BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/25/2012

Gaughan Companies

Find a Location

(651) 464-570056 E Broadway Ave STE 200, Forest LakeMN 55025-1660 Send email to Gaughan Companies

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


The Gaughan Companies is a Full Service Commercial Real Estate Firm founded in 1969.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/25/2012

BBB has determined that Gaughan Companies meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Gaughan Companies' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Gaughan Companies

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
08/28/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Received a bill for $34 for refrigerator on 8/21/2014, was damaged upon move in. Was noted on back of move in check list.
My boyfriend and I received a bill in the amount of $34 for a refrigerator crisper tray on 8/21/2014. Upon move in this was discussed with then taker *** on 2/21/12 He noted that it was needed for the apartment on the back on the move in check list, but not on the front. He also wrote a note about a sink stopper that was needed along with stating that the tub faucet was loose, the two items were fixed but not the crisper tray, which we were told there were extra parts for but never received. I have wrote 2 maint. notes about this issue stating that this was like this upon move in. Talking with ***** ******** about this issue on 8/21/2014 at 1:43 PM. Was told she could make a copy of what the then caretaker wrote on the BACK on the move in check list and bring it to the Forest Lake office. I then brought the move in checklist to the Forest Lake office at 2:00 PM on 8/21/2014 and was told they needed to speak with ****** which I had already did. The end of the conversation at the office was that ***** was going to look over this tomorrow (8/22/2014) and decide if I need to pay for an item that was damaged upon move in and was not properly noted by the caretaker on the move in check list. The fridge is still not fixed, and we are vacating on 8/31/2014 and the item still has not been replaced and I do not for see it being fixed by the time we vacate.

Desired Settlement
Would like the bill for $34 be taken off from our name. In no way was it our fault the caretaker did not write the damage in the proper spot, the item has not been fixed or replaced in 2 years and we are moving on 8/31/2014.

Business Response
We have reviewed and adjusted the account in the amount of $34.00. If I can assist you further please do not hesitate to contact myself or the Assistant Property Manager ****** ****** at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

10/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Apartment complex, Sunrise Court Apartments, attempt to scam money and failed to address concerns or respond to complaints.
I gave a written notice to vacate my apartment on 1/29/13, lease ending on 5/31/13. I received a response that my notice was invalid with no explanation as to why. On 3/29 I found a note on my door stating that they were automatically renewing lease and increasing my rent. I again wrote that I had already given my written notice to vacate. Meanwhile I had moved out because of harassment from the landlord. On 4/4/13 I wrote an official complaint to the business regarding these issues. I left my forwarding address on all letters. I never received a response so I assumed that my request to finish my lease on 5/31 was acceptable. However, on 5/30 when I arrived to gather the last of my belongings and do touch up cleaning I found my locks changed. I again wrote a letter that evening after leaving a note with the landlord that he cannot lock me out and demanded my items. That night I received a call from ********** stating that she had attempted to contact me "several weeks ago." I never received a call or message. I have NEVER received anything written from the company or landlord. Arrangements were made to retrieve items the next day. I found my items thrown in a box with garbage that destroyed some items inside, and the outside of my plastic storage full of sticky greasy substance. My belongings had been moved outside to a storage garage and I have no idea how long. I was denied the right to complete my cleaning a do a walkthrough and now the company is charging me ridiculous charges and sent the account to collections. The charges include $48 in drip pans for a stove top (items that are much cheaper at any hardware store or Menards), $25 for garbage removal (which was thrown in my box of belongings, $100 for tenant item removal and storage (which I was denied access to remove them myself as they were removed before the end of the lease), $150 for 6 hours of cleaning. This is ridiculous because my witnesses that helped me move will agree that the only room that I hadn't got to cleaning was the dining room where I was storing the last of my belongings. The bedroom, bathroom, and kitchen were cleaned by myself and my fiancé. Not only did they keep my security deposit of $350 but are charging me a total of $806.75. This was by far the worst rental experience I have ever had and I will never use Gaughan Companies again or recommend them to anyone.

Desired Settlement
I ask that the company contact me regarding a settlement and reduce these obnoxious charges and also stop collections. I seek an apology from the business for all the time and stress that they have put me through.

Business Response
This prior Resident finally sent the signed agreement (see attached) back to us along with a payment for the amount agreed upon so this matter has been fully cleared. We had spoke on the phone about this matter. Please ensure that this matter will be cleared for us.

09/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Was given word by property manager that we were good to go when buying a house. Now the property says we owe them the rest of our lease money.
The following is the exact letter we emailed to Gaughan Companies after we found out that they claimed we still owed the money...

To whom it may concern,

********** and *************** are two tenants from Oakmont apartments.
-We moved into Oakmont Apartments, Apt. 209, June 1st 2013.
-We asked Bill from Oakmont apartments multiple times for a copy of our signed lease agreement... No copy was ever provided to us.
-Multiple conversations were had between Bill, **** and I about potentially moving out in the future because we were planning on buying a house and Bill told us, "people do that all the time," and also, "he doesn't see a problem with that."
-December 6th, 2013 we verbally gave notification to Bill that we would be moving out in January. At that time he stated, "it wouldn't be a problem, since you gave 60 days notice."
-December 27th we wrote a note to Bill stating, "**** and ******* will be moving out January 10-11th, as stated earlier this month in our conversation" and again, Bill told us that it wouldn't be a problem.
-January 10-11th we were completely moved out.
-Monday, January 12th we met with Bill to return our keys.
-Now, we are being told we owe the full amount of our lease and we won't be getting our security deposit.

After further consultation with an attorney we need the following before we will pay any monies to Gaughan Companies:
-We need a written copy of the signed lease agreement stating that we have to pay rent back after termination of our lease.
-Highlight the area(s) that state how much we have to pay back our rent after giving a substantial notice (60 days) of moving out.
-After the lease is reviewed and verification is shown we do, in fact need to pay out the rest of our lease, we will pay the money owed in payments until a resident resides in Apartment 209 or until our lease is up, whichever comes first.

If this documentation cannot be provided to us by February 10th, 2014, we will consider this dispute annulled.
-If harassment persists, we will be contacting the Better Business Bureau and/or Attorney General.
-We look forward to your reply and a resolution to our problem and will wait until February 17th, 2014 before seeking help from the Better Business Bureau or the Attorney General.

That finished the letter. They did not honor their side and they continued to harass us. We do not feel we owe them the money because we tried everything to get out of our lease the proper way. Their employee Bill (Property Manager) promised us we did, in fact, do it the correct way. They need to properly educate their employees so that more people don't get trapped similarity to us.

That was an example of bad service provided by their employee and we should not be held accountable for their employee's lack of doing his job properly. Especially more than 2 years after the fact, whe it was understood by us that this dispute was over.

Desired Settlement
We do not want to pay them the money. It was their responsibility to educate their employee and provide us with a copy of he lease so that we could review the proper way to terminate the lease. They never provided a lease to us during our stay at the apartment. All we had to go off of was their property manager's word. We don't want to be harassed by them any more.

Business Response
We received the complaint and after reviewing this is what we found. *************** & ********** moved into Oakmont Apartments on June 1st, 2013. They signed a one year lease which would have ended May 31st,2014. In the lease it states in section D. under TERMINATION OF LEASE WITH SPECIFIED ENDING DATE, "if resident wishes to move out of the apartment on the date this lease ends, Resident must give Management prior written notice equal to the notice period (60 days)." It also states in section D. labeled MOVING OUT BEFORE LEASE ENDS that "if Resident moves out of the apartment before the date this lease ends, Resident is responsible for rent for the duration of this lease or until the apartment is reoccupied and any other losses, Resident further agrees to pay an administrative fee of $200 plus any other costs associated with breaking this lease and as outlined elsewhere in the body of this lease." They had stated they talked with Bill, who was the On-Site Manager at the time but unfortunately they are still held responsible to their lease terms. We do apologize if there was any miscommunication. They were charged out the remainder of their lease for rent but someone did move into that unit on April 26, 2014 so we did credit them back $1,066 for future rent charges that was previously charged. They could have contacted someone in the corporate office to ask about the stipulations of their lease if they were not getting answers from the on site management. The balance owed on their account is true and accurate.

07/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Company still has not provided full association records for time period Gaughan managed my property/association.
When we transitioned to a new property management company in April I was told that I would be provided full records (for the entire period Gaughan managed my association) electronically after asking for this. I was told March 31 by David ******* that it should be a few more days before our records could be sent to us on a USB since bank reconciliation had to take place. I sent follow up messages to both him and my former property manager in April and never heard back from either or received any records over 2 months after the last communication received.

Desired Settlement
I would like all records for my association for the entire time period that Gaughan companies managed for us electronically and also the physical records that we were charged storage fees for.

Business Response
Juan, all records were picked up by your current management company on April 10, 2015. Your current company signed for the items that were picked up.

Much like the termination letter Gaughan Companies sent to your residence back in December, that was never received, it sounds like the USB drive has not made it either. We will send another USB drive today, June 10th 2015 via certified mail.

We wish you the best.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I asked for a copy of all files for the time period Gaughan was my association management company (December 2011-March 2015) and was told in March I would be provided these via USB back in April (due to bank reconciliation). In the same request I stated that this should be sent to a BUSINESS address provided and NOT my residence since I will not be home to sign for it. Please send this to the BUSINESS address in Minneapolis provided.

I followed up regarding this request in April and received no response over the following month indicating it was sent or confirmation for what had been sent. I do not think would have been unreasonable to ask to confirm or provide that since communicated that I had not received it well after it should have arrived in a reasonable amount of time.

As with the termination letter referenced in the response (but not initial complaint), no certified mail confirmation was ever provided (even when asked) although an extension was promptly granted in the case of the termination since this was also never officially communicated. Though I had been in communication with my property manager who only mentioned the termination after I complained about service. For the record, no other communications (less important) I was to receive from Gaughan had ever been lost throughout the time we had Gaughan (3+ years) for property management when they were sent.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I received the USB with my association's files. From this was missing the following records which were to be provided per my association's management contract with Gaughan:

1. Correspondence or communications sent to homeowners regarding notification of violations of bylaws and (homeowner responses), account delinquency notices or late letters. If there is a log of when homeowners contacted the management company or for what purpose that would be helpful as well.
2. Onsite monthly inspection reports.
3. Correspondence related to any payment arrangements as well as any collections proceedings/documentation to recover past due funds.

Please provide the above records to complete this request.

Final Business Response
The requested information would have been part of the information sent to the new management company. We will provide these documents, which have now been archived, on a USB drive. This USB drive will be mailed via Certified Mail on Thursday, July 2nd 2015 to the address listed on this request.

12/01/2014Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management, Contractor - Commercial, Property Maintenance, Property Management - Industrial & Commercial, Real Estate - Commercial

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 05/27/2003Business started: 03/10/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Commerce
85 7th Pl E Ste 500
Saint Paul, MN 55101-6013
(651) 539-1500

Type of Entity


Incorporated: March 1997, MN

Contact Information
Principal: Karen Carlson (Controller) Patrick Gaughan (President) Monica Root (Administrative Assistant)
Business Category

Property Management, Contractor - Commercial, Property Maintenance, Property Management - Industrial & Commercial, Real Estate - Commercial

Products & Services

According to information provided by the business, Gaughan Companies specializes in Commercial Real Estate & Sales, Landlord Representation, Tenant Representation, Property Management, Business Brokerage & Sales, Construction & Maintenance, Homeowners Association Management & Mulitfamily Housing.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 PM to 04:30 PMTue: 08:00 PM to 04:30 PMWed: 08:00 PM to 04:30 PMThu: 08:00 PM to 04:30 PMFri: 08:00 PM to 04:30 PM
Alternate Business Names
Gaughan Properties, Gaughan Enterprises Inc, Gaughan Construction, Gaughan Leasing, Gaughan Development, Gaughan Maintenance, Gaughan Real Estate, Gaughan Management, Gaughan Realty

If you choose to do business with Gaughan Companies, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Photos & Videos


1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Gaughan Companies

56 E Broadway Ave STE 200

Forest Lake, MN 55025-1660

To | From


2 Locations

  • 56 E Broadway Ave STE 200 

    Forest Lake, MN 55025-1660(651) 464-5700

  • 100 S 5th St Ste 410 

    Minneapolis, MN 55402-1229(612) 238-4400

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gaughan Companies is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Property Management


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.