This business is not BBB accredited.

Grand Central Music

Additional Locations

Phone: (218) 624-1889 PO Box 3136, Duluth, MN 55803


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Grand Central Music include:

  • Failure to respond to 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Grand Central Music include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Grand Central Music
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 30, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1999 Business started locally: 01/01/1999
Business Management
Luke Perry, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Luke Perry, Owner
Business Category

Musical Instruments - Dealers


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    405 E Superior St Ste 130

    Duluth, MN 55802 (218) 624-1889

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 3136

    Duluth, MN 55803

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sent my snare drum to them for refurbishing and upgrades, also ordered a new custom snare drum from them. They suddenly closed and I received nothing Initiated correspondence with **** ******* from Grand Central Music (Who also worked for Drumtree at that time) to get my Paiste Signature spirit of 2002 snare refurbished and also got some upgrades. (Snare wires, and cast bronze hoops) (I have kept all email correspondences and paper trails) Dated: May 11, 2010; Drum confirmed arrived with Pete on May XX XXXX Initiated process for **** to refurbish the snare, work the bearing edges, and upgrade the rims/hoops with cast bronze custom hoops. I had at this point paid up USD $2,800 to Grand Central Music for the charges of workmanship, the bronze cast hoops, Nickelworks Strainer and butt plate, pure sound snare wires, drumtree snare heads, tension rods, protector square case, guardian bag, the custom snare drum, and also postage and packing; Totalling up to USD $2,800. In addition the value of the snare drum I had sent to them to refurbish was valued at USD 1,400 at the time of my purchase of it. In addition, commissioned him (and thus effectively Grand Central Music) to build me a custom Phantom Snare drum. He worked closely with me over email and phone for many months, almost reaching the final stages of finish options for me for the custom drum. This was around late Feb 2011 when the drum was supposed to be almost ready, along with completing the refurbishing of my other Paiste Spirit of 2002 snare drum However, after this, the process dragged on and got delayed to February of 2012. When Pete Shaleen asked me for my address again to send out the snare drum, mainly first the supposedly completed refurbished Paiste Spirit of 2002 snare of mine which I had sent to him to refurbish. He suddenly went quiet, and with many many calls to the Grand Central Music store, After some calls to Grand Central Music where the store guy **** had told me that he would pass the message on to **** to follow up and get my snare drums quickly sent to me, they suddenly announced on their website that they were closing down, and their phone line was then disconnected, never to be heard of again. Pete Shaleen's mobile number also has been inactive, and he has not answered any of his emails as well. Date of this closing of their store: Around 6th November 2013 Until now, have still not been able to get any email reply from **** or Grand Central Music, all emails to Grand Central Music have bounced since then, and my money has just disappeared into thin air with an originally rare snare of mine sent to them having also disappeared and the new custom snare I have already fully paid for totally disappearing into thin air as well. I really do hope you can assist me with this and chase them down, as it is very difficult for me to do anything from so far away in Singapore. Also, either their delivering of my ordered item as well as my own snare which was sent to them and now is missing, or a full refund of my previously paid amounts (USD 2,800), as well as the loss I have incurred by sending them my snare drum for refurbishing which is now lost and was valued at USD $1,400. Thanks so much in advance for any help you could render to me. I have all the email correspondences between me and Pete, as well as the receipt on Paypal evidencing my payment to Grand Central Music as well. Much much appreciated. Best regards, ****** *** Mobile: (+XX) XXXX XXXX Email: ************@gmail.com

Desired Settlement: Either a delivery of the goods which are owed to me: (The custom snare I ordered from them including all the accessories and upgrades, etc. as well as my refurbished snare back.) or, if not possible, then just a full refund.

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought and paid for a Bass on eBay with Grand Central music. Was given the run around for over a year when Grand central closed with no resolution. I purchased a Brubaker Brute Mediteranian MJX-5 bass from "****" at Grand Central music in October of 2012 for $665.00 through PayPal on eBay item number ************. Up front the add said that delivery would be in a month's time after the delivery from the Manufacturer had arrived. "**** was very good at correspondence and would get right back to me with a phone call or email promising multiple perks to my order for having to wait so long. Such as a Brubaker hard shell case, strings, instrument set up etc etc. Well the Brubaker company had several production setbacks. I had actually contacted Brubaker through Facebook and the multiple stories of delays were legit so I did not think I was being scammed. Supposed "actual" delivery of the instruments to Grand Central did not happen until September of 2013. A week after "****" had emailed me saying he would get the shipment out "very soon" and he was sorry because they had "billing issues". A week later all correspondence with Grand Central Music stopped and the phone calls went to an automated message. Please help as I do not know where to go for advise on pursuing my money back.

Desired Settlement: I would only like the full purchse price refunded of $665.00

12/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've ordered Takamine EF341SC guitar with Original Case on 20 June 2013 and paid $1099 via PayPal. Nothing was received, no replies from the seller. I've ordered Takamine EF341SC guitar with Original Case on 20 June 2013 and paid $1099 via PayPal. We had our communication thru eBay messages system. It was agreed that the price including the international shipping will be $1099 and I've paid thru PayPal the same day. It was 20 June 2013. Unique Transaction ID # *****************. Then the seller told me that he sent the guitar, but didn't provide any tracking number. After a month or so, he told me that for unknown reason the guitar was returned to him and he will resend it soon. Then he said that it was resent, but again didn't provide any details regarding the shipment. After that he ignored all my messages for a while. Some time ago, he answered that the shop was closed. At the moment, I didn't receive any info regarding the refund or any shipment info, if it was ever sent.

Desired Settlement: I'd like to get the full refund ($1099) to my PayPal account - ************************

12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We dealt with the above company online through their eBay shop in February 2013. The sale fell through and we were kept waiting for a solution after months of trying to get this item shipped to us in the uk it was then decided that we would receive a refund. After months of trying to get a refund to our PayPal account we are still waiting and it is not a small amount. I feel due to the fact that we are so far away we are getting taken advantage of. Is there anything we can do to close the matter. We are not the type to slander or slate someone's business and don't wish to bad mouth them but we really need our money back.as having not received what we purchased and being out of pocket we are feeling like we should take the matter further.

12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product I paid for was never delivered. Owner promised a full refund. I never received my refund. They owe me $2200 USD. I ordered a custom guitar in early 2012. The guitar was to be built and sent to me in 90 days. I paid 2450 used for the guitar and shipping. After the 90 days I followed up asking when I would receive the item. After several missed deliverable dates, the owner stated he was having trouble with the supplier and we decided that a refund was in order. I was promised the refund but time and time again it was promised to me but not received. I was sent one payment if 250 usd last month and promised 250 dollars every week until paid off. The owner stated the store was having cash flow issues so I tried to accommodate

Desired Settlement: I would like my refund as we agreed upon. They still owe me 2200 dollars. Currently they have cut off the phone communication as well as email communication.

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unable to Contact This company or get any kind of response from emails. Company had product listed on there website they don't actually have. Back On May 30th 2013 I Placed and order On Grandcentralmusic.com For a BC Rich Virgo Vint Celtic BASS. Order # is ********. order was $449.00. After almost a month went buy and I had not gotten a shipping confirmation I called the company and asked why my product had not been shipped. They Informed me that the bass they had listed is no longer made and they said they would look for one for me. Months went buy and they had no luck finding the bass which they should have had in the first place.The person Iv been dealing with over the phone told me I had to choose a different model, so I choose ma different style just to find out they no longer make that either. Now after I found that out I was forced to do some looking to find another brand that had the right style. I found another bass I really want that is made by ESP on Musiciansfriend.com so I told Grand Central Music about this bass and they said they would order it for me. More time goes and I still Get no shipping confirmation when I Know this bass is still made. When I finally talked to them they said that the sales Rep for ESP wasn't getting back to him so I suggested that they just order it off musiciansfriend which they said they would. I sent them the link to the specific model I want and they said they ordered it. More time goes again and then they told me that this bass is on some sort of hold up and wouldn't ship out till October 2nd. Now I'm wondering If my bass has been shipped and I can't get through to anybody. Both lines they have listed go to an automatic Message saying that there mailbox is full and to try my call again later. Iv been trying my call again later for over a week now and I can't get through to anybody. Iv emailed them a couple times to and get no response.

Desired Settlement: All I really want Is My new Bass which is listed for $299.00 and a Hard Shell Case for it. The Original Bass I order was $449.00 so I also need a Refund of whatever is left over after they get me the new bass and Case for it.

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a cherry/black drum set in febuary. In march I received the wrong color drum set. I called **** immediately when I received the wrong color he advised they were out of the color I ordered and would have it in 2 weeks. I had to call him in 2 weeks to get told will be 3 more weeks during this time he was to provide return slips to return the wrong drums. I never got return slips after 3 weeks he said would be another 3 weeks I advised I wanted to return the drums and get a refund still he said would email me return slips for ups to pick up I requested them be emailed to ***********@****.com all I got was an email asking if he had right email I replied with no response. I have been more than patient trying to work with him. Drums are still unopened and I want to return everything with a full refund $899 for drums and $259 for the expansion pack.

Desired Settlement: The amount I paid two payments of $899 and $259. And for return slips provided so I can send them back.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/07/31) */ We did get the return taken care of, paid labels were sent and spoke with the customer after to make sure all is well. I'm very sorry you received the wrong color and I'm glad we were able to get that taken care of for you. Thanks.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Grand Central Music
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)