This business is not BBB accredited.

Roughrider RV's, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (701) 483-9844 Fax: (701) 483-6187 View Additional Phone Numbers 975 38th Ave E, Dickinson, ND 58601 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.roughriderRVs.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Roughrider RV's, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Roughrider RV's, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 30, 2010 Business started: 02/02/1977 in ND Business started locally: 02/02/1977 Business incorporated 02/02/1977 in ND
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

North Dakota Department of Transportation
608 E Boulevard Ave, Bismarck ND 58505
http://www.dot.nd.gov/
Phone Number: (701) 328-2500
dot@nd.gov

North Dakota Secretary of State
600 E Boulevard Ave Dept 108, State Capital, Bismarck ND 58505
http://www.state.nd.us
Phone Number: (701) 328-2900

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Rodney Schaper, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Rodney Schaper, Owner
Business Category

Recreational Vehicles - Dealers

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Roughrider RV's this company offers new and used sales of recreational vehicles.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6071 Hwy 200
    PO Box 999

    Beulah, ND 58523

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    975 38th Ave E

    Dickinson, ND 58601 (701) 483-9844 (800) 803-9844

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/28/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a XXXX Xth wheeler last March 2013, and have had nothing but problems with you name it in this trailer. We think it is a lemon, and want a new one. Several leaks including the ceiling, and the business is downplaying all the problems and telling us they aren't responsible in fixing anything. We have a long list of problems. And many complaint emails to the business from July to Dec. Lots of water damage, from overflowing toilet, blown out toilet, under kitchen sink leak, washing machine leak, and now ceiling leak. We are now concerned of mold, as I have had sinus problems since I think October. Also torn linoleum from the slide out, broken drawer, which they fixed the drawer, the linoleum is still torn as they say we have to take the trailer to the office, which I have told them that we live in the trailer and have no place to stay if we take it in to be replaced. Ceiling fan had a bolt missing and made a terrible noise, they fixed that. We ordered a new toilet base recently after the foot pedal came off and gushed water on the floor in the bathroom, and this is after our toilet overflowed in the middle of the night due to a gasket or something they had to replace. We used the awning a couple of times this summer and then it just quit. Motor went out. They came to check the awning and left the awning out a little bit and that day we had a strong wind storm and blew the fabric off the awning. They came back and put a new motor on it but the fabric is still not attached. We have had a switch replaced for our ceiling lights, which is in need of another replacement. The big window in the living room doesn't open or shut good due to the slide being squeezed together to tight, which we haven't complained about.The two heat vents on the living room floor are totally broken through as they are made of plastic.There is a piece of trim in the living room that came off after we moved the trailer from one town we lived at.I think this trailer is a lemon and we should get a brand new one. Product_Or_Service: ******** XXXX Xth wheel trailer Account_Number: Serial # ***********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement We want a new 5th wheel

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/07) */ The response is attached to the case for your review. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will respond to their response by each letter as they did. A. We did sign the warranty, but in it we did not see where if you live in your RV you void the warranty. Also at any time until this complaint did the Roughrider RV inform us that, even though they knew we were purchasing the trailer to live in it. B. we were full aware they wanted us to bring the trailer in to them to fix the torn linoleum , as we have said in several emails to them, that it was impossible, as we had three dogs and no place to live while reinstalling the Linoleum . C. We acknowledge we signed the warranty. D. As I said before, they never informed us we were voiding the warranty, if that was the case, then why did they continue to come out and fix things here at our residence and continue to order parts from the warranty, and still not inform us that we were voiding the warranty. E. as for threatening them, we did say word of mouth, but we don't feel it is a threat. We feel it is a statement that any business should be aware of. Even if we didn't live in the RV we still should not have the problems we have and still do with a brand new RV. F. Regarding the PDI checklist, we were never present when the checklist was performed. We just received the checklist as they said they did it, and we signed it. As soon as we moved into the trailer, we had a leak under the kitchen sink, soaking the floor. We tightened the lines which stopped the leak, which also shows they didn't tighten the lines in the first place. The bathroom sink lines did the same, again soaked the bathroom floor. G. ? H. We purchased a washer dryer combo for over $2000.00 from Roughrider RV. They installed it incorrectly in the first place and caused it to leak twice. Soaking the carpet the bedroom closet Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/01/28) */ ******** ****** Mediation Coordinator Better Business Bureau Burnsville, MN XXXXX Re: Case #XXXXXXXX WED JAN XX XXXX BBB - MINNESOTA In response to the ***** "A" and "C", we are all aware that they signed the Heartland Limited Warranty as required by Heartland. They say they did not see the part about voiding the warranty if they used the camper for a Residence. So, ********, I guess this is where the Better Business Bureau will have to make a judgment/decision. Roughrider RV's has carried out the required duties Heartland RV, LLC asks us to do. The ***** also say in "A" that we did not inform them until this complaint that they had voided the warranty. My response is as follows: That is the reason for the Heartland Limited Warranty. And that is the reason for the Heartland requiring the customer to sign the warranty. It is required that selling dealer have this warranty in writing, and signed to avoid the very problem we are addressing. It's to avoid customers coming back and saying they did not know or understand the warranty. Roughrider RV's will continue to let Heartland RV's LLC and the ***** work out the flooring issue mentioned in "B". As everyone involved knows, the camper has to be returned to an authorized Heartland Service Center for the repair. The camper will need to be in the possession of the dealer for 3 working days to complete. Prior Authorization is required from Heartland prior to the work being completed. Also, the servicing dealer will need flooring from Heartland RV's to complete the repair. In response to "D", I answered this in the previous letter. Heartland RV's continued to authorize repairs out of generosity. And Roughrider RV's out of the goodness of our hearts has done the same. We have gifted hundreds of dollars in fuel and labor time to the ***** due to the fact they would not bring the RV to us for service as they are required in their warranty agreement to do. "E" I will not address any further at this time. "F" The PDI checklist is not to be performed with the customer. It takes several hours to complete a Pre-Delivery Check List. It is a requirement of the selling dealer to perform the Pre-Delivery Check List. it is unfortunate that the camper had a water leak under the kitchen sink, however, the campers do get shaken traveling down the road and the water lines can develop leaks after a PDI. It is quite common in the industry. We are required to have the water lines pass * leak test during the PDI and the camper did pass *** leak test at that time. Keep in mind this is like a small home that gets taken down the road at 65 miles per hour on rough roads, and it shakes and bounces rapidly and things do shake loose; sometimes it's trim, light fixtures, plumbing ect... H. This has already been addressed in the previous letter. ********, if you need any clarification beyond what I have supplied in the previous letter, let me know what you need and I will get you what you need. At this time, I have not yet received a call from the ***** to take me up on my offer to repair the toilet. As previously mentioned, Thetford Corporation was sending out parts for the toilet to the *****. Thetford did tell the ***** they need to install the part. I offered to do it for them. The ***** did ask when we come out to fix the toilet to bring a light switch with. I agreed to do that. Also the lean-to/shed will have to be moved away from the camper, or the camper moved away from the lean-to/shed so the work to the awning can be finished. The ***** will be responsible to complete the moving. Keep in mind we were at the ***** once prior to do this work. We did not know they put a lean-to/shed in the way so we could not complete the work. The ***** obviously were not aware the lean-to/shed was going to be in our way. Finishing the awning repair will require three of my techs to be present as it is a three person job to rehang an awning. One man on the roof of the camper and two on the ground holding the awning, one man on each end. This again will be a huge expense, as it will require us to put three men on the road, for a few hours, and Heartland RV's will not pay for the labor travel time as the camper per the Limited Warranty is to be brought to the servicing dealer for repairs. We will finish up the loose ends mentioned above if the ***** do their part. Any future warranty issues will be worked out on an individual basis. I do not have the authority to speak for Heartland RV's LLC as to what they will cover under the Limited Warranty going forward. Keep in mind, Roughrider RV's is required to get prior approval from Heartland RV's on ALL warranty issues. Sincerely, *** ******* President/General Manager/Owner Roughrider RV's Inc.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Roughrider RV's, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)