BBB Accredited Business since

Neighborhood Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning

Additional Locations

Phone: (320) 968-7133 Fax: (320) 968-6351 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 278, Foley, MN 56329 http://www.4neighborhood.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Neighborhood Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Neighborhood Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

18 Customer Reviews on Neighborhood Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 17
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 18

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 23, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1947 in MN Business started locally: 01/01/1947
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
William Sherk, President Gary Gruba, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Gary Gruba, General Manager
Principal: William Sherk, President
Business Category

Plumbers

Alternate Business Names
Granite City Plumbing, Inc.
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Neighborhood Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning, this company offers sales and service for residential and commercial heating and cooling needs.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Neighborhood Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1060 35th Ave NE

    Sauk Rapids, MN 56379 (320) 251-7872

  • PO Box 278

    Foley, MN 56329 (320) 968-7133

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The serviceman who came to my house to fix the A/C system told use we needed to replace parts to" maybe" fix the problem, Or install a whole new unit. He showed us a test meter that checks for bad components, did the test in front of us, the test failed, so we assumed the compressor was bad, a major component. I decided we need a new unit. The serviceman then wrote up the work order to have a new unit installed after the weekend, and he need a down payment of half the total bill we gave him a check. After he left I got thinking about it, and something just did not feel right, so I checked to see if everything was put back together like it should be, it was, so I went and turned the A/C switch on," And It Worked," He tried to sell me something I didn't need to the tune of $4,770.54.

Desired Settlement: Stop selling services that are not need, do a fair and honest repair, do not steal ,cheat or lie to the customer. Treat your customer the way you want to be treated, FAIR AND HONEST.

Business Response:

Dear Laura,

   I am writing in response to the complaint filed by ***** ******,

***** ********* ****** North Branch, MN.   The case ID# is ********. 

Our service tech was called to the residence because the air conditioner was not working at the time.  Upon inspection of the unit he found that some of the electrical components were weak by using standard test methods.  Electrical components such as capacitors, contactors and compressors have specified readings that determine if they are in need of replacement or near failure. Because the tech found weak components, the option to replace parts to get the unit operational or to replace the unit because of its age were given.  The air conditioning unit is over 15 years old and the home owner was given the option to repair or replace.  They chose to replace the air conditioner.  The tech did reassemble the unit after testing and as stated the homeowner turned it on later and it worked.  With the initial call being the air conditioner was not operational and the diagnosis being weak components, I would believe that the unit will fail again soon and either repair or replacement will have to be done at that point.  The customers check was returned and he received the service of getting his air conditioner "working" again at no charge.  There was no intent of selling something not needed or misleading in any way.  An air conditioner that is 15 years old with weak electrical components will fail.

 

Gary *****

General Manager

Neighborhood Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

12/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unhappy with how the company had installed my heater, and how hard it is to get them to come back out to honor the warranty. We have a in floor heating system in our house. It originally had a hot water heater for heating the water for the in floor heat. We started having issues with out old hot water heater in march of 2012. In Oct of 2013 I called neighborhood plumbing to come out and look at the water heater. well the tech informed my wife that it had rotted out from over use, and that it would need to be replaced. I did some home work and found out that this was common with using domestic hot water heaters for in floor heat. They quoted me $4900 to instal a new tank less unit. Made a appointment, and they came out, and put it in. Seemed to work good at first, however it would drip water all over the place from the air inlet. The air inlet was added from sucking cold air in from outside. my old hot water heater just pump exhaust fumes outside, anyway tech came back out on time and installed a drain on the air intake. Couple weeks latter i started to hear a hissing sound from the pump, and noticed the heater was reving up and acting weird. we called, and this is when we started to have problems with them. My wife called to scheduled a appointment, and I took a day off work to be there this time. they called the day and time they were suppose to show up and canceled, and wanted to reschedule, and we did. In this time the heater could hardly keep up with warming the house to 65 degrees. Now they tried to cancel and reschedule this time too. my wife called and told the gal we need some one out here its not working right and she was pregnant at the time and wanted it fixed. I had scheduled another day off work so i could be there again, and the gal gave my wife attitude this time around, and seemed mad and said (well why are we coming out for anyway?) she told them again the problem. well they finally found a tech who came out and found we still had air in our system, and did what he needed to do to fix it. work good until the end of last winter and started to act up again. This year my wife scheduled a appointment to come out and do the maintenance that they recommended they had to do. Descaling? anyway we made the appointment 3 weeks in advance, and I took the time off work to be here. I get home and we receive a phone call that they cant make it and would have to reschedule. I would not even talk to them I was ferrous at this point. And to top matters off its got air pockets again and reving up on and off again. At this point im done with neighborhood, and I called the manufacturer of the tank less water heater, about this descaling. Well the tech there told me that the unit they installed was not recommended for In floor water heat, and said they made a boiler model at the time that should have been used. So great now im not sure if my warranty is good with the manufacturer. I have since learned that there is a device that catches air and releases it, and it should have been put on when they installed my system, and I also have problems with water condensation on the windows in the house. Yea in the middle of winter. Never had this before with the old heater, so great now my windows will rot out eventually too. So my problems with neighborhood are They will show up put something in, but when it comes to backing there work, or anything after they get your money it seems like they don't want anything to do with you at all. I also feel that they really dident know much about my heating system in the first place and may not have a the knowledge that I would have liked them to have had to do is job. Don't seem to understand when someone makes a appointment with them that someone took time off there job to be home when they where suppose to come out. Time off work is valuable to me, and really makes me mad when its wasted by someone who don't show up.

Desired Settlement: Come out get this heater hooked up right, and working right, and do your maintenance work you say it needs. Show up when you say you are going to show up, and stop rescheduling with us. Do what it take to make your customers happy instead of just getting there money and splitting.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/18) */ I have read the letter submitted by Mr ****** and have done the follow up to make sure things are handled in a time frame that will work with him and his schedule. When he called in for a annual tune up, it was a time when many people turned their heat on for the first time of the year. Many systems were not working at all and need to move up on the priority system. We do everything we can to work with peoples schedules but can get overbooked with emergencies at times. When Mr ****** called, he had requested a tune up on one of our discount coupons. I will have the tune up done at his home at no charge and take care of any repairs that the technician recommends. I have left a message for Mr ****** to call and will work around whatever his schedule is to get things done. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) neighborhood plumbing seems to be missing the point of why im upset here. This has happened more then once. why im mad is i had problems with this last year after they put this new system in. The first time it was leaking water all over. they came out and fixed it right away. Second time when it had air pockets in the lines when it was a more serious problem, and could not heat the house then we had the problems with the rescheduling thing. Anyway I have explained things in my complaint. The person form neighborhood needs to reread my complaint and get the whole picture of why im upset. What set me over the edge was the last no show, and i wanted to learn about the descaling so I called a tech at the manufacturer of my heater and they told me my unit was not the one that was suppose to be used for my in floor heat. He said he had heard of this unit being used for it but it should have been a boiler used instead. I paid $4900 for this system. Thats a lot of money, and this response upsets me even more. we scheduled this 3 weeks in advance, and your response is what you replied above. To me it sounds like (well your not that important anymore) Okay you have more than one tech available send that one. I understand you get busy. so dose everyone else. Have someone on duty for these type of jobs. Also what i find funny is my wife called and said we needed the yearly maintenance done, and i her husband wanted to be here to ask some questions. The questions i had is way nothing was ever used to catch air and my system. Your above response is I called? I never called my wife did. My name is MR ****** Not MR ****** There seems to be a lack of attention to detail here. If you want to make this right then come out do the descaling. Fix the air pocket problem i got. Show up when you say you will. Give me no problems. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/12/04) */ A resolution to this case was made by my assistant general manager.

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company rep red-tagged our furnace and recommended costly repairs or replacement. A 2nd opinion proved they were not needed. We purchased a furnace check-up from Neighborhood and scheduled the service. The company rep came on 10/7/13. He said there was a gas leak that he could smell when he walked in the house. He recommended a new gas valve and a pilot assembly that would cost $706. He also said our furnace likely had a crack in the heat exchanger. He claimed he knew that because he had a book that could pinpoint the problems with our exact furnace model. Our furnace is 30 years old so he recommended we not invest that kind of money in an old furnace and we should have a new furnace installed for around $3000. He acted VERY eager to schedule the repairs/installation. We did not schedule anything at that time and signed the paperwork and he left. At that point, we were not informed that he had "red-tagged" (condemned) the furnace. We found that out when we went downstairs and noticed the huge red sticker attached to the furnace. We were furious that it had been red-tagged without our prior knowledge so we sought a 2nd opinion from another HVAC professional. The other service tech came to inspect the furnace. He checked for a gas leak and found none. He removed the pilot assembly and burner, cleaned them, and reinstalled them. The furnace has been working fine since then. A few days later, we received a mass email from Neighborhood, soliciting feedback on their recent visit. The person who sent the email sent the message to over 25 people and failed to "blind copy" the addresses so I had access to all the recipients. I hit "reply to all", removed the Neighborhood email address, and asked the others if they had a similar experience like we did. Several recipients were enraged that their email address was viewable on the original email from Neighborhood and one recipient responded to us with a similar story. They too were told their furnace needed to be replaced, but, after a 2nd opinion, they were told their furnace was fine. We have since heard that Neighborhood has a reputation for either red-tagging furnaces or recommending costly repairs. We believe this practice to be extremely unethical. It created a very stressful situation for us until after we got the 2nd opinion. There is no doubt that our furnace is old, but, the Neighborhood technician definitely misrepresented the working condition of our furnace.

Desired Settlement: We believe the central Minnesota community has a right to know about Neighborhood's unethical practices. We think a notice should be publicly communicated by the BBB to warn others of a possible scam. We purchased the furnace check-up through a service called DealChicken at a discounted price. We have since requested a refund from DealChicken because we feel we received no value for our purchase. In fact, it almost cost us a large amount of additional money. We believe Neighborhood sold the discounted furnace check-ups in order to scam people into thinking their furnace was inoperable without a significant financial investment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/14) */ We did perform the tune up procedure as purchased by the homeowner. In the process of doing the tune up, the technician found a leak on the gas valve using a electronic gas leak detector. This standard procedure and equipment used by contractors as well as gas supply companies. The repair price was given as well as an option of replacement of the furnace being the unit was over 30 years old. In Minnesota the average life of a furnace is 15-20 years. We always inform of their options and let them make the final decision. When they chose not to repair the unit a red tag was applied, because the unit is unsafe with a gas leak, as recommended by the American Gas Association and all gas suppliers. They signed the invoice stating that the unit had been shut down because of the leak so they were aware of the red tag. I did call the home owner and she stated that the other "professional HVAC tech" that came in to inspect the furnace checked for gas leaks with a long lighter. NOT a recommended practice. Not a professional one to say the least. I informed her that I would refund the money she had spent with Deal Chicken because of her dissatisfaction with our tech. I addressing the email solicitation, that was an error on our marketing manager. There was an immediate apology that went out to the 25 individuals and everything has been corrected on our end to make sure it never happens again. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/11/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was told that the gas had been turned off and the electrical switch to the furnace was also turned off. There was no mention of it being "red tagged" before I signed the paperwork. I had not "chosen" any direction to pursue at that point because of the costs. I said I needed to discuss our options with my spouse. I'm not surprised Neighborhood has now chosen to discredit the other HVAC professional who cleaned and replaced our furnace parts. We had also tested for a gas leak with soapy water ourselves before seeking the 2nd opinion. I suppose Neighborhood will also discredit that test, too. Since making our complaint to the BBB, we have mentioned our experience with Neighborhood to friends and family. We've been told several times now that Neighborhood has a reputation for trying to scam their customers. Yes, Neighborhood is reimbursing us for the $49 furnace check-up. but, we still stand by our belief that they are an unethical company.

8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called Neighborhood regarding leaking from furnace. Led to believe we needed to replace our entire furnace for $6550.14 - this was not accurate. Neighborhood was called on 7/30/2013 at their Chisago City location to address leaking water from furnace. After inspection, **** Ferguson service technician stated that he could not address the issue as the entire furnace needed to be replaced. It had several issues that needed to be addressed including "stretch marks" in the metal of the furnace indicating that the furnace was flexing and contracting from overheating, a cracked pan, need for new coil for AC unit and significant mold issues. He collected $49 for service call #****** and requested a call for him to come back and discuss the issues with my husband to replace the furnace, insufficient boot size, pain and AC coil in our house. He recommended doing it soon as it would leak carbon monoxide into our house and we have 2 small children at home. **** returned on 8/2/2013 to discuss results of inspection with my husband. An order was written for a new furnace, drain system, coil, surge protector, thermostat, air exchange boot, etc. for $6550.14 dispactch number ******. ****'s cousin had done heating and air and we called him to discuss the findings. He referred us to his former employer for a second opinion. Another local company out of Lindstrom was also called for a second opinion over the phone. The problem was a plugged drain line which took 5 minutes to fix. The furnace and AC unit were found to be in working order and not in need of any replacement. It was recommended that the air exchanger filters be cleaned but that is easily done by the homeowner without need for additional service chargers. It is the our understanding based on what the two other contractors have said that Neighborhood has an unfortunate reputation for always recommending a new furnace and AC unit whether it is needed or not in order to raise their commission rates. We are in the process of trying to reach Neighborhood to cancel the installment of our "new" furnace which is not needed. In addition, our house is only 10 years old and was built in 2003. We tried to reach Neighborhood for over 2 hours this evening and were not able to get through.

Desired Settlement: We would like our original $49 refunded as there was no work completed by the service agent. In addition, we hope that this business is called out on their dishonest practices as they are preying on innocent homeowners and requesting a large sum of money for work not needed. In addition - they are submitting requests from Excel Energy for energy rebates on work that is not needed and in our case not completed.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/14) */ After reviewing the letter from Ms ****** and speaking with the technician involved I believe some of the issues came down to a communication issue. There are still multiple issues at the home that still not addressed. There are problems with the condensate drain on the furnace that caused water to back into the draft inducer. The condensate drain for the furnace and air conditioner are separate. The filter system is too small. It is a 90,000 BTU furnace and has a single 16 X 25 filter that does not meet manufactures specs. This is proven to reduce the life of the heat exchanger and cause excess stress on the metal by overheating it on a continual basis. There is mold on the air conditioning coil that my technician showed Ms ****** that is not taken care of. She even told my tech that she had mold allergys. They were never forced to purchase anything, only recommendations were made. The $49 charge was a service/diagnostic fee. I have a phone call in to Ms ****** to come out and inspect the furnace and air at no charge and see what basis my tech made his diagnosis from. I have not heard from her at this time. I am sending her a check for the $49 service charge along with a coupon worth $99 toward any further service work. As far as submitting requests for rebates from Xcel Energy that cannot be done without any equipment actually being installed. It is impossible to get a rebate without installing and testing the units.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

18 Customer Reviews on Neighborhood Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart