BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The Gaughan Companies is a Full Service Commercial Real Estate Firm founded in 1969.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gaughan Companies meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Gaughan Companies include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gaughan Companies
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 27, 2003 Business started: 03/10/1997 in MN Business started locally: 03/10/1997 Business incorporated 03/10/1997 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Commerce
85 7th Pl E Ste 500, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.commerce.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 539-1500
general.commerce@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Karen Carlson, Controller Rozeanna Berg, Marketing Director Patrick Gaughan, President
Contact Information
Principal: Karen Carlson, Controller
Business Category

Property Management Property Management - Industrial & Commercial Contractor - Commercial Property Maintenance Real Estate - Commercial

Service Area
Gaughan Companies provides their services in MINNESOTA.Gaughan Companies provides their services in CARBURY, COLUMBUS, EDGELEY, EDMUNDS, GARDNER, GOLVA, HARWOOD, LANDA, LARSON, MERRICOURT, NORWICH, PEKIN, PINGREE, PISEK, PROSPER, RALEIGH, ROTH & SOURIS, ND.Gaughan Companies provides their services in ADA, ADAMS, ADOLPH, ADRIAN, AFTON, AH GWAH CHING, AITKIN, AKELEY, ALBANY, ALBERT LEA, ALBERTA, ALBERTVILLE, ALBORN, ALDEN, ALDRICH, ALEXANDRIA, ALMELUND, ALPHA, ALTURA, ALVARADO, AMBOY, AMIRET, ANDOVER, ANGLE INLET, ANGORA, ANGUS, ANNANDALE, ANOKA, APPLE VALLEY, APPLETON, ARCO, ARDEN HILLS, ARLINGTON, ASHBY, ASKOV, ATWATER, AUDUBON, AURORA, AUSTIN, AVOCA, AVON, BABBITT, BACKUS, BADGER, BAGLEY, BAKER, BALATON, BARNESVILLE, BARNUM, BARRETT, BARRY, BATTLE LAKE, BAUDETTE, BAXTER, BAYPORT, BEARDSLEY, BEAVER BAY, BEAVER CREEK, BECIDA, BECKER, BEJOU, BELGRADE, BELLE PLAINE, BELLECHESTER, BELLINGHAM, BELTRAMI, BELVIEW, BEMIDJI, BENA, BENEDICT, BENSON, BEROUN, BERTHA, BETHEL, BIG FALLS, BIG LAKE, BIGELOW, BIGFORK, BINGHAM LAKE, BIRCHDALE, BIRD ISLAND, BISCAY, BIWABIK, BLACKDUCK, BLAINE, BLMNG PRAIRIE, BLOMKEST, BLOOMING PRAIRIE, BLOOMINGTON, BLUE EARTH, BLUFFTON, BOCK, BORUP, BOVEY, BOWLUS, BOWSTRING, BOY RIVER, BOYD, BRAHAM, BRAINERD, BRANDON, BRECKENRIDGE, BREEZY POINT, BREWSTER, BRICELYN, BRIMSON, BRITT, BROOK PARK, BROOKLYN CENTER, BROOKLYN CTR, BROOKLYN PARK, BROOKS, BROOKSTON, BROOTEN, BROWERVILLE, BROWNS VALLEY, BROWNSDALE, BROWNSVILLE, BROWNTON, BRUNO, BUCKMAN, BUFFALO, BUFFALO LAKE, BUHL, BURNS TOWNSHIP, BURNS TWNSHP, BURNSVILLE, BURTRUM, BUTTERFIELD, BUYCK, BYRON, CALEDONIA, CALLAWAY, CALUMET, CAMBRIDGE, CAMPBELL, CANBY, CANNON FALLS, CANTON, CANYON, CARLISLE, CARLOS, CARLTON, CARVER, CASS LAKE, CASTLE ROCK, CEDAR, CEDAR E BETHL, CEDAR EAST BETHEL, CENTER CITY, CENTERVILLE, CEYLON, CHAMPLIN, CHANDLER, CHANHASSEN, CHASKA, CHATFIELD, CHISAGO CITY, CHISHOLM, CHOKIO, CIRCLE PINES, CLARA CITY, CLAREMONT, CLARISSA, CLARKFIELD, CLARKS GROVE, CLEAR LAKE, CLEARBROOK, CLEARWATER, CLEMENTS, CLEVELAND, CLIMAX, CLINTON, CLITHERALL, CLONTARF, CLOQUET, COBDEN, COHASSET, COKATO, COLD SPRING, COLERAINE, COLLEGEVILLE, COLOGNE, COLUMBIA HEIGHTS, COLUMBIA HTS, COLUMBUS, COMFREY, COMSTOCK, CONGER, COOK, COON RAPIDS, CORCORAN, CORRELL, COSMOS, COTTAGE GROVE, COTTON, COTTONWOOD, COURTLAND, CRANE LAKE, CROMWELL, CROOKSTON, CROSBY, CROSSLAKE, CROWN COLLEGE, CRYSTAL, CRYSTAL BAY, CULVER, CURRIE, CUSHING, CYRUS, DAKOTA, DALBO, DALTON, DANUBE, DANVERS, DARFUR, DARWIN, DASSEL, DAWSON, DAYTON, DE GRAFF, DEER CREEK, DEER RIVER, DEERWOOD, DELANO, DELAVAN, DELHI, DELLWOOD, DENNISON, DENT, DETROIT LAKES, DEXTER, DILWORTH, DODGE CENTER, DONALDSON, DONNELLY, DORAN, DOVER, DOVRAY, DOWNER, DULUTH, DUMONT, DUNDAS, DUNDEE, DUNNELL, DUQUETTE, E GRAND FORKS, E GULL LAKE, EAGAN, EAGLE BEND, EAGLE LAKE, EAST BETHEL, EAST GRAND FORKS, EAST GULL LAKE, EASTON, ECHO, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDEN VALLEY, EDGERTON, EDINA, EFFIE, EITZEN, ELBOW LAKE, ELDRED, ELGIN, ELIZABETH, ELK RIVER, ELKO, ELKO NEW MARKET, ELKO NEW MRKT, ELKTON, ELLENDALE, ELLSWORTH, ELMDALE, ELMORE, ELROSA, ELY, ELYSIAN, EMBARRASS, EMILY, EMMONS, ERHARD, ERSKINE, ESKO, ESSIG, EUCLID, EVAN, EVANSVILLE, EVELETH, EXCELSIOR, EYOTA, FAIRFAX, FAIRMONT, FALCON HEIGHTS, FALCON HGTS, FARIBAULT, FARMINGTON, FARWELL, FEDERAL DAM, FELTON, FERGUS FALLS, FERTILE, FIFTY LAKES, FINLAND, FINLAYSON, FISHER, FLENSBURG, FLOM, FLOODWOOD, FLORENCE, FOLEY, FORADA, FORBES, FOREST LAKE, FORESTON, FORT RIPLEY, FORT SNELLING, FOSSTON, FOUNTAIN, FOXHOME, FRANKLIN, FRAZEE, FREEBORN, FREEPORT, FRIDLEY, FRONTENAC, FROST, FULDA, GARDEN CITY, GARFIELD, GARRISON, GARVIN, GARY, GATZKE, GAYLORD, GENEVA, GEORGETOWN, GHEEN, GHENT, GIBBON, GILBERT, GILMAN, GLENCOE, GLENVILLE, GLENWOOD, GLYNDON, GOLDEN VALLEY, GOOD THUNDER, GOODHUE, GOODLAND, GOODRIDGE, GOODVIEW, GRACEVILLE, GRANADA, GRAND MARAIS, GRAND MEADOW, GRAND PORTAGE, GRAND RAPIDS, GRANDY, GRANGER, GRANITE FALLS, GRASSTON, GREEN ISLE, GREENBUSH, GREENWALD, GREENWOOD, GREY EAGLE, GROVE CITY, GRYGLA, GULLY, HACKENSACK, HADLEY, HALLOCK, HALMA, HALSTAD, HAM LAKE, HAMBURG, HAMEL, HAMMOND, HAMPTON, HANCOCK, HANLEY FALLS, HANOVER, HANSKA, HARDING, HARDWICK, HARMONY, HARRIS, HARTLAND, HASTINGS, HATFIELD, HAWICK, HAWLEY, HAYFIELD, HAYWARD, HAZEL RUN, HECTOR, HEIDELBERG, HENDERSON, HENDRICKS, HENDRUM, HENNING, HENRIETTE, HERMAN, HERMANTOWN, HERON LAKE, HEWITT, HIBBING, HILL CITY, HILLMAN, HILLS, HILLTOP, HINCKLEY, HINES, HITTERDAL, HOFFMAN, HOKAH, HOLDINGFORD, HOLLAND, HOLLANDALE, HOLLOWAY, HOLMES CITY, HOLT, HOLYOKE, HOMER, HOPE, HOPKINS, HOUSTON, HOVLAND, HOWARD LAKE, HOYT LAKES, HUGO, HUMBOLDT, HUNTLEY, HUTCHINSON, IHLEN, INDEPENDENCE, INTERNATIONAL FALLS, INTL FALLS, INVER GROVE, INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, IONA, IRON, IRON JUNCTION, IRONTON, ISABELLA, ISANTI, ISLE, IVANHOE, JACKSON, JACOBSON, JANESVILLE, JASPER, JEFFERS, JENKINS, JOHNSON, JORDAN, KABETOGAMA, KANARANZI, KANDIYOHI, KARLSTAD, KASOTA, KASSON, KEEWATIN, KELLIHER, KELLOGG, KELLY LAKE, KELSEY, KENNEDY, KENNETH, KENSINGTON, KENT, KENYON, KERKHOVEN, KERRICK, KETTLE RIVER, KIESTER, KILKENNY, KIMBALL, KINBRAE, KINGSTON, KINNEY, KLOSSNER, KNIFE RIVER, LA CRESCENT, LA SALLE, LAFAYETTE, LAKE BENTON, LAKE BRONSON, LAKE CITY, LAKE CRYSTAL, LAKE ELMO, LAKE GEORGE, LAKE HENRY, LAKE HUBERT, LAKE ITASCA, LAKE LILLIAN, LAKE PARK, LAKE SHORE, LAKE ST CROIX BEACH, LAKE WILSON, LAKEFIELD, LAKELAND, LAKELAND SHORES, LAKELAND SHRS, LAKEVILLE, LAMBERTON, LANCASTER, LANDFALL VILLAGE, LANDFALL VLG, LANESBORO, LANSING, LAPORTE, LASTRUP, LAUDERDALE, LE CENTER, LE ROY, LE SUEUR, LENGBY, LEONARD, LEOTA, LESTER PR, LESTER PRAIRIE, LEWISTON, LEWISVILLE, LINDSTROM, LINO LAKES, LISMORE, LITCHFIELD, LITTLE CANADA, LITTLE FALLS, LITTLE MARAIS, LITTLE SAUK, LITTLEFORK, LOCKHART, LOMAN, LONDON, LONG BEACH, LONG LAKE, LONG PRAIRIE, LONGVILLE, LONSDALE, LORETTO, LOUISBURG, LOWRY, LUCAN, LUTSEN, LUVERNE, LYLE, LYND, MABEL, MADELIA, MADISON, MADISON LAKE, MAGNOLIA, MAHNOMEN, MAHTOMEDI, MAHTOWA, MAKINEN, MANCHESTER, MANHATTAN BCH, MANHATTAN BEACH, MANKATO, MANTORVILLE, MAPLE GROVE, MAPLE LAKE, MAPLE PLAIN, MAPLETON, MAPLEVIEW, MAPLEWOOD, MARBLE, MARCELL, MARGIE, MARIETTA, MARINE ON SAINT CROIX, MARINE ST CRX, MARKVILLE, MARSHALL, MAX, MAYER, MAYNARD, MAZEPPA, MC GRATH, MCGREGOR, MCINTOSH, MCKINLEY, MEADOWLANDS, MEDFORD, MEDICINE LAKE, MEDINA, MEIRE GROVE, MELROSE, MELRUDE, MENAHGA, MENDOTA, MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MENDOTA HTS, MENTOR, MERIDEN, MERRIFIELD, MIDDLE RIVER, MILACA, MILAN, MILLERVILLE, MILLVILLE, MILROY, MILTONA, MINETONKA BCH, MINETONKA MLS, MINN CITY, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNEISKA, MINNEOTA, MINNESOTA CITY, MINNESOTA LAKE, MINNESOTA LK, MINNETNKA BCH, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA BEACH, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MONTEVIDEO, MONTGOMERY, MONTICELLO, MONTROSE, MOORHEAD, MOOSE LAKE, MORA, MORGAN, MORRIS, MORRISTOWN, MORTON, MOTLEY, MOUND, MOUNDS VIEW, MOUNDSVIEW, MOUNTAIN IRON, MOUNTAIN LAKE, MURDOCK, MYRTLE, N SAINT PAUL, NASHUA, NASHWAUK, NASSAU, NAVARRE, NAYTAHWAUSH, NELSON, NERSTRAND, NETT LAKE, NEVIS, NEW AUBURN, NEW BRIGHTON, NEW GERMANY, NEW HOPE, NEW LONDON, NEW MARKET, NEW MUNICH, NEW PRAGUE, NEW RICHLAND, NEW TRIER, NEW ULM, NEW YORK MILLS, NEW YORK MLS, NEWFOLDEN, NEWPORT, NICOLLET, NICOLVILLE, NIELSVILLE, NIMROD, NISSWA, NO OAKS, NORCROSS, NORTH BRANCH, NORTH MANKATO, NORTH OAKS, NORTH REDWOOD, NORTH SAINT PAUL, NORTH ST PAUL, NORTHFIELD, NORTHOME, NORTHROP, NORWOOD, NORWOOD YOUNG AMERICA, NOWTHEN, NOYES, NYA, OAK GROVE, OAK ISLAND, OAK PARK, OAK PARK HEIGHTS, OAK PARK HGTS, OAK PARK HTS, OAKDALE, OAKLAND, ODESSA, ODIN, OGEMA, OGILVIE, OKABENA, OKLEE, OLIVIA, ONAMIA, ORLEANS, ORMSBY, ORONO, ORONOCO, ORR, ORTONVILLE, OSAGE, OSAKIS, OSLO, OSSEO, OSTRANDER, OTISCO, OTSEGO, OTTERTAIL, OUTING, PALISADE, PARK RAPIDS, PARKERS PR, PARKERS PRAIRIE, PARKVILLE, PAYNESVILLE, PEASE, PEL RAPIDS, PELICAN RAPIDS, PEMBERTON, PENCER, PENGILLY, PENNINGTON, PENNOCK, PEQUOT LAKES, PERHAM, PERLEY, PETERSON, PIERZ, PILLAGER, PINE CITY, PINE ISLAND, PINE RIVER, PINE SPRINGS, PINEWOOD, PIPESTONE, PITT, PLAINVIEW, PLATO, PLUMMER, PLYMOUTH, PONEMAH, PONSFORD, PORTER, PRESTON, PRINCETON, PRINSBURG, PRIOR LAKE, PROCTOR, PUPOSKY, RACINE, RADIUM, RAMSEY, RANDALL, RANDOLPH, RANIER, RAY, RAYMOND, READING, READS LANDING, RED LAKE FALLS, RED WING, REDBY, REDLAKE, REDWOOD FALLS, REGAL, REMER, RENVILLE, REVERE, RICE, RICHFIELD, RICHMOND, RICHVILLE, RICHWOOD, RIVERTON, RL FALLS, ROBBINSDALE, ROCHERT, ROCHESTER, ROCK CREEK, ROCKFORD, ROCKVILLE, ROGERS, ROLLAG, ROLLINGSTONE, RONNEBY, ROOSEVELT, ROSCOE, ROSE CREEK, ROSEAU, ROSEMOUNT, ROSEVILLE, ROSS, ROTHSAY, ROUND LAKE, ROYALTON, RUSH CITY, RUSHFORD, RUSHFORD VILLAGE, RUSHFORD VLG, RUSHMORE, RUSSELL, RUTHTON, RUTLEDGE, S INTL FALLS, SABIN, SACRED HEART, SAGINAW, SAINT ANTHONY, SAINT AUGUSTA, SAINT BONIFACIUS, SAINT CHARLES, SAINT CLAIR, SAINT CLOUD, SAINT FRANCIS, SAINT HILAIRE, SAINT JAMES, SAINT JOSEPH, SAINT LEO, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT MARTIN, SAINT MICHAEL, SAINT PAUL, SAINT PAUL PARK, SAINT PETER, SAINT STEPHEN, SAINT VINCENT, SALOL, SANBORN, SANDSTONE, SANTIAGO, SARGEANT, SARTELL, SAUK CENTRE, SAUK RAPIDS, SAUM, SAVAGE, SAWYER, SCANDIA, SCHROEDER, SEAFORTH, SEARLES, SEBEKA, SEDAN, SHAFER, SHAKOPEE, SHELLY, SHERBURN, SHEVLIN, SHOREVIEW, SIDE LAKE, SILVER BAY, SILVER CREEK, SILVER LAKE, SKYLINE, SLAYTON, SLEEPY EYE, SOBIESKI, SOLWAY, SOUDAN, SOUTH HAVEN, SOUTH INTERNATIONAL FALLS, SOUTH SAINT PAUL, SOUTH ST PAUL, SPICER, SPRING GROVE, SPRING HILL, SPRING LAKE, SPRING LAKE PARK, SPRING LK PK, SPRING PARK, SPRING VALLEY, SPRINGFIELD, SQUAW LAKE, ST BONIFACIUS, ST CROIX BCH, ST CROIX BEACH, ST LOUIS PARK, ST MARYS POINT, ST MARYS PT, ST PAUL PARK, ST ROSA, STACY, STANCHFIELD, STANTON, STAPLES, STARBUCK, STEEN, STEPHEN, STEWART, STEWARTVILLE, STILLWATER, STOCKTON, STORDEN, STRANDQUIST, STRATHCONA, STURGEON LAKE, SUNBURG, SUNFISH LAKE, SVEA, SWAN RIVER, SWANVILLE, SWATARA, SWIFT, TACONITE, TALMOON, TAMARACK, TAOPI, TAUNTON, TAYLORS FALLS, TENNEY, TENSTRIKE, THEILMAN, THIEF RIVER FALLS, THIEF RVR FLS, TINTAH, TOFTE, TOGO, TOIVOLA, TOWER, TRACY, TRAIL, TRIMONT, TROSKY, TRUMAN, TURTLE RIVER, TWIG, TWIN LAKES, TWIN VALLEY, TWO HARBORS, TYLER, ULEN, UNDERWOOD, UPSALA, UTICA, VADNAIS HEIGHTS, VADNAIS HTS, VERDI, VERGAS, VERMILLION, VERNDALE, VERNON CENTER, VESELI, VESTA, VICTORIA, VIKING, VILLARD, VINING, VIOLA, VIRGINIA, W LAKELAND, W SAINT PAUL, W ST PAUL, WABASHA, WABASSO, WACONIA, WADENA, WAHKON, WAITE PARK, WALDORF, WALKER, WALNUT GROVE, WALTERS, WALTHAM, WANAMINGO, WANDA, WANNASKA, WARBA, WARREN, WARROAD, WARSAW, WASECA, WASKISH, WATERTOWN, WATERVILLE, WATKINS, WATSON, WAUBUN, WAVERLY, WAWINA, WAYZATA, WEBSTER, WELCH, WELCOME, WELLS, WENDELL, WEST CONCORD, WEST LAKELAND, WEST SAINT PAUL, WEST ST PAUL, WEST UNION, WESTBROOK, WESTPORT, WHALAN, WHEATON, WHIPHOLT, WHITE BEAR LAKE, WHITE BEAR LK, WHITE BEAR TOWNSHIP, WHITE BEAR TP, WHITE EARTH, WILDER, WILLERNIE, WILLIAMS, WILLMAR, WILLOW RIVER, WILMONT, WILTON, WINDOM, WINGER, WINNEBAGO, WINONA, WINSTED, WINTHROP, WINTON, WIRT, WOLF LAKE, WOLVERTON, WOOD LAKE, WOODBURY, WOODSTOCK, WORTHINGTON, WRENSHALL, WRIGHT, WYKOFF, WYOMING, YOUNG AMERICA, ZIM, ZIMMERMAN, ZUMBRO FALLS & ZUMBROTA, MN.
Alternate Business Names
Gaughan Construction Gaughan Development Gaughan Enterprises Inc Gaughan Leasing Gaughan Maintenance Gaughan Management Gaughan Properties Gaughan Real Estate
Products & Services

According to information provided by the business, Gaughan Companies specializes in Commercial Real Estate & Sales, Landlord Representation, Tenant Representation, Property Management, Business Brokerage & Sales, Construction & Maintenance, Homeowners Association Management & Mulitfamily Housing.

Industry Tips
Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Additional Locations

  • 1935 W. County Rd B2
    Suite 330

    Saint Paul, MN 55113

  • 56 E Broadway Ave STE 200

    Forest Lake, MN 55025 (651) 464-5700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/20/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
3/7/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The property manager failed to handle a request for reasonable accommodation for a service animal and has unreasonably given me two violations. When I sent in my request the property manager did not call or email me back for four days even though I attempted to call her approximately 12 - 15 times. When she finally answered she sent me an email about a companion animal and asked me to fill it out. I had already informed her a companion animal and a service animal are two different things. I ended up having to print out the act, highlight it and take it in to make sure the situation was clear. After I received a call from a psychologist stating that they called asked for a letter as to why I needed a larger dog. By law I am allowed to have whatever breed size or height I decide on. I ended up informing the property manager that she had till five pm that day to confirm or deny my request or I would contact a lawyer. Legally I would be well within my rights to sue due to discrimination. Since I have gotten my dog there have been two first time incidents for which I was given a violation. The first, it was two weeks after the dog arrived, I was going out to visit with friends as it was my birthday the week prior when I received a call saying that the dog was whining. I wasn't aware that she whined when I was gone so I automatically turned around canceled on my friends and spent over $100 solving the issue. Since the first incident I have had no issue with her whining. The second, my apartment door doesn't always stay closed and will randomly open on it's own and the dog walked out into the apartment without my roommates knowledge as I wasn't home at the time and the landlord brought her back. Both are one time incidents and I have made every effort to make sure they don't happen.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting either they release from my lease without charging me and full refund on my deposit as if the lease had come to an end or removing the violations and cease their discriminatory behavior.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2016/02/25) */ ***Document Attached*** I did receive a request for a service animal and processed the request in a timely manner. The resident was given rules at the time of the approval. The two violations received were a result of not following the companion/service animal rules. In the rules, section 5., it states, "When the dog is not in my apartment/townhouse, the dog must be on a leash. My dog is not allowed to run free in the indoor or outdoor common areas." In section 6. it states, "Acts of aggression toward persons or interference with other tenants' peaceful enjoyment of the premises is not allowed. In section 8 it states, "Failure to comply with any of the above rules will constitute a lease violation and can result in the termination of your tenancy." Attached is the rules signed by *****. We are not discriminating in any way. We will not release anyone free and clear from their lease. I will get in contact with ***** to discuss the issue at hand and come to a resolution.

9/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was given word by property manager that we were good to go when buying a house. Now the property says we owe them the rest of our lease money. The following is the exact letter we emailed to Gaughan Companies after we found out that they claimed we still owed the money... To whom it may concern, ********** and *************** are two tenants from Oakmont apartments. -We moved into Oakmont Apartments, Apt. 209, June 1st 2013. -We asked Bill from Oakmont apartments multiple times for a copy of our signed lease agreement... No copy was ever provided to us. -Multiple conversations were had between Bill, **** and I about potentially moving out in the future because we were planning on buying a house and Bill told us, "people do that all the time," and also, "he doesn't see a problem with that." -December 6th, 2013 we verbally gave notification to Bill that we would be moving out in January. At that time he stated, "it wouldn't be a problem, since you gave 60 days notice." -December 27th we wrote a note to Bill stating, "**** and ******* will be moving out January 10-11th, as stated earlier this month in our conversation" and again, Bill told us that it wouldn't be a problem. -January 10-11th we were completely moved out. -Monday, January 12th we met with Bill to return our keys. -Now, we are being told we owe the full amount of our lease and we won't be getting our security deposit. After further consultation with an attorney we need the following before we will pay any monies to Gaughan Companies: -We need a written copy of the signed lease agreement stating that we have to pay rent back after termination of our lease. -Highlight the area(s) that state how much we have to pay back our rent after giving a substantial notice (60 days) of moving out. -After the lease is reviewed and verification is shown we do, in fact need to pay out the rest of our lease, we will pay the money owed in payments until a resident resides in Apartment 209 or until our lease is up, whichever comes first. If this documentation cannot be provided to us by February 10th, 2014, we will consider this dispute annulled. -If harassment persists, we will be contacting the Better Business Bureau and/or Attorney General. -We look forward to your reply and a resolution to our problem and will wait until February 17th, 2014 before seeking help from the Better Business Bureau or the Attorney General. That finished the letter. They did not honor their side and they continued to harass us. We do not feel we owe them the money because we tried everything to get out of our lease the proper way. Their employee Bill (Property Manager) promised us we did, in fact, do it the correct way. They need to properly educate their employees so that more people don't get trapped similarity to us. That was an example of bad service provided by their employee and we should not be held accountable for their employee's lack of doing his job properly. Especially more than 2 years after the fact, whe it was understood by us that this dispute was over.

Desired Settlement: We do not want to pay them the money. It was their responsibility to educate their employee and provide us with a copy of he lease so that we could review the proper way to terminate the lease. They never provided a lease to us during our stay at the apartment. All we had to go off of was their property manager's word. We don't want to be harassed by them any more.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/27) */ We received the complaint and after reviewing this is what we found. *************** & ********** moved into Oakmont Apartments on June 1st, 2013. They signed a one year lease which would have ended May 31st,2014. In the lease it states in section D. under TERMINATION OF LEASE WITH SPECIFIED ENDING DATE, "if resident wishes to move out of the apartment on the date this lease ends, Resident must give Management prior written notice equal to the notice period (60 days)." It also states in section D. labeled MOVING OUT BEFORE LEASE ENDS that "if Resident moves out of the apartment before the date this lease ends, Resident is responsible for rent for the duration of this lease or until the apartment is reoccupied and any other losses, Resident further agrees to pay an administrative fee of $200 plus any other costs associated with breaking this lease and as outlined elsewhere in the body of this lease." They had stated they talked with Bill, who was the On-Site Manager at the time but unfortunately they are still held responsible to their lease terms. We do apologize if there was any miscommunication. They were charged out the remainder of their lease for rent but someone did move into that unit on April 26, 2014 so we did credit them back $1,066 for future rent charges that was previously charged. They could have contacted someone in the corporate office to ask about the stipulations of their lease if they were not getting answers from the on site management. The balance owed on their account is true and accurate.

7/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company still has not provided full association records for time period Gaughan managed my property/association. When we transitioned to a new property management company in April I was told that I would be provided full records (for the entire period Gaughan managed my association) electronically after asking for this. I was told March 31 by David ******* that it should be a few more days before our records could be sent to us on a USB since bank reconciliation had to take place. I sent follow up messages to both him and my former property manager in April and never heard back from either or received any records over 2 months after the last communication received.

Desired Settlement: I would like all records for my association for the entire time period that Gaughan companies managed for us electronically and also the physical records that we were charged storage fees for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/10) */ Juan, all records were picked up by your current management company on April 10, 2015. Your current company signed for the items that were picked up. Much like the termination letter Gaughan Companies sent to your residence back in December, that was never received, it sounds like the USB drive has not made it either. We will send another USB drive today, June 10th 2015 via certified mail. We wish you the best. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I asked for a copy of all files for the time period Gaughan was my association management company (December 2011-March 2015) and was told in March I would be provided these via USB back in April (due to bank reconciliation). In the same request I stated that this should be sent to a BUSINESS address provided and NOT my residence since I will not be home to sign for it. Please send this to the BUSINESS address in Minneapolis provided. I followed up regarding this request in April and received no response over the following month indicating it was sent or confirmation for what had been sent. I do not think would have been unreasonable to ask to confirm or provide that since communicated that I had not received it well after it should have arrived in a reasonable amount of time. As with the termination letter referenced in the response (but not initial complaint), no certified mail confirmation was ever provided (even when asked) although an extension was promptly granted in the case of the termination since this was also never officially communicated. Though I had been in communication with my property manager who only mentioned the termination after I complained about service. For the record, no other communications (less important) I was to receive from Gaughan had ever been lost throughout the time we had Gaughan (3+ years) for property management when they were sent. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2015/06/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I received the USB with my association's files. From this was missing the following records which were to be provided per my association's management contract with Gaughan: 1. Correspondence or communications sent to homeowners regarding notification of violations of bylaws and (homeowner responses), account delinquency notices or late letters. If there is a log of when homeowners contacted the management company or for what purpose that would be helpful as well. 2. Onsite monthly inspection reports. 3. Correspondence related to any payment arrangements as well as any collections proceedings/documentation to recover past due funds. Please provide the above records to complete this request. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2015/07/02) */ The requested information would have been part of the information sent to the new management company. We will provide these documents, which have now been archived, on a USB drive. This USB drive will be mailed via Certified Mail on Thursday, July 2nd 2015 to the address listed on this request.

12/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received a bill for $34 for refrigerator on 8/21/2014, was damaged upon move in. Was noted on back of move in check list. My boyfriend and I received a bill in the amount of $34 for a refrigerator crisper tray on 8/21/2014. Upon move in this was discussed with then taker *** on 2/21/12 He noted that it was needed for the apartment on the back on the move in check list, but not on the front. He also wrote a note about a sink stopper that was needed along with stating that the tub faucet was loose, the two items were fixed but not the crisper tray, which we were told there were extra parts for but never received. I have wrote 2 maint. notes about this issue stating that this was like this upon move in. Talking with ***** ******** about this issue on 8/21/2014 at 1:43 PM. Was told she could make a copy of what the then caretaker wrote on the BACK on the move in check list and bring it to the Forest Lake office. I then brought the move in checklist to the Forest Lake office at 2:00 PM on 8/21/2014 and was told they needed to speak with ****** which I had already did. The end of the conversation at the office was that ***** was going to look over this tomorrow (8/22/2014) and decide if I need to pay for an item that was damaged upon move in and was not properly noted by the caretaker on the move in check list. The fridge is still not fixed, and we are vacating on 8/31/2014 and the item still has not been replaced and I do not for see it being fixed by the time we vacate.

Desired Settlement: Would like the bill for $34 be taken off from our name. In no way was it our fault the caretaker did not write the damage in the proper spot, the item has not been fixed or replaced in 2 years and we are moving on 8/31/2014.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/22) */ We have reviewed and adjusted the account in the amount of $34.00. If I can assist you further please do not hesitate to contact myself or the Assistant Property Manager ****** ****** at XXX-XXX-XXXX.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Gaughan Companies
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)