BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Minnesota and North Dakota
Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/26/1997

City Wide Painting & Decorating

Phone: (952) 897-1470Fax: (952) 226-326317026 Toronto Ave SE, Prior LakeMN 55372-2992 Send email to City Wide Painting & Decorating

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/26/1997

BBB has determined that City Wide Painting & Decorating meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised City Wide Painting & Decorating's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on City Wide Painting & Decorating
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
02/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: On the morning of 1/2/2014, an employee of City Wide backed into my garage door resulting in damage.The business owner is not responding to my emails.
I employed City Wide Painting & Decorating to remove wallpaper and paint in my home. On the morning of 1/2/2014, an employee of City Wide Painting and Decorating Company backed into my garage door resulting in damage to the door. I spoke with the employee right away who said he was looking to the side rather than behind him while backing up. Said employee fully admitted the damage was his fault. City Wide owner called later that evening and offered a $100 to $150 discount. I asked him if he knew how expensive it was to replace a garage door panel as I had spoken to the garage door company that had installed the door. He said he did. I then stated he would need to discount a whole lot more than $100 as the company stated it would be much more than that. It was agreed we would talk about it the next morning. That morning I sent photos and door information to the garage door company, and they sent a quote right away. They noticed the middle panel was damaged as well right by the damaged bottom panel that they included in their quote. Right after receiving their quote, I sent all the information, along with the email correspondence I had with the garage door company, to the City Wide owner. When I forwarded the quote and correspondence from the garage door company to him, he then wanted to deduct a percentage based on the age of the garage door and the size of the two dents he and his employee claimed were on the other side of the panel. The garage door company is charging me for the replacement of the panel regardless of the age of the garage door and size of any divet. The following actions from the owner were the most unprofessional and misdirected frustration and anger I have ever experienced. It truly was unbelievable. To resolve the one versus two garage door panel repair, he had his employee back his truck up to the door. I agreed the trailer hitch hit the bottom panel and by the way he had the truck backed up, wouldn't have hit the middle panel. After I told him I didn't like the way he was yelling and/or speaking to me, and the unprofessional way he was dealing with this, he agreed to pay for the bottom panel and I was to talk with the garage door company and decide if I would accept his offer to pay for replacement and repair costs for only the lower panel. I emailed the owner of City Wide on 1/4/2014 with a revised quote from the garage door company for repair/replacement in the amount of $452.61 for the bottom panel only. I stated in my email, if he had any further questions about the quote, he should contact the company directly, otherwise, to please respond to my email that he approved and I would deduct the amount of $452.61 from the painting bill (he verbally agreed to take the extra $150 charge for sheetrock "mud" off the bill because he used very little in repairing the damage to my walls from removing the wallpaper) and pay the original estimate and send him a check. I heard nothing from him the whole week and forwarded the same email on 1/12/14. The new panel will not exactly match the current garage door and the owner of City Wide Painting & Decorating did offer to come back and paint the entire garage door. However, due to the unprofessional, bullying manner in which he treated me and handled this whole situation, I prefer to never have him on my property again.

Initial Business Response
After my employee hit her garage door thew both looked at it and agreed the truck did infact dent the door. When I got on the job ********** was obviously mad about a clear accident that had happened. Then she got an estimate from the garage door company and tried to charge us for replacing 2 garage panels, the bottom one and second panel above. We both explained to her that a hitch cannot dent the door in 2 spots, one low and one high. This whole conversation she apparently thought I was yelling at her which I wasn't. Even my employee said I wasn't and he has been with me for 18 years so he knows when I'm yelling. Then when I gave her the final bill willing to deduct the garage cost for replacement
she didn't want to pay our additional cost we incurred on the project for wall repair, base board removal and re-installation, sanding and repair priming. We left the job not paid and I told her to decide and contact me. She did with
2 e-mails and I finally mailed her back on 1-23-14. The reason for the delay was because I research other garage door companies cost for panel and my options for filing court proceedings
if she decides not to pay. In my final bill I did cut the extra repair work from $ 150.00 to $ 75.00. And the main reason was I was undecided on what my course of action would be because of her attitude toward me and my employee. Thank You **** at City Wide Painting. Obviously my history with the BBB speaks for itself. This is one complaint in how many years I've been a member.
The final payment I asked for was The job total of $ 1350.00 - $ 452.61 for garage door and + $ 75.00 for additional work not in original proposal. This comes to $ 972.30. Thank You **** at City Wide Painting.

Final Consumer Response
1/23/ City Wide owner replied. My response to the owner of City Wide's expectation that now I pay half of the $150 mud bill even though that issue had already been decided on that Friday and was not the current issue at hand: First, be professional and honor what you agreed to. When we were outside looking at the damage to the garage door, and you presented me with the invoice, I questioned the extra $150 mud fee when you, your employee and I all agreed there was nothing out of the ordinary removing this wallpaper other than it was a lot easier process and very little damage to the sheetrock. You said to me, "Fine, forget the $150 mud fee and just pay what you feel is fair." The $100 charge for mud work you added on to the kitchen and bathroom bill, I did pay with no questions because that was before I saw all of the errors in the bathroom. You did return to fix some of the glaring mistakes and agreed it was a horrible job. However, the terrible mud job that you claim is the "glare from the sink" is still visible. Also, the one wall in the upstairs bathroom where some mud work and sanding was needed was poorly done, if at all. It looks as if the area needing work was simply painted over with no mud or sand work done. Moreover, why would one bathroom's mud work on one area of the wall cost more than all of the mud work in a kitchen and downstairs bathroom? Considering issues in the upstairs bathroom - another poor job of mud work and sanding on the one wall by the toilet (if done at all); white and uneven lines showing from poor taping job in various areas; base boards not flush with the walls; two gaping holes in the wall where the mirror was removed (not filled in as you said they would be); tank on the toilet was not taken off to fully remove wallpaper and then painted, as it was in the downstairs bathroom; clogged bathtub drain with wallpaper scraps because it was not closed while working over the tub, and paint spots on the bedroom carpet. With all of these issues, I feel paying the $1350 original amount minus the $452.61 for a total of $897.39 garage damage is more than fair. In fact, with all of these problems, the owner should offer to discount the price. Again, I am the customer that has been and continues to be inconvenienced.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Painting Contractors, Wallpaper Hangers, Wallpaper Removing, Painters - Commercial or Residential, Commercial Painting Contractor

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/26/1997Business started: 01/01/1989
Contact Information
Principal: John Ryan (Owner)
Business Category

Painting Contractors, Wallpaper Hangers, Wallpaper Removing, Painters - Commercial or Residential, Commercial Painting Contractor

Products & Services

According to the information provided by City Wide Painting & Decorating, this company specializes in commercial and residential full service painting and paper hanging.

Alternate Business Names
Citywide Painting & Decorating
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.
Industry Tips
Hiring a Painter

If you choose to do business with City Wide Painting & Decorating, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for City Wide Painting & Decorating

17026 Toronto Ave SE

Prior Lake, MN 55372-2992

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 17026 Toronto Ave SE 

    Prior Lake, MN 55372-2992(952) 897-1470

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*City Wide Painting & Decorating is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Painting Contractors

Hiring a Painter
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.