This business is not BBB accredited.

Two Men and A Truck

Additional Locations

Phone: (952) 516-7411 Fax: (952) 906-0735 View Additional Phone Numbers 5280 W 74th St, Edina, MN 55439 View Additional Email Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Two Men and A Truck include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Two Men and A Truck include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Two Men and A Truck
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 03, 2005 Business started: 04/01/2004 Business started locally: 04/01/2004 Business incorporated 04/05/2004 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

US Department of Transportation
400 7th St SW, Washington DC 20590
www.dot.gov
Phone Number: (202) 366-4000

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Business Management
Jeremy Neybert Steve Black, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Jeremy Neybert
Business Category

Moving Services - Labor & Materials Movers

Products & Services

According to the information provided by TWO MEN AND A TRUCK(r), this is a full service home and business moving company.

Industry Tips
Estate Sales Moving

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1200 Mendelssohn Ave N Ste 102

    Golden Valley, MN 55427

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5280 W 74th St

    Edina, MN 55439 (952) 516-7411

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    670 Commerce Dr

    Woodbury, MN 55125

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/12/15 2 Men and a Truck moved my household belongings from my home to my townhouse, and did a lot of damage to my furniture and even gouged walls. Some of the furniture was repaired at my townhouse and the walls were fixed. The dresser top was refinished and returned on January 5,2016. I told the men that there was other damage done, but I didn't feel it could be reported because it consisted of many divots on the tops of various items. I was stunned to notice the legs to a desk were damaged that I had not noticed before and advised Tom ******* of 2 Men and a Truck of this damage. His reply was it was past the time where damages could be reported. I do understand that there has to be a time limit, however when there is intentional damage the company should be responsible for what their employees do and informed him. Since then, no reply. Product_Or_Service: desk/inherited

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Repair I would like to have the desk repaired and also show their representative the other damages, only so they would realize what has happened.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/11) */ TWO MEN AND A TRUCK did in fact move this customer back on 10/12/15. The following day she called to report there were scratches and other cosmetic damages to a couple of her furniture items as well as a couple gouges in her walls. Our Damage Claims Manager discusses the damaged items with her, and made arrangements for a professional repair vendor to repair the items at her home. Following that appointment, our vendor reported that some of the damages she indicated were clearly new and most likely moving related, but other damages appeared to be older and were likely due to normal wear-and-tear and not moving related. However, he repaired all damaged items and walls she indicated to her satisfaction, with the exception of a dresser that had a scratch on the top which could not be effectively repaired on site. We made arrangements with her to have the dresser picked up and brought to a repair vendor that could do the necessary repairs in their repair shop. The repaired piece was delivered back to her on 1/5/16 by our Regional Operations Manager. At that time, our Regional Operations Manager asked the customer if she had found any other damaged items now that she had several weeks to unpack and thoroughly inspect her belongings. She confirmed she had no other damages to report, so her damage claim was closed. The customer contacted our Damage Claims Manager again on 1/20/16 to report additional cosmetic damages to the legs of a desk that she claims happened during the move. Our Damage Claims Manager responded to her and let her know that since the time period to report damages had past and her original claim had been closed, no additional claims would be honored. Under the terms of our Moving Services Agreement, all damage claims must be reported to us within 96 hours of the move. We are willing to make reasonable exceptions to this policy, however the desk the customer is claiming we damaged has been out of our care for over 3 months. Since at this point we cannot determine if the damage was caused by our service, we cannot accept responsibility for the damage and open a new damage claim. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/02/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When the regional manager returned my dresser I told him there were other damages but I did not feel that I would bother to address them. At that time I had not discovered the damage to my desk. There were other details involved that I cannot write and the manager knows about them. I feel like this is a senior single woman being taken advantage of. I am not satisfied, nor am I happy with their response.

2/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 8, 2016, I contacted the Two Men and A Truck at their Golden Valley location to get pricing for moving my furniture. I had previously contacted them to provide the moving information to get a quote but I guessed the date. I told the office that I now wanted a Saturday, April 2 price and also a Monday, April 4 price since the Saturday price is higher but I did not know how much higher it would be. I would decide on the spot if I was willing to pay the additional raise in price from a weekday to a Saturday based on the information they gave me. I was quoted for that Saturday at $140.00 per hour and I was quoted $125.00 per hour for that Monday. Because it was only $15.00 more per hour I decided to go with that pricing during this same phone conversation. I did so to keep my construction project going on the date it was just recently set for which is Monday the 4th. Had I not accepted the Saturday rate my construction project would have been delayed a day and I didn't believe that that delay was worth a $15.00 per hour increase. I booked the date of Saturday, April 2 in that same phone conversation and gave the company my credit card information over the phone to secure the reservation based on the information the company had just provided to me. When the office sent out the finalized contract via email, just a short time later, they quoted me at $150.00 per hour saying that it is because their rates were changing in March and I was booking for April. The woman who booked the reservation claims she quoted me incorrectly explaining that she didn't look at the right information. That was her fault not my fault. I took the pricing she gave me ($140.00) and accepted it and gave my credit information to them in good faith that the deal was sealed. When I received the higher rate I contacted them via email and telephone and was told that there is nothing they can do and they will not honor the $140.00 per hour

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Billing Adjustment I want this company to honor the $140.00 per hour that I was quoted for my move and that I gave my credit card information to secure. I have hired this company on at least 2 other occasions and I have had a great experience. I am extrememly disappointed that they now want me to accept their mistake which would cost me another $25.00 per hour (2 hour minimum) and that is not acceptable. A deal is a deal.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/09) */ Hello! We have gone ahead an grandfathered in the $140 rate per hour per the original estimate. We had a rate increase on 2/5 and when Mary had changed her dates it reflected the new rates. Her original estimate was prior to the rate change. However, if she changes her move date, she will be required to have the new rates per our tariff. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2016/02/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accepted the reversal of this company's decision to deny me the price quoted over phone because this is a service that I need. It's too bad that this company only reversed itself because the BBB got involved, otherwise they were not going to honor my request nor apologize to me for poor customer service.

12/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Nov 6th I made arrangements to move from my condo to a apartment. The time was set for noon, I found out it a window from 12-3. This is not what was told to me, so everything was completely off schedule. They didn't show up until 2:30. they were suppose to go to my place and drop the boxes off and then go to St. Paul to my brother's storage and place his boxes there. What should have been a 2 1/2 to 3 hr, turned out to been 5 hours. Misplacing boxes, not listening to instructions, using their cell phones, having lunch on our time and breaking my tv stand. And the next day I had to rent another truck to go back to my condo and pick up the rest of boxes, that took 2 hrs. In my condo things were thrown around. I spoke to their manger but he didn't seem to care. He told me at the time $90 was taken off for their unprofessionalism and that was all. I seems like a obscure amount that it was used to just to keep me quiet. Then the manger told me once he has proof I have made the payment for $900 he will send me a check for a $100 for the tv stand. I don't feel this acceptable because I was suppose to pay for a service and did receive it. What I received was three men who didn't want to do their jobs and rush through to get it done because it was their last move of the day. And the manager didn't really hear me, he listened to his crew. And me being a customer didn't account for anything. A very bad experience and I hope someone reads this to keep from having the same happen to them.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Billing Adjustment Adjustment in the price of the move. I did not receive $900 worth of service, it was much less maybe $500.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/11) */ TWO MEN AND A TRUCK performed a move for this customer and her brother on November 6th, 2015. She called and spoke to one of our customer service representatives and made arrangements for the move on November 2nd, 2015. At that time our representative asked for details about the move such as the addresses we would be moving from and to, what items were to be moved, etc. Our representative explained our service terms and conditions, our billing rates and policies, the estimated start time and the estimated cost based on the information she received from the customer. Our representative then e-mailed this information to the customer in the form of a Pre-Move Confirmation Letter (I've attached a copy of this letter for your reference). The estimated start time window and estimated cost was explained to this customer verbally when she arranged for the move on Nov. 2nd, and was provided for her in writing in the e-mail she received that same day. On Nov. 6th our moving crew arrived at the load location at approximately 2:30, well within the estimated 12:00 - 3:00 arrival time window. The customer was not present at the load location at the time our crew arrived; only her brother was there. Our crew found the customers belongings to be poorly packed, poorly labeled, and very disorganized, but they loaded all of the items as instructed by the customer's brother. They departed for the unload when the brother said everything that needed to go had been loaded. If any items that should have been moved were left behind, it was because the brother did not indicate to our crew they should be moved. There were two locations for our crew to unload at; the customer's new apartment building and her brother's storage facility. At the apartment building our crew unloaded as instructed to the best of their ability, but because the boxes and other items were poorly labeled and disorganized, our crew had a difficult time distinguishing what was to be unloaded at the apartment and what was to stay on the truck to go to the storage unit. Our crew ended up delivering 3 tote boxes to the apartment that were supposed to stay on the truck. When the mistake was noticed, our crew corrected the mistake and re-loaded those totes onto the truck. Our Operations Manager spoke to the customer's brother on the phone while the move was still taking place and agreed to deduct 30 minutes of time ($90.00) from the customer's bill to compensate for the mistake. Our crew proceeded to the storage facility and unloaded the remaining items. The entire job took our crew a total of 5.5 hours to complete. After deducting 30 minutes of time to compensate for the mistake with the totes, the total time we billed the customer for was 5 hours. Our billing policy is to charge for our service by the hour (in 15-minute increments) for the amount of time the job actually takes. An estimate is given to inform the customer of an approximate cost and to allow us to schedule our moving crews appropriately, but we bill based on actual time. Our billing rate was $180.00 per hour as quoted, so the bill presented to the customer at the completion of her job was $900.00, which was within her estimated cost. The customer did not dispute that the job actually took this amount of time, or that she was billed for more time than the job took or at a higher rate than was quoted. The customer just believes, in her opinion, it shouldn't have taken that long, so she refused to pay her bill. I spoke with the customer in the days following the move. I listened to her concerns, completed a damage report for the TV stand she claimed was damaged, and promised her I would speak with our crew for their account of the move and follow up with her. I followed up with the customer a few days later and told her that since our crew arrived for her move within the estimated time window and the job was completed within the estimated time, no additional credits or discounts would be given just because in her opinion it could have gone faster. I also let her know that I would compensate her for the damaged TV stand once she had paid for her move in full, in accordance with the terms of our damage policy as explained in our Pre-Move Confirmation Letter. At this point, the customer still has not paid her bill. At TWO MEN AND A TRUCK, we try our best to exceed our customer's expectations and provide excellent service to all of our customers. We explain our service to the best of our ability both verbally and in writing, and we strive to live up to the promises we make. In this case, we arrived when we said we would, we did the job within the time we estimated at the billing rate we quoted, and we've taken responsibility for the item that was damaged. We have lived up to the terms and conditions we promised prior to the move and that she agreed to. Therefore, we do not feel this customer is entitled to any additional discounts on her bill. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/12/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Because the boxes were not poorly marked and everything was not in disarray, besides isn't it a move so it's not coming to look perfect. Saying that, the boxes were clearly marked *******'s bedroom,*******'s kitchen etc,etc,etc. My brother's were marked ****'s storage, ****'s clothes etc,etc,etc. Simple instructions were given to the movers, but they loaded the way they wanted. So they had to back track and that wasted time! Not mention damaged property. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/12/18) */ This customer believes her items were clearly marked and her instructions were simple. That is her opinion. My crew disagrees, but again, that is just their opinion. The fact is we arrived when we said we would, we charged the rate we quoted and the final price came within the estimated amount that this customer agreed to. We have already discounted her move to compensate for a mistake made by our crew and I have already accepted responsibility and have made a compensation offer for the item that was damaged. We have already done everything this customer has asked us to do and we provided the service we were hired to do in accordance with the terms and conditions she agreed to. We are not going to discount her bill further just because she thinks we should.

11/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Broke leg and leaf of dining room table Scratched cabinet Broke leg off antique cast iron pot belly stove During the move the leg was broken off the dining room table and the leaf of that table was broken as well. A cabinet door was badly scratched. A leg was broken off an antique cast iron pot belly stove, which they said was not repairable, so that was left off the damage report. The movers were courteous and apologized for the damages and a report was filled out. They kept the table on the truck to be repaired and indicated that someone would come out to fix the scratched cabinet. The report indicated that we would be contacted in 2 business days. We never received a single phone call. I called on them on November 3 and was told that the damage department would follow up and get back to me. I heard nothing. I called again on November 5 and was told that the person in charge, Tom ******** was out and would call me tomorrow. I decided to file this complaint while I am waiting for action. This move took place October 24 and I am still waiting.

Desired Settlement: The cost of the move was $1080 and for the inconvenience of no table for approaching two weeks, the loss of the use of a family heirloom (pot belly stove), not to mention the damaged cabinet, I don't think $2000 is unreasonable. My disappointment is huge, as I really liked the crew, but obviously the customer service department doesn't back up their movers.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/11/17) */ Repairs have been acknowledged by the client and currently underway. We have been working with the client directly. The table was returned today (11/17) and we have set up repairs for the cast iron stove. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2015/11/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Tom, once we connected with each other, was very responsive and accommodating. Two out of the 3 issues have been satisfactorily completed and one is being handled off-site. Very happy with the outcome so far - after a rocky start!

6/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Moving company destroyed my dresser;mover said the company would have an answer in 3 days. It has been almost 3 weeks. Rec. 2 calls and no solution. Scheduled a move with 2 Men and a Truck on May 1, 2015. Three movers came and 1 was very new to the job. I told the movers that two pieces of furniture were heavy, one was the dresser. Within 5 minutes of the move the newest mover tried to move my dresser on two occasions without getting proper hold on it. The second time he grabbed a part that ripped off and the piece fell to the floor and broke apart. I visually witnessed this happening 3 feet in front of me. It seemed that he had no understanding of how to lift a heavy object or where the appropriate places were to carry a load. The head mover, *******, told me that the company was insured and I would be reimbursed for the piece of furniture within 3 days. They hauled off the pieces to their 'shop'. During the move I overheard the other two movers instructing the new mover how to move almost every piece of furniture or box as if he had zero training or experience. Additionally, the head mover, *******, pulled me aside and apologized for his team mate breaking the furniture and proceeded to tell me that they get new guys in every week and he can't rely on the same crew on a daily basis. I received a call 4 days later telling me that they would attempt to 'repair' the furniture or I would be compensated. It has been 20 days and I've received 1 other phone call from Mr. ***** telling me that they are still trying to 'repair' my dresser. I gave them company the information of the dresser, A Modu-licious Modern Storage Unit and the Company I purchased it from, Blu-Dot. I have called and left messages numerous times and have not received a valid response as to what action will be done to finalize their mistake. I have paid the moving company for their services.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking full monetary settlement for the destruction of my property. I feel like I should receive a partial refund of the moving services since 1) They originally overcharged me for the time spent moving, and 2) They have been unprofessional during this settlement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/21) */ We did in fact damage a piece of this customers property during a recent move. Just earlier this morning, this customer and I agreed on a monetary compensation for the damage, and resolved the claim.

3/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Damaged items beyond what would be considerable reasonable with failure to come to agreeable resolution for repair or replacement. Move date 11/6/14. After agreeing to change from 2 to 3 movers per the company's request, the movers arrived but said they were limited on time (less than what was allotted) and wouldn't be able to move all of my items because they needed to be at another big job. After we spent time to clarify priority items, of which I needed to do over several times during the move, the men moved my items less than what I would consider careful and safe. This move was a string of events, for example I found the treadmill cord on my patio. With less than all of the pieces and room in the truck they went to the new location to unload. Later, as I signed the paperwork, I saw that I should have been presented with paperwork during the mid-point but wasn't. I reminded the worker that floor covering should be in place which he then put down. There was no removing/taking care wiping shoes when entering my new home. There was an extended period of time when the third man stood around after he got the items unloaded from the truck. I saw a chest was badly damaged and told the crew; it was very apparent that the worker was aware of the damage. He said immediately that he would sign off on it. The most frustrating part of this is that the damaged piece has sentimental value and the worker was not even going to take responsibility for the damage until I pointed it out. I told them that I hadn't been able to look at everything before they had to leave. I left the line on the checklist about damages unchecked and reported within the 96-hour period 5 other damaged items, plus a damaged wall. I have since discovered additional damage to a bench covering. After the movers left, I returned to the location we were moving from to pack up more things on my own that were supposed to be moved only to find wall damage. I was put in touch with ******* who scheduled a time to come out to fix the wall and look at the damaged pieces. When scheduling the appt, I told him that I had another appt that day and he assured me that would be fine. However, he was 40 min late and when he arrived he was missing a supply and had to go to the store to get it. By now, it was nearly time for my other appt. ******* said that he would go to the store and come back to fix the wall if I needed to leave. I had already called my other appt to push it back as far as I could. I was not comfortable leaving my home open, but felt limited in my options. ******* told me to email photos of the other damaged items, which I did along with avail receipts. I also saw the wall repair and would consider that poor. ******* & I communicated/voicemail numerous times; he was pleasant to work with throughout. Early on, he mentioned about providing monetary reimbursement because of my location. I am fine with that, but when he provided me with a verbal estimate, I expressed my disappointment The amount cited will not repair or replace the damages and I am not satisfied with just using wood glue or fillers on some of the pieces where it can easily come off, specifically on the two chests. While I understand that damages do happen and I signed a contract to this effect, I do not think that the extent of damages for this move is acceptable. ******* agreed and said that he was going to escalate my claim to his supvr. I never heard from him/her so I sent an email out of pure frustration to ******* stating that I wanted this resolved with reimbursement for the damages and refund of my moving fees. ******* contacted me via vm and said, again, that he was going to escalate this to his supervisor. Again, with no contact made. I tried another attempt toward resolution by completing the customer satisfaction survey with a comment requesting contact; again, no contact. At this time, I have received no refund, repair or reimbursement for the damages. Unfortunately, I am very disappointed after hiring a professional company and now needing to spend a great deal of time and frustration to come to a resolution.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for: Damaged item 1: Wood Chest (Broken top and wood piece off of leg) - reimbursement for replacement Damaged Item 2: White 2-door storage cabinet (Gouge and scratches on front) - reimbursement for repair Damaged Item 3: White Extra-Wide Dresser (damaged legs) - reimbursement for repair Damaged Item 4: White Desk (damaged legs) - reimbursement for repair Damaged Item 5: Chest (Damaged top) - reimbursement for replacement Damaged Item 6: Dresser (Chipped top) - reimbursement for repair Damaged Items 7+: These were not discovered within the 96-hour reporting period, thus I will not expect coverage. Moving Fees: Reimbursement of 2 hours equaling $330, which would be considered reasonable for the time required to pack and move the damaged items, the amount of time that I needed to move the items that we not moved as planned.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2015/02/26) */ As of 2/25/15, we have resolved this claim with Ms. ******* to her satisfaction.

3/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Two Men and A Truck
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)