Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/24/2006

Four Paws and A Tail

Phone: (763) 786-0139Fax: (763) 786-0309120 Northtown Dr NE, BlaineMN 55434-1035 Send email to Four Paws and A Tail

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/24/2006

BBB has determined that Four Paws and A Tail meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Four Paws and A Tail's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Four Paws and A Tail

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
01/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a shar-pei born 11/12/11 from this mall for $1,000. The dog died 3 years later from a hereditary disease due to poor breeding.
I purchased a shar-pei born 11/12/11 from this mall for $1,000. The dog died 3 years later from a hereditary disease due to poor breeding.

This shar-pei had many things wrong with him, most of which the mall knew about upon selling the dog. Since my purchase I have heard many complaints about the "puppy mill" dogs they sell - specifically from the ER that put my dog down... they said they see pets from that store all the time.

When I purchased the dog they warned me that he has a slight case of entropion. When I asked them about how much the surgery was they said $200 p/eye. It was $800 p/eye.

He also had tight lip syndrome where the congenital defect pushes the lower lip against the lower from teeth. His was so extreme that it covered the teeth.

And finally, the genetic disease that killed him after 3 years of life... the Familial Shar-Pei Fever (also known as FSF). This is an immunoreactive disorder which lead to excessive amyloid accumulation throughout the body and subsequent kidney failure. He was diagnosed with FSF when he was two years old after holding his swollen hock up for more than two weeks. He had to be put on a prescription diet along with taking a very expensive mediation called Colchicine. The disease killed him in less than one year.

He was born with all of these issues due to poor breeding. Dogs with these diseases are to be spayed or neutered so as not to spread the diseases.

Desired Settlement
I do not feel it appropriate for this company to continue to sell "lemon" dogs to customers / families who grow to love and care for them. I am seeking a refund/replacement of this pure-bread dog.

I am also seeking them to sell more quality pets to their customers, especially for the prices they charge.

Business Response
Thank you for allowing us to respond to this complaint. It appears the customer had multiple problems with her puppy, but unfortunately never contacted the store. As per MN law, we offer the standard 1 year warranty to cover all congenital issues. This dog was over 3 years old and well beyond the warranty. A veterinarian medical statement was provided at the time of purchase listing the entropian eyelids. This condition is common in Shar Peis, and easily detected, hence the disclosure. FSF is less common, we've never seen a case before in over 25 years of puppies. It cannot be discovered until the dog is an adult, therefore we would be unaware of the problem in a small puppy. Neither of this dogs parents were affected, nor any other of their puppies in the past. FSF is breed-specific, and can appear in any Shar Pei without previous history. Both parents have since been retired from breeding due to age.

We see very few serious issues in the puppies we sell. As a resolution, I am offering a $500 credit towards another puppy.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am only saying No to the acceptance because I only am interested in shar-pei's. I appreciate you doing some background checking into the breeding of the parents (I assume you had to check) and the bloodline. I think that's very important. This is usually only seen in genetic breeding, however it is possible - as you stated - for the fever to show in any dog who doesn't have previous genetic history in the bloodline.

I was never told about the 1-yr warranty. I was told that I had to have the dog checked by a vet within about 1 week or there were no "returns" etc. Most shar-pei breeders warranty their dog for 2 years since that's the typical age FSF symptoms begin to show.

Yes, the medical statement was issued re: the entropion, which I acknowledged. However, I was incorrectly told the surgery would cost $200 p/eye when it actually costs $800 p/eye.

I appreciate the in-store credit, however I believe it's rare that you see shar-peis in your store (since I am in the mall often). I want to get another shar-pei and I would like a chocolate color (it would be too difficult to have another fawn color after the recent death of my puppy). I am unsure what the probability is of you having another shar-pei available in the near future and I do not want just any breed. If you are able to find the dog I am looking for I would accept the $500 credit.

Final Business Response
If a chocolate shar pei puppy becomes available, we will contact the buyer.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail, Pet Shops

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/07/1991Business started: 01/01/1972
Contact Information
Principal: Kristin Smith (Owner)
Business Category

Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail, Pet Shops

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Pet Ranch, Inc., this company offers pet supplies and a nice selection of pets.

Alternate Business Names
Pet Ranch Inc
Industry Tips
ANIMAL BUYING RIGHTS

If you choose to do business with Four Paws and A Tail, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Four Paws and A Tail

120 Northtown Dr NE

Blaine, MN 55434-1035

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 120 Northtown Dr NE 

    Blaine, MN 55434-1035(763) 786-0139
    Fax: (763) 786-0309

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Four Paws and A Tail is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail

ANIMAL BUYING RIGHTS
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.