This business is not BBB accredited.

Mike's Custom Mechanical, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (763) 568-7148 Fax: (763) 568-7163 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 171, Champlin, MN 55316 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.mikescustommechanical.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mike's Custom Mechanical, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mike's Custom Mechanical, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 2010 Business started: 02/15/2010 Business started locally: 02/15/2010 Business incorporated 10/28/2005 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mike Fisher, Owner Amanda Fisher, Owner/Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Amanda Fisher, Owner/Manager
Principal: Mike Fisher, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Construction & Remodeling Services Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air Conditioning Repair Water Filtration & Purification Equipment Heating Contractors

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Mike's Custom Mechanical, they offers residential and commercial heating and air conditioning, in service and repair. Serving the entire State of Minnesota.

Industry Tips
Foreclosure Services Remodeling your home Tips to Consumers for the HVAC Industry

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mike's Custom Mechanical, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4142 Upton Ave N

    Minneapolis, MN 55412

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8401 73rd Ave North Ste. 82

    Brooklyn Park, MN 55428

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 171

    Champlin, MN 55316

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The service conducted was installation of an air conditioning unit. There are many problems. I have not been able to get anyone to fix the problems. On June 5th 2015 an air conditioning unit, Amana ASX16024, was installed by Mike's custom mechanical at our home for $3410. A few days after the installation was done we had leaking coming from the venting connecting to the water heater and boiler. At the time we were able to get someone back out to "fix" the problem, but we had to pay an additional $225 for venting repairs. During the same time period we had another appliance replaced by a separate contractor. The other contractor discovered several problems with the air conditioning venting installed by Mike's Mechanical, one being the fact that the venting to the furnace was completely removed. A city inspector came to our house on another matter on September 14, 2015. At this time I asked about the issues with the air conditioning. He walked me through several code violations with the install and what would need to be changed or repaired, both on the inside of the house and the outside in order to pass inspection. Also at this time we discovered that after being told by Mike's Custom Mechanical that they would get all necessary permits for work from the city, none were ever obtained. These repairs will cost a significant amount in addition. Over the period of 3 months and more than 20 calls and messages I have not received any response from Mike's Custom Mechanical in order to obtain a refund or repairs. We are now working with another company to bring the venting up to code in order to pass inspection.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking a full refund of $3635 that we paid for inferior work to Mike's Custom Mechanical.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/10/07) */ We want to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience experienced with the original installation of this system. Due to complications with staff and home life making various parties unavvalable is the reasoning for a delayed response to the customer. However the a representative of the company spoke with Mrs ********** before this complaint was submitted to the BBB and advised that the company would be more then happy to resolve any issues with the install at no additional charge to the customer. That representative was then advised by the customer that they were refusing to allow the company to rectify any alleged errors and has refused to provide proof of said errors. All of this is being alleged by unknown sources and cannot be assessed by our company. Due to the refusal of the customer to allow our company on premises or show written authoritative proof of wrongfully installed items from an inspector we cannot and will not accept this complaint as viable Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/10/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) A representative from Mike's Custom Mechanical called our residence on September 22, 2015. The complaint was filed with the BBB on September 18, 2015, four days prior to being contacted by Mike's Custom Mechanical. As stated in our complaint, we had tried to reach out to Mike's Custom Mechanical numerous times and never received a response. We confirmed with the city that Mike's Custom Mechanical did unpermitted work and due to the many errors in the installation work done by Mike's Custom Mechanical, and the unprofessionalism displayed by not responding to their customer we decided that it was our right to have the work corrected by a reputable company. We had contracted with a company to redo the unprofessional and unpermitted installation performed by Mike's Custom Mechanical. The work performed to correct improper installation and bring to code with proper permits includes: moving AC 18" from the house (it was installed 4" from house), UV protective cover to lineset for AC, fixing plenum coversion to canvas, sealing lineset holes in exterior of home, getting permits, and fixing venting (including replacing venting to furnace that Mike's Custom Mechanical removed). The venting to the furnace that was removed by Mike's Custom Mechanical had created an emergency situation as we were unable to utilize heat with the cold weather approaching. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2015/10/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) A representative from Mike's Custom Mechanical called our residence on September 22, 2015. The complaint was filed with the BBB on September 18, 2015, four days prior to being contacted by Mike's Custom Mechanical. As stated in our complaint, we had tried to reach out to Mike's Custom Mechanical numerous times and never received a response. We confirmed with the city that Mike's Custom Mechanical did unpermitted work and due to the many errors in the installation work done by Mike's Custom Mechanical, and the unprofessionalism displayed by not responding to their customer we decided that it was our right to have the work corrected by a reputable company. We had contracted with a company to redo the unprofessional and unpermitted installation performed by Mike's Custom Mechanical. The work performed to correct improper installation and bring to code with proper permits includes: moving AC 18" from the house (it was installed 4" from house), UV protective cover to lineset for AC, fixing plenum coversion to canvas, sealing lineset holes in exterior of home, getting permits, and fixing venting (including replacing venting to furnace that Mike's Custom Mechanical removed). The venting to the furnace that was removed by Mike's Custom Mechanical had created an emergency situation as we were unable to utilize heat with the cold weather approaching.

10/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to respond to phone calls and email regarding filing of claims for rebates with Xcel Energy and Center Point Energy. I have repeatedly tried to contact Amanda, the person who bid the furnace replacement at my residence. The work was completed in May and the rebates were promised within 6-8 weeks. Previous experience with Amanda has been similar. It took numerous phone calls and an email to obtain receipt for the work performed and again to get the rebate claims forms, which originally were promised upon completion of work and payment. I contacted both utilities and the state they have no claims on file for my address as of 7/20. The work was also not performed according to the bid which I accepted for a $100 reduction in price. The bid included removal of an electronic air filter and installation of a 4 inch filter cabinet. The installer was unable to perform this work, instead he disconnected the electrical connections and laid a 2 inch filter in the cabinet with no rack built.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Amanda or her husband, the owners of Mike's Custom Mechanical, to refund me the $787.50 in rebates I should have received. I am willing to then reimburse them the money as it is received. Initial rebate of $400 from Center Point for the furnace, matched by $200 from St Louis Park; $100 from Xcel matched by St Louis Park of $50 and the programmable thermostat rebate of $25 and $12.50. In addition, building a filter rack would complete a professional installation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2015/10/07) */ We completely understand Mr **********'s concerns about having to wait for his rebates from the various sources. Unfortunately this is the process and we cannot give him money we have no guarantee of receiving back. All rebate applicant customers not only with our company but with all hvac companies go through this same process. I am sure by now Mr ********** has received his rebates from all parties.so there should be no need to take this case any further. Thank you Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 16, 2015/10/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Shortly after filing this complaint with the BBB I received a letter and the 2nd rebate form from Mike's. They explained that the reason no one called back, responded to emails or filed the rebate paperwork was the office manager being out on maternity leave. By this time, I had fortunately made a copy of the only form they had sent me previously and the folks at Centerpoint were kind enough to give it rush treatment after I faxed them the copy. I completed the form not previously sent and was able to get both the Xcel and city rebates in a timely manner. The case is resolved. I hope to have better service should I ever require warranty or service for my furnace from Mike's.

11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mikes Mechanical will not call me back about the last service they performed. It did not fix the problem. On 7/15/14 Mike's Mechanical came to respond to an issue I had filed with my current house warrant, Home Warranty of America. The condensation drain line has been leaking into the inside of the furnace. I was told that the evaporator coil needed to be cleaned, and therefor since cleaning was under "regular maintenance," that it would not be covered by the warranty (Mike's Mechanical is Home Warranty of America's service choice). I had to pay $100 for the deductible (even though there was no service performed), and an additional $145 for the evaporator cleaning to Mike's. I noticed shortly after that the cleaning did not change the problem whatsoever. I called them to come back and look at it again, re-opening the claim with Home Warranty of America for the same issue. When the mechanic saw that it was still leaking at the inlet of the drain line, he stated, "the evaporator coil is probably cracked, I'm going to file this to the insurance and recommend that you have the compressor replaced." At this point I didn't really think about it, but I'm not really sure how he knew that the coil was cracked without looking inside the furnace. I am now in a position where they've given me quotes to replace the coil, but because of modifications, once again the insurance won't cover the majority of the repair. They quoted me at $650, including what the home warranty covers. I asked them to refund the evaporator cleaning, because it didn't fix the problem, and then also asked them for a final quote. They said they would call me back. I've now called them twice without a return call. I also called the Warranty company (Home Warranty of America) and they called Mike's for me. She came back after a few minutes holding time to tell me, "Mike's Mechanical said they would call you by the end of the day with a quote.... That was 3 days ago. I am now fed up with both the warranty company and Mike's Mechanical and I can't tell what's going on. I sit here with $245 invested into them ($100 for warranty deductible and $145 for the evaporator cleaning), and the problem still exists, and I'm just being handed back and forth between both of these companies. Why won't they call me back? That's what I'd like to find out. I'd also like to know how they knew the coil was cracked without looking.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to refund the evaporator cleaning, and to answer the questions I have set forth: How do you know the coil is cracked? What is the breakdown of the charges and the part costs? What exactly is the warranty covering? Why has it been weeks that they've been avoiding me? Most important: I want them to demonstrate how replacing this coil will fix the problem, and that it's not just replacing a part that they haven't even verified a problem with. I do not trust this company to do work unless they can give me a real quote, so that I can compare them to other companies and make sure they know what they're talking about, because so far I feel that they don't even know how to perform a repair.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2014/10/28) */ We have spoken with Mr ****** in regards to resolving this claim. We had agreed to replace the evaporator coil through his home warranty company and refund him some of the cleaning cost. This was weeks ago and we still to this date have not received the authorization from his warranty company to move forward.

5/1/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Furnace installation was done wrong so the filter door doesn't close and permits were not closed. I called 23 times over two months with no call back Mike's Custom installed a new furnace on 1/6/14. After the installer left, I noticed that the air intake was not installed properly, so the furnace filter door wouldn't close, causing the furnace to take in air through the filter door instead of the air return. I called ****** to have an installer come back to fix the furnace, and to find out when the city would come to close the permit Mike's had opened (and charged me for). She said she'd need to schedule both and would call me back the next day. I'm still waiting on a call back (3/7/14). I've called the office of Mike's custom 23 times over the past two months trying to get this issue resolved. Whoever answers the phone says I have to talk to ******, and that she is unavailable. They take a message, and no one calls. I'm tired of wasting my time calling this company. I would like a refund so I can pay someone else to come and fix the work they did, or just have them show up and fix it and close the permit.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have them come back, fix the furnace and close the permit per the original work order. If they are too busy, or that is too complicated, then I'll take a refund and pay a competitor to fix it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2014/04/30) */ This claim was satisfied by us to customer. The customer was supposed to close this out as satisfied. Thank you

4/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are disappointed in the service, including the attempt to sell us a more expensive water heater - characterized as bait & switch. Sunday, March 16th: Water heater found leaking, and we lost all hot water in our home. We have a home warranty with Home Security of America, Inc (HSA), and we immediately contacted them. They referred us to Mike's Custom Mechanical. Tuesday, March 18th: ******* completed the assessment and recommended we replace the water heater. Under our HSA warranty, we paid a $75 deductible to Mike's Custom Mechanical. That afternoon, we were contacted by HSA to approve the replacement work by Mike's Custom Mechanical, and we approved. We scheduled the replacement for Friday, March 21st. Wednesday, March 19th: We were notified by HSA that there were issues with the replacement order.   Thursday, March 20th: We contacted HSA, and we were told the manufacturer's warranty may cover the water heater replacement. By noon, Mike's Custom Mechanical and HSA agreed it would be covered by A.O. Smith's manufacturer's warranty - replacing "like for like". Mike's Custom Mechanical provided an updated cost estimate to HSA, and HSA contacted us for approval. We approved the work for the estimated cost of $125. Next, we contacted Mike's Custom Mechanical to schedule the replacement, and the first available time was Monday, March 25th. Monday, March 25th: By 9am, *** arrived to replace the water heater. He disconnected the water heater and placed it in the corner of the utility room. More than an hour later, *** informed us that the water heater they brought (more than 4" wider than the existing water heater) would not fit into the same area of the utility room, and additional modifications were required. He directed us to contact ********* for more details. C. first spoke with ******. ****** provided a revised estimate of $525 to install the water heater they brought. She offered an alternative (2" wider water heater and same height) for $325, and the earliest it could be installed was Tuesday afternoon. R. also tried to speak with ******. When he tried to talk with her the first time, she hung up on him. When he was able to reach her, she provided the outline mentioned above, and she appeared exasperated that we might be questioning the charges or asking for additional details. At the same time, C. spoke with *** to better understand what work needed to be done in each of the options. According to ***, there was very little difference. We chose to have the water heater replaced on Tuesday afternoon, though this was yet another delay and somewhat inconvenient. Tuesday, March 26th: *** arrived after 1pm for the final install. The install took approximately three hours to complete. While on-site, *** and the other employee spent much of their time on other endeavors: they closed the door to our lower level, turned on the radio and conducted personal phone calls, which was not part of the install. They completed the installation by 4:30pm. We contacted the manufacturer, AO Smith, regarding their manufacturer's warranty policy and process. They confirmed that they provide the same or a compatible water heater; therefore, there should be minimal, if any, modifications needed. We followed up with HSA, and they confirmed the estimated cost of $125. We can provide this documentation for your review.

Desired Settlement: We are asking that Mike's Custom Mechanical honor the original agreed upon statement of work - the estimated homeowner's cost was $200 - $75 HSA deductible + $125 for modifications. HSA, our home warranty company, agrees with this assessment. Mike's Custom Mechanical charged us $400, and we are requesting a refund of $200. On March 25th, Mike's Custom Mechanical replaced our water heater. The replacement was covered by: * AO Smith's manufacturer warranty - tank * HSA home warranty policy - $200 labor & processing fee * Homeowner's estimate - $200 Mike's Custom Mechanical homeowner final bill was $400. We are requesting a refund of $200 for overbilling.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/17) */ The manufacturer replacement water heater that was originally provided was not an identical replacement (unlike what was originally explained to me), that one was about 6 inches wider then the one they had in there home. As such the space the original water heater was to fit into was exact to what was in their home. After following up with my supplier I was able to find one that was only 2 inches wider then the one they originally had in their home. Either way the replacement was going to take more to modify and fit into the the area they had available. I spoke with both homeowners that morning personally and gave them the option of the wider one we had at their place at that moment but would cost an extra 400 on top of the originally quoted non covered or I could get another one that would be smaller but would take an extra day to get and would only be 200 more then the original non covered amount. The customer proceeded to scream at me and be very very rude to the point that I had to hang up on him to get him to listen to anything I had to say about the whole thing and to be able to explain anything. After some deliberation they decided to wait the extra day and to go with the cheaper option ... but non-the-less go with us to replace the water heater instead of going with somebody else (which they were given that option!!!) This customer has done nothing but present an attitude and rude conversation toward me AND ALL of my staff! You can file it how you need to but I will not work for this customer again and will be defending myself fully and not refunding anything as we had to expend the money to replace it and he agreed to it or we would not have done it. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On April 3rd, we sent a letter to Mike's Custom Mechanical, and we requested a reply within 3 business days. We have not received a reply to-date. On April 11th, we called Mike's Custom Mechanical to confirm receipt of the letter and discuss the issue. They claim they did not receive the letter. The Minneapolis address on their website, invoice and business cards is different than the address they claim to use. The owner's wife could not confirm if mail is forwarded from the Minneapolis address to the Brooklyn Park address nor could they explain why their literature and website was not updated. We requested the owner return our call, and we have not received a callback to-date. To recap the BBB complaint and our letter to Mike's Custom Mechanical: We contacted the water heater manufacturer, A.O. Smith, on March 31st. Under their manufacturer's warranty, A.O. Smith provides the same or a compatible water heater, so there should be minimal, if any, modifications needed. HSA, our home warranty company, confirms the estimated homeowners cost of $200 ($75 service visit + $125 modification). We were provided this estimate in writing by HSA. HSA paid an additional $200 to Mike's Custom Mechanical for labor and processing. This is above and beyond the homeowner's portion. HSA provided this information to us in writing. We felt obligated to use this merchant: o We paid $75 to Mike's Custom Mechanical on Tuesday, March 18th to assess the broken water heater. o On Monday, March 24th, Mike's Custom Mechanical disconnected our water heater. o HSA worked with Mike's Custom Mechanical and recommended them. On Monday, March 24th, Mike's Custom Mechanical disconnected the water heater. Then they informed us that the water heater they brought was substantially different in size from our current water heater. The office manager/owner quoted an additional $400 modification charge. Because we were alarmed at the markedly additional cost, we were then offered a second alternative water heater (similar in size to our current water heater), but it was available Tuesday afternoon. We most certainly consider this tantamount to bait and switch. We chose to install the alternative, because it was more in line with our current water heater size (2" wider and the same height). The water heater was installed Tuesday afternoon. In summary, we are disappointed in the service. We are asking that Mike's Custom Mechanical honor the original agreed upon statement of work - the HSA estimated homeowner's cost was $200 - $75 HSA deductible (site visit fee) + $125 for modifications. HSA agrees with this assessment. Mike's Custom Mechanical charged us $400, and we are requesting a refund of $200. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/04/30) */ As stated previously this customer was given choices which included using another vendor to do the work. He chose to go with us and agreed to the extra charges as the new warranty unit did not match up to the sizes of the previous as was indicated originally to us, and we have his wife's signature to show proof of that. There will be no refund as costs were exceeded and the customer has a full functioning water heater for only the charges to modify the piping leading to the water heater. These costs where agreed to before work commenced. And the accusations the customer is stating are becoming offensive and slander. Thank you


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Mike's Custom Mechanical, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart