BBB Accredited Business since

B & D Plumbing, Heating, & A/C, Inc.

Phone: (763) 497-2290 Fax: (763) 497-4263 View Additional Phone Numbers 4145 Mackenzie Ct NE, Saint Michael, MN 55376 http://www.bdplumbers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that B & D Plumbing, Heating, & A/C, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for B & D Plumbing, Heating, & A/C, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on B & D Plumbing, Heating, & A/C, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 17, 1989 Business started: 02/01/1982 Business started locally: 02/01/1982
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dennis Daleiden, Owner/Pres Tracy Daleiden, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Dennis Daleiden, Owner/Pres
Customer Contact: Tracy Daleiden, CEO
Business Category

Plumbers Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Repair Heating Contractors

Service Area
B & D Plumbing, Heating, & A/C, Inc. provides their services in ALBERTVILLE, ANDOVER, ANOKA, ARDEN HILLS, BIG LAKE, BLAINE, BROOKLYN CENTER, BROOKLYN CTR, BROOKLYN PARK, BUFFALO, BURNS TOWNSHIP, BURNS TWNSHP, CHAMPLIN, CHANHASSEN, COLUMBIA HEIGHTS, COLUMBIA HTS, COON RAPIDS, CORCORAN, CRYSTAL, DAYTON, DELANO, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDINA, ELK RIVER, EXCELSIOR, FRIDLEY, GOLDEN VALLEY, GREENWOOD, HAMEL, HANOVER, HILLTOP, HOPKINS, INDEPENDENCE, LORETTO, MAPLE GROVE, MAPLE LAKE, MEDICINE LAKE, MEDINA, MINETONKA MLS, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MONTICELLO, MONTROSE, MOUND, MOUNDS VIEW, MOUNDSVIEW, NEW BRIGHTON, NEW HOPE, NOWTHEN, OAK GROVE, OSSEO, OTSEGO, PLYMOUTH, RAMSEY, ROBBINSDALE, ROCKFORD, ROGERS, SAINT ANTHONY, SAINT FRANCIS, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT MICHAEL, SAINT PAUL, SILVER CREEK, ST LOUIS PARK & WAYZATA, MN.
Products & Services

According to information provided by B & D Plumbing, Heating, & A/C, Inc, they offers Plumbing & Heating/A/C services.


Additional Locations

  • 4145 Mackenzie Ct NE

    Saint Michael, MN 55376 (763) 497-2290

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/22/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

I called to request an appointment to have someone tell us what was wrong with our furnace and also to look at our water heater and water softener. They told me when I scheduled it would be $50 for the service call. They came out and met with my husband as I wasn't home. They looked at our furnace (later another person came and looked at the plumbing aspects). They then told my husband the total was $275. He didn't know about the $50 quote, so he paid them. I then found out and called the company, and they said that it was more because he had to look at our furnace more in-depth. He never said that it would be more than the $50 until the end. That to me is very false. They said we need to replace our furnace, but we're double checking on that part, but we won't be buying it through this company.

 

05/10/2016***Consumer sent in additional information, see below.

We were told we needed to replace our furnace and that it was leaking CO. We have had our furnace checked by Centerpoint Energy. They looked at our furnace. It is in working order, no leaks, and no CO leakage. We were also told by B&D plumbing that we needed to replace our water heater and softener. Unfortunately we didn't have these checked prior to replacing. I'm afraid these may have also been fine, but I have no way of proving that. I would be happy to provide documentation that our furnace works. 
Thanks,
***** ******

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $225, which would bring the price to the quoted price of $50.

Business Response: 6/22/2016: Our Service Department Manager Eric ****** talked to ***** ******. This issue is resolved B&D issued a check back to the customer of $275.00. Thank you, Tracy ******** V.P.

7/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: B&D came to our home 15 months ago to repair a stopper valve on our sink. It failed again recently due to improper service/repair. We had B & D come to our house 15 months ago. They replaced some plastic pipes with metal pipes because they stopper valve was broken on the cold water. Just recently, the same cold water line stopped working. We had another plumber come out (because we haven't been overly satisfied with B &D from a few different times we used them). The other plumber found a plastic piece from a stopper valve in the metal pipe B &D installed. We let B &D know and brought in the piece and brought in the bill. It took the service manager over a week and a second phone call to actually respond back to me. Then the service manager stated he would get back to us and it took another phone call a week later as he still did not call back. Eventually, B &D refused to pay our $115 bill because we "couldn't prove it was the part" from the last job and because at 15 months the "warranty is up." We were also told that the fact that the same cold water line failed 15 months later in a home with a total of 7 sinks was a "coincidence." We were requesting the new plumbers bill rather than the $250 bill B & D charged us for putting in the pipes. In summary, B&D seems to be quite expensive, basically implied we were liars, and refused to compensate us for services that were improperly performed. I've never had such a bad experience dealing with another company.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement for either the initial service bill from B& D from February 2014 or reimbursement of current plumbers bill that we sustained in order to complete/resolve incomplete repair of said cold water faucet line.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/06/09) */ ***corresponding document attached. RE: Case #******** We have received the notification of the complaint from ******** *********. I am attaching a picture of the invoice and piece which apparently came out of the pipe when the shutoff was removed. The customer stated that another company had come over 15 months after we had installed shut off valve and found this piece in the piping. They stated that it failed due to improper service/repair. They were requesting credit for the other plumbers invoice. At B&D plumbing, Heating, & A/C, we are a company that prides ourselves on our workmanship and definitely go way above and beyond to make sure if we didn't fix a problem right the first time, we will stand behind it. If the customer would have called us to address the issue and we had determined it was due to our original workmanship, we would have stood behind it and made it right no matter how long it was after we originally did it. By them having another company address the issue, we have no idea what caused the problem or if it was related to the work that was originally done by us. Typically if it were an issue due to the original service (especially in this case where there was supposedly a big piece from a valve in the pipe), a problem will show up relatively soon, almost always in the first couple of months. In this case it was fifteen months after the initial repair until there was a problem. If it were an improper installation, there should have been a problem. If it were an improper installation, there should have been a problem sooner than fifteen months. We are always committed to working with customers to make sure that they are happy. It is our customers that make B&D a company, without them we wouldn't exist. At the same time, we have to protect ourselves as a company. If every time someone called and said we should give them a refund on past work because another company said it wasn't right, we would open ourselves up to problems. We are more than willing to work with people, if they give us a chance. If you have any questions, feel free to contact us. We appreciate being a highly ranked member of the BBB and always work hard to uphold that honor. Thank you for your time, Tracy ********, VP Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/06/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) B&D insists that they stand by their work; however, they also state that the issue recurred 15 months after they performed the work and therefore could not be related to their service. They informed me in our conversation over the phone that the warranty period is only 12 months which gives further credence to our mistrust that they would redo the work that was improperly done. I have 8 sinks in my home and 16 hot and cold faucets in total. The exact same issue (no cold water would come out when turning on the faucet) happened in the exact same manner prior to B&D's service and in the exact same cold water faucet in the exact same sink in my home. I do not believe that is a coincidence nor does the licensed plumber that came out to resolve the issue the second time. We did not call B&D as they are much more expensive and with the exact same issue happening repeatedly in our home we did not want to risk recurring a high cost bill when we simply did not believe that B&D would stand by their work. Following this issue and having the second licensed plumber independently state that the work was improperly performed we thought it was fair to ask for remittance to pay his smaller bill versus asking for a refund of B&D's original larger invoice as a symbol of good faith. Unfortunately after going in to talk to the personnel at B&D they did not call us back for over a week after repeated phone calls from us. Then when they finally discussed it with my husband they promised an additional return call which we never received either. In two phone conversations we had, my husband and I, with two different representatives of the company, we were accused of finding a random plumbing part and asserting that it was in the pipe and bringing it in for them to see. I am seriously offended by the accusation that we are lying. If B&D is going to refuse our request for reimbursement of our second bill then simply refusing without resorting to that type of behavior would have been much more professional. Furthermore, my husband and I do not have the knowledge to pull this type of "ruse" as we have no personal plumbing knowledge. While I understand their frustration that we contacted another plumber we did so as we did not want to expose ourselves to another high plumbing bill as we had no real expectation that B&D would stand behind their work as they stated in their response to our complaint. Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2015/07/07) */ ***Corresponding documents attached. **** & ******** *********, I am writing this letter to let you know we feel so bad that this issue has gone on as long and as far as it has. We have been in business 33 years and are in the habit of settling customer complaints in a timely matter. There are a couple of things I want to address. I want to apologize that you think we thought you were lying. It's not that at all. My husband has been plumbing for 43 years; he started his plumbing career when he was 12 years old. In all that time, he has never seen the piece that came out of your pipe. I would like to offer up an explanation of how our first plumber did not see the piece. When a shut off valve is replaced the tech will go down to the lowest level in the house and turn on a faucet to make gravity pull all the water out of the water line to be replaced. our thought is that when the tech shut off the water to replace the shut off the piece was probably in the line and with the gravity pull went back in the line so that the tech did not see it. He then replaced the shut off valve. With the use of that faucet over time that piece made its way to the shut off again and damaged the one we replaced. So you can see without B&D being call again to come out to fix the repair we don't really know what went on. This is just our thought. Now given time to think about it, maybe this is what happened. Normally, what you see in a line that would cause a shut off valve to go bad is sand or small rock particles. I know you don't know this about our company but we do stand behind our work. At the end of the day, we live in this community and want to be able to feel good about helping our neighbors. I am not just writing this letter to pacify the Better Business Bureau I truly do feel bad that this has taken this long to resolve. I have heard from our son *****, who has had **** for a teacher, you seem to be really nice people and ***** really enjoyed having **** as a teacher. Sometimes, I think we let our pride get the better of us when we take a stand on something and we may lose sight of what is really the right thing to do. In retrospect, we should have resolved this issue right away. Please except this check for $115.00 and our apologies. We would like to consider this issue closed. WE would like to move on from here. If there is anything we can do for you in the future please let me know. Sincerely, Tracy ********, VP Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 20, 2015/07/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We appreciate the response from Tracy. The matter is fully resolved. Thank you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on B & D Plumbing, Heating, & A/C, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)