BBB Accredited Business since

College Pro Painters

Phone: (800) 327-2468 Fax: (866) 929-9770 View Additional Phone Numbers 2929 University Ave SE Ste 200, Minneapolis, MN 55414 http://www.collegepro.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that College Pro Painters meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for College Pro Painters include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on College Pro Painters
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 04, 1990 Business started: 11/01/1972 Business started locally: 11/01/1972
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Dave Rychley, President Alex Calof, Regional Business Manager – Upper Midwest Divisi
Contact Information
Principal: Dave Rychley, President
Business Category

Painting Contractors

Products & Services

According to the information provided by College Pro Painters, this company offers painting contracting services.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

College Pro Painters has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2929 University Ave SE Ste 200

    Minneapolis, MN 55414 (612) 379-9706

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misrepresentation of company promises including undisclosed tape recordings of customer discussions about contracted services.

Desired Settlement: We would like a College Pro crew to paint the parts of the house they did not paint, at no extra charge to us, to honor the original promise, which was to paint the house at the same price as we paid 10 years ago.

Business Response:

College Pro cares tremendously about our customers experience.  I have reviewed the write up in this complaint file and will step in to mediate a resolution for the situation with the Franchise Owner.  I have left the customer a voicemail today 7/12 asking her to give me a call back so I can have a better perspective and begin to work through a resolution.

 

Alex *****

Vice President

College Pro

******@collegepro.com

 

10/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The painting service was bad and the customer service is horrible!! I hired College Pro painters in summer 2012 to stain my deck. I watched the whole process. The preparation was sloppy and I was questioning the quality of the paint but I was told it would be fine because it has two years of warranty. In the spring of 2013, I noticed the chipping of painting and I called the service manager and I was told somebody will contact me and setup the repair service. I didn't get anybody calling me back so I called in again in the summer and I was told the repair service was already scheduled full for the season and I will be contacted spring 2014 for my repair. I called again this spring and I got a letter saying the deck surface was not covered by their warranty! I called back to the customer service and requested a resolution to the inconsistency of communication and misleading of the customer by committing a warranty that is not correct. All I got was a sorry!! I couldn't believe the poor painting and bad customer service. The painting on the deck didn't last a single season!!!That is the worst company I ever dealt before! If this is not resolved, I will share my story in our community website and I am sure nobody would be interested in working with this company anymore!!

Desired Settlement: Have my deck repaired!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/07) */ College Pro Painters takes customer satisfaction and its work very seriously. This particular job is a deck and the areas of concern are on the deck rail and deck floor. These areas are not covered under warranty due to being high traffic areas and areas with intense weathering from the sun and moisture. However, this customer was promised by a Franchise Owner that the work would be covered. We have decided to warranty the work due to the promise was made. We are finding a manager in the area who will be completing the work. Our General Manager *********** will be reaching out to this customer by Wednesday June 9th to put the customer in communication with the Franchise Owner to schedule to project. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have not received any information from *********** as of today 7/14. I do beleve the company has my contact information. Thanks, ****** Final Business Response /* (1000, 19, 2014/08/01) */ The work has been completed for this homeowner. ********** Business Manager College Pro Painters ************ Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/07/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did get a phone message from *********** and also got to speak with ****. **** said he would come to take a look at my deck and schedule a date to fix it. However, he didn't come for the past week and half. I called him and left him a message and haven't heard back from him. I wouldn't close the case until the issue is resolved. I hope they can respond to me quicker! Thank you, ******

10/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company failed to meet expectations, damaged our siding, did not complete the agreed-upon work and is not responding to further requests. In March 2013, we spoke with and hired College Pro Painters to stain our wood-sided house the same as the existing color to "protect and beautify the home". *********** is the franchise owner & crew leader. The crew was here during the first week of June. The proposal included power washing all areas to remove dirt. It appears the power washer was too strong. It left gouges & lines on the siding. The crew stained over this to no avail: the lines are still quite visible and gouges were not patched/repaired. My husband pointed this out to ***** who said he &/or his crew would be back out to repair and finish the job. Once the job was *supposed* to have been completed, the plan was for ***** and my husband, *** *********, to do a walk through and make sure everything was done satisfactorily and *** was supposed to sign-off that the work was completed. That never happened. *** contacted ***** a week or so later but didn't hear back. *** emailed again in mid-August. ***** responded saying he would call back and set a date for the repairs. That call and subsequent emails have not been returned. We also feel that the staircase on the back of the house was done very poorly. It appears they chemically cleaned approximately half of the stairs and then stopped before staining over the entire staircase leaving it very discolored in spots. A few days after the crew left, a shutter fell down (they had removed all of them to stain) and shattered. During the course of the work, the crew left their tools & supplies on a tarp in our backyard for about a week, killing the grass underneath. They also left garbage and some supplies (including extension ladders) that were never retrieved. We sent a complaint to College Pro Painters on September 4th via their contact form on their website. We have not heard back. I have been giving ***** the benefit of the doubt. But now I am getting concerned that our house is permanently damaged from their carelessness.

Desired Settlement: We would like them to come back out to our house and fix the areas of poor quality. We are unsure if they can repair what they have damaged. If they cannot repair the damage, we would expect that they would find/hire a company that can repair their damage. If that is not a viable option, they need to replace the damaged siding. We really don't know what our options are at this point. I just want my house to look beautilful again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/09/25) */ College Pro Painters is very committed to working towards a mutually acceptable resolution with the *********'s. Local Minnesota General Manager************ has visited the property and gave the *********'s an option to have the home re-stained with solid-color stain. This would eliminate the inconsistency and "hide" the gauge marks from the power-washer. The *********'s are thinking about this option.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on College Pro Painters
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart