BBB Accredited Business since

Guardian Property Management & Services, LLC

Phone: (651) 287-2011 Fax: (651) 697-4224 708 Cleveland Ave SW  Ste 160, New Brighton, MN 55112 http://www.guardianprop.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Guardian Property Management & Services, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Guardian Property Management & Services, LLC include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Guardian Property Management & Services, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 03, 2007 Business started: 01/09/2007 Business started locally: 01/09/2007 Business incorporated 01/09/2007 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Commerce
85 7th Pl E Ste 500, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.commerce.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 539-1500
general.commerce@state.mn.us

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Jennifer Spadine, Owner Jim Zauner, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Jennifer Spadine, Owner
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Property Maintenance Apartments Condominiums

Products & Services

According to information provided by Guardian Property Management & Services, this company offers property management, maintenance and real estate services.

Industry Tips
Rental Information Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Guardian Property Management & Services, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 708 Cleveland Ave SW
    Ste 160

    New Brighton, MN 55112 (651) 287-2011

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/15/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom It May Concern: I write this e-mail to request your assistance with an urgent matter with which I am currently dealing (and, secondarily, to start the proceedings to file a formal complaint against Guardian Property Management). I currently rent from Guardian Property Management. I do not know who the owner of the townhome is, as that was never disclosed to me... Not even upon direct request on my part. There is a rat/mouse infestation at my townhome. Due to the fact that I am fellow physician in training at HCMC, I do not have much time or resources at my disposal. Upon reaching out to Guardian Property Management, they informed me that they do not handle rat infestations, and further advised me that I am solely responsible for contracting a third party to remedy the situation (and paying out of pocket for their services). Their level of professionalism and unwillingness to assist their patrons is atrocious. Simply put, they are telling me that I have to pay extra in order to live in a pest and disease-free home. This is ludicrous and outrageous! I would greatly appreciate it if you could please shed some light on this issue and, perhaps, provide some guidance as to what my legal options are. Thank you in advance for your attention and cooperation in this matter. I look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/03) */ Dear Mr. ********, We have offered to help. You have done a few things to limit our availability to assist. 1) In speaking with the other occupant in your home, mostly via email, you have requested that we do not enter your unit unless you are home. You requested service as soon as possible. In an effort to accommodate your requests, we scheduled a technician to assess your complaint the next day between the hours of 1pm-4pm. We offered to go in if you were unable to be there. The other occupant in your home emailed back letting Guardian know this was not available. We have been waiting for you to let us know when we can send a technician to your home. Please respond with some available times so we may coordinate schedules. The email address is ***********@guardianprop.com Kind Regards,

12/11/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Guardian is charging me for a variety of different items pertaining to the house I was renting. Guardian is withholding my security deposit of $1237 and has added an additional $1963.36 in bogus charges to my account. This first issues is charges for rent for the month of November 2015. They state that I didn't give proper 2 months' notice; however, I was in a month-to-month lease which only requires 30 days notice. Also, I did give 2 months' notice, as I sent in my intent to move letter in the beginning of September. I paid September and October rent. After I sent in the notice, they in no way attempted to rent out the house. They just recently put it on the market in November. They are also charging for a variety of items that are just normal wear and tear. An example here is "Stove Drip Pans $125". I lived there for 4 years, of course they would need to be replaced and they in no way cost $125. During a storm in the summer, a tree on the property fell onto my car, driveway, and street. They didn't come to get it picked up for 2 weeks and after multiple calls. I am owed money for 2 weeks of lost wages as well as money to fix the damage to my car. They are charging for yard work that I kept up "as is" when I moved into the home. Why would I be expected to make improvements? This company does not care about it's renters. They are only trying to take advantage of people.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for the unreasonable charges be removed from my account. This includes - November rent $1200 - Damage to fridge $69 - Stove Drip Pans $125 - Replace doors - 2 $200 - Replace Furnace Filter $40(Brand new filter left in unit) - Landscaping $350 - Previous charges $183.24 (They previously agreed to cut this in half. I have proof of this agreement) I would also like guardian to pay me for 2 weeks of lost wages as well as the cost to fix my car from the fallen tree incident.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/08) */ Dear Resident(s), We have received your notes on the Security Deposit Disposition as well as the notice from the Better Business Bureau regarding your complaint. Thank you for your patience while we addressed these issues. The first item you mention in your notes on the disposition is your charge to us in the amount of $2,157 for missed work due to a fallen tree, and $500 for damages to your car caused by the fallen tree. Claims relating to this incident should be addressed by either your renter's insurance or your car insurance. Guardian Property Management is not liable for damages caused by circumstances out of our control, such as the storm that caused the fallen tree. The damage was not incurred due to Guardian or its representatives. Furthermore, you mention in your complaint with the BBB that you are charging us for lost wages for two weeks of missed work during the time the tree was being cleaned up. However, you stated in previous communications with Guardian that you did not miss work and were in fact able to get your car out. Guardian Property Management does not feel it is responsible for these charges as stated by you. Your notes also indicate that you feel you are not responsible for November rent because your notice was received within a 30 day notice of your vacate date under Minnesota ordinances due to your month-to-month status. However, this ordinance only applies if there is no written lease or the lease does not specify. Per your lease, you are required to give a full two month notice even if you are in a month-to-month status. This was explained to you in an email dated September 21st. Your notice to vacate letter was not received by our office until September 8th, and did not indicate a final move out date but instead referenced November and December as possible vacate dates. Your move out date of October 31st was not confirmed until September 24th, which is later than the required notice per your lease. In light of this, the charge for November rent is valid. Also noted is the charge for damage to the fridge. You stated that you in no way damaged the fridge. However, as shown in the pictures you received with your Security Deposit Disposition, the fridge was dented and scratched, and was missing a bar in the fridge door. These constitute the damages you were charged for with regards to the fridge. You mention in both your notes and the complaint form that you were charged $125 for drip pans for the stove. However, on your Security Deposit Disposition letter it does state that the charge was for drip pans as well as the stove being excessively dirty. You also state that you did not damage any doors and left a furnace filter on the counter. As you can see in the pictures you received, there were multiple doors that were missing or needed repair due to holes and damaged hinges. There was also no furnace filter left in the property at the time of the move out inspection. These damages are above normal wear and tear and are valid tenant charges. In both your complaint and notes to Guardian, you note that you do not believe you are responsible for the lawn maintenance charge. As a renter, you are responsible for leaving the property in move-in-ready condition regardless of the condition at the time of your move in. This means that everything inside and outside of the property must be in move-in condition when you vacate the property for the final time. Maintaining the lawn "as is" from when you moved in does not meet these requirements. Prior to you vacating the property, you were notified that the yard would need to be maintained including leaf cleanup before you vacated, and that you would be charged if this was not done in an effort to give you the opportunity to avoid that charge. This charge is valid. Your last note states that you were only supposed to have an outstanding amount of $96 prior to your move out inspection being completed. After reviewing your tenant ledger, we are able to confirm that the outstanding amount is incorrect. Per an email dated September 30th, your account was to be credited an additional $91.75. By mistake, your account was only credited the initial $25. The charges to your account will be reduced by $91.75, leaving the total amount due $1,871.61. Your final point in the complaint form is that you feel Guardian does not care about its renters. One of Guardian's foremost values is the relationship the company has with both past and present renters. The company feels all charges brought against the security deposit are valid. Thank you, Guardian Property Management Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/12/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all, I find it hilarious that Guardian feels they are in no way responsible for ANYTHING, but I'm responsible for everything you feel like charging me for. The fallen tree charges were supposed to be submitted to the owner's policy as directed by your maintenance department. You were supposed to take care of that. Why should I have to pay out of pocket for repairs when the tree that fell was dead and should have been removed by you as the property manager long before it fell? Your company neglected to handle it's responsibilities. Since it was your responsibility to remove the tree, I will be suing for lost wages and damages. I was hoping to be able to come to a reasonable agreement out of court, but since your company clearly only cares about making outrageous charges, there's really nothing else I can do. It's ridiculous that I'm expected to get the short end of the stick here when you have absolutely no proof of the condition of the home when I moved in. The fridge was already dented and scratched, no doors were missing at all, a brand new furnace filter was left - so that's just an outright lie, and according to the MN tenant rights, door hinges that need repair IS normal wear and tear. Drip pans IS normal wear and tear. Yard maintenance WAS kept up on to how it was when I moved in. I should in no way be expected to improve the property, but maintain it, which I did. If your company doesn't get rid of these outrageous charges, including Nov rent, the next person you will hear from is my lawyer and we will be in court. I will also make it my personal mission to spread the word on just how horrible your company is and just how you ACTUALLY treat your tenants. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/12/10) */ Dear Resident, Guardian Property Management stands by our response regarding the charges to the security deposit based on the documentation we have provided previously and the attached lease. Thank you, Guardian Property Management

12/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: GPM reporing me as "evicted" although the court stated I am NOT evicted as they kept my deposit for my last month of rent. DEFAMATION OF CHARACTER I was summoned to court for an eviction notice by property management as thery opted to not renew my lease that ended on 7/31/2015. I did not pay my July rent and the court stated they can keep my security deposit for the rent adn that this was ruled NOT an eviction since they were paid rent every month up until the day I moved out and finished my 12 month lease. they are noe reporting an eviction on my rental record and it is making it difficult for me to rent anywhere as a result. they opted to not renew my lease becasue they decided they do not want dogs in the building anymore. Fine. There is no need to falsely report an eviction when I finished out my lease and they kep t my deposit. The judge stated "no eviction" and this is defamation of my character. This is beyond the point that 2 of the 3 other tenants in teh building were rude and harassing and messing with my car and garbage cans. Management was unrespo9nsive to all of this and it made me feel unsafe living there and now that I am out they are falsely reporting my rental record.

Desired Settlement: I want the EVICTION removed from my rental record. You were able to get all 12 months of rent from me and I left when I was supposed to per your request. the court said an eviction was NOT necessary and there is no need to ruin my character because you did not want my dogs in teh building. that building no longer allows for dogs so it is clear that you decided to change your renting policy on animals, that is NTO my fault and I want to have the eviction REMOVED. There is no need to ruin my life over this,. you were able to collect your rent from me and I left as requested. This is WRONG to be happeneing to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/03) */ We are in receipt of the complaint by Ms. ********. Her information is incorrect. Please see attached documents. Ms. ******** was evicted. An eviction summons was filed with Ramsey county on 7/16/2015. In court, on 7/28/15, an agreement for her vacate date was entered into the court documents along with her eviction summons. Please refer to the attached documents from Ramsey County District Court. Addtionally, Ms. ******** still owes GPM 1,034.93. Please submit payment to our office promptly. We have attached your tenant ledger for reference. Kind Regards, Guardian Property Management Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/12/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First, it is important to note that GPM notified me in early May 2015 that they were NOT renewing my lease and I was to vacate by 7/31/2015 because of the barking from my dogs. I agreed to this, and we did speak in July of 2015 regarding my moving out and the rent being late but I will circle back around to this... The court has stated that we had reached a settlement which we had. The court had also stated that an eviction was not necessary since my lease was up as of 7/31/15 and that my deposit was going to be my July Payment. The settlement agreement as provided shows that I would vacate the property by 12pm on 7/31/15 which was done- therefore the settlement had been adhered to. Furthermore, as for the balance owed, none of this was discussed in court- as you can see the court date (7/28) was prior to move out date of 7/31 and so the carpet fee replacement and cleaning charges I don't even know what this refers to! Unit 1 was also hooked on top my electricity. GPM, I would also like for you to address the fact that garage unit for Unit 1 which was heavily used was apparently being billed to my junction box for Excel energy which we came to find out when it was shut off as I was having a financial hardship. How much money did that cost me as your tenant throughout the 12 months that I lived there I wonder? Was this disclosed to me when I moved in? No. Has this been fixed for your future tenants? I was already moving out on 7/31 and GPM KNEW that before filing for an eviction. The eviction came only when I was late on my payment. GPM knew then they could keep my deposit- this was communicated prior to court. Ruining my rental record with an eviction is unnecessary and wrong. I need to use what would have been my July rent to secure a new home for my daughter and I and I stated you can keep the deposit. Now you are adding court fees to that? This is unnecessary and the court said the same thing. Also- the unit WAS clean when we left it. It was a pigsty when I moved in. If you refer to page 2 of 2 on the tenant ledger report there are 6 charges that I am disputing and this itemized list was not provided to me. These total 1504.04. These charges are: Electricity Utility Income - 6/7/15 to 7/7/15 Elec & Gas 73.71 1,217.60 08/13/2015 Electricity Utility Income - 7/7/15 to 7/31/15 Electric & Gas Bill 74.00 08/17/2015 Eviction Filing Charge - Eviction Filing Charge 432.00 08/17/2015 Maintenance Fee Income - Carpet Replace 639.33 08/17/2015 Cleaning Income - Cleaning of Dirty Unit 265.00 08/17/2015 Maintenance Fee Income - Replace Dirty Blind 20.00. My deposits totaled $1600. My last month of rent and late fee were $1080 and even if you get to charge me for electrical of $147.41 that is still significantly less then what is said to be owed. It was bad enough you are trying to say I was "evicted" on my rental record now you are coming after me for money that I was unaware of and disagree owing you. Carpet replacement? Cleaning of dirty unit? It is VERY important to note that GPM notified my in early May that they were NOT renewing my lease and I was to vacate by 7/31/2015 because of the barking from my dogs. GPM no longer allows dogs in this building. I explained to GPM in early July that since I needed to move I needed my July rent for a new deposit and they could keep my current deposit. I cannot help that a building that allowed for dogs had then decided to not renew my lease because they changed their pet policy. There were 2 residents that complained about the dogs previously and they were unemployed weirdos on drugs and booze that lived like slobs who also vacated the premises themselves a month prior. I know because I had to live with them. As the ledger shows I was paying my rent every month. If it was a little late they were able to receive a healthy $50 late fee from me every time. I explained to GPM that I am a single mother and I did not have extra several thousands of dollars laying around for moving; that is why the July rent was delayed. They knew the circumstances in July. Filing an eviction is adding insult to injury and the judge even stated that it was unnecessary since the lease was up. In a nutshell, my lease was not renewed as of May because of my barking Chihuahua , and GPM decided to say no dogs in the building so that forced me to move and forced me to have to produce an additional several thousands to rent a new place. I communicated this to GPM and they were told to keep my deposits which they did. The additional money owed for cleaning and carpet and court fees is all unnecessary. You can plainly see what happened here, that they DID NOT need to take me to court for an eviction because my lease was up on 7/31. Besides adding what I call bogus charges they are destroying my rental record and any person with their head screwed on right can see that they did not need to attempt to evict me. Please remove the eviction from my rental record. That is what I am asking for. The balance owing is a separate matter and that is something that also needs to be addressed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/12/09) */ We will not be removing the eviction. It was filed because the tenant did not pay her July rent(I have emails that says she would pay it) I would have to disagree that the "Court" would state any of the above as Ms. ******** stated. They would not tell anyone that their security deposit would be allowed to be used as their last month's rent. Pursuant to MN Statute; Subd.504B.178 INTEREST ON SECURITY DEPOSITS; WITHHOLDING SECURITY DEPOSITS; DAMAGES; LIMIT ON WITHHOLDING LAST MONTH'S RENT. 8.Withholding rent. No tenant may withhold payment of all or any portion of rent for the last payment period of a residential rental agreement, except an oral or written month to month residential rental agreement concerning which neither the tenant nor landlord has served a notice to quit, or for the last month of a contract for deed cancellation period under section 559.21 or a mortgage foreclosure redemption period under chapter 580, 581, or 582, on the grounds that the deposit should serve as payment for the rent. Withholding all or any portion of rent for the last payment period of the residential rental agreement creates a rebuttable presumption that the tenant withheld the last payment on the grounds that the deposit should serve as payment for the rent. Any tenant who remains in violation of this subdivision after written demand and notice of this subdivision shall be liable to the landlord for the following: (1) a penalty in an amount equal to the portion of the deposit which the landlord is entitled to withhold under subdivision 3 other than to remedy the tenant's default in the payment of rent; and (2) interest on the whole deposit as provided in subdivision 2, in addition to the amount of rent withheld by the tenant in violation of this subdivision. We do not intend to remove the UD as it is valid & was filed for valid reason.

7/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was not told about being billed for replacement locks after months of problems with caretaker/tenant of the building. The Caretaker (Dave) and a tenant of the building used to live in my apartment and after a month or so of me living here he gave me a spare key he had to the unit and I didn't think anything of it. The 2nd year living here he decides that I am now too loud and starts implementing rules we have to follow otherwise he just straight up yells at us. After a few times of this I went to the Guardian Property Management building and asked that my locks be changed because I did not trust Dave and that with his temper towards me I feared he might eventually do more than just yell at me. The locks were changed after I went in and talked about it to Michael *********. I was told that the locks would be changed. The next month I received a bill of over $200 stating that I asked to have them changed because I feared for me life. I talked to several people at the company asking why I was being charged this when I asked them to be changed for my safety from someone in the building. After talking to them about it several times they reduced the price to $171 but I still feel like I shouldn't have to pay it. On 3/20/15 Dave broke a glass stink bomb in front of my door in an area only his apartment and mine have access too after he got into an argument about that side door access. I have a dog and that glass could have seriously hurt him have I not noticed it. I called the police and there is a police report for this incident. This is the only time I called the police on Dave, I probably should have the other time he yelled at me for using this door that he has no right to tell me not to use. Also after this incident I requested to break my lease without having to pay the fine for breaking my lease early because of these incidents with Dave. They agreed but are still calling me and my roommate about the lock bill. This morning on 5-11-15 I went to the building to talk to them about this bill because I wasn't getting answers over the phone or email. I was basically told Micheal put the request in as a Tenant request and because I didn't ask about payment that I am required to pay it. I have a crazy man pounding on his floor above me every time I do anything he doesn't like day or night. He had access to my apartment before I moved in and gave me a key that he shouldn't even have after I moved in. I believe that this whole thing is a safety issue. Also the lock is a better lock than what was there, this upgraded lock allows you to change the key with the master key so in the future they won't even have to change the lock just the key. I don't understand why I am paying for an upgrade to this building when it's not even mine. I am moving out at the end of the month and I was told that they are going to be taking the amount due out of my security deposit.

Desired Settlement: I don't want to be charged for this upgrade to their building and If they do take the money out of the security deposit before this is settled I would like the money returned.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2015/07/01) */ Per a phone call from the company, they stated that they have been in contact with the complainant and that everything should be resolved. They stated that the tenant has moved out and was not charged for a lock change (they credited his account for that amount). Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 17, 2015/07/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My ceiling collapsed in my apartment. I reported water damage multiple times. Then, this company took 3 weeks to respond with any type of resolution. I reported water dripping from my ceiling multiple times in June. I was told that they would take care of it. However, I come home to a collapsed ceiling and my items damaged. I was again reassured of help and of reimbursement. I had to send multiple emails, make multiple phone calls and ultimately contact the CEO (4 weeks later after being threatened to be evicted) in order to receive any type of response other than "we are taking care of it". We negotiated two months of rent down to a reasonable price. However, there was no discussion of my reimbursement in the matter. The CEO was not friendly on the phone and made me feel bad for having to contact her with the issue. She made excuses for her staff and did not once apologize for all the miscommunication. The CEO has since not returned my (now three) emails (for over the last month) asking for further negotiations as the issue is still not resolved. I am moving out in two weeks and am afraid that they will continue to ignore me until I move out. I will be left without reimbursement for my damaged items and without reimbursement for all of my troubles and inconvenience. This company lied to me and told me "there would be compensation" and "it would be taken care of" and nothing has been taken care of to the fullest extent. I feel frustrated with the lack of communication and feel that I being "blown off" by this company as no one has been returning my phone calls or emails.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $1000 deductible for my renters insurance reimbursed to me. I informed them multiple times of the water issue and my concerns were ignored which ultimately led to a collapsed ceiling damaging my property. I would also like $298 reimbursed to me for the last 10 days of June in which my apartment was completely unlivable. This would be the prorated rent amount for those 10 days.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/09/22) */ MS. ****** rent was reimbursed the $298 in the $1030 credit we gave her. We responded to her emergency work order immediately. Worked with her and the insurance company on behalf of the owner to get the property repaired. We moved her items for her to "help" with her inconvenience. We calculated a reasonable rent rate for her inconvenience, and then discounted an additional amount since the owner had a long term business relationship with her. She emailed the owner about additional refund over and above what was already provided, and when he didn't give her additional monies, she reported Guardian to the BBB. We believe that Guardian, the insurance company, and the owner acted professionally, and went above and beyond our responsibilities to accommodate this resident. We will not be refunding any additional monies. There are many untrue statements in Ms. ****** complaint above. Additionally, the renters insurance deductible is not paid by the landlord, it is paid by the renter. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/09/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would like to address the multiple incorrect statements provided by Guardian Property Management in their response. I would first like to correct them that my name is ******* *****, not ******* ******* As a paying customer and good tenant for over two years, I find it unprofessional to be addressed incorrectly. I never received a $298 reimbursement for the last week in June. The negotiated $1030 credit (in the form of reduced rent) was due to the great inconvenience of living in my duplex without much in the way of true living space. Let me explain. When the ceiling collapsed in my living room, I needed to stack all of my furniture in my dining room therefore making my dining room more of a storage room. The only place I had in my house that I could actually sit down was my kitchen table and my bedroom. With my dining room and living room being out of commission, I agreed to the reduced $400 month rent. I was never reimbursed for the uninhabitable situation my duplex was in from June 23rd (the day of the collapse) to June 30th (end of the month). I was told by ***, the maintenance manager, that “there would be compensation”. I would like to address the statement of “We responded to her emergency work order immediately”. This is not true. I reported the leaking ceiling on Thursday, June 20th, 2014 I was told that due to the high volume of calls and water damage issues, mine was not urgent and would need to wait. ***** from maintenance, came on Friday, Juny 21st, 2014,and assessed that roof work needed to be done. He left a note on my door saying a contractor would be contacted. My first initial work request was on Thursday. Someone came by on Friday. I texted **** the morning of Monday, June 23rd, 2014, to report worse leaking in a new area. I even told him that the water was coming down so much it was filling bowls in less than 45 minute! He offered me reassurance that he would bring it up at the 8am meeting and it would be taken care of. He texted “No worries. The calvary is on its way.” And nothing was taken care of until I called on Monday evening (when I got home from work) with a collapsed ceiling. My entire living room and dining room was covered in insulation and broken ceiling. There were opportunities to do the right thing before the this happened. Furthermore, Guardian Property Management is claiming to have worked with my insurance company in a timely manner which is also not true. It took over 2 weeks for my insurance company, AAA, to get a hold of someone from Guardian Property Management. My AAA contact is ***** ***** Her contact info is: XXX-XXX-XXXX. Email is ******@aaamichigan.com Again, in reviewing Guardian’s response, they claim “We calculated a reasonable rent rate for her inconvenience, and then discounted an additional amount since the owner had a long term business relationship with her.” I don’t know what additional discount they are talking about because I never received any additional discount. I’d like for them to show records of this “additional discount” as they call it. Continuing with Guardian’s statement, I never emailed the owner about additional refund over and above what was already provided. I don’t have the owner’s contact information. I provided an initial letter to the owner with my initial requests. I did this by ***’s request. I emailed it to him and he was supposed to email to the owner. I followed up with *** a few days (might have been a week) to see what the owner said and *** gave me a response that, “it’s tough being in the middle of this negotiation”. Isn’t that the role of Management company, the manage the middle? He didn’t have any type of answer for me. Furthermore a claim is made by Guardian that I reported them to BBB due to not receiving “additional monies”. The real reason I reported Guardian Property Management to BBB is because this is the worst customer service experience I have ever had. This inconvenienced by my life for over 2 months, caused an incredible amount of stress, pain and suffering. I reached out to the company numerous (probably over 10) times in 2 months asking for help or clarification, even some type of response. No one ever even called me back to discuss my concerns. My intention here is not money, it is recognizing the incredibly poor service that Guardian provides. All I really wanted was a conversation with somebody who would listen to me about my concerns and do what they can to make it right. I would’ve even taken an apology. At no point through this whole process, did anyone take ownership for poor property management or apologize to me for the stress this caused in my life. (For example, I had to find a place to take my dog every day for over 2 weeks while I went to work.) The only person who did provide some reassurance initially was *** but his follow through was poor. For example, *** told me he would work out rent “negotiations” with the owner for July and August. I did not pay my July rent in anticipation of what their suggestion was. Then, on Friday, July 11th, I received a voicemail threatening to be evicted on Monday if my rent is not received. Of course I was very upset by this. This occurred over my lunch hour at work. My coworker was able to find the CEO, ******** *******, online and get me her email contact information. She responded very quickly and efficiently to my email that day and I was gracious for help. That being said, I have not heard back from her since July 11th. I’ve left multiple voicemails, emails and anytime anyone from Guardian contacted me regarding the move out process, or having the roof and ceiling fixed, I asked them to please ******** know I’d like to be contacted by her. Not once did I receive any type of reply. I’m sure I talked to 3 or 4 members of Guardian staff who all assured me they’d pass ** the message. Additionally, I emailed ******** on July 23rd and received an “out of office” reply until August 5th. She never responded to my email. The reason I am asking for the $1000 deductible is because I played no role in the ceiling collapse. I did what I was supposed to do as responsible renter and report problems as I saw them. The management company is responsible for not putting a tarp up on the roof on Friday when they realized there was a hole in it. They are responsible for not taking care of the problem Monday morning when I updated them on the worsened leaking ceiling. Guardian is responsible for what happened to this duplex and what happened to me. They are unprofessional and do not communicate well with each other or with their customers. The fact that it took them a month to respond to a BBB claim just goes to show their dedication to customer service. I am not satisfied with their response. Here are some pictures of what my place looked like when I got home from work on Monday, June 23rd. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/10/13) */ Hello, In response to Ms. *****. Guardian Property Management has taken this matter under professional advisement. Our position of further compensation remains the same. The reason is; The monthly rent was $915.00 The total of the 8 days she is seeking totals $236.00 the amount discounted for her was $1030.00. This discount is to compensate for the the loss of days, plus the inconvenience. The ceiling was in full repair and her home was back to pre collapse condition by 8/1/2014. The debris was completely cleaned up and tarps were in place to minimize inconvenience by 7/2/2014. The discount remained in effect for the month of August she rented from us as agreed. The ceiling collapse mess was an owner expense and he paid for that. The portion of non use of her living room was not the entire two months. In speaking with her at the time, Ms. ***** was happy with the compensation. Only after we had settled on an agreed amount, and after she moved out did she seek additional compensation. Guardian Property Management is unable to compensate and reimburse her the deductible as state statue does not allow for deductible's to be reimbursed for damages from a company. I am sorry for the poor experience and the roof collapse. But again, the compensation was made for those inconveniences, and fair. I have enclosed pictures of the ceiling of the before and after. Thank you, Guardian Property Management


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Guardian Property Management & Services, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart