BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Dean's Plumbing, Heating & Cooling, is a Minnesota based plumbing company, priding itself with over 35 years of combined industry experience, Dean's plumbing and heating specialists have the knowledge you need to handle all of your service needs.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dean's Professional Plumbing, Heating & Air meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dean's Professional Plumbing, Heating & Air include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

83 Customer Reviews on Dean's Professional Plumbing, Heating & Air
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 64
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 18
Total Customer Reviews 83

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1997 Business started: 07/25/1996 Business started locally: 07/25/1996 Business incorporated 07/25/1996 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Health
PO Box 64975, Saint Paul MN 55164
http://www.health.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-5000
shiahid.judge@state.mn.us

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
520 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.pca.state.mn.us/
Phone Number: (651) 296-6300

Minnesota Public Utilities Commission
121 7th Pl E Ste 350, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.puc.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-0406

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dean Adelman, President Jeremy Shepard, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Dean Adelman, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbers - Commercial Plumbing Plan Services Plumbers Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Used Sewer Contractors Sewer Inspection Water Heaters - Repairing Water Main Contractors Water Wells - Pumps Sales & Service Water Works Contractors Pipe & Valve Fitters Pipe & Valve Fitters - Gas Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Hydronic Heating Radiant Heating In-floor Heating Dehumidifying Equipment Filters - Air & Gas Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters Induction Heating Equipment Water Leak Detection Pipe Pipe Bending & Fabricating Pipe Cutting & Threading Pipe Fittings Tank Testing & Inspection Thermostats Air Quality Service Air Conditioning Equipment - Room Units Bathroom Accessories Baths - Equipment & Supplies Filters Air & Gas Cleaning Garbage Disposal Equipment - Supplies & Parts Garbage Disposals - Household Gas - Propane Propane Gas Plumbing Gas - Propane - Equipment & Supplies Kitchen Accessories Water Heaters - Dealers Water Softening & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies Contractor - Water Conditioning Water Treatment Equipment,Service & Supplies Whirlpool Bath Equipment & Supplies Energy Conservation Products & Services Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Baths Duct Cleaning Air Duct Cleaning Air Duct Systems Air Duct Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Pumps - Service & Repair Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning Ventilating Systems - Cleaning Water Analysis Radon Testing & Service Sewage Disposal Systems Water Supply Systems Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts Boilers - New & Used Boilers - Supplies & Parts Electric Heating Elements Furnaces - Industrial Heating Equipment Pipe & Boiler Covering Materials Pipe Cutting & Threading Equipment Pipe Joint Compounds Pipe Locating Equipment Pipe Reconditioning Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Wholesale & Mfg Sewer Pipe Steam Bath Equipment & Supplies Water Filtration & Purification Equipment Water Heaters - Parts & Supplies Water Heaters - Wholesale & Manufacturers Water & Sewer Line Protection Furnace Sales & Service Furnace Cleaning Backflow Testing Backflow Prevention Devices & Services Air Balancing Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Sump Pump Contractors Heating Contractors Mechanical Contractors Pipe & Boiler Covering Contractors Pipe Hangers Pipe Pushing Pipe Sealing - Industrial Pipe Thawing

Service Area
Dean's Professional Plumbing, Heating & Air provides their services in MINNESOTA.Dean's Professional Plumbing, Heating & Air provides their services in AFTON, ALBERTVILLE, ANDOVER, ANNANDALE, ANOKA, APPLE VALLEY, ARDEN HILLS, BAYPORT, BECKER, BETHEL, BIG LAKE, BLAINE, BLOOMINGTON, BROOKLYN CENTER, BROOKLYN CTR, BROOKLYN PARK, BUFFALO, BURNS TOWNSHIP, BURNS TWNSHP, BURNSVILLE, CAMBRIDGE, CARVER, CEDAR, CEDAR E BETHL, CEDAR EAST BETHEL, CENTERVILLE, CHAMPLIN, CHANHASSEN, CHASKA, CHISAGO CITY, CIRCLE PINES, CLEAR LAKE, CLEARWATER, COKATO, COLOGNE, COLUMBIA HEIGHTS, COLUMBIA HTS, COLUMBUS, COON RAPIDS, CORCORAN, COTTAGE GROVE, CROWN COLLEGE, CRYSTAL, CRYSTAL BAY, DALBO, DAYTON, DELANO, DELLWOOD, EAGAN, EAST BETHEL, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDINA, ELK RIVER, ELKO, ELKO NEW MARKET, ELKO NEW MRKT, EXCELSIOR, FALCON HEIGHTS, FALCON HGTS, FARMINGTON, FOREST LAKE, FORT SNELLING, FRIDLEY, GOLDEN VALLEY, GRANDY, GREENWOOD, HAM LAKE, HAMBURG, HAMEL, HANOVER, HILLTOP, HOPKINS, HOWARD LAKE, HUGO, INDEPENDENCE, INVER GROVE, INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, ISANTI, JORDAN, LAKE ELMO, LAKE ST CROIX BEACH, LAKELAND, LAKELAND SHORES, LAKELAND SHRS, LAKEVILLE, LANDFALL VILLAGE, LANDFALL VLG, LAUDERDALE, LESTER PR, LESTER PRAIRIE, LINDSTROM, LINO LAKES, LITTLE CANADA, LONG LAKE, LORETTO, MAHTOMEDI, MAPLE GROVE, MAPLE LAKE, MAPLE PLAIN, MAPLEWOOD, MARINE ON SAINT CROIX, MARINE ST CRX, MAYER, MEDICINE LAKE, MEDINA, MENDOTA, MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MENDOTA HTS, MINETONKA BCH, MINETONKA MLS, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNETNKA BCH, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA BEACH, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MONTICELLO, MONTROSE, MOUND, MOUNDS VIEW, MOUNDSVIEW, N SAINT PAUL, NAVARRE, NEW BRIGHTON, NEW GERMANY, NEW HOPE, NEWPORT, NO OAKS, NORTH BRANCH, NORTH OAKS, NORTH SAINT PAUL, NORTH ST PAUL, NORWOOD, NORWOOD YOUNG AMERICA, NOWTHEN, NYA, OAK GROVE, OAK PARK HEIGHTS, OAK PARK HGTS, OAK PARK HTS, OAKDALE, ORONO, OSSEO, OTSEGO, PINE SPRINGS, PLYMOUTH, PRINCETON, PRIOR LAKE, RAMSEY, RICHFIELD, ROBBINSDALE, ROCKFORD, ROGERS, ROSEMOUNT, ROSEVILLE, SAINT ANTHONY, SAINT AUGUSTA, SAINT BONIFACIUS, SAINT FRANCIS, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT MICHAEL, SAINT PAUL, SAINT PAUL PARK, SANTIAGO, SAVAGE, SCANDIA, SHAKOPEE, SHOREVIEW, SILVER CREEK, SOUTH HAVEN, SOUTH SAINT PAUL, SOUTH ST PAUL, SPRING LAKE PARK, SPRING LK PK, SPRING PARK, ST ANTHNY VLG, ST ANTHONY, ST ANTHONY VILLAGE, ST BONIFACIUS, ST CROIX BCH, ST CROIX BEACH, ST LOUIS PARK, ST MARYS POINT, ST MARYS PT, ST PAUL PARK, STACY, STILLWATER, SUNFISH LAKE, VADNAIS HEIGHTS, VADNAIS HTS, VICTORIA, W LAKELAND, W SAINT PAUL, W ST PAUL, WACONIA, WATERTOWN, WAVERLY, WAYZATA, WEST LAKELAND, WEST SAINT PAUL, WEST ST PAUL, WHITE BEAR LAKE, WHITE BEAR LK, WHITE BEAR TOWNSHIP, WHITE BEAR TP, WILLERNIE, WINSTED, WOODBURY, WYOMING, YOUNG AMERICA & ZIMMERMAN, MN.
Alternate Business Names
Dean's Professional Plumbing, Inc.
Products & Services

According to information provided by the business, Dean's Professional Plumbing offers plumbing and heating, furnace repair and sewer lines. They offer a wide variety of home heating and plumbing services, including installation, repair and maintenance.

Industry Tips
Tips to Consumers for the HVAC Industry

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Dean's Professional Plumbing, Heating & Air has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7400 Kirkwood Ct N

    Maple Grove, MN 55369 (763) 515-8421

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I were in the process of selling our home and we noticed a slow drip in our basement coming from our main level toilet. We called Dean's to come help fix the problem as a courtesy to the potential buyers of our home. We were told by the plumber that came to resolve our issue (on May 12th) that we needed to replace the wax ring (a very inexpensive part) and it would cost $350 to fix. I questioned the amount, but understood he was not responsible for setting the price and due to the urgency of wanting to get things fixed for the new buyer's I went ahead with getting it fixed. I was told by the plumber there was a 60 day warranty on the work. A week after we closed on the home (June 14th was final closing), the new owners contacted me to ask if I knew about a leak coming from the main level toilet. I said yes, and contacted Dean's to come and correct the problem. They informed me that it would be no problem, but it would be best to have the new owner's contact them to set up the time. I passed this information on to the new owner's, however, when he called Dean's they told him the warranty was void because of the change of ownership. I then returned a call to Dean's and reminded them that we had been told the issue would be corrected. They then told me that the warranty was actually only 30 days (and that had expired). Frustrated by the run-around with different reasons of why they wouldn't come resolve the issue, I asked to speak to a manger. I was told he was busy at the time, but I could expect a call back. That call never came it it has been two weeks. The fact that we paid this company over $350 to fix a $5 part was outrageous, but the fact that they can not own up to their lack of a fix is even more outrageous. I feel bad for the new owners as this was an issue we were not trying to pass along to them, but because of Dean's lack of customer service, they are not stuck with the issue.

Desired Settlement: I would like Dean's to return to the property and fix the issue I paid them to fix. If that is not possible, I would like a refund of my payment.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

 

I believe there was a miscommunication in our office in regards to this customer's situation. We have since spoken with the customer and repaired the issue for the new home owner.

 

Please let us know if there is anything further that we can do to assist.

 

Thank you,

Stephanie *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

8/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Over charged for a sump pump on a Sunday afternnon ( I had to call twice) for "Adam" to respond. He came out put in a $1500.00 sump pump - over priced Sump pump put in at $1500.00 failed so I had to call another more repetable company and they charged $400.00 for same service Deans did. I was over charged for a simple sump pump that took Deans so long to come out it ended up flooding my basement - the 4 hr window is a joke!

Desired Settlement: $350.00 for the sump pump and $1200.00 to install is out of this world but I paid it due to shock. The pump fail just under a yr so I had it replaced by Gadtke on a Sunday at the same time for $400.00. I want a partial refund because Adam over charged for this simple job even though on a Sunday (he was late) my basement eneded up flooding anyway because of him being so slow.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/17) */ Ms. ******, I am truly sorry that you experienced sump pump issues in just over a year. You said you called us on a Sunday and we had you on our schedule for us to come out that day, but also called another company to come the same day. We installed your sump pump on 4/27/14 and your sump pump was covered with a 3 year part and 2 year labor. We most certainly would have taken care of fixing or replacing your pump at no charge to you. May I please have a copy of the other company's invoice and I would appreciate the opportunity to make this situation right by you. My email address is ******@deansplumbing.com. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/08/27) */

6/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged a VERY high rate to change a faucet in my office, Upon contacting them, they agreed to refund 50% back. That never happened! Absolute scam. I should have read the reviews before we contacted them. Their technician came to change a leaking faucet at my office. They charged us $773 for less than an hour and a replacement faucet. When I called the owner(manager, I am not sure who it was), he said that this is a business and that they should make profit!!!! Then in order to try and fix the situation, he offered to refund $250 back and to send a $100 voucher for future use (yeah right). A week later, nothing was refunded to my AMEX, and of course, the voucher never showed up, despite numerous attempts to contact them.

Desired Settlement: I was told by **** (the manager or owner not sure) that they would refund $250 of the original charge to my AMEX and $100 voucher toward future use. I am asking for that.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/20) */ Thank you for bringing your concerns to us as we take this very seriously. Our goal is to do whatever it takes to ensure our customers are happy and we agree you should read reviews before using a company. You will find that we have many happy customers. In your case, we did not meet your expectations and as a sincere apology we did agree to refund you money and coupon for next service. You were happy with this resolution and we have delivered on this promise. Thank you

5/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were told we needed to have our drained Cleaned & it would be $250.The drains were snaked twice, it was not fixed. They were overpriced. Our Kitchen sink was not draining. After trying to resolve it ourselves, we called a few plumbers. Deans' was the first who could come that day. After advising the issue over the phone, they sent ****** He looked under the sink and advised we needed a drain cleaning, that it should fix the issue. He advised he did not have the correct equipment and called in ***** from Dean's plumbing. after he tried to sell us on annual membership, Bio Clean, and Fixing under sink pipes, he gave us a total of $250 for the drain cleaning. (Plus the $49 travel charge for him to come out) We were told this is the standard going rate and were not advised of any additional costs. ***** arrive about and hour and a half later with the equipment and snaked the drain once. He put the pipes back on and the sink was still not draining. He snaked the drain a second time and still it did not resolve the issue. He took a look in our basement and advised he would need to do the same thing, but from the access in the basement. At this time he advised it was not included in the drain cleaning he just did. He came back from his truck with a "discounted rate" of another $300. Not having a good feeling with these rates, we declined. Now having paid $300 to the company for not fixing our issue we were very unhappy. We called the next morning to make sure they would not send someone out and to request a refund. WE also saw at that time the company was running a drain cleaning special of $194. But we were charged $250. When we mentioned this to the company with our dissatisfaction in their service, they stated their Techs were not going to "advertise" specials. They were not going to refund us at all claiming they provided a service. We emailed a complaint to their email account and received a call back that afternoon. They advised the "best" they could do was to refund the $49 travel charge for ****** We strongly disputed the service and advised we would like our money back. we were told "they had to keep the lights on," "We have to pay our people." They stated the special rate was like a coupon, since we did not present it at the time of service they would not honor it. I advised that was unacceptable and we are not satisfied. After much discussion and complete resistance on the companies side, I advised I would take this to the BBB and dispute with the Credit card. He than stated he would discount it to the special price but that "he could not do business this way, and we will need to go our separate ways." I had already advised him we would not be using his services again as this was not acceptable to be so shady in their pricing practices. We had to than find a different person to come fix our issue. We ended up using a different company and were only charged $95. They came in, spent one hour snaking the drain and resolved our issue. He seemed more knowledgeable and honest and we will be writing a positive review for this other company. We feel very taken advantage of, and that Dean's plumbing is a shady overpriced business who we will not be using again.

Desired Settlement: We were able to get partial refund, but we are seeking full refund amount. We have filed a claim with our Credit card company as well to dispute the charges. We would also like to make sure others know the overpriced work. They state 100% satisfaction guarantee all over their website, but it seems you really need to fight for that to hold true.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/06) */ We are truly sorry you did not have a good experience with us. When you called you stated that your kitchen sink was leaking and is why we first sent a licensed plumber to your home. After he arrived he determined that it was actually a drain backing up and referred the job over to our drain cleaner. We have several training sessions a week on technical and professionalism and part of being professional is providing recommendations and solutions to our customers to not only fix what the issue may be, but to educate and prevent issues from arising again. Our bio-clean product helps prevent backups and our club memberships are for folks who want preventative maintenance performed on plumbing and hvac equipment throughout the year. We realize this is not for everyone but as professionals we offer and provide that service. We do offer various coupons throughout the year as many companies do and they are different depending on where you are finding us. The coupon you are referring to is in our internet specials on the website. With the varying offers we have in publications, our employees accept all of them when presented at the time of service. We do offer 100% satisfaction guarantee and that doesn't necessarily mean money back. We wanted to come back out to ensure we addressed your concerns to do what it takes to ensure your satisfaction and we were declined this opportunity. If another company was able to open your line after we worked on it for some time, please forward your invoice so that we may evaluate for additional training opportunities and the possibility of a refund. Thank you and please send to info@deansplumbing.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/05/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 100% Satisfaction Guarantee should mean exactly that. Satisfaction with a job well done or your money back. It is a standard in the service and retail industries. Where you did "offer" to return to our home it was to return IF we paid you additional $300 to "possibly" resolve the issue. Never once did you stated that you would come back out "free of charge" to satisfy and uphold your guarantee of 100% satisfaction. We insist on a full refund as soon as possible, as the service we paid for should have resolved our back up. (As this was EXACTLY what the other company did and cleared with less time and for Less money) We paid for drain cleaning to resolve our back up, but as your company was unable unclog the pipes we paid someone else for drain cleaning. We are not denying you were here, but clearly you did not fix the issue and are skirting around this fact. We are home owners that take good care of our house, even if we do not use your maintenance plans. The invoice from the other company states: "Qty Name Description Rate Amount Tax 1 Kitchen Sink Cleaning of the line from the kitchen sink to the main line. $95.00 $95.00" Please issue a full refund as soon as possible. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/05/11) */ I appreciate your response. Our company stands behind our work and our guarantee. We were trying to do the right thing by you in trying to come back out to address your concerns. I understand you are not satisfied with this effort and I am refunding your charges. Thank you for the time spent working with us.

2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The full extent of work requested has not been performed. The amount charged is exhorbitant. No one from Dean's will call to discuss the problems. Made appt. for a plumber to fix a leaky toilet. Appt. made for Jan 2 so I took the day off work. Deans called to say they could not show up, so set the appt. for next day, Jan 3. Plumber did not fix the toilet, but charged us for a total rebuild kit. He said it would be available the next day. They told us our faucet which I also asked about needed replacement, so they did that. However, the plumber never called back to fix the toilet. I finally got another plumber to come out and he did fix the toilet, but said the faucet was faulty and leaky from the factory. He tried to stop the leak to some degree but it is now worse than ever. This plumber made me think the first plumber should not have sold us a faucet out of his truck...he said that was something Dean's does not do. He also said the toilet only needed a flapper valve, not the much more expensive rebuild kit. This second plumber noted my concerns in his electronic logbook, that the service manager should call me right away to discuss all these issues. My concerns are that we were drastically overcharged for things we did not need, that we were sold a faucet that was leaky and likely the plumber knew it, and that no one from Dean's will call us to resolve these issues no matter how many people we talk to telling them of our dissatisfaction. On January 13 we called American Express to dispute the bill, this action being our only recourse to work that is still not finished, to an outrageous bill, and to Dean's lack of interest in contacting long time customers about dissatisfaction.

Desired Settlement: 1) Replace the kitchen faucet with one similar to the one we bought, prove it is a brand new one, and make sure there are no leaks. 2) Discount our bill of $1900 (approx) down to a reasonable amount for the work actually needing to be done. 3) Refund our money spent on the "Dean's Club Member" service we signed up for...we need time to know if we will remain Dean's customers or not.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/20) */ Mr ***** is a wonderful customer and I have called him to apologize for his experience with us and to ensure him that we would make things right. I have also taken this experience to our team so we can continue to ensure that this type of service does not happen again.

9/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Backed into our fence Used the smaller 40' snake if bigger 100' snake is used it'd "rip up your floor" "Finished" in 7 minutes Stil plugged He backed into my fence and bent it and no apology just said that's why I always go in from the front He said I can't get to the main drain He asked if I was alright After 6 minutes he said I'* done I got it I asked him if he'd continue to bore he said I'* done I said I'* upset he said I can't believe you're upset He continued to talk under his breath downstairs I can't believe you're upset then I said that's not good to dismiss me like that He said I've got 6 kids and I don't get upset I said if I said I can't believe you're upset to my wife or a friend just blow them off they'd be angry DJ said I don't know what type of friends you have but mine wouldn't be He didn't use the 100' bigger snake he said it rip up the concrete Asked him diameter of snake he said 5/8 and I said pipe is 1 1/2 ID right he said yes DJ stormed out of here didn't say anything left floor a mess didn't shut back gate didn't re plug in the dryer The drain still is plugged

Desired Settlement: Have ****** or the owner **** call me

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/16) */ I want to thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We are sorry that there was communication breakdown between you and our employee. Our intention, and from the sound of your email, our employee's intention is to provide you the best option available and to inform you of the outcome of different scenarios. This allows you to be involved as well as to make an informed decision. Your visit was scenario where our employee with expertise was explaining to how to best get the job done for you correctly. Based off of the overall situation, the employee did not feel comfortable with the interaction and left your home. You were not charged for this visit. I am sending you a gift card for your inconvenience and I truly hope you accept our apology that we could not resolve your issue. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/09/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My original complaint stands. This complaint specifically details the unprofessional conduct, bait and switch tactics employed by Dean's Plumbing. The service tech left my home without any warning, and without saying goodbye or trying to rectify the situation. It speaks volumes that Dean's management did return my call as requested immediately after the technician abandoned the job site. There was no acceptance of responsibility for a poorly done job, my fence being damaged by their tech, or the reprehensible and unprofessional conduct of the service tech. Regarding Dean's self-serving offer of a gift coupon (and my presumption is the coupon is for Dean's services), their offer only highlights their deceptive business practices and delusional response. No sane person would allow this contractor into their home after such a horrendous experience. But, again, focus on the fact that Dean's management failed to return my requested call, thereby proving their claims of great customer service is merely a guise. Their refusal to return my call, which could have placated me and resolved the problem, is further indication that "high volume, low quality" represents their corporate mission. And, MN BBB, with all of the dissatisfied Dean's customers and high frequency of complaints, it seems un fathomable that your group rewards them with an A+ rating. Membership money solves many ills, does it not? Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/09/27) */ We appreciate your response. We do pride ourselves with customer service and number one goal is to take care of our customers. As any company may receive complaints, we work to resolve them timely and reasonably. From the initial call for your drain and before the tech was dispatched, 3 different people in our staff worked very hard to work with your aggressive nature. When the tech arrived he immediately became uncomfortable with this aggression and insulted by your words. He felt great disrespect with the way you spoke about his wife, talked down to him, and your overall aggression towards him. He provided you solutions you did not like as they were solutions that were the right way to do the work. He was so uncomfortable with the interactions, he left and did not charge. Our offer still stands.

7/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Deans plumbing came to my house and improperly diagnosed a problem in 2012. The tech admitted to his fault and said I needed to pay nothing. In November, 2012 **** from Deans Plumbing came to my house for a service call. I couldn't get my new thermostat to work. He said the board was fried and I needed a new one. He put a new board in and still couldn't get the thermostat to work. He called a electrician out who said the was using he wrong wires and there was nothing wrong the whole time. ***** admitted to this and said I didn't need to pay anything. The company then wrote me a letter saying I needed to pay or they would send me to collections. I then called up **** on 11/29/2012 and asked why they are coming after me. in a recorded conversation he admitted 1. his fault 2. I don't owe any money 3. the letter they sent me was a lie. He continues in a the conversation to say his boss also agreed no payment was needed and not to worry about it. The issue did go away until 4/17/2014 when they started to bill me again for the above service. I have talked to them on three different occasions and they won't call me back to finalize this issue. I have written them a letter and voiced all the above to them during our conversations. I have the recordings and the letters pertaining to what I mentioned above. I find it very harassing and suspect they wait almost 2 years to come after me again. They have not sent this issue to collections.

Desired Settlement: If they continue to pursue this I plan on hiring a lawyer and will submit a counter claim for lawyer fees, defamation and harassment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/07/02) */ Dear Mr. *****, I apologize for the miscommunicaton that has occurred. Prior to this account being sent to collections, our company tried on numerous occasions to contact you in regards to the open balance and did not receive any response. However, we would like to work with you on this issue. Please provide us with the documentation that you mentioned so that we can resolve this. Thank you, Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/07/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As I stated in my earlier statement I received nothing from the company from November 2012 when the original agreement was made with the company. the next letter I get is in April 2014. I have called three times. Left a message with the after hours machine...no call back. Called again, she said she would talk to the tech and get back to me (I have this recorded also) never got back to me. I called a third time after receiving the bill and was told they would get back to me. I have sent them a letter and not response. They have my phone number but won't call me back. I have letters, recorded conversations to supply to you the BBB to show the pattern of harassment and lies the company practices. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/07/23) */ Thank you for providing the requested documentation. We will consider this matter settled and will discontinue further collections. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/07/17) */ Received recorded voice conversations. Attached.

6/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hidden costs for services. I called this company to inquire about my air conditioning because it was not cooling. The person on the phone told me they could send someone out to look at the unit, but due to the age (20 years old) I would probably need to replace. I asked how much it would be for them to send a tech to my house to look at the unit and they told me $89. I made that appointment. When the tech came the next day he went to look at the air conditioner, looked for problems and told me that it would not pay to repair, due to the age and that I should look at purchasing a new one. I agreed and he started showing me options. The tech was very pushy and insistent. He tried to push me into buying a 2 ton AC, even though the one I have had for 20 years is a 1.5 ton. I told the tech I needed to think about the options. The tech then asked me for $316.49. He said that the $89 fee that I was quoted was just for him to come to the house. It was an additional $227.49 for him to "run diagnostics on the unit". At no time when I called to make this appointment did the business say that this would cost $316.49. They said it would cost $89. The tech stated that it was a minor job and he was only there 20 minutes, otherwise it would have cost me more. I would have NEVER made this appointment if the company would have made it clear how much it was going to cost. Essentially, I paid this company $316.49 for them to come out and tell me my unit wasn't fixable and I needed to buy a new one. What a joke. I already basically knew this and the person I made the appointment with said the same thing. I should also mention that their website says they have free air replacement cost proposal. Why was I not offered this instead? Of course the tech did say that if I purchased my new AC unit from them they would be willing to wave the $316.49 charge and include it into the price for the new unit. Basically trying to trick me into going with their company. Upon leaving the tech also told me I needed to initial where he had circled "yes" to the question that I was satisfied with my service. Stressed out and overwhelmed I just signed it in order to have him stop trying to push me into buying their AC, service plan, etc. I am no where near satisfied. I feel cheated, tricked and ripped off.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the $227.49 due to the fact that it was a hidden cost not disclosed by the company at the time of the appointment, even though I specifically asked how much the service call would be.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/05) */ Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. The $89 was to come to your home to take a look at your concerns with your air conditioner that was not providing air. We absolutely provide free estimates to replace your system if that is what you request.If you called us to provide you with an estimate for replacement and that is not the service you received, I do apologize. Since replacing is not always necessary or what is right for the customer, unless we know that you are in the market to replace, we come prepared to provide you with options to repair or replace. I apologize if there was a confusion. I am very happy to provide you with your requested refund.

4/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they don't tell you ahead of time what there standard fee is but they do have one $660.oo first hour an $440.oo every hour after. The first two guys used a steamer type system,they asured me everyone uses this system an nothing better, they worked 3 hours an only got 50 feet into frozen line before they gave up and said they would be sending out some guys with a welder system(this was about 1pm Monday 2-24-14)A lady from there office called and said the welder guys would not be out till the next day and I would get $100.oo off my bill because of delay(did not get) Tuesday after two hour delay welder guys showed up and after checking said there was no connection and would be back that afternoon after city located neighbors shut off, they did not come back, wensday I called to see when they would be back and the lady said I had to schedual(what) they start a job and don't see it through until I reschedual, so I schedualed them to come out on Thursday, they made there connections an tried for an hour before they stopped said there was nothing more they could do and recommended a contractor for digging up ground to get to system, soo I paid $1910.oo for them to thaw my main water supply and they did not do and I did not get the $100.oo discount, Friday I got my own supplies from the hardware store for $60.oo on my own I got into the line 60 feet 10 feet further than Dean's Professionals. sat a Professional came out with his machine and had my line all thawed out in 45 minutes 120 feet and the first 50 feet that deans guys did was refrozen so the new guy did the whole thing Product_Or_Service: plumbing thaw

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund despite being over priced for a service they did not supply. the guy that did thaw my line took less than one hour. I feel Dean's owes me refund for service they did not supply and leaving me with the thought and worry of excavating only option left. I could be ok with a refund of all but the first hour $1910.oo - $660.oo + $1250.oo + $100.oo discount = $1310.oo

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/06) */ Mr *******, Our number one goal was to get you water service. We have two methods we use that both work very well depending on the environmental conditions and or the abilities of the city to locate water stops and the water stops being free of water. Our employees made every attempt with the available equipment to get your service going. I am very happy that your water service has been restored and I am more than willing to discuss the bill with you. Thank you for your time. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of your methods did not work well, evidence of the profetional with the right method proved,,, I never got the $100.oo off promised do to work delay,,, so I don't know what can I get back of the money you took from me??? I'm sorry hind sight makes me feel swindled. your company took from me and left me dreding excavating future thank god there are people that did help me,,, will you give back any money or atleast the $100.oo promised? Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/03/19) */ Thank you for you response. Your $100 has been refunded as promised. WE strive to resolve all of our customers issues and concerns. I am sorry that that line was not opened. If you have an invoice from a company showing the line was opened, please send it to ******@deansplumbing.com and I will work with you on that. Thank you.

1/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Technician told me I needed a new furnace. I had another company come out and it was a simple fix restoring my heat immediately. I went onto Dean's website Dec. 29, 2013 because our furnace was not lighting or heating but the fan was running non stop. I put in for a service call and received a call right away to set up an appointment. We burn wood so it was not an emergency call. An appointment was set up for the next morning (12/30). The technician came, looked at my furnace and told me that our gas valve was 'on a hard lock out due to over heat. Temp switch stuck open and blower on. Internal fault in seal combustion (heat exchange)ohmed out gas valve and high limit switch stuck open' and that the furnace needed to be replaced for $4,000. Because we burn wood I did not commit to purchase the furnace. Today, 12/31, I had another company's technician come out to look at our furnace. He spent a few minutes in our basement and I could smell the heat come on. He brought me downstairs and showed me the reset switch that he pressed to get our furnace working again. He did suggest we purchase a thermostat that has a fan setting to prevent the overheating most likely caused by our wood furnace pumping hot air through the gas furnace. He said we did not need a new furnace and he saw nothing wrong with the heat exchange. He did not know he was our second opinion prior to or during the visit. Dean's technician left me with a non working furnace at 17 below when he could have simply pressed the reset button as the second guy did.I was charged $119 supposedly for a travel charge (he came 10 miles). My husband called Dean's and they defended their technician saying he told us the same thing would keep happening if we didn't replace the unit. That was not the case as he never mentioned a reset button and he led me to believe that because of the failure and tripping of the switch it could not be reversed and the furnace wouldn't work ever again. He was also quite unprofessional by dropping the ******** repeatedly while conversing with me during the service call.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $119 back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/09) */ Mrs. *****, I would like to thank you for your business and the opportunity to serve you. I apologize for how your service call was handled and for not meeting our commitment to provide exceptional service. Our technicians work on a wide variety of furnaces that are different brands and ages. We conduct in house training 3 days a week to our employees and our goal is to provide the most accurate diagnosis.I am truly sorry we did not provide you with this experience. I assure you that this is being addressed and we are committed to working with our guys. I will use your feedback as an example of how we can improve. Please accept my sincere apology and I am issuing a refund to you as we stand behind our satisfaction guarantee.

12/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Website lists 24/7 Emergency Service but when called I was not able to get service immediately. Dean's Plumbing and Heating Website lists 24/7 emergency service for furnace repair however when I called after my heat had not been working on a 19 degree day I could not get someone to come out. I called on a Sunday before 10 am and the earliest someone could get out was between 2-4 pm the following day. I believe this is false advertisement. When I questioned the representative on the phone she indicated that the emergency tech they had on call did not offer heating repair services. I believe Dean's should modify their advertisement and should not be allowed to claim that they offer 24/7 emergency service when on the coldest day of the season they do not have someone who can fix furnaces.

Desired Settlement: Modification of advertisement, they should not be allowed to advertise 24/7 emergency service when they do not in fact offer that.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/02) */ ******, We appreciate you and your business and we are very sorry that this happened. Our on-call HVAC technician had a last minute family emergency that day and we were unable to get his on-call shift covered. We will try everything possible to avoid this from happening again.Thank you again for your understanding.

9/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The service was not performed as described. They must refund the money. We called the service when our Air Conditioner did not work on a very hot day. The repairman **** told us that he had to fully test the AC and charged $112 for that. He later said that the AC was "shut", no current was flowing and no parts were working, the whole AC had to be replaced. He gave us the replacement estimate in excess of $3000 and also suggested that we replace our furnace at the same time, totaling more than $5700. The next day I looked at the AC myself and found two fuses, one of which was blown. After the fuse was replaced the AC started to work like new. I called the company and the manager ****** said that they will refund our money for the service call, but they never did.

Desired Settlement: I only want them to refund my money for they lied to us that they did any service. Obviously, any test of the unit should have included checking the fuses before arriving at the conclusion that "nothing works". The company (manager ******) said that they will refund our money for the service call, but they never did.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/09/03) */ Thank you for your business. **** did go out and give you options for your system. You originally called in saying that you had already repaired the unit with a fuse. I only asked for a receipt to verify your purchase of a fuse that you said you purchased the day before. You then said you actually had not purchased a fuse yet and that you were going to go that day. I in good faith told you I would refund your money. We have issued a refund through your credit card company and it does take a few days to post. Thank you for your patience. Business' Final Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/09/05) */ The company refunded the money and I consider the case resolved.

8/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a Sewer backup on Feb 25, 2013. ********** told me to have the water heater and furnace looked at, if need to be rep1aced,we will do so. On 3/7/2012 *** Rol came to my home, indicated that the units were both contaminated and needed to be replaced immediately, as the unit should not even be running. At the kitchen table, *** pulls out this paperwork, and I said, No stop, I would like to get other quotes. He indicated that he was licensed person and he was going to shut system down, and that he can't leave here knowing we did not replace these items, since he is a licensed professional. At this time I called **********, ************** answered and I explained that he wanted me to fill out paperwork w/***********. Payment is made that day no waiting for insurance. **** from ********** authorized the job to ***. *** filled out the paperwork and indicated he was going to give me an extended warranty at no additional charge to me and we will also register these units with the manufacturer, I thanked him as thought that was very generous and appreciated they would take care of the paperwork. *** indicated, we do this for of our customers who purchase- more than one unit, we try to help the customer out. Realty came about.. ********** called Dean's plumbing several times, with detail message and no return call.No response. ********** indicated the invoice was very high, they wanted to find out why so high cost. Finally on April 24th ********** connected with Accounting Dept and spoke w/*****, she indicated they bundle their Service and that the extended warranty at Dean's was included. ********** sent me a check minus $746.59. I called ********** asking for an explanation, I was told about a month later they called me back, indicated that amount was for the extended warranty that you purchased through them and that is not covered under my policy. Only the Mfg warranty was covered. I then called Dean's Plumbing and requested to speak w/Manager. I called four times and no return call. On day, the Manager answered the phone Mr. **************, told him the entire story, he said email over what you have and I'll get back w/you tomorrow.I emailed the next morning, his response was thank, I'll let you know when this is resolved. I check in every week with ********** and Dean's Plumbing for a status update. Yesterday, I found the Manufacturing Warranty outline and found that the water heater was register to me, however it did not have the proper phone # or address. The lady confirmed, 6 years warranty. Then I called Furnace Company Manufacturing warranty line and found that I was NOT registered and because I missed the 60 days to get that accomplished, I was only given five years of warranty instead of ten that was originally given by the mfg. I then looked at Dean's Plumbing paperwork for warranty they sent me separately. Furnace is only a five year warranty from the date of purchase and that there is NO EXTENDED WARRANTY. SO I lost our on five years of warranty with mfg work due to Dean's not following through.

Desired Settlement: Teh water heater has a 6 year limited warranty- Dean's Plumbing gave me 8 years- OH SO only for two additional years, I have to pay them over $746.51 for extended warranty which is actually only 2 years on the water heater, and I was told as a courtesy it was free. The manager ************** acts like he wants to work this out with State Farm. He is sending them info under the wrong claim #. I was lied to at my kitchen table, forced to use them that day, and have over 700.00 for a warranty that is bogus. Please help, I have been totally taken advantage of....

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/09) */ I have been trying to help get this resolved with the insurance company for **** and I have been working with **** on this since July. I have complied with everything **** and the insurance company has asked me to send them. I sent several emails to her insurance company and I have called them. The last email I sent the insurance company was to call me if there were questions about the email. They have not called me. I have sent them several emails trying to resolve this. On August 1st **** asked me to send her everything I have sent the insurance company in which I did. **** said she was going to forward it to the insurance company. Until this BBB complaint, I have not heard from **** or the insurance company. The warranty that Dean's provides is not charged as extra to our customers unless specified on the invoice. The invoice *** wrote does not detail extra charges for longer warranties. From ****'s letter posted here, the price for services was negotiated and approved by her insurance company. ****'s business is valued and very important to us. I want to continue to help **** resolve the issues she is having with her insurance company. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/08/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Deans plumbing is not trying very hard. I did ask for the email so I could forward the information on the proper way, I received email with NO Attachment, it was that day, I decided I needed the BBB to help me, as Dean's Plumbing is playing a delay game. You would think after he received various emails back to double check the claim #. He has received the proper claim # the day I sent him a recap. Deans is claiming extra charges...no the bundle fee includes an extended warranty, it clearly has been identified as the extra high cost that ********** was trying to figure out. It's been confirmed by ***** in their accounting dept. Look at the invoice it does indicated 8 years for warranty. Manufacture has 6 years.... SO, yes there is two (2) years extended. It clearly states 8 years on the invoice. I called ********** on 3/5/2013 because *** wanted me to fill out paperwork for a wells fargo credit card, I wanted ********** to know that I had to pay in advance and they will not accept payment later. There was no discussion on negotiated pricing. Pricing had not been discussed. I handed the phone over to *** after ********** said o.k. to me for the************ credit card. *** hung up, and stated, all is o.k. . What I did not know until today, ********** told *** directly to send over an estimate, he did no estimate, he filled out invoice paperwork and said, here submit this to your insurance company and they will reimburse you. NO Pricing was negotiated. Dean's plumbing needs to perhaps re-read what I originally said. ************ was a red flag for me, as my Insurance man told me, all plumbers work with Insurance companies. I was forced to use them that day, I was not given an estimate, I was given an Invoice after *** spoke with **********. HE did not follow through, NOR did he tell me about an estimate. Someone please help me..... Business' Final Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/08/27) */ I understand that **** is frustrated and I can only go off what was written on the invoice. I have told **** numerous times that I am wanting and willing to help get this resolved with her and her insurance company. Again, I have done what **** has asked me to do in contacting the insurance company, and providing her the information she requested of my correspondence with the insurance company. I have also tried to contact her insurance company via phone as well as writing them an email to call me. I will reach out to the insurance company again today.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

83 Customer Reviews on Dean's Professional Plumbing, Heating & Air
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart