BBB Accredited Business since

DP Painting and Restorations, LLC

Phone: (651) 247-1334 26626 Oakridge Way, Elko, MN 55020 http://www.dppaint.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that DP Painting and Restorations, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for DP Painting and Restorations, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on DP Painting and Restorations, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 03, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2000 Business started locally: 01/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Darren Pickit, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Darren Pickit, Owner
Business Category

Painting Contractors

Products & Services

According to information provided by DP Painting & Restorations, this company offers contracting in painting to residential clients.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

DP Painting and Restorations, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 26626 Oakridge Way

    Elko, MN 55020 (651) 247-1334

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Exterior house paint from a job in 2011 requires some touch-up. Original contract indicates 5 year warranty on labor and paint. Our home exterior was painted by Dp Painting and Restorations in the summer of 2011. We now have 2 sides of our house where the paint has come off in some areas and requires some additional work. We contacted *************, owner of the company, and requested that he touch up the affected areas. He advised us the additional cost would be another $2000 to $3000 in addition to the over $4000 that we have already paid. After a lengthy discussion, he said the best he could do is split the additional costs with us. The contract we have with Dp Painting and Restorations (5/7/2011) states "5 year labor warranty and lifetime or label on Sherwin Williams Duration paint". ****** substituted Sherwin Williams with a Hirshfield product. ****** involved a representative from Hirshfields who has stated in a written response "The best remedy would be to scrape and sand the paint that is currently peeling, spot prime with X-I-M Peel Bond and top coat with Hirshfields Platinum Exterior.

Desired Settlement: ******'s website has this statement: All projects big or small are handled in a professional manner that exceeds ourcustomer's expectations. Our personalized service and quality products make any dream reality! Quality workmanship is our number one priority and every job will be done to every customer's satisfaction. Started in 2001, we are founded on the principal "Customer First!" and this is what makes us successful. This business holds to a higher level of professionalism, quality finished products, and the best customer service you can count on. As a member of Better Business Bureau and Lakeville Chamber of Commerce we are held to a high standard for our community and customers. Superior products and outstanding customer satisfaction we at DP Painting are committed to every customer, our community, and our business 100% of the time! We chose ****** and his company because of his warranty and professionalism. We have also recommended his company to our neighbors which has resulted in 3 jobs. We are requesting ****** honor the 5 year labor and material warranty and complete the required work at a time of his convenience without requiring additional costs from us as per our contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/11/18) */ I received a call from **** ********* in reference to paint peeling from her house. I stopped over in less than 2 days and walked around her whole house with her. She showed me the two sides that are peeling on the south side (no garage) and east side. Siding only, no fascia, no soffit. I told her I will come back with the paint rep who will handle what we are looking at since I only warranty the labor and the paint manufacturer warranties the products. The rep and I walked the house on October 24, 2013 and he saw the peeling and he took some samples from the house. South and east side (no garage) has spotty peeling and he indicated that there are several boards that need replacing. I said I knew this and we did replace some in 2011. On the north side it looks perfect and the west side had some peeling close to the roof line that the siding boards were placed onto the shingles and they are wicking up water into the boards and peeling is occurring now and will continue into the future. I showed the new cedar boards we replaced around the bay and they are perfectly intact. He said he would analyze the paint chips and get back to me asap. On October 28, 2013 *************'s a veteran paint rep from Hirschfield's sent me this email. "******, I am writing to follow up with our site visit to ***************** in Apple Valley on October 24, 2013. You asked me out to look at peeling paint on the exterior of the house that you painted in 2011. The paint chips I examined had wood fibers and previous coating on the back indicating delamination of the substrate (see attachment- pictures). This is not uncommon and cedar sided homes, peeling does not happen at the same rate. Areas that showed signs of peeling and were fixed in 2011 still look intact. Areas of concern would be knots in the cedar, hard grain in the cedar and the proximity of the siding to the roof line. These are all areas where moisture in the surface and cause paint to peel. The best remedy would be to scrape and sand the paint that is currently peeling, spot prime with X-I-M Peel Bond and top coat with Hirshfield's Platinum Exterior Paint. Keep in mind that this will address the areas that are peeling today. There will likely be more areas that will peel in the future. These can be address in the similar fashion. -*************." I called to set up an appointment with the homeowner and our schedules worked on 10/30/2013 at 9:30. Both **** and ***** received the letter and picture from ************* as we walked around the house. I explained the letter from Hirschfield's and said it is not my coating that is failing it is the substrate. I showed them the areas we scraped primed and painted and I could not scrape that off with my finger nails. Then I showed them the peeling areas that is spotty and peeling off at its own time and rate of peeling. I said in 2011 it peeled only what we were given and we followed what my bid indicated and it is holding. Now it is peeling somewhere else and will continue to do this until it comes all off on its own time. I said I was not happy to bring them this news but it happens on cedar sided houses. They asked what they could do. I said the best is to reside those bad areas, prime and paint and they would not have this problem. They said it is too much and they were selling in the spring. I said then I can make a bid up to fix these areas and they could give this to the new homeowner and they would not have a claim against them in the future from the new homeowner and the new homeowner would know what they are up against. Then I also said we could fix at a discounted rate (time and material) and fix those areas. Then they said they had to talk about this. I said okay and left. On 10/31/2013 at 8:23am ***** called and said I would be painting his house for free. He said I did a crappy job and I need to complete at my cost. I explained again all the issues like the above and said it was out of my hands, his hands, and basically anyone. It is the 30 year old cedar siding which is failing and I was sorry he is going thru this. I said if he didn't believe me I could send over another paint rep from Sherwin Williams and a cedar siding rep from Lampert's Lumber and they would explain the same scenario. He got angry and said he would come after me and my business and take me to court. I said I did everything possible to help you then in 2011 and now in 2013 and you are upset and feel I did this to your house. I said I would go half to pay to complete those areas of concerns and you would pay the other half for me to fix those sides. I said since you are retired you could watch us (hours involved) and I would show him the material costs so he can feel good about the pricing. Unfortunately, I myself and the paint company do not warranty siding failures. That is responsibility is held to the original product manufacturer. I said I'm being transparent here and I don't like these situations or a loss to a customer. His cedar siding is failing and no matter what I do or say the siding issue will not stop now or later even after I finish it in the spring and will not stop until all of the old product is off or new siding is put on. He said he understood where I stand but he would come after me and now here we sit. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/11/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am very surprised at the miscommunication as presented in ******'s response. I believe the paint job we received was excellent but required some touch-up on 2 sides. I never used the term "crappy" nor threatened legal action. I think emotions are running way too high here as suggested by the comment that I would "come after me and my business and take me to court". I have never been to a court nor would even entertain the idea. The house is 24 years old and not 30 as stated in the response. I like ****** and think he is a good man and what we have here is a simple business disagreement. I did tell ****** that I would be seeking "arbitration" (my exact word) with the BBB as all I was requesting was some touch-up on the affected areas without additional cost to us as per our warranty. I am aware of the limitations of cedar siding and I realize that the touch-up is a short term solution. I was holding ****** to his 5 year warranty and he is countering with the cedar siding issue. I did not think a touch-up to a paint job would become so contentious. I feel bad there was a high level of miscommunication here which can happen when there is a homeowner who does not want to pay more for a completed job with a warranty and a proud business owner who defends a position that the failure is not his fault. We have apparently reached an impasse. I cannot fault a man who aggressively defends his business just as I would have under the circumstances. I admire all small business owners and the risks they take to provide a living for their families. I wish ****** and his business a great future and thank the BBB for the arbitration.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on DP Painting and Restorations, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart