BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Minnesota and North Dakota
Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/23/2007

Minnesota Energy Resources - Home Services

Phone: (800) 889-9508Fax: (651) 423-33063460 Technology Dr NW, RochesterMN 55901-8351 Send email to Minnesota Energy Resources - Home Services

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/23/2007

BBB has determined that Minnesota Energy Resources - Home Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Minnesota Energy Resources - Home Services' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Minnesota Energy Resources - Home Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
06/11/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: My bill went from 20-40 therms on average to 121 therms, which was only a 17 day billing due to me moving.
I got my final bill and was charged for 121 therms, this was for 17 day time frame in May when my heater was not running and I was barely at home to use any hot water from my water heater. My last bill was for 20 therms, which was for a 27 day time frame in April when I still had my heater on a couple times at night because it was still a little chilly. They acknowledged that there was something wrong and they would send a technician out on Tuesday June 3rd, which according to the assistant property manager of my complex, they never came out to read my meter. I called today, June 6th, and they said the technician said there was no changes to be made, I told them they should probably go look for a gas leak because I did not use that much gas in that small time frame. They told me there was nothing wrong, and unless I smelled gas they would not send anyone out to check.

I lived in a 810 square foot apartment, the heater had not been on for almost a month, and the only thing that ran on gas was my water heater, they said that last year at this time I used 40 therms, but they still could not fix it and my bill would stand.

I have called several time I was not happy and very frustrated but you could tell that two of the ladies in the call center were going by a script, they other two ladies I spoke with were willing to try to help me, but when I did ask for a supervisor they told me they would give me a call which never happened. The final lady I did call said that the local office would give me a call to resolve my issue, but we will see if that even happens.

Initial Business Response
The local customer service associate talked to the customer directly on 6/6/14. We credited her account to her satisfaction.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

04/14/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: meter reading errors
extremely difficult to solve the problem
Since January 2014 MN energy resources made meter reading errors. I went from an usage of 514 therms, to 97 up to 913 last onto, when my average usage in winter months is not higher then 400.
I've called several times. Depending on the operators they either acknowledge that it seems to be a mistake or that there is no error by their part. I've also sent an e-mail but never got any answer.
Finally they told me that they would send somebody over to take another look to the meter and also inside my house and they gave me four hours window. I work full time and I had to leave in the afternoon but nobody showed up and when I called to complaint they denied that they asked me to be home. When I asked to talk to a supervisors they said that he'd call me back.

Initial Business Response
We have reviewed the account and the meter was misread 2 months this winter. We reviewed last year's usage for the same time period and although the meter was misread the actual running total from Nov. to March was an accurate representation of the total usage for that time period. The usage also indicated an increase in gas usage by the customer of 25%. Colder than normal weather and a raise in gas prices were also factors that impacted the bill. We have tried to reach the customer using the number on the BBB complaint and the one on the customer's account. We left her messages. She has not returned our calls.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have tried to call the numbers that they left several times but I always had the answering machine. They keep saying that even though they misread two months in a short period of time (I believe you should expect a better service) the final amount of money it is correct. They did not address the fact that I had to take half a day off waiting somebody who never showed up.
Finally their call center it quite useless and some of the operators don't know how to handle frustrated costumers.
In conclusion, I am not satisfied with the response, or the service. Unfortunately Minnesota Energy Resource has the monopoly in this party of the state and there is not much more that I can do, if not pay promptly as I have ever done in the past seven years and more.


Final Business Response
We apologize to the customer for the inconvenience they have had because of our meter reading errors. There may have been a communication breakdown between the call center and customer with regards to the customer waiting a half day for our company to show up. On this type of order the customer does not need to be present. The customer was called by the Local Supervisor and by a local Customer Service Representative 4 times over the last two week time period. Each time the company representative left a message for the customer to call back. The Local Supervisor received one call back message from the customer in this time period and the CSA received one call back message from the customer. In both instances the customer was called back upon receiving the message, but were unable to connect with the customer. Minnesota Energy Resources values its customers and we are committed to ensure the customer's meter will be read accurately every time. The customer is invited to contact the Local Supervisor at ************ with a convenient time to meet during business hours either by phone or in person to bring resolution to this.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/02/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: They changed our address without permission and will not negotiate a correct budget payment.
I did not receive our statement for month of June or July. I called there office on Aug. 1 to find out
why we were not receiving statements. The rep. said
they would remail statements. I loged on to there
web site on Aug 3 for the first time. This is where
I noticed my mailing address was changed. On Aug 5
I contacted them again about why my mailing address
was changed, the rep. said that the post office
returned my mail because I did not live at the new
address they had in ther system. So I contacted the
post office and told me they do not tell any person or business to change an address. Mn. Energy will not admit they changed my addtess by
mistake. Hopefully they have corrected there mistake.
Currently I on a monthly budget pay amount of $31.00. They want to raise this payment to $85.00
a month even though my current balance would have
been near 0 if I would have receive June and July
statements. From July 2011 to July 2012 my payment were $73.00 a month and I ended up with a
$292.00 credit balance. Starting in Aug, 2012 they
lowed my payment because of the credit. As you can see by my payments of $73.00 a month I ended
up with $290.00 credit why would they raise my
payment to $85.00 now. The rep. I spoke to said
they will not change the monthly payment because
that is the amount the computer figured. As you
can see from the numbers above I would end up with a credit of over $300.00 at end of cycle.



Business' Initial Response
There are notes on this account from 5/24/13 "Updated mailing address per PO yellow label to ********************** Rochester MN 55904". That is why the address was changed. His address has been updated to the correct address.

On 8/5 ******* called and updated the mailing address and asked to speak to a supervisor because he felt the $85.00 month new budget was too high. Budget billing is based on the last 12 months use. In this case his new budget would be $72.16 in use, but we also add in a percentage to account for weather and changing gas prices. That is where the $85.00 is coming from. He had a credit due to the warm winter 2011-2012 with a budget of $73.00 a month and the credit was used up this winter as he was only paying $31.00 month and it was much colder. The budget history at this premise has ranged from $31/month to $164/month, so $85/month is not out of line.
The customers balance today is $150.15.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I spoke with the PO master and he said they do not tell anyone that the address should be changed. Why would the Post Office put a yellow label on only one piece of mail? I have not had any problems with any other mail. I feel someone on their end changed my address by mistake and they are trying to blame the PO. Why didn't they call me before changing the address?
If I would have received the two months statements my balance would have only been $98.00. The $85.00 budget payment I feel would be and over payment of $300.00. I worked in the propane gas industry for 34 years, the last 10 as a manager before I retired, so I do know about the budget plan and customer service. For a company to tell a customer that they will not change a payment because their computer sets the amount is unbelievable. This is very poor customer service. I am no longer on the budget plan and my account is paid in full!!!. This is what happens when there is no competition to change to, they can dictate to their customers anything they want.

Business' Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/26/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Their billing practices are very poor. Our bill was falsified for 4 months.
We were under the cold weather act all through the winter. The county was helping us pay our electric and our gas. Approximately $75 was paid towards the gas bill every month. We did not receive a paper bill at all. So I set up an online account. I checked the online account every month because we knew $75 would not pay the bill off entirely, and we wanted to make small payments here and there. Upon checking my bill, the internet site would show a $0 balance. So we assumed that the $75 must be covering our gas bill. I continued to check the bill online and still it was showing $0 balance. April came and I checked the bill again it was now showing a pass due balance of almost $500. My fiance called and talked to them about it and at first they said no worries you have a month to start paying it off. So I attempted twice to pay a $25 payment. Both times they rejected the payment. Then we were shut off in May. When we called to ask if there was anything we can do to get it turned back on, the women (who was VERY rude) said that we had to pay the entire $600 dollar bill. My fiance became very irritated since now the bill was almost a hundred dollars more. The women informed him that it had to be paid in full. They did not take any payments what so ever. If we made any payment even a penny less than what was owed it would go straight to future payments and would not get the gas turned back on. Also when my fiance called it was not in Minnesota. They redirected him to someone in Tuscon, AZ. Our bill is now $694. We can't get help from anyone else and the winter months are coming. We can save up money but by the time we have the amount saved up to pay in full they tell us we still owe more. They will not take any money from us. We don't know what to do we are at our wits end and the people we try to talk to, talk down to us and treat us like we are below them. They are the worst company I have ever delt with. My family will now be without heat ALL WINTER because their customer service sucks and they don't care at all about anything but money. I have an 18 mo old son. I may have to send him to his grandmothers for the winter so he doesn't freeze. This is absolute BS and I'd like to have some kind of action taken on them!

Business' Initial Response
Customer called on 1/14/13 and was advised balance was $226.30. Customer was read the CWR statement and entered into a $60.00 month payment arrangement. Customer made one payment on 2/5/13. Bills for the months where she says she had a zero balance were showing no payment due because of the budget and Energy Assistance payments, but each bill had a past due and a current balance on them. The customer broke payment agreement and did not pay the balance or make arrangements at the end of CWR so gas was turned off. There was a note on the 4/23 bill; all CWR customers were sent a letter explaining this as follows: "Your account will be removed from Cold Weather Rule on April 15, 2013. Please contact MN Energy's 24 hour customer service at 800-889-9508 to make payment arrangements on your account balance. If you have a previous balance that amount is due immediately; the remaining balance is due on the due date. Please send payments to the address on the front of the payment stub." Customer's amount billed kept going up due to monthly customer charges.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the response. I did not RECEIVE ANYTHING IN THE MAIL! I check my mail every day! And I still do not understand why the balance was being shown zero dollars. That still makes no sense. And we did pay $60 dollars TWICE! Not once my mother in law sent them a payment. Even if we were under a $60 dollars a month contract. There should have at least been a balance of $60 dollars a month does that not make sense! I do not understand WHY there couldn't be any payment arrangement made. This is the only business I have ever dealt with that will not make any type of arrangement. The "Have to make a full payment or any payments will go to future bills" Makes absolutely not sense to me! Also, how am I suppose to make a payment with my card IF THEY TAKE THREE WEEKS TO EVEN TAKE THE MONEY OFF! It doesn't even go into pending payments! Which means they deliberately wait for people to spend the money they have in their bank account before they even attempt to take it out! I do not check my card amount every five minutes. So I had no idea they didn't take the payment. So there were attempts at paying. I am not just not paying my bills here. I can't make a payment if it doesn't go to the overdo amount. I have been saving money to pay the bill but I am no where near the amount they want. And I think it's absolutely BOGUS to still be charged 10 a month just because! Also If the county was making payments why did we have to pay $60 I know for a fact the county was making $75 payments! Why would we have to make a payment of $60 a long with the $75 if we made an agreement on $60 a month. I only have a high school education but I do believe $75 is more than $60. All I wanted was to make payments when I could. I never even wanted them to turn the gas back on until the remaining balance was paid! But why does it keep racking up. There should be a past due balance and a new balance. But I can't even catch up if I keep getting new charges! It's absolutely ridiculous! And I hope they sleep well at night knowing they have screwed over a number of families! This way I've been doing my research we are NOT the only family this has happened to! At this rate I WILL BE FREEZING THIS WINTER BECAUSE THEY CAN'T KEEP TRACK OF THEIR FINANCES!

Business' Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I will contact someone about the payment plan. I'm still not happy and even if i were to do this "payment plan" I will have gas but ALL of my other bills will be disconnected. So I have to make a decision of whether i want my gas turned back on. and no electricity or phone or actually home considering my lot rent is due with this check. And besides the fact that they happened to choose the opposite weeks I get paid. So I wouldn't be able to make the payments...sorry but I'm like everyone else in America, I live paycheck to paycheck. But I will try and Call her to see if I can work something out.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

03/07/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: Billed for wrong gas meter, still havent gotten full credit
I called several times due to gas bills of $25.48, $24.95, $35.93, in Oct, Nov, and Dec respectively, when our gas was never turned on. We compared bills with neighboring apartment who also hadn't turned on their heat yet and they were getting aprox $8 bills. I called the customer service several times and they repeatedly denied that the bills were too high or that there was a problem. Finally one evening we smelled gas and called the company, they sent out someone to check it out. This man denied any gas leak and was being very rude with us. Upon inspection ther was in fact a leak. We told this man (not a customer service rep) about our comlaints and he established that we were in fact being billed for someone elses heat. They has assigned the wrong meter number (*********) to our apartment (which makes me wonder if the renters before us were also beng billed incorrectly). So this guy told us that he would tell his boss and they would fix the problem. I believe this occurred in early December. My roomates and I were gone from the apartment from aprox 12/13/12-1/31/13. We had our heat turned down as low as it could go for the entire time we were gone. In that time I recieved credit for $59.80 on 1/07/13. Upon arrival we had a bill on 1/10/13 for $60.67. When I looked at the meter number on the bill it was indeed still the wrong meter. Mind you this bill was billed after our credit was given so this $60.67 bill used all of our credit and some. I have called the customer service close to 5 times trying to get my previous credit back and credit for the $60.67 bill. I have been told multiple times I would hear back from supervisors within a certain time frame and never once have they told me the truth. I am unable to speak with anyone higher than a customer service supervisor who, up to this point have ben of no help. In order for anything to happen they need to email other departments, which is what I am waiting for currently. I was told I would hear back from a supervisor by Monday 2/23/12, and it is now Wed evening 2/25/12 and still haven't heard from them.

Business' Initial Response
Our Customer Service Associate called Mr. **** on Monday, March 4th. We explained that the meter was plumbed incorrectly by the complex-hired plumber. We worked with billing to make the necessary adjustment on Mr. ****'s account. We will credit his account for $60.67. He is satisfied with the resolution.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 2
03/20/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: There was a gas leak found at the meter of the home and mnenergy will not adjust the bill for two months.
A couple of weeks ago there was a gas leak diagnosis by one of mn energy technitions at the output of the gas meter, requireing a meter replacement to fix the leak. Upon contacting mn energy about adjusting the the bill more the effected months, There customer service rep and maneger have both stated that this leek was the customers responseabilty and that she would have to pay the bill in full. The problem is that there is no plumber/hvac tech in rochester that is able to replace or repair a gas meter that is on a home, which tell me that mn energy owns the meter and it is there responsablity to maintain/fix if there is an issue. Along with adjust the bills that were incurred by there equipment. However when talking to there customer service people and maneger there have been 3 different excuses to try and pin this problem on her as the home owner. I find this to be beyond horrible customer service and a blatant breech in ethics, I don't see how we as a customer can be subject to this type of treatment.

Initial Business Response
On this account a company Technician responded to a call on 2/12/14 of the customer smelling gas outside. Our Technician responded and conducted a leak investigation at the residence. The Technician found a small leak on the company side of the meter set before the meter. The technician repaired the leak by replacing the meter bar and meter. The customer was informed by the Technician the leak found outside was on the company side of the meter and it would not affect gas usage. After the leak was repaired the Technician placed the gas appliances back into operation. While performing this task the Technician observed the customers furnace producing large amounts of Carbon Monoxide which would indicate a problem with proper combustion. The Technician turned the furnace off and notified the customer of the potential hazard. On 2/13/14 the customer contacted MERC with a concern of a high gas bill. The Local Supervisor gathered customer previous call information from the company's customer information system and interviewed the Employee involved with the call. It was determined the colder than normal winter weather combined with the malfunctioning furnace caused the higher than normal gas usage and it could not have been caused by the small leak before the meter. Therefore the company would not be able to reduce the customer's bill. Employees communicated this information by phone to the customer and offered to work with the customer on paying for the higher than normal gas bill through payment arrangements.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The furnace in question had a cracked heat exchanger which is after the burning unit on this peace of equipment, not causing a higher than would be expected bill than any comperable month, as far as the leak goes, the technition had stated to the home owner that the leak was after the meter on the valve unit, also seen by the home owners father who was standing right next to me when the leek was found. The home owner knows and is willing to except that the bill will be higher than any previous months do to the cold weather, how ever disputes the fact that the furnace combined with the cold weather would cause a doubling of gas consumption.

Final Business Response
We are willing to give the customer the benefit of the doubt if we are not certain of what happened in a situation or if there is some question with information accuracy. In this case the information was documented well by the technician and then backed up by them when we interviewed them about it. The leak found was on the company side which would not affect the customer's bill and the customers faulty furnace coupled with the colder weather was the reason the customer used more gas than normal. We have been empathetic with the customer throughout the process and have offered alternative solutions to help her pay for the gas which she has utilized.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Natural Gas Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/01/2006Business started: 07/01/2006
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Public Utilities Commission
121 7th Pl E Ste 350
Saint Paul, MN55101-2147
(651) 296-0406
http://www.puc.state.mn.us

Contact Information
Principal: Nancy Lilienthal (Administrator)Customer Contact: Jeff Carlson (Product Manager) David Perron (Business Services Manager)
Business Category

Natural Gas Companies

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Minnesota Energy Resources, they offer natural gas distribution all over Minnesota. Services over 200,000 customers in Minnesota. Also offer Home Service an appliance repair plan.

Alternate Business Names
Minnesota Energy Resources

If you choose to do business with Minnesota Energy Resources - Home Services, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Minnesota Energy Resources - Home Services

3460 Technology Dr NW

Rochester, MN 55901-8351

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3460 Technology Dr NW 

    Rochester, MN 55901-8351

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Minnesota Energy Resources - Home Services is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Natural Gas Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.