BBB Accredited Business since

Weld & Sons Plumbing Company

Phone: (763) 475-0296 Fax: (763) 475-2566 3410 Kilmer Ln N, Minneapolis, MN 55441 http://www.weldandsons.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Family owned and operated plumbing company, serving the metro area over 40 years. Services include repair work for faucets, toilets, leaking pipes, drain cleaning, etc. Also has crews for larger remodel projects. Upfront and honest pricing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Weld & Sons Plumbing Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Weld & Sons Plumbing Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Weld & Sons Plumbing Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 17, 1994 Business started: 02/17/1994 in MN Business started locally: 02/17/1994 Business incorporated 02/17/1994 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Don Weld, Owner / Manager Mark Davie, Owner / Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Don Weld, Owner / Manager
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Heaters - Repairing Pipe Pipe Reconditioning

Method(s) of Payment
All major credit cards accepted.
Alternate Business Names
Weld & Sons Drain Cleaning Weld & Sons Plumbing Weld & Sons Plumbing, Inc.
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Weld & Sons Plumbing Co., this company offers full service residential and light commercial plumbing and drain cleaning services.


Additional Locations

  • 3410 Kilmer Ln N

    Minneapolis, MN 55441 (763) 475-0296

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I believe that the I was overcharged for the labor of the service. I had a plumbing service call with Weld & Sons Plumbing (the Shop) on 6/11/2015. The reason for having this shop to fix the problem at the first place was due to that the shop claimed they would fix both the plumbing and any sheet rock/dry wall repair/restoration which would relate to the plumbing fix. The actual work on 6/11 was replacing the trap by opening up a small hole about 10 inches in diameter on the 3cm thin broad underneath of the trap. The worker did not repair the broad after the trap replacement as they promised. The whole thing took about one hour to finish including the cleanup of the working area and I later found the shop charged this job for one and a half hours of labor ($198 total based on $128 per hour). So I brought this issue to Mark, who was the one communicating with me via email for the job, on 6/17 and asked for a refund for the overcharged labor cost. I was told that the shop would get back to me after reviewing. But I have NOT heard of anything from this shop since then. (Today is 7/20!) This is my first time to use this shop for my home repair needs. But I am very disappointed with how they charged for the job and how they handled my complaint after the service. Again, I am seeking for a partial refund of $64.00 + applicable tax from this shop and most likely I will not use this shop for any my future plumbing needs.

Desired Settlement: i am seeking a refund of $64.00 + applicable tax

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/24) */ Mr. **** did contact us in regards to concerns about the billing and work completed. I explained to Mr. **** we would need to review the records and would get back to him. I needed to review the time sheets once turned in and look the job over. As for not completing the repair, this was done for the benefit of the customer. There was significant mold damage and it was explained this would need to be resolved before closing up the ceiling or else the mold would spread. As for the refund, I admit it has taken us a month to get the time sheets, & look things over but it was not forgotten. As far as I can see the plumber charged correctly for the time at the home (1.5 hours). We can send $64, credit for a half hour, but from our records this cuts into time we were working at the home. Thank You, Mark Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/07/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I believe that one hour labor charge for just replacing a drain trap is reasonable but NOT for the 1.5 hours. However, if the business is willing to offer a credit of $64 as they stated in the response in order to settle down this matter, I will accept it although we might still have differences over this issue.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Weld & Sons Plumbing Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)