BBB Accredited Business since

Disabled American Veterans Dept of MN, Inc.

Phone: (651) 291-1212 Fax: (651) 291-0115 20 12th St W  State Veterans Service Bldg, 3rd Flr, Saint Paul, MN 55155 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.davmn.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Disabled American Veterans Dept of MN, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Disabled American Veterans Dept of MN, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Disabled American Veterans Dept of MN, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 30, 2010 Business started: 06/21/1928 Business started locally: 06/21/1928 Business incorporated 06/21/1928 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Business Management
Joshua J Vrtacnik, Director of Operations Dave Wentzel, Owner/Manager Stephen Whitehead, Department Adjutant
Contact Information
Principal: Joshua J Vrtacnik, Director of Operations
Business Category

Non Profit Organizations - General Membership Recycling Services Thrift Shops Transportation Services Wheelchair & Disability Transportation

Products & Services

According to information provided by Disabled American Veterans, this company offers services to veterans, transportation services, thrift stores and recycling of household goods and apparel.

Industry Tips
Consumer Tips for E-waste Recycling

Additional Locations

  • 20 12th St W
    State Veterans Service Bldg, 3rd Flr

    Saint Paul, MN 55155 (651) 291-1212

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/31/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Non-stop robo-calls soliciting donation of items for resale. This nonprofit is stepping around the Do Not Call rules, for at least three years. Once a month or every two weeks, I get an automated robo call from the Disabled American Veterans. I do not have Caller ID. I have never done business with the DAV. I have been on the federal Do Not Call list for multiple years. Because the DAV is a non-profit, they are able to step around the Do Not Call list. There is no way to stop them; no way to speak to a human being. I understand that once one has verbally/ personally/ on paper asked a non-profit to permanently place a person/ a number on their own non-profit's list, that will be the correct procedure with which to enforce this demand/ polite request. I am now working on a written letter with return receipt requested. I will NEVER EVER donate any goods to any of their collections, as a direct result of harm caused to me as a human being. I feel that I am being harassed by the DAV. The message when they call is that their 'truck will be in the neighborhood,' collecting donated items. I have also heard that there is local controversy about how much of the profit goes directly to Veterans. It seems that there are multiple go-betweens who get a portion of the money first, before the veteran recipients. (Probably including this annoying robo call system!)

Desired Settlement: I would like a hand-written apology sent to me. One that is written by an actual person, not a form letter. I would like this letter to be written by the DAV's CEO, Chief Commander, or another person at the TOP of the rank. I want that person to consider thoughtfully: How would that person feel if that person was subjected to such treatment in their own home? Additionally, that person is to consider how that person would feel about an organization that continually invades personal privacy? Would THAT person respect the non-profit OR for-profit agency that continues with such practices? I want a hand-written, legible apology with a guarantee that this will not happen again to me or at my home. NO MORE CALLS, robo OR from a human. Cease and Desist.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/24) */ The DAV MN does utilize a "robo-dialer" system to contact past and potential donors that may be interested in helping us support MN Veterans and their families via a residential donation of clothing and/or household items. We are able to do so because we are a non-profit organization catering specifically to disabled veterans. We know that using this type of contact method can be invasive, so we limit contact to individual phone numbers to once monthly and within a conservative time-frame so as not to call too early or too late in the day. The last thing we want to do is upset or inconvenience our donors and their families. We maintain a Do Not Call roster to ensure that the requests of Minnesota Donors and residents that prefer not to be contacted via our system are honored. Anyone that would like a number removed from our contact roster may contact us via telephone or e-mail and our staff will be glad to remove any phone numbers identified: DAV MN Donation Office: XXX-XXX-XXXX e-mail: ******@davmn.org DAV MN Headquarters: XXX-XXX-XXXX e-mail: *****@davmn.org After checking our records, I did not find any indication that we were contacted directly by Ms. *********. I did verify that her number was recently included in the update to our roster as of 8/7/2015. We have no control over numbers that are added to the registry as it is provided by an outside agency, but we do actively update the Do Not Call roster upon request. I have removed the telephone number provided by Ms. ********* from our contact roster. Additionally, I will be drafting a hand-written apology as requested. Joshua ******** DAV MN Director of Operations/Deputy Adjutant Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/08/31) */


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Disabled American Veterans Dept of MN, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)