Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/04/1989

Minneapolis Saint Paul Plumbing Heating and Air

Phone: (651) 228-9200Fax: (651) 228-9201View Additional Phone Numbers640 Grand Ave, Saint PaulMN 55105-3498 Send email to Minneapolis Saint Paul Plumbing Heating and AirView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/04/1989

BBB has determined that Minneapolis Saint Paul Plumbing Heating and Air meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Minneapolis Saint Paul Plumbing Heating and Air's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues7
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service13
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 22

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

22 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Minneapolis Saint Paul Plumbing Heating and Air

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 20
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 22 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (22)BBB Closure Definitions
02/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had a leak in the basement. $695 later still not fixed. Three different pipes were replaced. Asked for a receipt. They can't give me that. They can email or mail it to me. They can take my payment but I have no proof of service. Also; I believe I was miss lead from the beginning. The "plumber" himself said that he acted like a trainee. In the end I'm left with no water in the kitchen
Product_Or_Service: replaced pipes

Desired Settlement
When you contact a so called reputable company, they should have the appropriate staff to come out...diagnose...accomplish the job. If there was any question on the service persons mind, they should have been upfront from the beginning. This did not happen.

Business Response
Thank you for sharing your experience and we are happy to honor our 100% satisfaction guarantee and send you the requested refund of $347.50.

02/11/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I saw an ad that offered furnace cleaning & tuning for $54 instead of $185.***************, the service expert, stated asking why I didn't call service+, I showed him the coupon. I also told him that a month prior, a tech. form Center Point told me that the furnace was okay but it needed cleaning. Mr. ******* was by the furnace and also did something with the thermostat. He told me he had good and bad news: he tuned the furnace but it wasn't safe, and he couldn't turn it back on. He would lose his license. He proceeded to show me a list of furnaces for which the starting price was $6000.I sensed from the start that he came to sell. I was so upset that I didn't notice that he didn't leave me a receipt.I turned the heating on but the thermostat showed 64 degrees, I didn't know how to reprogram it so I called service+. It was the first time that I saw the red tag on the furnace. The technician did't want to touch anything. I told him what happened and he called the the supervisor. He came back and proceeded to check for carbon monoxide. None had been found. But he also told me that the furnace was dirty. A man from *****, told me the same thing.Thank God that I am not the first victim and people listened to me. My son and I could have been freezing that night of January the 29th, 2015.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund of $54. I also hope for improvement in the advertisement and services. I felt that I was practically forced to make a purchase, at all costs.

Business Response
I talked to ****, agreeing to refund $54.00, and to come back out at no charge to show her, and anyone else who she would want, the potential problems with her equipment.

02/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contracted for a furnace tuneup. The serviceman provided no tuneup but made up problems with my furnace and offered to fix them for more than $1000
I would like to lodge a request for refund of $69 from Minneapolis-St. Paul Plumbing, Heating, and Air. I received a coupon in the mail good for "a furnace tuneup" for $69. I called and made an appointment. After two cancellations on the company's part, a service person, ***********, arrived on Friday, January 9 (I believe that was the date; the two earlier cancellations make my calendar confusing). After spending about 90 minutes in the basement with the furnace, he delivered his report, orally. I asked him why he had no invoice, and he told me that the company did not give paper reports because of the possibility of rival companies somehow stealing their business.

He described three important problems, one with our "SAFTY (sic) removal system" (the liner of our flue, he later explained), one with the "flame SAFTY (sic) system", and one with our "heat delivery system". He then offered several options for remedies of these flaws, ranging in cost from $16000 to $1200. When I asked him for written descriptions, he cited the company's privacy policy again. After our discussion I paid him $69 via credit card.

A few days later I sent a message via the company's website complaining about the lack of any evidence of a "furnace tuneup" and absence of records. I got a phone call, an email containing a pdf of the invoice, and a few days later a hard copy of the invoice (Order # ******, dated February 13) in the mail. The hard copy contained some figures on furnace performance and mentioned the problem areas as "needing attention".

Before contracting for such large sums, I called the installer of the furnace, ***** Heating Company, and asked them to verify the problems. Their serviceman returned a clean bill of health for the entire system and pointed out that he had to remove several dead birds from the flue in order to test the draft. Thus, the Minneapolis-St. Paul company not only failed to do the furnace tune-up (which must include clearing accessible objects from the flue) but made up several non-existent problems and offered to fix them for inflated costs. I consider this whole episode to be unethical conduct on the part of the Minneapolis-St. Paul Plumbing, Heating, and Air, and I would like a refund of the $69.

Desired Settlement
I would like my $69 refunded. I hope there is some way to stop this scam from taking advantage of other homeowners who are naive about furnaces.

Business Response
I talked to Mr. *****, and happily agreed to send him a $69.00 refund.

02/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tech missdiagnosed improperly repaired furnace causing a fire and gas leak at my home. 2nd tech unable to repair. Manager ok refund&repair payment
Tech ************** miss diagnosed furnace problem and improperly installed fuel supply causing a fire and gas leak at my home. Manager sent out another tech 3 hours late @ 10:30pm whom was unable to do anything. Manager ****** OK'd refund and payment to second company to repair damage/improper installation caused by *****. ******* repaired damage and properly installed fuel supply. At this point the exact same problem remained. The real problem was the internal temp regulation. ******* repaired issue and furnace has been running fine. I submitted the bills for repairing the damage and improper installation only. ************* declined to pay for repair to damaged/ improper installation as previously agreed upon.

Desired Settlement
I want them to pay for the damage and proper installation ($600.00) as previously agreed upon.

Business Response
I have approved a refund of $600.00 per customers request to be sent out today. I left a message on customers phone as to my decision.

01/21/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Furnace service technician, falsely claiming a serious exchange problem with furnace, shut it down and only at a cost could it be restarted.
We have a 3 yr prepaid service agreement with MSP Plumbing on our furnace and air conditioner. Our furnace is a Bryant 90i installed in 2000. On December 26 the technician from MSP Plumbing performed a seasonal maintenance check on the furnace and upon completion requested a meeting with my wife and I. His opening comment was "I hope you are not going to shoot the messenger."and then proceeded to inform us that there was a serious breech in the exchanger. He then brought out his tablet which displayed a listing of various options for fixing the problem. These modules ranged in cost from a high of $11000.00 to a low of $4000.00. When I started to question the validity of his diagnosis, he then informed us that he had "shut off" the furnace because of potential safety issues and that until the needed repairs were done, the furnace had to remain off.
My wife and I were obviously not pleased with this since we are both over the age of 65 and the weather forecast was for below zero readings for the coming weeks. We both felt that we were being blackmailed by a technician who was not providing verifiable backup for his diagnosis. He did not at any time offer to show me any cracks in the exchanger. He did not show me his readings when testing for carbon monoxide from the furnace exhaust. He did not indicate any abnormalities with the gas flame which would also provide evidence of exchanger flaws.
Prior to meeting with my wife and I he had completely reassembled the furnace which would not make sense if, as he indicated, there were major repairs required. Since my wife and I do not like being blackmailed in our own home, we requested that he terminate his visit and leave.
2 days later we contacted another heating contractor to confirm whether or not the claim made by MSP Plumbing was accurate.
This new technician performed a thorough inspection of our furnace and found no heat exchanger cracks and also did a carbon monoxide reading which indicated a normal range of CO. I was present when this new technician did this work and he allowed me to observe his work at the same time. This new technician also said that if there were serious defects in the heat exchanger he would also have been required to turn off my furnace for safety reasons. This was not necessary. The cost to my wife and I for this followup service was $324.08.
This additional cost to us occurred because of what we felt was a conscious misrepresentation of an unnecessary repair. The dictionary defines fraud as a deliberate deception for an unfair gain. We are hoping this was not deliberate.
We request that MSP Plumbing compensate my wife and I the $324.08 that we had to spend to verify that there was no problem with our furnace. We also request that the 3 yr service agreement with MSP Plumbing be terminated and that we be refunded the pro rated balance remaining on the prepaid contract.

Desired Settlement
As stated above, we are requesting $324.08 and a pro rated refund that remains on the balance of a prepaid 3 yr contract.

Business Response
I spoke at length with **********. We are happy to provide a refund per their request. Refund total was $571.58. I explained to ********** that our relationship, and their safety was more important than anything. I explained how our Service Experts are more experienced in heat exchanger faults, than other companies, and offered to meet the other company at their home to show ********** and **** where the faults were. ********** said she would call me back when **** came home from hospital.

Page 1 of 4
02/25/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Merchant performed routine furnace inspection and then tried to sell expensive and unnecessary repairs.
I received a direct mail offer from them merchant in December 2014 offering a "furnace tune-up". In the same month I called an made an appointment for Monday January 5th.

On the morning of Jan 5th the merchant's technican (**************, ************) arrived at my home. I guided him to the furnace and basement and then left him unattended to complete the service. After approximately 45 minutes he returned upstairs and told me while the furnace is currently working there were multiple issues. He proceeded to describe numerous problems including a leaky fuel system, insufficient exhaust, broken solenoid, dirty ductwork and excessive carbon monoxide levels. He presented 5 different repair options ranging from what he described as a "bandaid" solution for ~$660 up to a full repair and extended warranty for more than $5000.

Since our furnance had shown no signs of problems I immediately became suspicious of these suggested repairs. I told him I would need to discuss it with my wife and proceeded to pay the $69 inspection fee. He continued to press the need for the repairs and said because he detected a leaky fuel system he was required by law to turn off the fuel feed to the furnace and place a red tag on the shutoff valve.

I have the red tag the technician placed on the valve along with a printout supposedly showing excessive carbon monoxide levels. Unfortunately I did not get a written copy of the quote for suggested repairs. However over the following 4 days I tried repeatedly by phone and email to obtain the quote. Each time the merchant would not provide the quote and would only offer to send the technican back to my home. I have copies of the emails exchanged and two voicemails left by the technician.

After the technician left I called another heating company (***** Heating, ************) highly recommended by neighbors. I scheduled the earliest possible appointment for another inspection on Friday January 9th. The other company completed the furnace inspection on 1/9/15 and determined the furnace to be operating normally and not in need of *any* additional repairs. Furthermore they suggested I only have it inspected every 2 years since the type and condition of the furnace did not require more frequent service.

Desired Settlement
Full refund of $69.00 fee charged for furnace inspection. I would also like to hear directly from the owner and/or management explaining the actions of their technician and how they intend to prevent this type of fraudulent activity by their company and staff in the future.

Business Response
I left a detailed message for Mr *****, agreeing to his request of sending him a refund for $69.00, and offering to go over the service call with him, as well as go back out and show him in detail, the potential problems that were found.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I discussed the issue with ************ (************) this morning on the phone. My issue was NOT resolved and I re-affirm my initial complaint fully believing the company is conducting fraudulent business practices attempting to extort unnecessary repair fees from their customers.

I believe my complaint would be validated if the company would provide their initial estimate in writing for an unbiased third party to review. However ***** was again unwilling to provide the estimate.

Please let me know what I can do to escalate this issue further.

08/05/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Estimate over phone was 89$ for clearing kitchen sink clog and 350 $ when plumber came
When I called company and explain that I need clearing kitchen sink clog I asked how much is that going to cost. Answer was 89$. When plumber came he told me that I have to pay 89 $ for visit ( he just looked in the sink and saw water) or pay 350$ to clear my clog. I felt blackmailed and pay 350 $ and explained to plumber that I fill that they are deceiving people. He sad he is just technician . I choose company because of BBB but I consider this company to be very dishonest and fell I should warn everybody.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded difference in original estimate and what I ended paying

Business Response
We apologize for the confusion between what we told you and what you heard. It is our intention to always communicate effectively with our customers. This is the first time this has come up but it is still something we take very seriously. After reviewing the recorded conversation between you and the team member who scheduled the call, we found that it was explained clearly that the $88 was a dispatch fee and the service work would be additional.

We are interested in resolving this. Please provide us an alternative to your original resolution request and we will have this situation resolved.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will like to hear the recorded conversation with neutral party and if I misunderstood or did not hear part of the conversation I will accept your explanation. I still think my question was straight and dispatcher responded that only 89 $ is charge to solve problem.*****************

Final Business Response
We did not charge the customer anything for the work completed. They did not pay anything.
Please accept the resolution: we completed the work and it cost $0.00.
Thank you!

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My specific question to the representative was: how much will it cost to unplug my sink? The response was "$89 or $88." She never mentioned paying for the visit. If she said that they charge for the visit I would have asked more questions. I knew that the problem could be fixed if they use a snake on our kitchen line and they could do that from our unfinished basement. I would still like an independent review of that recorded phone conversation.

07/29/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Comapany has failed to explain charges for work performed. We feel we have been overcharged.
On June 24, 2013 my wife Minneapolis Saint Paul Plumbing Heating and Air to request a quote on water leak in our basement. She scheduled an appointment for June 25, 2013. On that day the plumber came out and identified the pipe that was causing the leak. In regards to price he informed my wife that he was unsure on the exact cost since they charge a flat rate not an hourly rate and proceeded to check his rate book. After checking the book he informed my wife that the flat rate is roughly $1100.00, but for this job he would have to double it so we would be looking at about $2200.00 for the job. He then stated that depending on if he runs into any issued while doing the repair the price could go up to as much as $3600.00. He informed my wife that the estimate was $88.00, but that would be returned to us if we used them for the repairs. My wife agreed, paid the $88.00, and signed a paper with the quoted price and he was to return between the hours of 8-9 the next morning.
He returned the next day around 9:30 in the morning and proceeded to open up the ceiling in the kitchen to repair the pipe. About an hour and a half in the work he asked how our credit was. We informed him that we were not looking to take out a loan for the repairs, and that we did not think we needed it and he agreed. He completed his work between 6:30 and 7:00 pm. We took photos of the repair he had done. He did not replace any pipes, but installed a new pipe over the existing one. He gave us a bill for $3060.00. He never informed us that he ran into any problems with the repair that would bring the cost above the $2200.00. We paid the bill since he did do the work, but after looking at the work and getting a second opinion we felt that we were overcharged.
After thinking it over we decided to contact Minneapolis Saint Paul Plumbing Heating and again on Friday June 27th to see if we could get an explanation of the bill and see what the additional charges were for. The informed us that they would send the plumber back out on Monday July 8, 2013. On Monday he came out to meet with me at my home. He stated he could not put anything in writing but could explain to me what he did. As he explained to me his work he was telling me that he did things that he did not do. He stated that he ran a pipe down the wall which was never done. The only work performed was in the ceiling. I asked why he could not put it in writing and he said it is because they only offer flat rates. He also denied ever telling my wife that the cost for the job was double the flat rate. At that time after feeling that I had been lied to about more than one thing I insisted that he give me something in writing and he said he could either email or mail me something. I requested email.
After several days had passed and I did not receive an email, I called the company several times requesting to speak with a manger on Thursday July 11th. I received a call back from a manager that day. I explained to him that the plumber was stating that he did work that he did not do such as running a pipe down the wall (the manager stated that he did not see that in the notes either). I also explained that he does not recall telling us that he would have to double the flat rate to get the price for the job. The manager also informed me that the flat rate is $1000.00. He informed me that he had two documents with signatures agreeing to the price range, and because of those documents he could not provide me with an itemized breakdown of the charges. I then explained to him that I felt mislead by being told that the price would only go over the $2200.00 if he ran into complications. He said that his plumber ran a new pipe and that he was standing by his techs pricing. He said if I needed a breakdown that it is $1500.00 parts and $1500.00 labor. He then hung up the phone. We still have not received the $88.00 trip charge back either.

Desired Settlement
First what I would like is my $88.00 trip charge refunded to me as promised. I then would like an explanation of the charges. I am getting different information on the flat fee, and now am unclear on why it was doubled. I also would like to know what complications he ran into to cause the price to exceed the flat fee, and why I was not informed of any issues while he was doing the work. I would also like him to place in writing the exact work performed since there seems to be some misunderstanding on what was done and what we were charged for. I am comfortable with the base price of $2200.00 and would like to be refunded the difference equal to $860.00 for the work that was performed.

Business' Initial Response
We came out to the home for a plumbing repair request. We provided a quote (6/25/13) that was signed-off by the homeowner (************) for a repair. The quote for the repair was between $2,297-$3,600. The price range was provided because we were unaware of the work needed to be completed to finish the project--due to the nature of the work (the work was behind finished ceilings and walls).

The total for the work came to $3,128.00 which is well within the price range we provided.

We were notifed by the homeowner after we had commenced the project that they felt the price was too high but they wanted us to do the work anyways because they were planning on callings us after the fact to get the price down. At the time we were already in the process of almost completing the work and therefore we had no choice but to finish. From their comments to us; it was clear that it was their plan to take issue after the fact. To verify that this was the plan, they have paid us in full already and signed the work order in the amount of $3,128.

The original bid provided was signed-off by the homeowner. The final charge amount of $3,128 was signed off and paid for.

We completed the work as indicated and to their satisfaction.

If we were told before the job was started that they were not comfortable with the price, we would have chosen not to proceed with completing the work for them.

We are more than happy to provide written documentation of all signed-off quotes and work order.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
You still have not addressed or returned the $88.00 trip charge.
The discrepancy is not in the amount that was signed off on. I am well aware of what the paperwork stated. What we have an issue with is that the $2297.00 is the price we were given for the job when he originally came out. We were told that it would only exceed that amount if the tech ran into problems while completing the work. The tech brought me in and showed me what he would be working on at the very beginning of the job and did not inform me that the cost would be more based on what needed to be done which is why I had no complaint and let them proceed. If I was informed of the additional costs before the work was done, I don't think I would have had them complete it either. Once he completed the work and gave us the bill, I did not feel I was in a position to not pay it at all, but that it would be best to pay it, then talk to them about why the cost exceeded the original estimate.
At that time they refused to provide me with a breakdown of the charges or an explanation as to why it exceeded that original amount. I want a breakdown of the work performed and the costs and an explanation of the work that caused the price to go beyond the $2297.00. I feel misled and cheated by them denying that this is what was told to us. I would have never signed off on this if I believed that this gave them free range to charge whatever they wanted. I believed I was signing off on the $2297.00 that was quoted, and we would then discuss additional charges as problems arose.
The final charges were $3060.00 I am unclear on why it seems that they are including the cost of the trip charge in the total amount. I also have documents to verify this.

Business' Final Response
We provided a quote for work to be completed at a cost between: $2,297-$3,600. The final total came to: $3,148.00. This amount fell within the quoted amount. Please note that ************ signed off on the quote for $2,297-$3,600 on 6/26/13.

We charged the customer for the following amounts:
$88.00 and $3,040.00. We do not provide a refund for the original $88---what we do is discount the final charges by $88. The $3,040.00 is an amount that reflects an $88 discount. We would have to charge the customer more if we went about refunding the $88 roginal charge because the Credit Card companies charge us fees at the time of charges and refunds. We take the path of less cost to both us and the customer of discounting the final charges. The total: $88+$3,040= $3,148 falls well within the estimated total.

03/25/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
sold and installed a damaged water heater as new on July 18, 2012. deceptive billing practices on furnace installed in February. arrogant sales staff
last July my hot water heater failed. ******* of Minneapolis/St. Paul Plumbing/Heating came over and verified this. he told me he had a heater in the truck, but that it had a couple of small dents in it. he showed me two small dents, the size of a quarter and said i could have $50 off. i said okay.

After***** left i noticed a much larger dent in the back. i would never have accepted this if he had disclosed it. i called his manager, ****, and **** said send a picture and he would make things right. I did and never heard from **** again. ******* also sold me a service plan with the heater and this service plan included 15% discount on all service and repairs. so , when my furnace broke down a few weeks ago, i called them, explained the furnace situation and the previous problems with the water heater and **** (their agent) took pictures and he said they would make good on this problem still withstanding. Then ***, sales staff, came and gave me estimates for regular and high efficiency furnaces. i asked for the total, bottom line before deciding to get the high efficiency version. i then asked him for a breakdown of the estimate, including the 15% discount from the service plan, and he said "no problem, get that to you soon".

i signed for and paid for half of the bill up front, before installation. The second half was to be paid, inclusive of the 15% discount and adjustment for previous work. they did neither and simply billed my credit card for the full amount. I still have not gotten an itemized bill, even though they have stated multiple times that i will get one soon.

i did not sign for the second half of the charges and am contesting the entire matter with ****.

Desired Settlement
first, they need to reimburse me for the damaged water heater, or install a new one.

they need to pay me for my time in straightening this stuff out. $1,000

they need to give me an itemized bill for the furnace and installation, one that demonstrates how the 15% discount they promised is applied, as well as any other coupons or discounts that apply.

lastly, their salesman, **********, was the most profoundly rude and arrogant person that i have ever met in my life.


Business' Initial Response
The customer was shown the dent in the water heater as it was being delivered. We gave him a $50.00 credit at that time. The plumber did not see the second dent at the time of the installation.

We do acknowledge the second dent as it was viewed by the heating technician that went out to do the furnace cleaning that is part of our Service Plan. I planned on discussing the dent with the customer when the tech sent me a picture of the dent.

The furnace was identified with a cracked heat exchanger and needed to be replaced. It was at that time that the compensation for the water heater, which works fine, would be taken care of in the bid for the furnace.

The customer was asked multiple times if he wants the bottom line price with everything included or did he want a break out. The customer said he wanted the bottom line price. This was provided to him.

The furnace was installed the next day. The customer called and was very upset and rude with our sales assistant because the installer showed up too early. Our installer wanted to make sure he got there in time and arrived at 7 instead of 8am.

After the furnace was installed the customer started calling the office accusing us of taking advantage of him. He harassed our CSRs, sales administrator, used profanity with the salesman and has sent me accusing and aggressive emails late at night or early morning hours.

We offer bottom line bids for our installs of hvac equipment. We do not break out the equipment, part or labor needed for the job. The customer is implying that he wants that sort of breakout. He used his brother and what he got in another state as an example of what he wanted for a break out which we do not do.

The customer has been in contact with our attorney, has threatened to contact the AG, class action, credit card fraud etc.


Regular price of Furnace including permit and warranty and labor is $5749.00
15% SPP discount given even though equipment does not get a discount is $878.00
Total purchase price is $4871.00

I believe that we have been more than fair with the discount we gave him. I don't know why he believes he should get another $1000.

I hope the BBB rules in our favor.

Consumer's Final Response
i had water running across my basement floor from the new furnace. turns out that the installer DID NOT LEVEL the new furnace and the drip pan was draining the wrong way.

they had to put an inch of shim under two corners to level it.

so, they installed the furnace wrong as well.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Furnace Cleaning, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Heating Contractors, Boilers - Repair & Cleaning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/01/1976Business started: 01/01/1918
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N
Saint Paul, MN55155-4344
(651) 284-5005
http://www.dli.mn.gov

Business Management
Principal: Andy Ryan (Owner/Manager)
Business Category

Plumbers, Furnace Cleaning, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Heating Contractors, Boilers - Repair & Cleaning

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Minneapolis St. Paul Plumbing Heating and Air, this company provides plumbing, heating, air conditioning, drain cleaning service to the St Paul, Minneapolis and Suburban area since 1918.

Alternate Business Names
Minneapolis Plumbing & Heating, Minneapolis St. Paul Plumbing Heating and Air, MSP Home Services, St. Paul Heating and Cooling, St. Paul Plumbing & Heating Company

If you choose to do business with Minneapolis Saint Paul Plumbing Heating and Air, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Minneapolis Saint Paul Plumbing Heating and Air has received 4.95 out of 5 stars based on 22 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Minneapolis Saint Paul Plumbing Heating and Air

640 Grand Ave

Saint Paul, MN 55105-3498

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 640 Grand Ave 

    Saint Paul, MN 55105-3498(651) 228-9200
    (612) 767-2007

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Minneapolis Saint Paul Plumbing Heating and Air is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (612) 767-2007
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.