BBB Accredited Business since

Minnesota Energy Resources

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 889-9508 Fax: (651) 423-3306 910 Cloquet Ave, Cloquet, MN 55720 http://www.minnesotaenergyresources.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Minnesota Energy Resources meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Minnesota Energy Resources include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Minnesota Energy Resources include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Minnesota Energy Resources
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 2006 Business started: 07/01/2006 Business started locally: 07/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Nancy Lilienthal, Administrator Jeff Carlson, Product Manager David Perron, Business Services Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Nancy Lilienthal, Administrator
Business Category

Natural Gas Companies

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Minnesota Energy Resources, they offer natural gas distribution all over Minnesota. Services over 200,000 customers in Minnesota. Also offer Home Service an appliance repair plan.


Additional Locations

  • 2665 145th St W

    Rosemount, MN 55068

  • 910 Cloquet Ave

    Cloquet, MN 55720 (800) 889-9508

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company incorrectly turned off gas service for 24+ hours on winter day, admitted to the mistake and has not met proper standards to remeditate. On March 2nd, I came home to find a note from Minnesota Energy that they would turn off services if I didn't call by 9am the next day. I entered the house to find out they already had - it was done at approx. 9am Monday AM. I called that evening, to absolutely horrible customer service - sat on hold for a total of more than an hour, was hung up on, was treated inappropriately, told it was my fault and they would not come turn the heat back on until they listed to the call the next morning - and would prove it was my fault. This was March 2, in Minnesota. The high was 27 degrees, low was 7. I had no heat, no hot water for 27 hours. The next day, the service technician came back out and said he was told to have this turned off the Friday before, but he waited until Monday - and he confirmed that they could have sent someone out that Monday night, upon request, to turn back on. He agreed what happened was not good practice. I have called MN Energy multiple times. Not only were the customer services representatives absolutely unprofessional (listen to the calls), but my requests from supervisors/management has gone completely quiet. I had simply asked for reimbursement for the space heaters ($97.00, an increase seen from electric bill, - or for them to write off my final balance with them, if they are not able to issue refund for other company/service) that I had to have running, for multiple reasons - not to freeze, not to have pipes freeze on a house pending a sale, but I also had to take the next day off work to have the technician turn services back on. They have refused any request and have not returned calls. For a company responsible for such an imperative service, they need to have more responsibility for their mistakes. This was not an optional service - this is HEAT and HOT WATER in a Minnesota Winter. They have no accountability and horrible customer service in trying to remediate their wrong-doing.

Desired Settlement: As stated above, I had simply asked for reimbursement for the space heaters ($97.00, an average increase seen from electric bill, - or for them to write off my final balance with them, if they are not able to issue refund for other company/service) that I had to have running to prevent frozen pipes, etc. I should have also asked for reimbursement for taking the day off of work, but that's not what I asked of them during my previous calls/requests.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/10) */ After investigating, it appears this customer called in for a dryer repair on 2/26/15 at which time the turn off was already scheduled for 3/12/15 per the customer's request. When the agent scheduled the dryer repair, he mistakenly redated the turn off for 3/2/15, resulting in shutting gas off earlier than requested. Service was reinstated 3/3/15. Call center spoke to customer on 3/25/15 as she called in and wanted to speak with supervisor. Due to the supervisor being out of the office we said it could be some time before supervisor returned call. A customer service associate apologized for the error and told the customer there would be no compensation. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The company did not include several contacts I've had with them, to no avail. I've been told there is no supervisor or manager that can handle my request - I am not satisfied with the no action or accountability they are willing to make regarding this matter. Cpensation for the additional heating sources is the only thing I've requested, which is not unreasonable. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/04/21) */ We are requesting the voice recordings between the customer and the call center. Once reviewed I will reply back.

11/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They responded to my first complaint against them but failed to follow through with what they promised. I had filed a complaint about Minnesota Energy Resources in September, involving my account # *******-0, I was told if I paid the 366.00, they would restore my service, which thet did, but they continue to bill me for the 412.00 balance which is not fair. I first received an email September 8, startling I owed 412.00. I called the company and was told that was valid, after spending 20 minutes on the phone with them, I was told to disregard the bill. On October 7, I received a letter in the mail stating that I owed 412.00 and could face disconnection if it was not paid. The letter was from their collections department. I am very frustrated with them, feel like I was lied to, and am feeling harrased.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking that they erase this full amount if this bill. I am also looking into legal action if this does not get resolved.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/10/28) */ Note from the Call Center: After reviewing the account, it looks like the request I submitted to have the charges removed wasn't completed correctly. I created a new request for the charges to be removed. I also removed late payment charges that billed and added a hold to the account to prevent any further collection activity while we wait for the charges to be removed. The requests are handled based on bill cycle so I set a reminder to check on the account again on 11/3/14 just to ensure the charges get removed this time. I called ********, wasn't available so had to leave a message. My message apologized for the charges not being removed yet. Also let her know a hold was placed on the account and new request to remove charges. I also noted the account with the information just in case I'm not available if she returns the call. ********************** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/10/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I called Minnesota Energy resources and spoke to Mr. *******'s voicenail and received a derogatory message. I spoke to him two times informing him of his mistake, This has caused much stress for me and I did not appreciate the way I was lied to, ignored, and treated like a lesser person. I never received any apology from this company which is another lie. Why can't they believe their customers and try to work with them? The reason is, the customer has no choice but Minnesota energy resources. If I could use solar or electric heat, I would gladly do that. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/10/31) */ Customer hasn't called back since our CSA left the last message. The CSA just checked the account again and removed the disconnect notice from her credit history with us. There's also the hold on the account to allow time for her new bill to generate which will reflect the credit for Service Choice. The request has been completed however, it won't be finalized until the bill generates. If customer were to call, agents would see that the credit is in the "un-posted". It's just a small waiting period until the next statement generates which will be 11/19/14. At that time she'll then be owing for 3 months of service. However, we could offer her extended payment arrangements if needed.

4/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/14/14, I recvd. a bill for $31.90 that was due by 4/18/14, 10 days from date on letter 4/8/14. MN Energy refused to make a payment arrg. w/me. MN Energy Resources is unwilling to make a payment arrangement with me due to a July 2013 payment for monthly ServiceChoice Appl. Repair. I was advised that this would be included on each of my monthly bills from MN. Energy Res. As a result, last summer I thought I had paid it with my monthly bill. I made the past due payment and moved on with paying MN Energy Res. every month. This past heating season has produced high gas bills. I pay on my bills each month. In Feb., my hours working part-time at ********* were cut in half. I live by myself and I'm on a fixed income and this drop in hours, limited what I could pay to MN. Energy Res. As a result, I recvd. a shut off notice in March for $160.88, which I paid on time. Then I recvd. another shut off notice for $188.88 due 4/16/14. I contacted MN. Energy Res. and advised them, that I would be unable to pay a second large amount and would be able to work a payment plan. I was told no due to the late ServiceChoice payment last July 2013. I explained the financial situation and was again told no and that the $188.88 was due on 4/16/14 or my gas would be shut off. Then on Monday, April 14, 2014, I receive a letter dated 4/8/14, stating that I have to pay $31.90 within 10 days of the date of the letter which means the payment is due within 5 days of receipt of the letter. I contacted the Customer Service line again to advise them I could make the payment 4/23/14 and was told no again. I requested speaking with a supervisor and was told no one was available; I asked again for the girl to please locate a supervisor and she again said that their wasn't one around, they weren't on the phone and she didn't know where they were. I asked for a call back from one and she said that it could take up to 24-48 hours which would bring me up to Friday 4/18/14. I am a responsible hard working person and I pay my bills and follow thru on payment arrangements. I have been a customer for over 38 years and I do not think that allowing MN Energy Res. to bully or deny a senior citizen heat or service is justified. Evidently, they don't understand what Customer Service for everyone is about. I feel like I am being discriminated against by MN. Energy Res. In trying to resolve a large payment and a small payment, MN Energy Res. was incapable of true Customer Service to a senior citizen. Discrimination can be subtle or right out there. The inability of MN Energy Res. to provide customer service was not demonstrated to me.

Desired Settlement: First, I need MN. Energy Res. to state on their statements with a past due amount that any monthly ServiceChoice agreements are not included in the payment of a past due bill. Second, customer service includes assisting those on a fixed smaller income of their options for making affordable monthly payments. You don't withold a payment option for minor oversight in the past. You find a reasonable solution for the current bill. Third, blowing off an individual with a pat answer or avoidance by a supervisor who doesn't want to make the time to assist an individual, is wrong, wrong, wrong. That is your job when you work in Customer Service for any organization. Fourth, value your customers don't threaten them, bullys come in different sizes and in different positions within an organization. I have worked in Customer Service for several years and I know what works and what doesn't. Employees/Companies need to be mindful of whoe their customer is and treat them with the same respect they want for themselves. MN. Energy Res. needs to get off their high horse and work with me in resolving this issue.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/16) */ Customer has been called by our customer service associate but she was not home so we left a voicemail message with the following info: Customer is in arrears on her account, the gas portion and the ServiceChoice appliance protection portion starting on November 2013.No more arrangements can be made due to broken payment arrangements in the past. Customer needs to make payment on arrears amount.

2/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Extremely rude tech, I can not imagine if a female was on the receiving end of this treatment. A technician came to our house to repair an appliance that they had (repaired)a few weeks ago. From the moment the tech stepped into the house, all he did was complain about how hard it was to find our home. I explained that the previous tech had no issues. No matter, he would not listen and kept complaining. I finally asked if he always comes to a customer's home and does this, he said does what, I said complain like this and inform others on how they should keep up their home. The tech said you know what, I am out of here. I am so glad I was home to handle this instead of my wife, I can only imagine how he treats females when he has a bone to pick. DO NOT USE MN ENERGY FOR APPLIANCE WARRANTIES IF YOU CAN HELP IT.

Desired Settlement: Send out the original tech to repair our appliance, if the appliance cannot be repaired, replace it as stated in the warranty I paid for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/12) */ Per customer's request, we sent out another tech to do repairs on the customer's appliance and according to that tech the job was completed to the satisfaction of the customer. This tech also commented that it was difficult to find the home. The mailbox had been knocked down by the snowplow and because the home's siding was replaced the house numbers hadn't been put on the home yet. The customer's frustration with tech #1 will be addressed.

1/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently received a bill more than 3 times the amount of any previous bill I had ever received. I called customer service, they said I would be contacted and never have. I sent a email in addition, I was supposed to hear back and have not been contacted. I tried to go through their systems to resolve this problem.I was told that I have a lot of estimated bills (not actual) by customer service from their company. I asked for a reason why, they could not give me a reason. I noted that I live in town (cloquet) not far from their buildings (office, maintenance not sure). My meter is about 6 feet from the street, easily accessible. I do not know why I am blindsided with a approx. $130.00 bill out of no where. My previous high was $30 in about a years worth of bills. I have asked for reasons why and how could this happen and have only been told someone will contact you. Never have been contacted.In addition, I know for a fact someone from MERC did not come to read my meter for this latest bill, because we have had significant snowfall before then and there are no footprints in the snow by my meter. You need to walk into the yard slightly to see the meter readings. There have never been any such footprints. It is not fair to be blind sided with a large bill, that is supposedly for make up from months ago. If they expect me to be a good customer and pay my bills (which I budget for monthly), then I expect them to do their due diligence and give me ACTUAL bills for the gas I have used that month and have the personnel necessary to carry out their responsibilities just like I have fulfilled mine responsibility each month by paying in full. $130 though? That needs to be explained clearly to me and why that happened.It is almost like a gangster coming back after months and asking for his money when he needs it. Or thinks he can get away with it, like during winter season.I want to talk to someone in person about this and not have this happen again. Product_Or_Service: Natural Gas

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want to talk to a person from MERC IN PERSON in a position to make a decision and authority to fix this problem and not have it happen again. Either MERC is severely understaffed or their employees are not doing their job. Once again, I live too close to their buildings to not have actual bills if that is the case.I want to have explained how is it that they come up with their figures to bill me (because now I have my doubts that they do it legitimately). How did they come up with $130?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/09) */ The meter has been reread and is still reading high. We will send the meter in for testing at no charge to the customer. We left a message for customer to call us to set up a time to install an exchange meter and left him updated information on what we found out. Customer's bill will be adjusted and he will receive a new bill.

10/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: waiting one week for ME to fix water heater. keep changing dates or tell me know one scheduled a fix date. I called Minnesota Energy on 9/26/13 Friday, to let them know my hot water heater won't stay lit. They told me they were very busy and could not come out for a week. We finally agreed some one would come out Saturday morning 9/27/13. I told them I have four adults and two teens that need showers for school/work. A technician came out took five minutes to light the heater. I told him we already did this and it keeps going out. He told us to clean under heater we did. Pilot still went out. I called ME again and was told they had to order part, and that it would be delivered Monday 9/30/13. Part came Tuesday because they just ordered the part Monday. So I called back to ME and they scheduled Thursday 10/3/13, to fix heater between 8am-12 noon. I waited till noon no one came, called ME again asked where the tech was, they told me no appointment was scheduled. I did not agree with that excuse so they told me they were making it an emergency and some one would be out sometime during the day (today 10/3/13) they did not know when, but sometime. It is now 5:00pm 10/3/13 and I called ME again they told me again there was no service appointment for me scheduled. I explained to the service that this was enough I pay my bill on time they promised service they kept changing there story and my hot water heater is still not working. I pay extra each month for this service, someone do something...PLEASE

Desired Settlement: I WANT MY HOT WATER HEATER FIXED...NOT LIED TO AND GIVE Minnesota Energy A BIG FINE ..I AM SO MAD, IF I COULD, I WOULD SWITCH GAS COMPANIES. I HAVE NEVER HAD THIS KIND OF TROUBLE GETTING SOMETHING FIXED, especially when I pay monthly for this service...

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/04) */ Our tech ordered a new pilot assembly for the water heater on 9/28/13 and the order was set for today, 10/4/13 for the tech to install the part. He did install today and also did a furnace inspection. We left a message with the customer and a return phone number for her to call if she needed to speak with us or needed anything else.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Minnesota Energy Resources
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)