This business is not BBB accredited.

Goldmark Property Management Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (701) 235-2920 View Additional Phone Numbers 1707 Gold Dr S Ste 200  PO Box 3024, Fargo, ND 58103 http://www.goldmark.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Goldmark Property Management Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 9
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 5
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 23

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Goldmark Property Management Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 02, 2001 Business started: 08/01/1981 Business started locally: 08/01/1981
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Commerce
85 7th Pl E Ste 500, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.commerce.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 539-1500
general.commerce@state.mn.us

North Dakota Real Estate Commission
200 E Main Ave Ste 204, Bismarck ND 58501
http://www.realestatend.org/
Phone Number: (701) 328-9749

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Janel Stephan, Director of Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Janel Stephan, Director of Operations
Business Category

Property Management Apartments


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Goldmark Property Management Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1707 Gold Dr S Ste 200
    PO Box 3024

    Fargo, ND 58103

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3201 20th St S

    Fargo, ND 58104 (701) 232-9242

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/2/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I left lease Early- Leased apartment to someone else, left utilities in my name, charged for rent/lost deposit, cleaning charges were exagerated I rented at **** **** *** ** *** **1. I had just cleared an apartment from Legacy Property Management and was told The apartment was better then when I moved in. I had just retired from 22 Years of Military Service and I know how to clean. I informed the office I had to move 3 months early. I cleaned the apartment perfect and expected to loose my security deposit because I terminated early. I did find a renter for them but Knew the deposit would be lost. 2 Months later, I get a bill for everything and was charged for cleaning that in no way needed it. I was charged cleaning of basically the entire apartment and even charged for a Dishwasher Tray. I never even used the dish washer, everything was brand new in the apartment, I was the 1st Occupant. I cleaned/dusted inside dish washer and it had both shelves. Lease was up in Oct, and I not only received the Bill for over 5,000, I received the elect bill for the new occupant. These have window A/C units and I paid for the New Occupants Electicity not only for the 3 Months I moved out early, but also for 3 months after. I kept getting electric bills, I called the office, they claimned it was transferred, but never was. The Office does the utilities setup, and told me no one moved in, electric bill was transferred to them. It was obvious by the High A/C bill, occupants were there. When I left, the A/C still had a Protective cover on it, and it was unplugged. When I called about the erroneous charges, I was talked down upon and told "The apartment was trashed" I'm 45 and worked for railroad 70+ hrs a week. I lived in that apartmetn for 9 months and seldomely used the apartment.

Desired Settlement: I expect to pay for rent lost, I did sign a 12 month lease. I should not have to pay for rent, while someone was occupying the apartment, and I was paying their electric bill. I have the electric bills I paid to prove it was occupied. I want a fair settlement. I'm not as**** for anything free, I'm as**** not to be scammed due to the fact I had to leave 3 months early.

Business Response: Mr. **** moved out on 6/1/14 and due to the soft rental market in Grand Forks at the time, a new resident did not move in until 8/16/14. At that time, Mr. **** was not charged rent for 8/16-8/31/14. The balance reflected on the statement sent to Mr. **** is for rent from 6/1 - 8/15/14, cleaning and repair costs totaling $236, steam cleaning of carpets per the lease agreement of $175, and the early termination fee of $300. There was also a charge of $200 for removal and storage of belongings left at the apartment, in accordance with State Law. There are no charges on our account for utilities and this would be up to the resident to take care of with the utility company.
Goldmark Property Management will agree to waive the cleaning and repair costs of $236. This has been changed in our system as of now.

3/31/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our newly constructed unit left unfinished cleaning and paint work, which we had to pay third parties for after waiting weeks for Goldmark to do it. $1000 of expenses due us at this time. Refrigerator went out. Management failed to authorize maintenance to swap out the unit timely, resulting in the loss of all food. Our unit is new construction, which management failed to complete even after our occupancy. We paid third parties to finish their job. Electrical, phone and Internet wiring incomplete to roughly half of the jacks and outlets. We paid another third party to finish their job. Multiple calls and visits to management office to fix these issues, to no avail.

Desired Settlement: Cash reimbursement for our expenses due to management negligence.

Business Response:

The office was notified after the vendors had already completed the work in the apartment.  If the office would have been notified of the issues, cleaners and painters are available to complete work within a timely manner and at no cost if under warranty.  However, within a week of being provided receipts for proof of work completed in the apartment the exact amount was credited to his ledger.  The receipt amount for groceries purchased after the fridge went out was also credited to the ledger.

The Area Manager personally reached out to the resident by phone and tried to schedule a face to face meeting to discuss the communications and level of customer service provided by the site office.  However, the meeting was refused and any specific questions on the issues were not answered.

Consumer Response:  I am rejecting this response because:

This issue is closed, however the comments last made by the business do not support the course of events that transpired.

3/14/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The agents and management of Rosedale Estates (Goldmark Property Management Inc.) is trying to collect money based on an invalid contract. On 1/23/2016 I signed a lease for an apartment with Rosedale Estates Apartments located at ****************, Roseville, MN 55113. I gave Erin two checks at that time: one for $35.00 (Application Fee) and one for $200.00 (Security Deposit). My move-in date was set for 2/6/2016. The Leasing Agent that I worked with was named Erin *****. I called Erin two days later (1/25/2016) and told her that I changed my mind about the apartment and that I wanted to cancel the lease. Erin said that she couldn't cancel the lease. I asked to speak to her manager and she said that her manager was not available, but that she would ask her to call me later. I never received a phone call. On 2/29/2016, I received a letter from Goldmark Property Management Inc. stating that I have an outstanding balance at Rosedale Estates of $766.00. This balance consists of $666.00 rent for 24 days, and $300 for early termination fee ($200 security deposit credit was granted). The statement says that within 20 days my file will be sent to a collection agency. If I have questions, I am to contact them at ************ or collections@goldmark.com. I also never received a copy of the lease/contract for the apartment. I never received the keys to the apartment nor occupied an apartment at Rosedale Estates. I tried to cancel the lease within 48 hours of signing the lease, but was not allowed. I don't believe that this is a valid debt to be paid.

Desired Settlement: I am willing to take the loss of my $200 security deposit, but that should be enough. I never occupied an apartment at Rosedale Estates and I tried to act in good faith by trying to cancel the lease within 48 hours of signing, but was denied.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/03/02) */ In review of this, the following has been determined. ***************, submitted an application for an apartment on 1/19/2016. ***** paid a Prelease Deposit at that time in the amount of $200. The agreement indicates that once his application is approved, the amount is immediately applied to the security deposit. The document also indicates that once the Applicant has been accepted by Management, the Applicant agrees to sign a Lease Agreement with Management within 48 hours. Failure to sign a lease agreement in that time frame will result in a determination by Management that the apartment is abandoned and the prelease deposit will be retained and the apartment will be remarketed. Mr. ****'s application was approved and he was notified on 1/22/2016. Mr. **** had 48 hours from the time he was approved to determine if he wished to sign a lease agreement or not (through 1/24/16). He came in the following day, 1/23/2016 and secured his lease and intentions. (The lease signing occurred 4 days after he initially applied for the apartment.) Had Mr. **** contacted us any time prior to signing the lease agreement, he simply would have forgone the $200 Prelease Deposit, as indicated in the Prelease Deposit Agreement, and he would have no further obligations. However, he chose to sign a Lease Agreement after he was approved. It is standard for us to provide a copy of the lease to residents at the time of their move in. Because Mr. **** failed to move in, the copy was held for him at our office for him to pick up at will. We did make full efforts to re-rent Mr. ****'s apartment, and were able to find new renters for 3/1/16. Mr. ****'s responsibilities are limited to the prorated rent amount of $666 for 2/6/16-2/29/16, plus the $300 Early Termination Fee. His deposit of $200 has been applied to this balance. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/03/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am not satisfied with the response. I was not dealt with in good faith by the Leasing Agent or the manager of Rosedale Estates. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2016/03/11) */ Mr. **** was told by the Leasing Specialist that she could not cancel the lease agreement as it was a legal binding agreement between Mr. **** and Rosedale Estates. When he did not take possession, the apartment was actively marketed to potential residents and occupied by 3/1/16 ending Mr. ****s responsibility to the lease terms. The staff at Rosedale Estates acted in accordance to the signed lease agreement.

3/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Constant parking in my rented and assigned spot at my apartment. When I get home from work there is no where to park do to the lack of parking. I have complained numerous times to Timberland and without any effort they seem to ignore my concerns about parking. I have two vehicles and two spots to park. My assigned spot has been taken by there company trucks and other tenets. I find it unfair and unprofessional they do not work with me to see my rental contract is fullfilled.

Desired Settlement: Signs or some type of marking for myself and other tenets for parking that is assigned.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/03/03) */ *****, Thank you for continuing to let us know each time someone parks in your assigned parking space. It is unfortunate that this is happening and we are open to looking into options to make it easier to identify parking spaces such as signage and delivering parking maps to each resident. We keep records of calls for improperly parked vehicles and we do take appropriate action to get the vehicles moved. I understand that it is inconvenient for you and thank you for your patience and understanding. Regarding the GOLDMARK maintenance vehicle that was parked in your space, I know that was resolved immediately after your phone call and we have made our team aware of where they can and cannot park. Again, thank you for bringing your concerns to us and we will do our best to resolve the issue. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/03/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Nothing has changed. I pay for a reserved spot, the anewer is not to sit back and hand out a tow in 24 hour sticker. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2016/03/10) */ This will be our final answer on this forum. A GOLDMARK representative will contact you.

2/9/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged for fees they said they would wave upon check out as my apartment was broken into due to an unanswered maintenance request. I lived in the 400 West Arbor Ave apartments in 2011. I put in several maintenance requests to have my bathroom window. It would close but the lock would not latch. I had 1 month left on my lease and my father was staying at my apartment as I had already moved out. My apartment was broken into through that very window. My father actually had to go to court over it and testify. Upon check out he argued with the woman doing the proceedings that since it was due to their lack of attention to the request that I should not be charged for the last month ($550). She agreed and said the lease was terminated and I was not liable for that last month. I went back a week later, as agreed upon on check out to retrieve the rest of my things and they werent in my apartment. They had taken my personal property. I called several times and thought the issue was resolved until the charge of $692 was reported to collections and was on my credit report. They also kept my $550 deposit as well that they said the would refund back to me.

Desired Settlement: I would be willing to settle for $200, as the apartment had some wear and tear as I was living in it for 1 year, and they kept my $550 deposit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/29) */ Ms. ***** was a resident residing at ******************** Bismarck, ND from 9/1/2010 - 8/31/2011. There were no fees charged to Ms. *****'s account. The charges on the account are for full apartment cleaning, damage to flooring and paint, and abandoned property storage. Abandoned items were stored for 30 days past the lease end date. Management has no knowledge of the alleged conversations that Ms. ***** claims to have had with onsite management.

3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: HAD CAR MISSTAKENLY TOWED. TOWING CO CLAIMS NO PERMIT BUT THERE WAS ONE LOCATED ON MIRROR WERE IT IS SUPPOSED TO BE WAS REFUSED A REFUND WAS REFUSED A REFUND FROM RAPID RECOVERY INC. THE GUY JUST LAUGHED ABOUT IT. IT WAS WHERE T WAS SUPPOSED TO BE ON THE MIRROR

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE MY 175$ BACK THANK YOU

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/12) */ This incident has been resolved. Mrs. ***** did have a parking permit as indicated in her complaint, due to the location of the permit it was hard to see. The site manager contacted the towing company to ensure the money was refunded in full to Ms. *****. I have talked to Mrs. ***** to verify that she did receive the money, she stated she received a notice in the mail indicating that the money was refunded to her account.

10/20/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Leaks from two floors up and own shower causing damage to ceiling and walls.carpet near bathroom wet.Black mold in toilet and possibly throughout apartment and bathroom due to leak. Maintenance started fixing problem in early September and said they'd be back to fix it but haven't. They came back a couple of weeks ago and said they would have to fix other showers above my apartment bit there is still a leak. Leaves puddles on floor. I feel like my health is at risk and have been told that I would have to pay so many months of rent to get out of lease early regardless of this problem and them not fixing it in a timely manner.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like more help in resolving this issue. I called the city and they aren't willing to come out and inspect the apartment. I've called Courtyard Apartments and sent two emails as well. They don't seem willing to resolve this issue either. I shouldn't have to put in a two month notice and pay that rent in addition to two more months rent.or get someone to move in a moldyapartment so I can move out at a cheaper rent. My health shouldn't cost this much.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/13) */ Courtyard Apartments has been working at resolving leak issue in Mrs. ********'apartment. Part of the process is to allow the area to dry before it can be repaired completely. Most of the repairs were completed today. Paint will be completed tomorrow. As we pride ourselves in giving excelent customer service, we will be allowing the resident to leave at the end of this month, by mututally terminating the lease.

9/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unsafe living conditions, no landlord available available for contact. This apartment complex was sold while we were out of town. Upon arriving home we found that the office was closed with a promisary note stating there would be someone on site shortly. It has now been 2 months and we have yet to see someone posted onsite. This is a major safety concern because this place has had numerous theft issues in place and there is no longer any security in place. Trying to contact the landlord is impossible because you are routed to another complex where they take down your information and say they'll call you back, which never happens. They also changed the locks to the fitness center without any notice to anyone, nor did they replace the keys to anyone who PAID for the access when they moved in. Upon trying to contact the ghostly landlord during posted office hours, we again had our contact information taken down with a promise to be contacted later.

Desired Settlement: This complex needs someone on site for security purposes. We are the victims of theft twice, both documented down. As for the fitness center, we either need the new key or we need $25 refund for the purchase of gym access when we moved in.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/16) */ Goldmark Property Management did start managment of this property on 1 August 2014. We currently have a security company (District Public Safety)patrolling the property for any security concerns. With the fitness center we found out Monday the 15th of September from various residents that the deadbolt had been locked not allowing access to the fitness center. Residents were given a key that works the keyed passage ****. On the 15th of September the deadbolt was unlocked again giving access for the residents to use the keyed passage **** to gain access to the fitness center. We are attempting to have staff at this office again prior to 19 September to ensure we can take care of the needs of the residents. In the mean time all reasidents were given a letter upon Goldmark taking over management of the property, stating that they can call the office staff at Essex Place who can take care of their needs. When our staff is not present at this office the phone is answered by our answering service who will take the message and deliver it to our staff.

9/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I lived in the village apartments in grand forks for 2 1/2 years. I was always on time with my rent and if I new I was going to be late I always contacted them. Usually I was out of town for work.When we lived there, it was my Fianc, my daughter and I living there. my fianc and I are non smokers. we were living here till we found a house to move into. We ended up finding one so we moved out early and paid everything they required and we were out in February and paid rent till April. then in the third week of august I get a letter saying I am being turned in to collections. I received no notification of a bill which they supposedly sent in may. and if I did I only get one letter to pay. no phone calls, no emails and no other letters were sent to me besides the collections one.I spent two weeks trying to get ahold of someone and trying to figure out what this 400 dollars was for. found out it was for smoke damage, so paint. at first they deducted 200 but that still left me with 200 to pay. since I had till the 1st of October to pay the 200 without it showing up on my credit. they coincidently call me back after the first and tell me that they wont deduct any more.first off we don't smoke, we are both good cooks so we didn't burn food, we didn't burn candles cause of out daughter and fire hazards, and one of the head managers agreed with me even if we did create the smoke damage we would have to have done all though things everyday in every room for over 2 1/2 years. but still I was forced to pay this so it wouldn't effect me from buying this house. mainly they were giving me the run around till the last day I had to pay and was forced to pay. I have been calm this whole time dealing with gold mark and very patient and I am not one to complain. I just feel like I have been robbed and wasted of all that time to still have to pay 200 dollars for something I didn't even do. they are horrible with getting back to you, extremely hard to get ahold of, and extremely unfair with there move outs.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I would like my $198 dollars back that I had to pay towards collections. Its that or I am even willing to settle with paying the supposed 50 more dollars for carpet cleaning. Which I guess you get charged double for a 2 bedroom apartment compared to a single. Also I have a video to show we tried cleaning the blinds even and couldn't get them clean. and cleaning is what my fianc does for a living.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/09) */ Per Mr. *********'s move in, the apartment was in acceptable condition to include the paint and cleaning of the unit. As with all move outs, Mr. ********* was given a list of the possible move out charges associated with restoring the unit back to the condition in which he moved into. At the time of check out, the unit was not in its original condition, specifically, the walls were black with what appears to be soot damage beyond normal wear and tear (see attached pictures). This was noted on the move out form done with our office and documented with pictures taken at the time Mr. ********* checked out. I reviewed Mr. *********'s file and agreed to waive half of the cost of painting the apartment in August when Mr. ********* called. Based on the conditions documented on the check out and the pictures taken, we are unwilling to discount the resident damage further.

9/10/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not received my deposit back from the apartment I was living in and possible charge for a carpet replacement. I recently moved out of the apartment I had been living in for about a year. A walk through was performed on the 26th of July and a walk out form was signed by myself and a representative of the company which indicated the only charge I would have is $2 for a burnt out light bulb. I was told the rest of my deposit would be mailed to me. I received a voice message a couple weeks later stating the carpet needed to be replaced as they believed it had a bad odor which they thought was from my therapy dog. The carpet was cleaned on the 26th of July as indicated before move out and a copy of the receipt was provided to the company. It was not specified in the voice message whether I would be responsible for the charges to replace the carpet or not. I attempted to call back multiple times but was told the person in charge of the situation was not available and would call me back. I have yet to receive that call which was almost two weeks ago now. I was also told a couple times that the apartment was "pending" for a new tenant as I am still paying rent even though I am not living there. I have had many issues with this company including a bug problem that took over a week to resolve and multiple noise complaints in which police were contacted.

Desired Settlement: $350 deposit

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/09) */ After receiving the BBB Complaint, I contacted the party and left a voicemail. She called me back, and we discussed her experience further. She had given an improper notice because her 2 month notice did not expire until 9/30/14, and she was moving out in July. She was responsible for an early termination fee after we rented the apartment early on 8/14/14. We came to an agreement to waive the early termination fee of $300 and write off her owing balance of $580.15. Even though it was understood the animal in the apartment did cause damage, there was not proper communication from the site office on the charges or damages after the initial move out inspection. This would leave her with a refund back to her of $300. I will have our accountant cut the check this week, and it will be mailed to the address provided.

7/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Goldmark sent my social security number to collections under anothers name. I lived at Griffin court in Moorhead, MN from June 1st 2008 to December 7th 2009. My name was ********** ******* at the time. The first year I lived with **** ************* We both paid the rent and bills in a timely manner. Once the year was up, I continued to live there with a different person, ****** ******** I decided to move after some time so we had another person named ****** ******** take over my half of the lease. We all signed papers and took steps to get me out and Brewster in. I was officially off the lease December 7th 2009. The next month my ex roommate left the premises without finishing/paying for her lease. They attempted to collect the monies not only from myself but from my grandfather and ****. A few years go by and I try to apply for a house loan. I paid all my bills in a timely manner and I should have qualified. The only thing that was stopping me from getting the loan was that there was a collections on there from Goldmark and Moorhead Public Service but under the name of ****** ******** I didn't quite understand why that was happening. I went to the Griffin Court office to sort it out. They just told me that I didn't owe them any money. I found out later on that somehow they put my social security number under ****** ******* name. For anything I try to apply for I get denied due to bad credit on my social security because of this mistake. I tried to call the collections office (United Accounts) to get a letter of dispute and was told by a lady named ***** that there is no letter of dispute for me and that I was running out of options because it was linked to my social security. I took it as them telling me that they think I'm lying about my identity. I then went back to the Griffin Court office and asked to speak to a manager. She wasn't in, but a lady named ****** **** tried to help me. She asked me to tell her my Social. As soon as the first 3 numbers came out of my mouth she said that wasn't the one they had under my name. She corrected the problem at the office and sent an e-mail about the mistake to a woman named ***** ****** She deals with the credit issues. She also gave me her number to call her. I call ***** as soon as I leave the office. I'm trying to explain the situation to her and she cuts me off and tells me that all persons under the lease are responsible to make full payments. I then tell her I understood that but, I had someone else take over my lease and that I was not responsible after December 7th 2009. I told her that my social security was wrongfully sent to collections under a false name and I would like them to please correct it for me since the woman named ***** thought I was lying. ***** then told me that since it was already sent to collections that there was nothing she could do for me. She said I had to fix it myself. I was very upset by this point and hung up the phone. They neglected to verify that their information that was under ****** ******* and I was correct before sending it to collections. It is Goldmarks mistake and I feel that they are the ones who are responsible to correct this issue.

Desired Settlement: I would just like them to take my social security number out of collections. I was told many times by Griffin Court employees that I do not owe them money and I would like my credit to say the same. I feel that if they do not correct this for me then I have no choice but to seek legal action because in a way it is identity theft.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/07/16) */ We have looked in to your file here at Goldmark. I have found that you did sign off the lease on 12-7-09 and do not owe this debt. In 2010 we sent the file over to the collection agency with the correct names of the people who do owe this debt. However, there may have been some confusion with the third party collection agency that processed your file because there were two residents named ********** that lived in that apartment at the same time. The collection agency shows that ****** ******* is the responsible one for the past due debt. We are unsure how it was set up with the collection agency to pull her name and your social as you are stating. However, we were advised that the best thing to do would be for you to file a dispute with the credit bureau(s) that are reporting this on to your credit history. Thank you. ******* ***** Area Manager GOLDMARK Property Management Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/07/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This does not resolve anything, Goldmark sent the information to the collection agency. I have tried what they are proposing me to do and the collections does not believe I am telling the truth. This is through Goldmarks incompetence that they could not send the appropriate information on the responsible parties. How would the collection agency mix these things up unless they were provided my social security from Goldmark? They obtained this collection agency and gave them the information so they should resolve this matter. I do not owe any money, and they do state this in their response, so why should I have to resolve this matter myself when I was not the responsible one to create this issue? My social security should not have been given to the collection agency in the first place. They need to take responsibility for their mistakes and the problems that they have created. I pay my bills on time and I had a good credit score until they did this. I feel that they are just trying to collect the money by any means and from anybody other than the responsible party. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/07/29) */ We have nothing to add from our first response. Thank you.

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint involves the overhead lighting in my apartment complex's underground parking. We're now going on 2+ months to have a bulb replaced. Despite numerous requests, we are now going on 2+ months to have a bulb (yes, a five minute job) replaced in the overhead fixture of my apartment's underground parking. We are talking about lighting in a common area of the apartment; this is one of the bare minimums the property management is responsible for. This is where I, and others, park, get their kids into their car seats, check their oil, etc. Contacted the property manager at my site today (previously talked to the leasing specialist) and was told that GPM hadn't replaced the bulb because they were in the process of determining the financial feasibility of installing entirely new, energy efficient lighting. Great, but do you suppose while you do some kind of 2 month long analysis you could take five minutes and throw another bulb in before I completely blow my top? Before the completion of my phone call with said property manager I ask her to contact me on Friday (the day Goldmark is apparently going to make their declaration about whether or not to proceed with the new system). This request is, for whatever reason, offensive to her and seems to transcend her duties as a PM. GPM has breached their very basic duties to provide lighting in a common area to the apartment complex and I want closure ASAP before I pursue alternative methods of resolution.

Desired Settlement: I'm seeking the very simple resolution described in my complaint.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/27) */ Thank you for bringing this concern to our attention. Our goal is to resolve any such concern in three days or less. We apologize for the delay in this instance, and are aware that all lights in your underground parking facility are now working with the exception of one in the ramp that required a special order as the fixture was broken. We are discussing options to improve the lighting in the underground parking, but at this time no decisions have been made. In the interim the lights will be replaced if they burn out and we will strive to complete those within three days of being notified or seeing the light out.

6/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not receive deposit refund within the 30 days that was promised to me after my walk through. Moved in May 1st 2013 and moved out April 2014. Did my required walk through was promised 30 days to receive my deposit refund check. I called numerous times to alert them of a change of address, left messages and never got called back. Still haven't received my check and it was brought to my attention it was received back to goldmark and sent out on June 13th. Buxton is not that far away from Fargo should not take a week to receive mail. It has now been close to 50 days since my walk through.

Desired Settlement: A check for roughly 530$

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/25) */ On 5/27/2014 a refund check in the amount of $488.50 was sent to the fowarding address that the resident provided to us at the time of move out. The refund check was then returned to us on 6/12/2014 and a Goldmark employee contacted the resident to verify the fowarding address at that time the resident let the Goldmark employee know that his fowarding address had changed. On 6/13/2014 the refund check was re-sent to the updated address provided by the resident. Since our records indicate that the check has been sent but the resident claims that he has not yet recieved the check, Goldmark will stop payment on the origional check and issue a new check to the address that the resident has provided.

5/21/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sent to collections for an apartment I never rented or lived in. I was looking for apartments and submitted an application through Goldmark. They would not run my app unless I had filled out a lease. I told them I had other places to look at so I did not want to be oligated to rent and that I just wanted to know if I was approved. They then submitted my lease anyways and are not saying i am obligated to rent from them and backpay since September of 2013. They sent me to collections. I feel I was taken advantage of. I called and talked with manager about my situation and he told me I would have to still pay as well as sign a waver saying that I give them permission to rent out the apartment. I am not willing to sign anything because I never consented to renting in the first place. I simply wanted to know if I would be approved. I feel that having to fill out a lease just to have an application ran is not only wrong and unfair but borderline criminal. I feel completely taken advantage of! This no way of running a business. Because they are a corporate business I believe they feel they can get away with this sort of behavior because the little people such as myself cant afford to take proper action. Goldmark has now ruined my credit because of the multiple collection submissions. I had above 700 credit score and it has now plummeted to below 500. I had worked hard at maintaining a good credit score as I will someday want to purchase a house, car, etc. I am wondering what sort of action, if any, can be taken in this matter?

Desired Settlement: I want my name out of collections and all of my information with Goldmark to be terminated. I want no further asssocation with the company and for them to destroy whatever documentation they had with my information. I don't feel I should owe any money being I never rented from them. I want my good name back and for none of this to effect my credit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/15) */ When you were interested in applying for this apartment, the Site Manager and the on-site leasing team explained that we do all the paperwork at once to hold the apartment. This is a common business practice where the applicant provides the application fee, deposit, application, and lease paperwork to hold the apartment so it is theirs once they are approved. You stated that you wanted to just apply to see if you got approved, but we did let you know that in order for us to hold the apartment that you liked, you would need to sign the lease, otherwise the apartment could rent to someone else. You then did choose to apply and sign the lease so the apartment you were interested in would be yours if you were approved. The approval for your application did come back which leaves you liable for the apartment home like explained in the lease agreement we went over together. You were contacted immediately after we received the approval to let you know that the apartment was yours. You did not return that phone call. The Site Manager did call you many times after that and left multiple voicemails informing you of your obligation to the apartment despite choosing not to move in. In an early attempt, it was explained to you that if you do not want the apartment, you should submit notice paperwork to allow us to try to re-rent your apartment for you. Unfortunately, all of our phone calls were ignored, voicemails were not returned, and emails were not responded to. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I had told Goldmark that I was only wanting to see if I was approved because I was considering a property through Valley Rental as well. The young man said he understood. I DID talk to a leasing team member when I received the voicemail and told her I did not end up wanting to rent through them. When she told me I had to do a check in I said that I would not be setting that up as I am not renting through them. She said that I was obligated to and owed them for all rent until someone else rented the apartment. In order to do that I needed to sign paperwork saying I want to rent to someone else. I was not willing to sign because I felt that was just me setting myself up. If i signed then I'm admitting that I did in fact agree to move in when in reality i did not! I still feel I was tricked into the whole signing of paperwork. I did not pay a deposit or any rent. I don't understand how I the place is "mine" without a deposit to hold it. Are you telling me that the apartment is still vacant? I do not agree to any of what they are saying. I want my name cleared of collections and this ridiculous debt. I now have a new arising issue. I am currently renting through Valley Rental and Goldmark is taking over starting June 1 of this year.... Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/21) */ Yes, you did tell us that you only wanted to see if you would be qualified for an apartment and the site staff notified you that due to our business practices, that was not an option. It was explained to you that you could apply, sign a lease, and if you were approved you were responsible for that legal contract. You and your roommate signed all paperwork, including a lease agreement for September 1, 2013, on August 21st, 2013. Prior to that, you had signed one as a single occupant. At one point, you did notify to a leasing staff member that you did not want the apartment and they did mention you would be responsible and encouraged you to do a check in. What that leasing member stated in regards to owing rent until it was re-rented was accurate and by putting in notice, you would authorize us to attempt to re-rent the apartment. You shared your frustration with the leasing specialist and the site manager did try to call and email multiple times to discuss this with you, but no response was given. Signing a notice form wouldn't consent to being responsible for the apartment, as the lease agreement had already done that. We do not feel you were tricked in any way. You told us what you wanted to do and we explained how our policies did not allow for that. We laid out your responsibility pending approval and you went through and signed the lease agreeing to that. You did issue check #1939 on 8/21/13 to cover the deposit. You chose to have the bank put a stop payment on that check, so it was returned as insufficient on September 1st. Unfortunately, choosing to cancel that check and choosing not to pay rent does not void your signed lease agreement which is legally binding. The collection balance that was sent out includes nearly two months of rent, late fees, deposit amount because of the NSF check, and a re-rental fee. All of these charges were laid out in the lease agreement that you and your roommate signed that went into effect on September 1, 2013.

4/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am being charged for removal of kitchen, bathroom, tub/surround, stove, fridge, dishwasher they are of normal usage over a 10 yr period. I lived at a property of Goldmark Property Managements for 10 yrs and they sent me a bill stating that I owed them for damage reimbursement for kitchen cabinets, counter tops, fridge, stove, dishwasher, light fixture in the kitchen, mirror, lights, toilet, tub surround, vanity, and sink in the bathroom. None of these items were damaged when I moved out other then being in the apartment when I first moved in there other then the dishwasher and it was put in the apartment back in 2008. The only thing is it they might have been worn out because of usage during the 10 yr period while I was living in the apartment. Goldmark Properties has a tendancey of doing this to people moving out of their apartments and putting a judgement against them. They had plans on remodeling the apartments so that they could collect more money on the apartments. I do not believe that former tenants like myself should be responsible for removal and replacement of the items mentioned above in this complaint. They are also wanting to charge me for removal of carpeting after 10 yrs also even though that during the 10 yr period that I lived there that the sewer backed up in the apartment eery since day one that I had lived there. The last time the sewer backed up in the apartment I resided in there was 70 gallons of sewer water extracted from the apartment. I have COPD which when I first moved in there was just very mild then when i left on March 3, 2014 it was in the moderate range. Between the smoking which is my fault and them not changing the carpeting after the sewer backing up I should not be responsible for the carpets being changed along with the linoleum.

Desired Settlement: All I am asking for is my 300 deposit back from Goldmark Property Management and them to take all said charges off my claim. They are bogus charges for a remodel of the apartment that they already had plans of doing after i had moved out of the apartment in Des Moines, IA. Also them not giving me a negative reference about my apartment being filthy and being infested with roaches. Yes I did have some roaches in the apartment, but they were not being over run in the apartment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/10) */ In response to this complaint I would like to start that we at Goldmark conduct premove out inspections to identify items that need repair or replacement prior to the new resident moving in. In walking this residents apartment we found it to be so dirty and overrun with insects that we did not feel it appropriate to move a new resident in without replacing them. This resident did live in this apt for 10 years however I have lived in my home for ten years also I do not need a full tub replacement based on filth, my cabinets are not warped due to sticky substances on them and overrun with roaches. Normal wear and tear items yes are covered and we did not charge her for painting of the apartment nor flooring even though there was k-9 fecal matter in the apartment. This resident left all items in her home in drastic repait need. and I would be more then happy to supply pictures if need be. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The cabinets were 30 yrs old and were beginning to fall apart and pull away from the walls due to being the original cabinets from when the apartments were built in 1981. As for the fecal matter from my dog was NOT in the apartment because the dog was taken out all of the time when he needed out. When I did have to go to work he (the dog) used a liter box which was cleaned out. I did not have an issue with the insects till 3 years ago when a couple of other tenants moved out that were totally infested with the roaches. From June of 2004 till 3 years ago I never had an issue with the insects. As for the picture that were supposed to be taken there were none taken the day of the premove out by the resident manager ***** nor the maintenance man when they did the walk through. I did have insect problem but there was not an infestation of insects. Most apartment complexes have problem with some form of bugs within a multi family dwellings. I myself along with the bug company were treating for the insects Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/04/18) */ I have spoken with the resident who states they sent a retraction to *********** and states that she is dropping her case with the better business bureau. Please let me know how to proceed further.

4/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ridiculous charges billed to me besides the security deposit when checking out of apartment. Sent on to a collection agency in an untimely manner. I am writing to you concerning a charge made to me for an apartment I had lived in for 3 years. Upon check in I filled out a sheet describing all the faults within the apartment which was quite extensive and was assured that it was noted and kept on record. Ex. baseboard heater falling off the wall, brown stain on kitchen linoleum, loose towel racks etc. During my stay in the apartment, the entire closet rack and shelf fell off the wall. It actually was never attached to any sort of a stud in the first place. It took over 2 weeks to get fixed in which all my clothes had to lay all around the apt. When the maintenance man came, he worked for a little bit and left again saying that he needed parts. He never came back until I called again. When he did come I happened to be home and he proceeded to attach the rack to the same patched hole and again, not into any stud. I then instructed him as to what needed to be done and that it needed to be attached to studs in order to hold clothes at all. He again left to get the parts that I told him he would need and "we"ended up fixing it. This process took over 2 weeks. Earlier in the year I had replaced the "cheapo" towel racks with good ones that I paid for myself. As for the paint on the wall ...... When I looked this up it should be determined by the length of stay of the tenant in the rental unit. It is assumed that paint has a 2-3 year life span and cannot be charged against them which also includes the cleanliness of the walls considering they need repainting anyway. For that I got charged $150.00. Also, minor nicks and marks are the landlord's responsibility as normal wear and tear. Therefore, the tenant should not be charged. I paid a security deposit of $500.00 and upon "checking out" the person in charge commented that it looked good and I would be getting money back. I realize I broke the lease a couple months early and was willing to pay that $300.00. I had taken time to clean the apartment before I left which included the walls yet still got charged for that too. Also got charged for the baseboard heater that was broken when "I" moved in. Light bulbs??? Seriously???? Prove that...I did not walk around in the dark. So basically I got charged $155.00 for a switch cover, some drip pans and a blind??? $155.00 to clean the refrigerator and stove? How clean do you want it? $165.00 to clean the bathroom in which I had cleaned. Wow...I should get a job cleaning for you! For 1 apartment I would collect about $645.00 ...not bad....I hope that your cleaning people know what you charge. So they knew that they were getting paid accordingly . I also am entitled to copies of receipts for the charges incurred. All I got was an itemized list of what you thought was wrong. I was in shock when this bill came, especially after I had been told I would get money back. This is when the real fun began..... I tried to call the Bismarck office at ************ and talked to a girl named ****** who told me that they do not have any of the check in or check out material that I would want a copy of....she sent me to the Fargo office*************** and talked to a guy named **** who looked all over and said that they have nothing like that there....he sent me on to St. Paul ************** and spoke to a guy named **** who sent me back to another Fargo number.....**************. I was in turn sent back to the Bismarck number and talked to a girl named ***** in which directed me to an area manager @ ************ and his name was ******. I had to leave a message there and he never called back so I called the ************ number and ended up with the original girl named ****** and she left another message for ******. WHEW!!! I then proceeded to called ****** for the next week and leave messages and finally gave up. It isn't like I didn't try to resolve this and now 4 mo. Later I get another collection agency letter.... PS...I am still waiting for that phone call.

Desired Settlement: I would like the added charges dismissed from the checkout of my apartment. They can keep the security deposit. Water droplets on a toilet is hardly a charge. etc..etc.. I would also like them to contact the collection agency and withdraw the bill charged against me. They did nothing in a timely manner. They were impossible to get a hold of and if a person ever did answer, none of them knew what I was talking about or said that their office doesn't deal with such matters and sent me on to another number..... Presently I have talked to 9 different people in which I was given phone numbers to or transferred on to. I have tried to resolve this and no one seems to want to do anything but charge me ridiculous amounts. I have appealed this and sent copies to 3 different Goldmark offices but yet 2 months later I get threatening letters again. I have now filed a complaint with the States Attorneys Office. Goldmark claims they have sent a revised billing and I have never received it. Currently I am waiting for another call that I was also promised..... I want this stricken from my credit report immediately. I don't know what else you need from me. I have gone through all the proper avenues to make right of this. I question the integrity of Goldmark and have heard nothing but horror stories about them. Certainly there are thousands of us out there dealing with the same problem. Striking a person's credit rating is practically a bullying practice. How do people get by with this? If you are unsure and need a more detailed account of this....please check in my complaint above.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/21) */ On January 28, 2014 we received a letter from Mr. ******** regarding his move-out charges. The move-in checklist was compared with the move-out checklist and determination was made that the apartment was in fact clean at the time of move-in and very dirty at the time he moved out, as signed by Mr. ********. The Leasing Specialist that conducted the move-out inspection did take several pictures of the apartment proving that the condition Mr. ******** left the apartment in was not at all like the condition of the apartment when he moved in. On September 28, 2013 Mr. ******** was present for his final walk through and signed his move-out form acknowledging he understood there would be cleaning/replacement charges. Cleaning charges totaled $395.00, steam cleaning the carpets totaled $100.00, replacement charges totaled $155.00 which included several light bulbs, blinds, outlet cover, drip pans and damaged baseboard heater. In addition, he was also charged $150.00 for painting which was removed on 02/12/2014 by the Area Manager after determining the life span of the paint had expired. Mr. ******** had a lease obligation through 2/28/14. He did not fulfill his lease term agreement and signed the notice form that states he would be charged a $300.00 early termination fee.

3/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Water seepage in garden level apartment and is uninhabitable until repaired. Also suspected mold in apartment. Moved into the President apartments, garden level, #D2 in August.In Grand Forks, ND. I pay my own utilities. During the winter I had a snow bank on my window sill in my bedroom. Yesterday my bedroom floor was soaked and I called to report the incident. When I returned from school( I'm a teacher) all my bedroom things were removed from the bedroom and the carpet was torn up and large fans were being run to try to dry the room out. It was the first nice melting day of the spring and unsure of where the water is coming from. My apartment smelled very damp and musty. I drove 30 miles to stay at my parents home for the night. Right now my apartment is uninhabitable as it is loud with fans running and smells. The only place to sleep is the couch if I can get to it with all my bedroom stuff everywhere. I called the Goldmark office to see if they would reimburse my utility bill as they will be needing to run those fans until it is dried out before putting carpet back in and also if they would pay to have me live somewhere else for the time being as I can't sleep there. The guy I talked to laughed at my request and said I could sleep where ever I wanted but they would not reimburse me for anything. I would like out of my lease and like to get out of that place asap. Since moving in in August whenever I am home I am stuffed up and congested and as soon as I leave to go to work it goes away and I've suspected that there is mold in there somewhere. I am talking to a lawyer to see what my options are and trying to find someone who can go in and test for mold.

Desired Settlement: release from lease and deposit returned and/or reimbursement for part of utility bill until fans are no longer needed and/or cancellation of my rent until the apartment is livable again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/13) */ The site office that manages Ms. ******'s apartment was notified about the water seepage on 3/10 2:30pm. Our technician was there within an hour of the call. The technician correctly handled the situation according to company policy. This complaint was filed within 24 hours of the original call, 3/11. I have talked to the resident and laid out exactly how we will handle the situation.

1/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My brother and I are disputing a collection charge that exceeds $600. The clearing paperwork clearly stated charges cannot exceed $500. My brother and I rented from Westlake Community office at Parkside Apartments from August, 2011 to December, 2013. Our apartment was clean and well- maintained for the duration of our stay. On Monday, December 16 my brother ***** had the apartment checked by ***** from Westlake Community Office who arrived late. *****'s initial inspection charged over $400 in cleaning charges. These charges included $20 for a smudge mark on the AC unit, $50 dollars to clean the bathtub and various other charges. After discussing my concerns regarding the charges I asked ***** to call me back on Monday which he failed to do. I talked to ***** from Westlake on Tuesday and said she would assess the charges and call me back Tuesday afternoon which she also failed to do. I was able to get a hold of ***** on Wednesday in which she stated the charges were being increased by approximately $300 dollars to replace a set of keys that were lost by my brother. (Ironically the building is being re-keyed this week.) I have attempted to call Goldmark offices in Fargo and their regional office in Grand Forks but have not received a call in return. My brother ***** and I are both college graduates and I am a US Army veteran with five years active service as a medic and one year in Afghanistan.

Desired Settlement: My brother and I are seeking to have the pending charges reduced to only include the sum of our security deposit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/24) */ A move out inspection was conducted on December 16th, 2013 for the apartment mentioned. When this resident gave his proper notice, he was required to sign proper notice paperwork, and at that time was given a copy of the exact same move out inspection form that we take to all move out inspections. The resident had in his possession, for over month prior to the move out inspection date, a list of what items we check for cleanliness upon move out, and what the charges would be if those items were not clean. We give all residents who are moving out this paperwork as a courtesy so that they know what to clean, and how we charge. The initial apartment inspection was conducted, and items that were deemed dirty or in need of repair/replacement were charged appropriately. Before the resident and office personnel parted ways, the move out inspection form was signed by both parties. The inspection form did show what the total cost of cleaning charges was going to be, as well as additional costs for repairs/replacements. On the inspection form, there reads the statement "I hereby acknowledge inspection of said apartment and accept it with the conditions noted...and understand that additional charges may incur if the actual cost of cleaning, repairs, painting, and/or replacement exceeds the minimum charge." No place on the inspection form does it state that charges cannot exceed $500, which the resident is stating. However, we do have a policy in place that cleaning charges will never exceed a $500 max charge. This would not include repairs, replacements, painting, flooring, keys, carpet steam cleaning, etc in the $500 max charge. At a later date, I spoke with the resident about his concerns with the cleaning charges, and I offered to go over to the apartment myself to do a second inspection to confirm that what items were initially deemed dirty and were charged for were indeed in that condition and to make sure the charges were fair. I did this second inspection, and found that the items that were initially marked dirty on the inspection form were indeed in that condition. I called the resident back after I did the second walk through of the apartment and let him know my findings. At this time I offered the resident to set up an appointment with myself, and we could both go over to the apartment and I would show him what I found unacceptable and not clean, and he could have another chance to clean the apartment and then I would conduct an additional move out inspection to help alleviate some of the cleaning charges. The resident declined this opportunity, and therefore his pending deposit refund will be based on the first move out inspection. Regarding the comment the resident makes about his charges being "...increased by approximately $300 dollars to replace a set of keys that were lost by my brother," to clarify, the charges were not increased, but actually decreased from what the original inspection form that was given to him. Initially, cleaning charges were $360, $2 in repairs, $65 in replacement costs, and $582 in other. After looking over the check out, I saw the error in overcharging for rekeying and reduced the other section to $325. This was communicated to the resident during the same phone call I made where I offered him to come back and re-clean the apartment. The total charges to the resident currently reflect $752. However, these are preliminary charges and won't be final until bills from our vendors come in. These charges could also be adjusted per the move in inspection form that we have on file. The final bill will be mailed within 30 days of the last day of the resident's responsibility of the lease. The apartment site Area Manager also called the resident on 12/23/13 to explain further the process and that we will be sending a final statement in January 2014. She also has reviewed the file, and she has already approved waiving some of the charges that were initially noted on the check out form based on the resident's move in condition and normal wear/tear conditions. These waived charges will include drip pans ($15) and the deadbolt rekey ($60). We have openly communicated to the resident that once they receive our final deposit statement they are more than welcome to call either the Site Manager or Area Manager to discuss the charges further.

12/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Goldmark set collections agency on me to collect ex-roommate's unpaid fees months after I moved out. I joined the lease of an individual living in a Grand Forks, ND Goldmark apartment in January 2013 and resided there until April 2013. In June, two months after I moved out, my ex-roommate, the sole occupant of the apartment, ended the lease early and incurred $750 worth of cancellation and vacancy fees. In November, a collections agency notified me that Goldmark expected me to pay my ex-roommates fees, which he had apparently (and unbeknownst to me) left unpaid. Neither Goldmark nor the collections agency have evidently made any diligent effort to contact my ex-roommate, and neither Goldmark nor the collection agency will reply to my correspondence or calls. It seems this company is more than happy to target the wrong individual in order to recoup any losses, and it refuses to give customers any opportunity to respond to their ominous legal threats. Furthermore, the collections agency ("Collection Specialists International") is unprofessional at best. As stated above, they did not respond to my objections and instead sent a letter threatening legal action if the charges weren't paid. Their business address is in Maricopa, Arizona, but their phone number is in Fargo. They are not BBB accredited- in fact, the BBB has a warning that advises customers to seek legal advice if contacted by this collections agency! This company even sent a letter demanding payment within ten days of the letter's date, but the letter did not arrive until just SIX days before the deadline. Absolutely unprofessional and absolutely sketchy.

Desired Settlement: I wish to be cleared of these unfair charges and to be left alone by Goldmark and its partners.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/20) */ The matter has been resolved directly with the complainant.

12/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Golmark is demanding unnecessary charges and fees for an apartment rental that was over four years ago. False information in the complaint. Goldmark is demanding $1187.36 in unnecessary late charges and fees for an apartment that was rented by my husband 4 years ago. In the complaint received by ********** *********** *************, Inc. and ***** ************, LTD ******* *******(MN ID#******)there were many errors including naming the defendent ***** *****, which is not my husbands name. They said he signed the lease on Oct.4, 2009 with Goldmark, when in fact, it was Alerus at that time. Goldmark claims to have contacted us for payment when we have not heard from them in 4 years. They are charging us late fees in the amount of $80 (which have been charged, reversed, then charged again) set up delinquent fee of $510 (not sure what that is), early termination fee of $300 (which is not stated in the contract. He signed and Alerus contract) and many other fees that should have come out of his deposit of $250, but never did. My husband did vacate the apartment a month earlier than the contract date and we were under the impression everything was taken care of until now. To my knowledge,Goldmark bought Alerus in March of 2010 which was during the time he vacated the apartment which leads us to believe there are a lot of mistakes and unclear fees and charges. I have been very prompt in getting back to the collection agency office of ******* A. ******* who claims to have sent us correspondence in in June 2013, which we did not receive. I have been speaking with ****** about this matter under *******. There office is located at 520 Main Ave., Ste 702 in Fargo, ND. My husband was embarrassingly served papers by a police officer at his work in Sep 2013 and we called the agency that very day (since it was the FIRST we had heard about this matter in FOUR years). The lawyer, *******, never got back to us for over a month (while interest was acruing unfairly) and we are still unclear as to the fees, charges, and acrued interest they are demanding. We are very upset with the way Goldmark has handled this business matter and demand they reconsider these outragious claims.

Desired Settlement: The settlement we are seeking is to drop all charges and fees necessary since we never received correspondence on theis matter in 4 years. We would like to understand the basis of these fees and charges and to resolve this issue in a timely and respectful manner.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/21) */ There is a balance of $677.36 on this account. The following is a breakdown and explanation of the charges: April 1, 2010 Rent $ 425.00 Late Fees for Unpaid Rent $ 80.00 Cleaning Charges $ 60.00 Steam Cleaning of Carpets $ 64.13 Early Termination/Re-lease Fee $ 300.00 Sub Total $ 929.13 Security Deposit ($250.00) Security Deposit Interest ($ 1.77) Balance Due $ 677.36 $425 rent - April 1st, 2010: There is a lease signed with Alerus Property Management for the dates of October 5th, 2009 until April 30th, 2010. Per that lease, a 60 day notice is required. The resident gave a 30 day notice on February 26th 2010 and left the property on March 31st, 2010, one month before the rental lease had expired and one month short of the 60 day notice. $80 late fees for the month of April for unpaid rent $60 for cleaning charges $64.13 for steam cleaning the carpets $300 early termination fee/re-lease fee: The Alerus Property Management lease states "Re-leasing policy: If Resident wishes to terminate lease prior to the end of its initial term, Resident may opt to utilize the re-leasing policy, which requires Resident to meet the criterion, pay the re-lease fee..." The charges of $929.13 minus the credit of $250 from the security deposit and $1.77 of security deposit interest leaves a balance owing of $677.36 GOLDMARK took over management of this building on April 1st, 2010. Alerus Property Management gave GOLDMARK a rent roll showing that there was a $510 outstanding delinquency on this account. This charge has already been removed prior to the BBB complaint. We have no knowledge of a complaint against ******* A. ******* and ***** *************, LTD. GOLDMARK has no contact with this company. Our collection files are handled by an outside company, ********** **********. ********** ********** works with the legal office called ***** ************* where ******* A. ******* is employed. Any complaint for either ******* A. ******* or ***** ************* should be directed to them.

10/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two years ago I co-signed for a Goldmark apartment. They have since served me papers for 'damages' on said apartment without contacting the primary. Two years ago I cosigned a year lease with Goldmark. I wouldn't be moving to Fargo for some months and by cosigning I was reassured by the girl she would give me some place to stay until I found a place of my own. Some eight or nine months later I finally managed to move to town only to discover the place she was residing had quite a few damages (some of which she informed me had been there since moving in and had been told the company had promised to fix them and never had.) After discussing the issues with the woman running our establishment she assured me she would send someone by. This also brought to light a slight misunderstanding between my roommate and the landlady in that she was told she could have her cat and the woman then informed me no cats were to be allowed in this building. The cat was removed, but only after much undue stress from my roommate and the animal. No one ever came by our place to fix the damages. Later, some two months before the end of our lease we end up with water damage in our bathroom because of a leaking pipe above us. I reported the leaking pipe to management, they finally sent someone by who promptly knocked a person sized hole in our ceiling and said they would be back. Every week I went back to that office asking when they would be repairing the hole in our ceiling and they kept telling me since it was a bathroom it needed to 'dry out' before they could repair it. I told them we had been avoiding using the area so it would dry out (and because my roommate was terrified of the hole) but still they did not fix the hole. I know the tenant who lived in the apartment after me and he has informed me they didn't even fix it while he was there, nor were the carpets ever fixed! Leading up to the end of the lease I knew there would be some charges for our carpets (which had various stains, again most being there before I arrived, one of which I had reported to the land lady under the belief there was mold under the carpet, which was ignored) and so chose to discuss with the land lady in hopes of reaching an agreement. I was raised installing carpets and requested to bring my own people in to do the work (as I was sure they were going to charge exorbitant amounts that would be out of my range.) She refused, telling me they preferred to use their own people and that this would be in my best interest. I, of course, disagreed, but couldn't convince her otherwise and so left. I personally spent several days to a week scrubbing every inch of the apartment in hopes of avoiding some of their more ridiculous charges. The last day of the lease I thanked her for her time, left my forwarding address, handed in my keys and left (as she informed me the inspection had been done without me.) Almost a year later I received my first notice from ***************, a debt collecting company they apparently turned me over to. Angry that no attempt had been made to contact me directly I contacted the Goldmark office, inquiring why I had not been contacted sooner and requested an itemized list. They had no answers for me, but said they would send out the list. I never received this list and several months later received a second letter from ***************. (notice I said months!)I wrote a letter to *************** requesting the itemized list that Goldmark was apparently unwilling to give me, but got no response. I received my third notice from *************** in July of this year. I again sent a letter and tried to call Goldmark. No response again. I literally only received three notices from this collector before them, and Goldmark, decided to serve me court papers this month. They didn't serve papers to the primary on the account. I contacted United and FINALLY got my itemized list. On this list was a $600 charge for replacing one 9'x9' space and a hallway (which is crazy!)and a $465 charge for 'cleaning,' which is impossible. I scrubbed everything in that apartment. I would never suggest this company to anyone!

Desired Settlement: I would like to reach a compromise with the company. I am a reasonable girl. Though confused why I, the cosigner, am being sought out instead of the primary I am willing to negotiate a settlement. I don't believe $1200 is fair for the damages assessed, especially those I know either didn't exist or weren't repaired. I feel $600 would be far more reasonable, considering the lack of contact I've received and information given.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/16) */ Our records indicate that ****** was a resident and lease holder of the apartment. She did not apply to be and was not a guarantor or co-signer. Both ****** and her roommate listed on their resident applications that they did not have a pet. And initialed the section of the lease that states our pet policy to indicate their understanding. The pet(s) living in the apartment were unauthorized and were not discovered by management until shortly before the move-out date. Because of the damage caused by the unauthorized pets, the carpet required partial replacement. In regards to the suggestion that the apartment had several damages upon ******'s move-in, our Move-In Inspection form indicates otherwise and was signed off on by ******'s roommate during the inspection. We received 2 separate notices to vacate. One from ****** (to vacate on 6/24/11) and one from her roommate (to vacate on 8/31/11). ****** indicated that she did not know what her roommates plans were but intended to vacate the apartment early and acknowledged her responsibility for the apartment through 8/31/11. Both ****** and her roommate signed GOLDMARK's Proper Notice form. ****** chose not to be present for the Move-Out Inspection. Her roommate, however, was present and signed off on the inspection form which did indicate the carpet damage and need for replacement. Furthermore, all necessary correspondence has been sent to the address provided by the roommate present at move-out. We feel the charges assessed at move-out are valid and fair and we do not intend to make any adjustments to the total. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I feel there must be some terrible misunderstanding here. I was told when signing the lease by management that I was co-signing the apartment - not applying for joint lease - hence why when I initially asked to be removed from the lease I was told ******* would require a new individual to co-sign. As for the pets - both management and ******* told me independently that although we were signing the line for no pets, that was just standard and they did not have a second lease where pets were an option, but they were allowing them at our location. As for me 'choosing' not to be present for the inspection - this is false. I was not informed the inspection was taking place and so was excluded. Also, ******* has said on numerous occasions she has not received the correspondence from this company informing her of what the damages were or what was being done with the deposit (which, according to ND law it was their responsibility to tell us that information within thirty days of vacating the residence.) Regardless, if we were both being treated as equal lease holders it was then their responsibility to correspond with both of us, not just one of us. Also, none of this explains where the near $500 in 'cleaning' comes in. I feel at the very least this charge should be removed as that apartment was exceptionally clean when I left, as I stated before I spent near a week scrubbing everything from top to bottom so as to avoid this ridiculous charge. Finally, the move in form indicated otherwise because ******* was told by management they would be stopping in to fix several things (such as the blinds) and then never did. This is not so unbelievable considering the hole we lived with in our ceiling for close to two months, or the dishwasher we had to fix ourselves because management chose not to hold up their end of the maintenance agreement. I am still looking to reach a resolution, but the amount asked is far too much considering not all the charges are fair (namely the cleaning charge.) If they would even be willing to remove this charge, I would be more willing to work towards repaying this debt. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/23) */ ****** was not a co-signer for this apartment. She was a resident/roommate/lease holder. That is the information we have (including a signed lease) and that is what we are abiding by. Again, to reference the signed lease, no pets were allowed. The initials on this specific section of the lease agreement and the signature indicate understanding and agreement to comply. Any pets brought onto the property were unauthorized. As stated in our first response, ***** gave a notice and indicated she was moving out on 6/24/11. Her roommate indicated she was staying in the apartment until 8/31/11. We contacted the roommate as she was last occupant in the apartment and arranged the move out inspection. ******, acknowledging in her notice that she was responsible for the apartment through 8/31/11, was welcome to contact her roommate or the community office in regards to the move-out inspection appointment. At the move-out appointment, the roommate was present, signed off on the inspection thereby acknowledging the conditions noted and the cost of repairs, cleaning, etc... The roommate also provided a forwarding address which all future correspondence was sent to. This is normal practice in the course of our business. No forwarding address or other contact information was provided by ******. ****** states that the apartment was exceptionally clean when she moved out. If ****** moved out on the date indicated in her written notice (6/24/11) and her roommate moved out on 8/31/111; that is nearly 2 months that ****** did not occupy the apartment. Our suggestion would be to contact her former roommate regarding this and the other charges assessed at move out. In regards to the work orders, our records indicate that all work orders submitted for the apartment on the dates occupied by ****** and her roommate were completed in a reasonable amount of time. Again, we feel the charges assessed at move out are valid and fair. This will be our last correspondence in this matter.

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a very large electric bill, the cause of which is a defective Air Conditioning window unit they refuse replace, the unit was built in 1973 This complaint is to address a egregious negligence on the part of Goldmark Property Management in West Fargo. On 7/18/13 I received an abnormally large electricity bill, although this one was not large enough to spark concern we nevertheless had an inspection of the apartment. The AC was inspected and considered a pass. A bill arrived on 8/16, indicating a bill of $152. The electric bill has now trippled, and is growing. The problem, as assessed by the electric company and manufacturer of the AC is the AC unit. The AC unit's serials indicate that it was made in 1973, and according to both the electric and GE companies the compressor CAN NOT DISENGAGE. The advice, per housing, was to "unplug the AC when not in use". Goldmark's maintenance "inspection" by *****, witnessed by my brother, involved nothing more than chit-chat and flicking a couple buttons. At no point was the AC unit opened, wiring inspected, or compressing unit checked. He also said that "it blows cold air so it works". I was notified of possible fire hazards due to defective and dated HVAC appliances, and have been in contact with code enforcement. Despite the risks of this faulty and tremendously expensive hardware, Goldmark's ****** **** (***-***-****) has maintained that "because the AC blows cold air it works Goldmark is not responsible for the excessive bill". They refuse to take responsibility for their hardware, despite being notified many times that it was drawing excessive power. This bill is a result of Goldmark's incompetence, negligence, and horrific treatment of tenants. With the AC on during average hours the accumulative bill, according to the electric company, will be $19 per day ($570 for a month). This ENTIRELY Goldmark's responsibility for: -Using dated hardware (1973) -Not performing thorough inspections -Sending a maintenance guy and not an HVAC specialist -Refusing to help despite a myriad of calls.

Desired Settlement: 1. Compensation of power bill exceeding $60. $60 is high usage for our household, everything above that is the fault of Goldmark. 2. Replacement or refurbishing of the AC unit to current efficiency and safety standards. 3. A written apology for the headache of having to do all this to simply have the AC fixed.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/15) */ A work order was placed with the office on 7/30 to check the A/C unit. It was deemed by our MT2 that the A/C was in working condition. On 8/6 the tenant was still not satisfied so the A/C was swapped from a vacant unit into his unit. I have called the electric company and the billing cycle for the A/C that is now installed in his unit has not yet been cut. We are more than willing to look at the issue in further detail if the billing is reduced during this next cycle. In order to appropriately monitor these bills I will need the tenant to provide copies to me for the June, July, and August cycles as the electric company cannot provide those directly to us since the electric is in the tenants name. At this time we cannot compensate the tenant for any electric usage as we do not have proper documentation from him and we have checked and replaced the A/C unit in his apartment. If it is deemed that compensation is due I will make that decision upon review of the bills. Billing can vary greatly depending on individual usage, unit location in the building, and improper usage. We complete all work in a timely manner just as both of his A/C requests were addressed and documented. I will have the maintenance techs watch his A/C unit from the exterior of the building to ensure that the tenant is properly using the A/C.

8/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son can afford to live there but because he has no rental history, they required a guarantor. I paid the guarantor form for them. ***** paid them the deposit. I gave them the money on Thursday, July 25th, 2013. They did not contact me again until Tuesday July 30th, to say that they have not been able to reach my company. Mayo Clinic Hospital in Phoenix! Really hard to believe that they could not reach them. I scanned a pay stub and sent it to them the same day. When I got back to work on Wednesday, an email said that they had confirmed my employment to them. So they reached Mayo, they just couldn't get the private information they requested. Because of this, they denied my son rental. I make $72,000 a year and I'm single. ***** works 48 - 60 hours a week at ********** and donates plasma. I believe they denied him because of his age and not his ability to pay. Because they are not accredited by you, this may be a blessing in disguise. I just want my voice added to the list of complaints with their business practices.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the money I gave them because they provided no service. I would like to ensure that Billy got his money back.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/12) */ The applicant was denied for not meeting a portion of our criteria. The applicant was notified of the denial by the office staff and the deposit check was shredded. A denial letter was also sent to the applicant. At time of application, it is made aware that there is no refunds given on the application fee charged to process the application. The application is processed by a third party that does charge for the service. The criteria we check from the application form is rental history, credit, criminal, and income. Unfortunately the criteria the applicant was denied on is not something we would accept a guarantor for. No refunds will be given for the application fees charged.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Goldmark Property Management Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart