BBB Accredited Business since

National Camera Exchange

Additional Locations

Phone: (763) 546-6831 Fax: (763) 546-7043 View Additional Phone Numbers 9300 Highway 55, Golden Valley, MN 55427 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.natcam.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that National Camera Exchange meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for National Camera Exchange include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on National Camera Exchange
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 12, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1914 Business started locally: 01/01/1914
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Business Management
Jonathan Liss, President Steve Dosdall, Sales and Operations Candace Gillard, Human Resources Mike Lamotte, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Jonathan Liss, President
Business Category

Photographic Equipment & Supplies - Retail

Additional Information

National Camera Exchange was a recipient of the 2000 Integrity Award. To find out more about the awards, check the BBB website at mnd.bbb.org.

Products & Services

According to the information National Camera Exchange, this company offers retail cameras and accessories.


Additional Locations

  • 12055 Elm Creek Blvd N

    Maple Grove, MN 55369

  • 14380 Burnhaven Dr

    Burnsville, MN 55306

  • 2401 Fairview Ave N Ste 10

    Roseville, MN 55113

  • 7101 France Ave S

    Edina, MN 55435

  • 9300 Highway 55

    Golden Valley, MN 55427 (763) 546-6831 (800) 624-8107

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to honor terms of return as stated by their official policies; breach of contract; abusive behavior. I have been a customer of National Camera Exchange for a couple years and have spent several thousands of dollars on their merchandise. I have, several times, returned items that were not appropriate for my needs. My returns have always been accompanied by a receipt, within their 30-day return policy, and in the very same condition as when purchased. Recently, however, a decision was made to no longer accept returns for purchases made there, though this is a breach of contract since the company has explicitly made it their policy to honor a 30-day return window. In addition, I have purchased cameras at National Camera with their extended service contract but they will no longer honor that, despite paying the additional charge for that warranty protection, which is another breach of contract... Personally I believe that this negative customer image I have been given comes from a discussion I had with the president ******** about the commission structure for employees. I have come to National Camera and waited a long time for service because the sales staff regarded me as "so-and-so's" customer, and consequently they ignored me. I talked to ******** at National Camera about this and he got very agitated, explaining to me that the commission structure was not intended to affect customer service. I recommended to *** to change the policy and use shared or group commissions, at which *** balked and got very angry with me. A month or so later I found myself on the "no return" list. After investigating this at the Roseville location, I was told the decision was made "higher up," at the Golden Valley headquarters, via ********.... I would like to file a complaint regarding breach of contract and would like a refund of the terms of service for the Canon 5d Mark iii camera I purchased there. Customers should be warned that the business practices of National Camera Exchange are unethical.

Desired Settlement: I would like a $350 refund for the service I have purchased on the Canon 5d iii, as well as an apology from ******** for his unethical business practices.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/02/18) */ Mr. ******* is no longer welcome into any National Camera store. For the following reasons-- He has purchased and returned 30,000.00 dollars worth of equipment this last year. He seems to think we are his own free rental department. He has been very abusive to our staff. When they tell him to calm down or that they have to take a phone call, he upbraids them and tells them he will report them to his "friend" ********. I don't know Mr. ******* at all. And even if he was a friend, I would not let him abuse my staff. He has made some remarks to some female employees that are definitely out of line, about their clothes or their physical attributes. He will take hours by phone or in the store to make his decision on equipment. And demand each sale person's undivided attention. He, in the words of one sales people, is "exhausting". We have tolerated his behavior way too long. But not any more. We do not want Mr. ******* to frequent our stores anymore. Thank you. ******** President P.S. The warranty he mentioned is still good and no, he cannot return it. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2015/02/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ******** claims he is a man of integrity, and he even once lectured me about the meaning of the word "mitzvah" ... *** should listen to his own counsel and honor his word, since otherwise he demonstrates that he does not know the meaning of the Hebrew word at all, despite whatever he may say. Indeed, he is a liar and a slanderer. I have never abused employees of his nor been disrespectful in any way. May God judge between us, ********... He sees and knows your heart. I will NEVER shop with National Camera, and I will do my best to warn others of its unethical business practices at every opportunity.

3/4/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i paid for an item that was described as a 70-300mm lens , i was sent a 75-300mm lens on the web page and on my invoice it says i paid for a 70-300mm lens , i was sent a 75-300mm lens , i was in contact with customer support , they did offer to refund my money , i dont want my money back i want the lens i paid for , it is not my fault that someone made a mistake , it shouldn't be made to be my problem , im more than willing to send back this lens when the right lens gets delivered to me ,i wasnt notified that someone made an error , i was just sent the wrong lens .

Desired Settlement: the lens i paid for 70-300mm lens

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/02/25) */ Dear Mr. Lewis The customer ordered a 70-300 MM lens we had listed on our website. The lens was entered improperly on our end. It should have read "75-300". When he asked for us to ship it out, we took the sku number and matched it with his order and sent it out.He then received the 75-300 lens.The serial number he has on the lens we shipped matches the one he ordered. Mr. ******** has notified us of the mistake. We have sent out a pre-paid mailing label so he can send it back to us without incurring any costs. We would then refund his money. Emails continue to be exchanged. He refuses to accept a refund. He wants a 70-300 MM lens, that, had we had one, would cost quite a bit more. The customer knows this. He is attempting to take advantage of a typing mistake that someone here made. We acknowledge the mistake. We have attempted to get the lens back at no charge to the customer. He has two choices. He can accept the refund or keep the lens. Hopefully we can resolve this soon. Thank you. *** **** President National Camera Exchange, Inc. -- ***** ******* Human Resource Manager National Camera Exchange, Inc. 9300 Olson Memorial Hwy Golden Valley, MN XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX f XXX-XXX-XXXX "The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn and relearn." --Alvin Toffler, Futurist Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2014/02/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) im not attempting anything but to get the right lens that i paid for , im sorry you see this as some kind of fraud attempt , but its not , it was your mistake , i wanted a 70-300mm lens that was the tittle on the page , that is whats i should have received plain and simple , yes i know how much a NEW 70-300mm lens cost , a used one can depend on a lot of things , you are right i dont want a refund i want the lens i clearly paid for , your company made this mistake , not me , i dont find false advertising a joke , and at very least i should have been notified before the WRONG lens was sent , not only have you wasted my time , you have wasted my money , imm sure a judge wound not find false advertising very funny either , it is pretty bad when a customer has to point out the mistakes of a company , but there reviews speak for there self's , i cant change what i got and what happened , but i do expect the company to make good on there mistakes , i have my own company , mistakes happen , but you can ask anyone of my customers , i make sure all mistakes are well taken care of , not treated like a criminal , or accuse them of something because they are my customer , im very sorry they dont have that lens , i am , but personally thats not my problem , you shouldnt advertise you have something when you dont , this wont have a resolution ,Since money was the BIG issue , the company must not be doing so well , but at very least for wasting my time you could have asked me to pay a little more because this lens cost was $99 more NEW , and gave me a discount on one , these things are better than nothing at all , or just maybe have a few facts before accusing me of something , im not trying to do , who ever reads this please stay away from this company , they care more about money than customers , , and its a gamble , you wont know whats in the box until it gets to your house , it is a waste of time and money Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/03/04) */ RE:Case#57272740: ***** ******** Dr. Mr. Lewis Mr ******** accuses us of fraud, although he states that we made a mistake on the site when we listed the item. We sell thousands of items to thousands of people each year and we do make mistakes. Just not very often which speaks to the efficiency of our staff. We are highly thought of in our field as a premier and extremely honest photo dealer. We won the first "Integrity Award" handed out by the BBB in 2000 and have been nominated again since. We don't bait and switch. We don't falsely advertise. We have a one hundred year old reputation to uphold here and we don't take charges like this lightly. Mr. ******** is playing a game. He is wasting his time and ours. Our listing was a mistake as the customer knows and we have given him a chance for a refund. That chance will run out in one week. I don't want to hear from this person again. I simply have better things to do. Like taking care of customers that appreciate the great service we provide. I hope this letter settles the matter. Thank you. *** **** President ---------- Forwarded message ---------- From: ***** ******* <******@natcam.com> Date: Tue, Feb 18, 2014 at 3:46 PM Subject: Fwd: BBB To: **************@thefirstbbb.org RE: Case# 57272740: ***** ******** ---------- Forwarded message ---------- From: *** **** <****@natcam.com> Date: Tue, Feb 18, 2014 at 3:07 PM Subject: BBB To: ***** ******* <******@natcam.com> Dear Mr. Lewis The customer ordered a XX-XXX MM lens we had listed on our website. The lens was entered improperly on our end. It should have read "XX-XXX". When he asked for us to ship it out, we took the sku number and matched it with his order and sent it out.He then received the XX-XXX lens.The serial number he has on the lens we shipped matches the one he ordered. Mr. ******** has notified us of the mistake. We have sent out a pre-paid mailing label so he can send it back to us without incurring any costs. We would then refund his money. Emails continue to be exchanged. He refuses to accept a refund. He wants a XX-XXX MM lens, that, had we had one, would cost quite a bit more. The customer knows this. He is attempting to take advantage of a typing mistake that someone here made. We acknowledge the mistake. We have attempted to get the lens back at no charge to the customer. He has two choices. He can accept the refund or keep the lens. Hopefully we can resolve this soon. Thank you. *** **** President National Camera Exchange, Inc. -- ***** ******* Human Resource Manager National Camera Exchange, Inc. 9300 Olson Memorial Hwy Golden Valley, MN XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX f XXX-XXX-XXXX "The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn and relearn." --Alvin Toffler, Futurist -- ***** ******* Human Resource Manager National Camera Exchange, Inc. 9300 Olson Memorial Hwy Golden Valley, MN XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX f XXX-XXX-XXXX "The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn and relearn." --A

6/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After I told them at &:44 pm today my time the the address they were shipping to was wrong they still shipped it Here is where my order is confirmed but not yet shipped PayPal logo Jun 4, 2013 23:09:35 PDT Transaction ID: ***************** Hello **************, You sent a payment of $189.98 USD to national camera exchange (****@natcam.com) It may take a few moments for this transaction to appear in your account. Merchant national camera exchange ****@natcam.com Instructions to merchant You haven't entered any instructions. Shipping address - confirmed ************** ********* gibson city, IL 60936 United States Shipping details The seller hasn't provided any shipping details yet. Description Unit price Qty Amount Vanguard Alta Pro 263AT Aluminium Tripod (180026300) $99.99 USD 1 $99.99 USD Vanguard SBH-250 Ball and Socket Head (182525000) $89.99 USD 1 $89.99 USD Subtotal $189.98 USD Total $189.98 USD Payment $189.98 USD Charge will appear on your credit card statement as "PAYPAL *NATIONALCAM" Payment sent to ****@natcam.com Here is the address they shipped it to after I called them and told them it was the wrong address In Transit: On Time Business Day(s) Left 2 Scheduled Delivery: Friday, 06/07/2013, By End of Day Last Location: Maple Grove, MN, United States, Wednesday, 06/05/2013 Additional Information Shipped/Billed On: 06/05/2013 Type: Package Weight: 9.60 lbs Shipment Progress What's This? Location Date Local Time Activity Maple Grove, MN, United States 06/05/2013 8:03 P.M. Origin Scan United States 06/05/2013 4:24 P.M. Order Processed: Ready for UPS Shipping Information To: EMINGTON, IL, US Shipped By as you can see they shipped it to the wrong address

Desired Settlement: I would like the address to be changed in transit or my money back


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on National Camera Exchange
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)