BBB Accredited Business since

Hilltop Trailer Sales, Inc.

Phone: (763) 571-9103 Fax: (763) 571-2536 View Additional Phone Numbers 7810 University Ave NE, Fridley, MN 55432 http://www.hilltoptrailers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hilltop Trailer Sales, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hilltop Trailer Sales, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hilltop Trailer Sales, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1974 Business started: 01/01/1951 Business started locally: 01/01/1951
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Business Management
Richard Pearo, Co-Owner Gerald Pearo, Vice President/Corp Sec
Contact Information
Principal: Richard Pearo, Co-Owner
Business Category

Recreational Vehicles - Dealers Trailers - Camping & Travel Trailers - Equipment & Parts Trailers - Repair & Service Trailers - Rent & Lease Manufactured Offices & Commercial Units

Products & Services

According to information provided by Hilltop Trailer Sales, Inc., this company offers Recreational Vehicles.


Additional Locations

  • 7810 University Ave NE

    Fridley, MN 55432 (763) 571-9103

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a brand new Jayco travel trailer with many problems. The biggest problem is the leak in front when it rains. It has been in Hilltops repair shop twice for the same leak and still leaks in the same spot. They did more cosmetic damage at each repair and failed to show me what they replaced after I told the owner to get me pictures to see the work done. I noticed that they stained some wood just to cover up mold and made money for the warranty work. I still wonder if the frame and insulation was left moldy and no longer trust them to do repair. I just wanted a new camper for the family that didn't leak because our old 1970's did. There is no other dealer in the twin cities to bring it in to. They won't take it back and give me a full refund or exchange with a new one that doesn't leak. They'd take it for a trade in but at a used camper price which is my loss. Product_Or_Service: Jayco Jay Flight Swift

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a full refund of my purchase priced plus the price of extended warranty. The camper they sold me wasn't what anyone would expect of new quality and obviously they can't repair the leak after trying twice.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/04/02) */ ***response has been scanned in and converted to text below (original version is available using the online complaint system). We are writing concerning the complaint from Daniel ******* case#57275734. ***** ***** our warranty manager has been working with Mr. ******* to resolve the problem with his Jayco travel trailer. He first brought the unit to the dealership on July 8, 2013. We discovered the window seal had failed then replaced the seal water tested and found the problem to be corrected. The second time Mr. ******* brought the unit in was July 22, 2013. This time it was leaking while driving on the road when raining. At that time we resealed the corner moldings and replaced any damaged wood and all insulation. We felt confident that we had the problem resolved but obviously it was not. Since that time the manufacturer has discovered a problem with the joint seals on the metal covering the front of the trailer. Jayco is sending us all new metal with the correct seals and we will replace the front metal complete and any materials that may have been affected by the water intrusion under warranty. When Mr. and Mrs. ******* brought their Jayco to Hilltop Trailer Sales on March 28, 2014 they met with ***** ***** and ***** showed them the digital pictures of the repair done in July 2013. ***** also showed Mr. ******* other new Jayco's of the same model as his to see how the wood storage covers in the dinette area are two different colors from the factory and Hilltop did not stain the wood in an attempt to conceal any water damage. ***** also assured Mr. and Mrs. ******* that he would personally drive the unit in the rain after the repairs were completed to make certain there would be no further problems. Hilltop Trailer Sales has been in business since 1951 with customer service being our top priority. We truly apologize for the problems Mr. and Mrs. ******* have had with their Jayco travel trailer and promise to resolve the issue. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/04/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We're still left in a situation where we purchased a brand new product(camper) that was not in brand new condition. Our family has taken a loss by purchasing a used quality condition camper for the price of a new one. We did not receive what we paid for! With no compensation for receiving a product of used quality and damage I cannot be happy. Four trips to the shop for warranty issues, three vacations with a wet bed/seat cushion, and left with a less that new quality camper, I cannot accept just an apology. I'd like Hilltop to check their records and realize July 8, 2013 invoice clearly states "Complaint: unit is leaking in the front end doorside while travel in the rain". Along with the second invoice stating that as well. All three time you were told exactly where and how the leak occurred. Hilltop made it sound like the second time was a different leak but the invoice show's the true record of the leak. I think the window leak was an assumption and an easy fix for them instead of listening to their customer. I still feel a return with full refund or exchange is due. I even thought Hilltop might offer some sort of compensation but they have not done so. I'm still looking to resolve this issue. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/04/22) */ The unit purchased by Mr. ******* was a brand new trailer at the time of purchase and is still under its manufacture warranty. Unfortunately we have a leak that was very difficult to locate. After our initial repair attempts, Jayco (the manufacture) discovered that the factory seams on the front metal panels were incorrect. Jayco has sent us the complete metal with the correct seams, which we will replace, and then test two when raining. This will insure that Mr. ******* will have no further problems with this issue. We also reached out to Mr. ******* via phone in response to the previous letter from the BBB dated April 3rd to see what Hilltop Trailer Sales could do for him for his inconvenience. Mr. ******* was going to talk this over with his wife and get back to us, but we have not heard from him at this point. Hilltop Trailer Sales is doing everything possible to resolve this problem permanently, and at no charge to the customer. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2014/04/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We're still left in a situation where we purchased a brand new product(camper) that was not in brand new condition. Our family has taken a loss by purchasing a used quality condition camper for the price of a new one. We did not receive what we paid for! With no compensation for receiving a product of used quality and damage I cannot be happy. Four trips to the shop for warranty issues, three vacations with a wet bed/seat cushion, and left with a less that new quality camper, I cannot accept just an apology. I'd like Hilltop to check their records and realize July 8, 2013 invoice clearly states "Complaint: unit is leaking in the front end doorside while travel in the rain". Along with the second invoice stating that as well. All three time you were told exactly where and how the leak occurred. Hilltop made it sound like the second time was a different leak but the invoice show's the true record of the leak. I think the window leak was an assumption and an easy fix for them instead of listening to their customer. I still feel a return with full refund or exchange is due. I even thought Hilltop might offer some sort of compensation but they have not done so. I'm still looking to resolve this issue.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hilltop Trailer Sales, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)