Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/18/1992

College Pro Painters

Phone: (800) 327-2468Fax: (866) 929-9770View Additional Phone Numbers2929 University Ave SE Ste 200, MinneapolisMN 55414-3685 Send email to College Pro Painters

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/18/1992

BBB has determined that College Pro Painters meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised College Pro Painters' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on College Pro Painters

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
08/04/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The painting service was bad and the customer service is horrible!!
I hired College Pro painters in summer 2012 to stain my deck. I watched the whole process. The preparation was sloppy and I was questioning the quality of the paint but I was told it would be fine because it has two years of warranty. In the spring of 2013, I noticed the chipping of painting and I called the service manager and I was told somebody will contact me and setup the repair service. I didn't get anybody calling me back so I called in again in the summer and I was told the repair service was already scheduled full for the season and I will be contacted spring 2014 for my repair. I called again this spring and I got a letter saying the deck surface was not covered by their warranty! I called back to the customer service and requested a resolution to the inconsistency of communication and misleading of the customer by committing a warranty that is not correct. All I got was a sorry!! I couldn't believe the poor painting and bad customer service. The painting on the deck didn't last a single season!!!That is the worst company I ever dealt before! If this is not resolved, I will share my story in our community website and I am sure nobody would be interested in working with this company anymore!!

Desired Settlement
Have my deck repaired!!

Business Response
College Pro Painters takes customer satisfaction and its work very seriously. This particular job is a deck and the areas of concern are on the deck rail and deck floor. These areas are not covered under warranty due to being high traffic areas and areas with intense weathering from the sun and moisture. However, this customer was promised by a Franchise Owner that the work would be covered. We have decided to warranty the work due to the promise was made. We are finding a manager in the area who will be completing the work. Our General Manager *********** will be reaching out to this customer by Wednesday June 9th to put the customer in communication with the Franchise Owner to schedule to project.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not received any information from *********** as of today 7/14. I do beleve the company has my contact information.

Thanks,

******

Final Business Response
The work has been completed for this homeowner.

**********
Business Manager
College Pro Painters
************

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did get a phone message from *********** and also got to speak with ****. **** said he would come to take a look at my deck and schedule a date to fix it. However, he didn't come for the past week and half. I called him and left him a message and haven't heard back from him. I wouldn't close the case until the issue is resolved. I hope they can respond to me quicker!

Thank you,

******

10/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company failed to meet expectations, damaged our siding, did not complete the agreed-upon work and is not responding to further requests.
In March 2013, we spoke with and hired College Pro Painters to stain our wood-sided house the same as the existing color to "protect and beautify the home". *********** is the franchise owner & crew leader. The crew was here during the first week of June. The proposal included power washing all areas to remove dirt. It appears the power washer was too strong. It left gouges & lines on the siding. The crew stained over this to no avail: the lines are still quite visible and gouges were not patched/repaired. My husband pointed this out to ***** who said he &/or his crew would be back out to repair and finish the job. Once the job was *supposed* to have been completed, the plan was for ***** and my husband, *** *********, to do a walk through and make sure everything was done satisfactorily and *** was supposed to sign-off that the work was completed. That never happened. *** contacted ***** a week or so later but didn't hear back. *** emailed again in mid-August. ***** responded saying he would call back and set a date for the repairs. That call and subsequent emails have not been returned. We also feel that the staircase on the back of the house was done very poorly. It appears they chemically cleaned approximately half of the stairs and then stopped before staining over the entire staircase leaving it very discolored in spots. A few days after the crew left, a shutter fell down (they had removed all of them to stain) and shattered. During the course of the work, the crew left their tools & supplies on a tarp in our backyard for about a week, killing the grass underneath. They also left garbage and some supplies (including extension ladders) that were never retrieved. We sent a complaint to College Pro Painters on September 4th via their contact form on their website. We have not heard back. I have been giving ***** the benefit of the doubt. But now I am getting concerned that our house is permanently damaged from their carelessness.

Desired Settlement
We would like them to come back out to our house and fix the areas of poor quality. We are unsure if they can repair what they have damaged. If they cannot repair the damage, we would expect that they would find/hire a company that can repair their damage. If that is not a viable option, they need to replace the damaged siding. We really don't know what our options are at this point. I just want my house to look beautilful again.

Business Response
College Pro Painters is very committed to working towards a mutually acceptable resolution with the *********'s. Local Minnesota General Manager************ has visited the property and gave the *********'s an option to have the home re-stained with solid-color stain. This would eliminate the inconsistency and "hide" the gauge marks from the power-washer. The *********'s are thinking about this option.

12/18/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We hired College Pro Painters to paint the trim on our home which included lead remediation. They violated EPA standards and have not completed.
College Pro Painters violated EPA standards and OSHA standards when they were hired to paint trim on our home which also involved lead paint remediation. Their employees were not EPA certified to work on lead removal nor did they wear hazmat suits. In addition, they did not take proper precautions and lead chips and dust where all over the interior of our home as well as the exterior of our home.

They broke the window panes on two of our storm windows. It took them over a month to get them repaired and they just dropped them off, never installing the remaining storm windows. Despite repeated requests inquiring when the installation would be completed, we have received no communication nor has our house key been returned to us.

In short, the level of service was awful, and there was almost no accountability. I heard constant excuses for the shoddiness of the work. For example, one excuse was that corporate messed up on paychecks and the employees were upset and therefore didn't want to do a quality job. Improper lead remediation is a HUGE public health issue that is not being addresses as a company. Instead, they are engaging in shoddy business practices and terrible customer service. The remaining storm windows should be installed and our house key should be returned to us especially given the fact that payment was made in full over a month ago.

Desired Settlement
Remaining storm windows need to be installed and house key must be returned.

10/17/2014Problems with Product / Service
09/20/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We contracted College Pro painters to paint our trim of our house. The work was done sloppy and the proposed solutions were not satisfactory.
We contracted College Pro painters in July of 2011 to pain the trip of our house. In August 2011 the work began and there were issues with the work being done sloppy and paint dripping on the siding of the house. The attempts to match the paint color and clean up the dripped paint was a failure. We continued in June and July of 2012 to try to get a better match in paint color. That failed and the proposed solutions come end of July 2012 was to either: Get a different paint color and have them repaint the garage and front of the shed, leave as is or get a quote to paint the whole house at a cost. Our preference was to have them repaint the house at no cost.

Desired Settlement
Our preference was to have them repaint the house at no cost.

Business' Initial Response
College Pro feels it has been very fair in coming up with a potential solution to the drips at Mr. *******'s property. We have been willing to re-paint entire walls of his home where the drips occurred. In addition, we have offered to do other sides of the house (with no drips) at a significantly discounted price (cost of just the labor and materials). Given our track record with the BBB, we hope you find our offer to be reasonable.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While we appreciate the response from College Pro, there is one important point that is missing from the above. Although College Pro has made attempts to match the paint to the original color of the home, they have been unsuccessful. If they only paint the walls where the drips occurred,there will be a different color on the repainted walls than the rest of the house. We are not satisfied with some walls of our house one color and other walls a different color. In addition, we did not financially account for repainting the entire house so that is not an option. We paid for services and those were not upheld by College Pro. We are not satisfied as the customer. To make this right College Pro will need to repaint the house at no cost to us(excluding the already painted trim).

Business' Final Response
To follow up on the *******'s last comment - College Pro attempted to get an exact paint match. Matching paint exactly is nearly impossible, however the paint match would have been extremely close. By painting the entire walls where the drips occurred, the only slight color difference would be from one side of the house to another which would be virtually un-noticeable. In addition - for just the cost of labor and materials, the *******'s can have their entire home re-painted. This paint job (with top-line **************** products) will last 7-10 years. College Pro is offering an above-and-beyond solution here and will continue to stand behind its offer.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Painting Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/04/1990Business started: 11/01/1972Business started locally: 11/01/1989
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Alex Calof (Regional Business Manager – Upper Midwest Divisi)
Business Category

Painting Contractors

Products & Services

According to the information provided by College Pro Painters, this company offers painting contracting services.

BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.

If you choose to do business with College Pro Painters, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for College Pro Painters

2929 University Ave SE Ste 200

Minneapolis, MN 55414-3685

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2929 University Ave SE Ste 200 

    Minneapolis, MN 55414-3685(612) 379-9706

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*College Pro Painters is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (612) 379-9706

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (612) 379-9709
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Painting Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.