BBB Accredited Business since

American Boarding Kennels

Phone: (952) 894-5100 Fax: (952) 894-8841 1102 Highway 13 E, Burnsville, MN 55337 http://www.americanboardingkennel.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Boarding Kennels meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Boarding Kennels include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Boarding Kennels
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 14, 1995 Business started: 12/14/1977 Business started locally: 12/14/1977
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
David Bornhofen, Owner Kathryn Bornhofen, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: David Bornhofen, Owner
Business Category

Pet Boarding & Kennels Pet Kenneling Services Pet Grooming Pet Training - Dog Dog Daycare Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail Pet Services

Service Area
Twin Cities Metro Area
Alternate Business Names
Augusta Pet Services
Products & Services

According to information provided by American Boarding Kennels, this company offers a full service facility that offers dog & cat boarding, doggy day care, grooming, pet gear & supplies, and obedience training.


Additional Locations

  • 1102 Highway 13 E

    Burnsville, MN 55337 (952) 894-5100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unauthorized use and charging of debit card, injury to dog. It has come to my attention that their billing practices are highly suspect, as I noted today they changed two $50.00 charges from 8/6/2014 to $100.00 each. This makes the invoice they provided me completely inaccurate. In addition, they overbilled my debit card for $500.00 on 8/6/2014, they same day I picked up my dog, while maxing it out to its limit, making it impossible for me to pay for a meal for my two-year-old at a restaurant. They had also made other charges I did not authorize. The invoice provided to me was not correct. As a result of their adjusting the charges from Tuesday, I was still shorted $100.00 on the total deposits. I show in my bank records that they racked up $1464.25 in total on our debit cards. $1400 is listed below, and they have record of the other $64.25 that was billed to my husband's card. Frankly, the way they have charged my card is criminal according to MN Statute 609.821. They were never authorized to make $700 in additional charges this week. To charge a customer's card without their express permission for services not rendered is a felony offense in the State of Minnesota. They did not have my permission to charge my card, nor was any of that amount charged incurred or due on my account when I picked up my dog. Finally, upon picking up my dog, I found that she had scabs on her joints. This kennel claims that the dogs get "plush bedding". According to former employees, this is completely false. My dog has missing fir from just 22 days of staying at their kennel. This has NEVER happened before when we've boarded her. What our vet indicated is that this is a result of a dog being left in a concrete area that is not smooth and that adequate bedding was most likely not provided. It is going to take several weeks for the scabs to heal and for her fur to grow back. Our dog loves to snuggle on bedding - the fact that she has scabs on her legs and joints indicates that the advertised bedding was not provided. The company also charged me $25 for extra play time that I did not authorize. I only authorized a bath for her. I had couriered a letter to the business demanding my money back that was unlawfully charged and the business owner failed to respond. I have noticed other public reviews of this business not refunding customers for vet bills associated with their lack of care of animals in their custody. I am fearful for other animals in their care as they are probably getting skin injuries or mistreatment.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the other $100 in refund that was wrongfully charged to my debit card as well as another refund of $500 for damage to my dog and the hassle of having to deal with getting my money back that was wrongfully taken from me out of my bank account. The $500 requested is as a result of vet bills and ointment to help her scabs heal. This amount was also wrongly charged without my authorization. You must have a client's authorization to charge their debit card. You cannot just go racking up charges because you have their information.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/21) */ ***See supporting documents attached. On or before July 15, 2014 we received a call from this client looking for boarding for her dog. We were suspicious of her intentions so we asked her to put down a deposit for her stay. The client willingly gave us her credit card information for the deposit as well as future transaction. The client dropped her dog off on July15, 2014, to be picked up on July 18 2014. (See attachment) Our boarding contract, that she signed, clearly states that owner agrees to pay the rate for boarding. (See attachment, line 1) On or about July 23, 2014 we started to have some concerns that we have not heard from the client regarding their extended stay. At that point, we started to call the 2 numbers provided by the client. One number was her cell phone; the other number belonged to her husband. After numerous messages (more than 20 phone calls were made to both numbers) and no return phone calls or text messages, we proceeded with our animal abandonment procedure on August 2, 2014 which included the following: * Certified Pet Abandonment letter (sent on August 4 to the address the owner gave us) This letter is a mandatory letter that We must send out that demands the owner to pick up their pet Within 10 days of receipt. After 10 days the animal is considered abandoned and no further rights of claim can be made by the owner. Furthermore, it states the total charges, to be paid by the owner. The charges remain the responsibility of the owner. This letter was returned by the post office with a note that said the house was vacant and for sale. * Reimbursement of funds - since the owner willingly gave us her credit card we at that point attempted to bring her balance current. In total the client incurred $1364.25 for boarding. This was the amount We ran her card for. On August 6, 2014 at 9:54 am (19 days past the contracted agreement for boarding) with NO notice or phone call, the client showed up to pick up her dog. She never made any mention of us trying to get in contact with her and made no mention of the length of her stay. At the time of pickup her bill was $743.79 (see attachment) at that point We refunded her card the difference of $620.46 (see attachment). She was given a copy of the receipt showing the amount refunded to her card. The client made no mention of the charges; she had no questions regarding her bill and did not question any of the charges we had previously applied to her card. Additionally, she did not question the condition of her dog or point out any scabs on her dog. The client left without incident. On August 7, 2014 at approximately 10 am, we received a certified letter (see attachment) that basically said we made fraudulent charges and abused her dog. Furthermore she demanded that We send a check ($720.46) to a person that was not her and to an address that was not hers. If we did not comply with this demand she was going to do the following: o File a police report 0 Write a negative Yelp review 0 Post a negative review on Facebook 0 Tweet a negative review 0 Write a negative Google review 0 Contact the BBB 0 File a complaint with the MN Attorney General 0 File a fraud dispute with her Credit Card company At this point, I attempted to make contact with the client again to explain our charges, voice our concern about her poor communication skills and see exactly what happened to her dog. The client basically gave us 7 hours to comply or else! My/our calls to her or her husband have never been returned and I have had no contact with this client. The client's original contract was for 3 days. The pet stayed with us for 23 days. She originally signed up for our Deluxe package, which includes a raised bed, a blanket for snuggling (fleece), 3 walks (per day), 3 treats (per day) and a FREE Go Home Fresh Bath. Her FREE bath was given on July 17, 2014. She declined to do any enrichment services. Yes, the kennels are made of cement, most kennels are. Most dogs choose to lie on the cool cement rather than the provided blankets. We cannot force a dog to sleep on a blanket. After it was clear to us that the client was abandoning her pet we upgraded her to a Suite (at our expense). Additionally we gave 10 Run n Fun Playtimes. The playtimes are an enrichment service. They are designed to give some one on one time to the pet. We felt that this was needed due to the length of this stay and the fact that the dog was feeling lonely and abandoned. We only charged the client for 5 playtimes. Additionally, we gave her a bath to massage and brush her for being at the kennel for such a length of time. Furth more our contract (which she signed) states that we can give additional attention to the pet when we reasonably deem it necessary for the safety of the pet (paragraph 5). The client never furnished any receipts from the Vet clinic stating the dog was injured and required care. A $500 vet bill would be a significant injury worthy of a receipt and a phone call from the owner. Lastly, after reviewing with all of the staff on duty that day their response was shock. The client's dog went home in better shape than it came in. The client's dog was a staff favorite and had 2 staff members that wanted to adopt their dog when the owner's failed to show up after the 10 days were up. Staff members even spent their own money buying the clients dog treats. We do have supporting documents to validate all claims made against us. ________________

9/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Overcharged, did not follow through on special, and did not feed according to Schedule, sprayed with perfume. I dropped my dog off at 8pm on Aug 6th and picked her up on Aug 13th at 8pm. If you do the math, that is exactly 7 days. I was charged for 8 days because I didn't pick her up before 1 pm even though I dropped her off well after 1 pm on the 6th. The special at the time included a dog bath before leaving the kennel. When I dropped my dog off, I mentioned a muzzle may be needed because she doesn't like water. There was no mention of that being a problem. When I picked her up, they said she was to upset and the kennel staff didn't want to bath her. No refund was given for the amount the bath would cost. When I brought her home there was a very strong smell of perfume and my dog was itching nonstop. I needed to give her a bath because whatever they sprayed was irritating my dog. Last but not least I provided 1 bag of dog food for each day she was there and gave very specific instructions of 1/3 in the morning and the rest in the PM. After getting home and looking in her bag, I noticed there were 2 bags left. Obviously meaning they didn't feed her for 2 of the days she was there.

Desired Settlement: I am very dissatisfied with the service your kennel provided. There was no mention your kennel staff wasn't qualified to muzzle if need for the bath. I was never notified of any perfume and this caused my dog to itch nonstop. I can't understand the food situation when I gave very specific instructions. I would not refer this kennel to anyone and I feel whoever was in charge with the welfare of my dog failed miserably. I am requesting a full refund in the amount of $239.87.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/08/29) */ First of all, I am sorry that you were not happy with the services provided we strive to make all of our clients and guests happy. Per our boarding agreement which you signed. Pet(s) picked up after 1 pm are charged an additional day. You picked up at 8:03pm. The time you drop off is irrelevant when it comes to counting days boarded...it is more based on the day and time you picked up. The FREE bath is optional based on the safety of the pet and staff. The staff was not comfortable putting a muzzle on your dog and did not want to cause it unnecessary stress. We reserve the right to not perform certain services if there is a possibility of injuring the staff or the pet. You stated hat your dog may need a muzzle, clearly this is a appropriate and safe response by the staff. Furthermore, the bath is a FREE courtesy to our clients, thus making it nonrefundable. All dogs, unless notified are given a cologne spritz on their way out the door. Again, this is done as a courtesy. Out of a 1000 dogs we MAY get 1 that has a reaction. I am sorry your dog had a reaction. Your dog was fed twice a day (1/3cup am and 2/3cup pm) Bella did not eat her first few meals, so rather than throw the food out we saved it for the next feeding. It was not until 8/8 that she decided to eat her food. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/09/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I understand your pick-up policy and was aware of the day charge. Professional boarding kennels use a 24hr rate system and clearly state the guidelines. The time a pet is dropped off SHOULD matter! If your staff was not comfortable putting a muzzle on a pet, you may want to consider the staff you hire. I was under the assumption the staff was professionally trained. Obviously this is not the case. The 1 out of 1000 pets you claim "MAY" be affected by perfume, should be enough to provide a warning. If 1 out of 1000 pets died in your care, would you treat that with the same reaction? I clearly stated Bella was to be fed 1/3 of the bag in the AM and the other 2/3 bag in the PM. NOT 1/3 & 2/3 CUP. Clearly the staff member did not listen to my instruction. The food was separated into daily portions NOT combined for use of a measuring cup. Again, incompetent staff!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on American Boarding Kennels
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)