BBB Accredited Business since

Bruce Nelson Plumbing & Heating Service

Phone: (651) 738-9354 Fax: (651) 731-2804 View Additional Phone Numbers 1272 Point Douglas Rd S, Saint Paul, MN 55119 http://www.brucenelsonph.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bruce Nelson Plumbing & Heating Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Bruce Nelson Plumbing & Heating Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bruce Nelson Plumbing & Heating Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 07, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1977 Business started locally: 01/01/1977
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Bruce Nelson, Owner Teresa Sundermeyer, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Bruce Nelson, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Heating & Air Conditioning Heating Contractors

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Bruce Nelson Plumbing & Heating Service, Inc., this company offers plumbing & heating contracting to residential clients.

Industry Tips
Tips to Consumers for the HVAC Industry

Additional Locations

  • 1272 Point Douglas Rd S

    Saint Paul, MN 55119 (651) 738-9354

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/10/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Subject: Bruce Nelson Plumbing On Monday, June 13th I stopped in at Bruce Nelson Plumbing, **** *** ***** ******* **** St Paul, MN to get the rate they would charge me to replace the shut off valve for my outside water line. They said that there standard rate was a base fee of $89.00 and $49.00 an hour. I thought that was reasonable, and I guessed that the job would take less than 2 hours. So I expected to be billed approximately $189 plus parts. I should have gotten the quote in writing, because after the job was completed the following Thursday, and only after the job was complete, I was told that the rate was 89.00 base fee and $65.00 a half hour. If I had been quoted $130.00 an hour I would have called around for additional bids before asking for the work to be done. I was billed $195.00 for 1 ½ hours of labor. I went back today and they deny that they ever quoted me $49.00 an hour. I will never do business with them again. I know there was not a misunderstanding on the rate, he clearly stated $49.00 an hour on the verbal quote.

Desired Settlement: Subject: Bruce Nelson Plumbing On Monday, June 13th I stopped in at Bruce Nelson Plumbing, **** *** ***** ******* **** St Paul, MN to get the rate they would charge me to replace the shut off valve for my outside water line. They said that there standard rate was a base fee of $89.00 and $49.00 an hour. I thought that was reasonable, and I guessed that the job would take less than 2 hours. So I expected to be billed approximately $189 plus parts. I should have gotten the quote in writing, because after the job was completed the following Thursday, and only after the job was complete, I was told that the rate was 89.00 base fee and $65.00 a half hour. If I had been quoted $130.00 an hour I would have called around for additional bids before asking for the work to be done. I was billed $195.00 for 1 ½ hours of labor. I went back today and they deny that they ever quoted me $49.00 an hour. I will never do business with them again. I know there was not a misunderstanding on the rate, he clearly stated $49.00 an hour on the verbal quote.

Business Response:

We kindly disagree with the consumers complaint.  We quoted an $89.00 service fee and $65.00 Per Half Hour as our labor rate.  Our residential labor rate has not changed for 3+ years.  With that being said, we also did work for this same consumer back in September of 2014.  Our service fee and labor rate were exactly the same in September of 2014 as it is today.  $49.00 per hour has never been our rate.  We performed the work we were hired to perform at the labor rate we quoted.

 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bruce Nelson Plumbing & Heating Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)