BBB Accredited Business since

Four Paws and A Tail

Additional Locations

Phone: (763) 786-0139 Fax: (763) 786-0309 120 Northtown Dr NE, Blaine, MN 55434 http://www.fpaat.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Four Paws and A Tail meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Four Paws and A Tail include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Four Paws and A Tail
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 07, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1972 Business started locally: 01/01/1972
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Kristin Smith, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Kristin Smith, Owner
Business Category

Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail Pet Shops

Alternate Business Names
Pet Ranch Inc
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Pet Ranch, Inc., this company offers pet supplies and a nice selection of pets.

Industry Tips
ANIMAL BUYING RIGHTS

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Four Paws and A Tail has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 120 Northtown Dr NE

    Blaine, MN 55434 (763) 786-0139

  • 394 Northtown Dr NE

    Minneapolis, MN 55434

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/14/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a shar-pei born 11/12/11 from this mall for $1,000. The dog died 3 years later from a hereditary disease due to poor breeding. I purchased a shar-pei born 11/12/11 from this mall for $1,000. The dog died 3 years later from a hereditary disease due to poor breeding. This shar-pei had many things wrong with him, most of which the mall knew about upon selling the dog. Since my purchase I have heard many complaints about the "puppy mill" dogs they sell - specifically from the ER that put my dog down... they said they see pets from that store all the time. When I purchased the dog they warned me that he has a slight case of entropion. When I asked them about how much the surgery was they said $200 p/eye. It was $800 p/eye. He also had tight lip syndrome where the congenital defect pushes the lower lip against the lower from teeth. His was so extreme that it covered the teeth. And finally, the genetic disease that killed him after 3 years of life... the Familial Shar-Pei Fever (also known as FSF). This is an immunoreactive disorder which lead to excessive amyloid accumulation throughout the body and subsequent kidney failure. He was diagnosed with FSF when he was two years old after holding his swollen hock up for more than two weeks. He had to be put on a prescription diet along with taking a very expensive mediation called Colchicine. The disease killed him in less than one year. He was born with all of these issues due to poor breeding. Dogs with these diseases are to be spayed or neutered so as not to spread the diseases.

Desired Settlement: I do not feel it appropriate for this company to continue to sell "lemon" dogs to customers / families who grow to love and care for them. I am seeking a refund/replacement of this pure-bread dog. I am also seeking them to sell more quality pets to their customers, especially for the prices they charge.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/06) */ Thank you for allowing us to respond to this complaint. It appears the customer had multiple problems with her puppy, but unfortunately never contacted the store. As per MN law, we offer the standard 1 year warranty to cover all congenital issues. This dog was over 3 years old and well beyond the warranty. A veterinarian medical statement was provided at the time of purchase listing the entropian eyelids. This condition is common in Shar Peis, and easily detected, hence the disclosure. FSF is less common, we've never seen a case before in over 25 years of puppies. It cannot be discovered until the dog is an adult, therefore we would be unaware of the problem in a small puppy. Neither of this dogs parents were affected, nor any other of their puppies in the past. FSF is breed-specific, and can appear in any Shar Pei without previous history. Both parents have since been retired from breeding due to age. We see very few serious issues in the puppies we sell. As a resolution, I am offering a $500 credit towards another puppy. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am only saying No to the acceptance because I only am interested in shar-pei's. I appreciate you doing some background checking into the breeding of the parents (I assume you had to check) and the bloodline. I think that's very important. This is usually only seen in genetic breeding, however it is possible - as you stated - for the fever to show in any dog who doesn't have previous genetic history in the bloodline. I was never told about the 1-yr warranty. I was told that I had to have the dog checked by a vet within about 1 week or there were no "returns" etc. Most shar-pei breeders warranty their dog for 2 years since that's the typical age FSF symptoms begin to show. Yes, the medical statement was issued re: the entropion, which I acknowledged. However, I was incorrectly told the surgery would cost $200 p/eye when it actually costs $800 p/eye. I appreciate the in-store credit, however I believe it's rare that you see shar-peis in your store (since I am in the mall often). I want to get another shar-pei and I would like a chocolate color (it would be too difficult to have another fawn color after the recent death of my puppy). I am unsure what the probability is of you having another shar-pei available in the near future and I do not want just any breed. If you are able to find the dog I am looking for I would accept the $500 credit. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/01/13) */ If a chocolate shar pei puppy becomes available, we will contact the buyer.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Four Paws and A Tail
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart