BBB Accredited Business since

Urbanwood, Inc.

Phone: (612) 821-4877 PO Box 19497, Minneapolis, MN 55419 http://www.urbanwoodinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Urbanwood, Inc. is a full service real estate brokerage. Licensed in the State of Minnesota and carrying $1,000,000 liability insurance coverage, Urbanwood was incorporated in 2005 by the husband and wife team of Chuck Krumrie and Susan Wood.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Urbanwood, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Urbanwood, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Urbanwood, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 13, 2007 Business started: 09/01/2005 Business started locally: 09/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Commerce
85 7th Pl E Ste 500, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.commerce.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 539-1500
general.commerce@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Chuck Krumrie, Owner/Broker Susan Wood, Salesperson
Contact Information
Principal: Chuck Krumrie, Owner/Broker
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate

Alternate Business Names
Urbanwood Property Management Urbanwood Real Estate
Products & Services

Urbanwood provides professional management services to common interest condominium and townhome communities as well as rental property owners.
As a licensed brokerage, we also serve our clients' real estate purchasing and selling needs.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Urbanwood, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 19497

    Minneapolis, MN 55419 (612) 821-4877

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Multiple phone calls and emails were sent to Urbanwood Management concerning the AC Unit being broke. Townhome is 85 degrees and I have an infant son. Multiple emails, phone calls and voicemails have been left to Chuck and Susan regarding the AC unit not working at the townhome I am renting. Chuck has told me on multiple occasions that the owner doesn't not have enough money to replace the unit. Not a good answer. I have an infant son and my townhome is 85 degrees. Chuck was informed that no infant or myself should be in a townhome that hott. Chuck fails to return my emails and voicemails. This is unacceptable and I would like reimbursement of one month's rent or more. The AC unit has not worked properly since I moved in July 2015. This has been an ongoing issues that is not getting resolved. Chuck has told me in the past to deal with it on two occasions. This is not a solution.

Desired Settlement: Chuck and Susan are refusing to fix the AC Unit. I would like a one month reimbursement of rent or more is this continues. Stating that the owner has no money is an excuse. I have paid rent up until January 2016. I would like the AC Unit fixed ASAP. I cannot raise an infant son in a house 85 degrees.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/09/22) */ To Whom it may concern: Ms. ******* is a tenant in a townhome property formerly managed by Urbanwood. Approximately two weeks after taking occupancy, she contacted us regarding a malfunctioning central air conditioning system. Service was dispatched promptly and it was determined that the issue was a lack of refrigerant in the A-coil, due to a leak. The system was recharged. The property owner instructed us to obtain pricing for replacement of the coil as well as the entire system. Unfortunately while we were awaiting these proposals, the leak in the system required recharging twice more. Not having received any further instruction from the property owner and having a spending cap built into our management agreement, we were left with no other option than to continually recharge the system, At all times we kept Ms. ******* apprised of the situation. We responded to multiple phone calls and emails. However, the volume grew to several of each per day or in a succession of days, The weekend of Labor Day we received no less than 21 phone calls and as many e-mails. We spoke with her twice over this weekend, once to say that we would take $260 out of our own pocket to reimburse a motel stay and the second time to inform her that the property owner had finally authorized replacement of the entire A/C system. The phone calls and e-mails did not abate. Finally we determined to cancel the management agreement as we could no longer tolerate this harassing behavior. We informed both the property owner and Ms. ******* on Tuesday, September 8". That Thursday, we received correspondence from her regarding the condition of other appliances at the property. Throughout this entire situation, we have attempted to proceed in good faith. I think this is most evident in our unsolicited willingness to take what amounts to several months' worth of our management fee to provide lodging accommodations, Urbanwood prides itself on the strength of its communication. Like any business, we simply are not set up to process dozens of calls and e-mails regarding the same topic, Sincerely yours, URBANWOOD, Inc. Chuck *******, CMCA@ Broker/Owner Direct: (612) ******** Fax: (612) ******** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/10/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Chuck would inform me that someone would be out to recharge the AC Unit. No one showed up. I'd call again and ask what was going on. Chuck states that he would "continually recharge the system." This is a false statement. I'd challenge this by asking him to provide proof. I spoke with the owner in person to question how many times Chuck contacted her regarding the AC Unit not working. The owner had no idea that the AC Unit was dysfunctional for over two months after the second recharge was requested. Chuck never informed me of a $260 check. Chuck was informed that I would pursue legal actions if the AC Unit was not fixed. Telling a renter to deal with it isn't a solution to the problem. The following day, Chuck resigned from being the property manager. Reputation is a company's biggest asset so you would think Urbanwood would avoid engaging in shady business. I'd question Chuck's credibility and Urbanwood as a property management company. I am asking for a one month refund in rent. Chuck has not responded to my request since mid-August. No mother with an infant should be told to live in a townhome at 80 degrees. I feel this is a reasonable request to Urbanwood's unacceptable business practice.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Urbanwood, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart