed the 3300 lb wheel rating, but no further replies/contact from Waldoch.

Desired Settlement: Waldoch has cut off all contact with me--- no replies to multiple emails, and no one, including **** Waldoch, has gotten back with me with information on how the Waldoch gross weights were calculated, if those weights are actually correct, and if correct, why the vehicle was modified in such a manner that it was 'overloaded' and exceeded their own weight limits when leaving their possession--- and what can be done to remedy the unsafe condition. Because the Waldoch sticker does not indicate the load range/weight capacity of the original tires, for all I know the original tires were not rated high enough, but the heavy duty tires that are currently on the truck may change the calculations in some manner and invalidate their sticker. Waldoch has not been forthcoming with any information, and combined with employee statements (removing the weight sticker/ modifiying vehicles for appearance rather than normal operation), only serve to increase my suspicions and concerns regarding what they might have done to this truck. My concern is that the truck is unsafe and unfit for the duties this heavy-duty pickup truck was designed for (including carrying up to five occupants and heavy cargo, or pulling heavy trailers; which places me (and Waldoch) in danger of legal liability in an accident, endangers myself and my passengers, and renders the truck undrivable and worthless (or at least seriously and negatively impacts the truck's value). All Waldoch's weights, are less than factory. I would expect Waldoch to remedy the situation caused by their modifications. Waldoch took off the stock Chevrolet alloy wheels and stock tires and then replaced them with(possibly)an insufficient product---their customer service department representative felt that this might be the cause of the problem. I would expect Waldoch to correct whatever the problem is that keeps this truck from being used for the normal functions of this type of vehicle: options might include providing me with replacements if it is a wheel and/or tire issue, or repairs if it is due to some other modification they made. Alternatively they can pay me for the depreciated value of the truck, or purchase the truck from me and make me whole again. Regarding my safety and liability concerns, I have done a little internet research on my own in the weeks since my last contact with Waldoch. Although I'm hoping it won't become necessary to contact them, the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration (NHTSA)appears to consider problems regarding the gross vehicle and gross axle weights assigned by a manufacturer / alterer such as Waldoch to be SAFETY DEFECTS. The NHTSA has Chief Counsel's interpretaton letters pertaining to GAWR and GVWR Regulations and Standards, and available online at http://www.nhsta.dot.gov letter of July 1, 1977 and letter of August 18, 1977 GVWR and GAWR should be reasonable for the expected loads: " The NHTSA does not expect manufacturers to be omniscient when it comes to the use of the vehicles they produce. It does, however expect the stated weight ratings to reflect the design of the vehicles and the uses to which they can reasonably be anticipated to be put" letter of January 1976 to ************************ GAWR less than actual load when at GVWR is Safety Defect: "GVWR is defined as : the value specified by the manufacturer as the loaded weight of a single vehicle" (49 CFR 571.3)"One constraint on this specification is found in the Certification regulation, which requires that the GVWR be not less than the sum of the unloaded vehicle weight, rated cargo load, and 150 lbs times the vehicle's designated seating capacity...(49 CFR 567.4 (G) (3) )" "the NHTSA would consider a boat trailer with a GAWR that is less than the actual load on its axle system, when loaded to its GVWR... to contain a safety-related defect, which is subject to the notification and remedy requirements of the National Traffic and Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1996."

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/04/22) */ Received business response via e-mail to BBB: "RE: ***** ****** Case # ******** Dear Mr ****: This letter is in response to the complaint filed by ***** ****** with respect to alleged vehicle weight capacity issues on a Chevrolet truck which Waldoch Crafts, Inc worked on nine years ago. Although the comments of M. ****** are confusing and incomplete, we see nothing in his complaint that would indicate that the truck does not meet the proper weight capacity standards. It appears that the label on his vehicle could be incorrect and understated. The wheels on this truck are rated at 3300 pounds which meet the capacity needed for this truck. This same type of wheel is still being used today on the similar 3/4 ton trucks with GVW Rating of 9200 pounds. We are not aware of any safety concerns regarding this wheel and tire combination on this truck. No one at Waldoch Crafts has cut off communication with Mr ******. In addition to spending several hours discussing the matter with Mr ****** and reviewing his extensive e-mails, we have spent a substantial amount of time discussing this internally. The label apparently understates the weight capacity of the truck. The wheels met the load standards set forth on this truck when we built it nine years ago, and we are not aware of any changes in such standards since that time. If Mr ****** is concerned that the wheels do not meet his needs he could check with his local GM dealer to purchase different wheels. We at Waldoch Crafts would be happy to answer any further questions which BBB may have concerning this matter. We have built thousands of similar vehicles over the past 40 years, and we have never received any complaints similar to that of Mr ******. He is simply refusing to accept the fact that an incorrect label was apparently put on the vehicle which understated the weight capacity. No harm was done by this minor error, no aspect of the weight capacity was diminished, and no safety issues were created. Sincerely, ****** L Waldoch President - Waldoch Crafts, Inc" Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/04/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I accept their result that Waldoch made a mistake in the gross vehicle weight label which they applied to my truck. I would like to have a copy of their letter to the BBB, unless you feel that the BBB computerized complaint response provides enough of an accurate and legal record for my files. That is all I ever required of them: to have, in writing, that the label was in error and that I could therefore safely use the vehicle and remove the erroneous label without leaving myself open for litigation for operating "overweight and therefore unsafe" in the event of a future accident. I can now also sell the vehicle in the future without having to disclose an unsafe condition. Waldoch customer service rep "*****" contacted me by phone on April 7th (evidently after the second BBB contact), at which time I provided him (again) with the Waldoch invoice record so that they could look up the modifications made to my truck. He said he would get back with me, and as of today, April 24, no one from Waldoch had. This is a repeat of Waldoch's pattern of lack of response from my intial contact. I provided them with all necessary information, including going so far as to have a shop remove a wheel so I could get the weight rating from it. If indeed Waldoch has "spent hours" on my case, it is surprising that no one took the time to ever respond to me that they had reviewed the weights and determined that the label was in error: if they had I would not have been forced to file a BBB complaint in order to get a response from them. It has never been a case of me "refusing to accept the fact that an incorrect label was apparently put on the vehicle" as ****** Waldoch responded to the BBB. I see that Waldoch spent almost a month before responding to numerous BBB requests for information. That is not surprising given their track record with me. Perhaps Waldoch should review their internal procedures--- ****** Waldoch says they have copies of my numerous emails to them--- I challenge him to show an email to me regarding the label being in error. The BBB can make a note that I am not happy with Waldoch's handling of this matter, but as I stated earlier, I do accept a written statement from Waldoch stating that they reviewed the wheel/tire/vehicle weights and that the sticker is in error and may be removed from the vehicle. I appreciate the BBB getting this information for me.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Waldoch Crafts/Custom Centers Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)