BBB Accredited Business since

Uptown Transfer, Inc.

Phone: (612) 827-3826 Fax: (612) 827-3827 3040 4th Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55408 http://www.uptowntransfer.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Uptown Transfer, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Uptown Transfer, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Uptown Transfer, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1978 Business started: 01/01/1930 Business started locally: 01/01/1930
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Transportation
1110 Centre Pointe Curv, Saint Paul MN 55120
http://www.dot.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-3000
customerservice@mnpass.net

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Business Management
Dennis Backdahl, President Barbara Backdahl, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Dennis Backdahl, President
Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Piano & Organ Moving

Alternate Business Names
Backdahl Moving Minnesota, Inc. Backdahl Transfer Backdahl Uptown Transfer
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Backdahl Uptown Transfer, this company offers moving services.

Industry Tips
Estate Sales Moving

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Uptown Transfer, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3040 4th Ave S

    Minneapolis, MN 55408 (612) 827-3826

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with Uptown Transfer for moving services for the date of May 18-May 19. The move involved moving furniture for living room, bedroom, kitchen and storage. During the move several items have been damaged and some items damaged beyond repair. Uptown does not have a written policy for damages. Items were removed during the transfer and without my authorization to be sent to a third party for repair. I was not able to assess the damage of one item that was removed. Multiple items have been damaged or destroyed entirely. The response from the company is that the items will be repaired. I have not been given any time frame for when items will be repaired or returned. I am without a kitchen set or living room table as a result of this action. Both items remain in the possession of the company.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have all items repaired including sofa which has been badly damaged, Day bed needs to be repaired because of whole ripped through material. Lamp needs to be replaced. Two items need to be repaired and returned in original condition.

Business Response:

***** -

 

Thanks for getting this to me.

 

As for the customers statements.

 

We do have a policy on damage.

It is clear on the bill of lading.

 

At the current time   the damages have been assessed and repaired.

And the claim is to be handled.

 

Two tables were repaired and a  payout for the remaining damage was offered and accepted.

 

This should should be closed by end of week as I am just waiting on a response from customer as to when table and check should be delivered.

 

Thanks

 

Todd ********

Consumer Response:  I am rejecting this response because: Resolution on second table has not been determined yet until delivery and second inspection has been completed. This will not be done until Thursday. Until such time there is no satisfactory of resolution of complaint. It is to soon to suggest that the complaint has been satisfied until customer has had the opportunity to 1)Receive payment which hasn't happened yet and 2) Receive delivery and inspect furniture. Neither of these things has taken place yet as of 6/27/16. Thank You. Customer.


3/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Promised that the boxes I "rented" would be picked up and the $50 deposit would be refunded. I hired Uptown Transfer to move my belongings from White Bear Lake, MN to Maplewood, MN. I was promised that once move was completed, to contact them, and they would pick up the 3 wardrobe boxes and 40 small/medium/large boxes I "rented" for $50 and would be refunded the $50.00/ I have left messages on 10/22/14, 10/28/14, 10/31/14, 11/4/14, 11/9/14 and emailed the general manager on 11/12/14. I have received NO response or reply.

Desired Settlement: I want the boxes picked up and my $50.00 refunded to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/12/12) */ Mr. ****** paid us with 2 bad checks. we spent weeks trying to collect & finally did get paid. Our policy on box return is within 2 weeks of finished move and they return to us - we do not pick up. This was stated to him at the time of the delivery of the boxes. The $50.00 is a delivery fee - non-refundable. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/12/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When the boxes were dropped off by ****, he told me there was a $50 rental charge for the boxes, and stated that since I did not have a vehicle, they could pick them up. Also in the web site it state's: Supplies Boxes, BUBBLE WRAP(r), shrink wrap and pads - we have you covered for anything and everything you need for your move. We will deliver all materials to your location one-time for no charge. ". **** also stated that due to my frequent business trips out-state that within 30 day's and someone would come and pick them up. In regards to the "bad" checks, as I had a lot going on prior and after the move, I had forgotten that I had arraigned a couple automated withdrawals for other bills. this was an oversight, which was rectified....Also, I was told I'd receive a small discount for 3 truck rollers I had, and didn't need, which **** stated his company could use them, and I'd receive a $30 dollar discount, which was not reflected. I also have yet to hear if the piano/tuning wrench & chromatic tuner has been sold. I never received anything in writing that the boxes are not picked up or a non-refundable delivery fee, which is contrary to what the web site indicates. Final Business Response /* (4000, 24, 2015/02/27) */ I do not know the exacts about previous contact with customer. As for our return policy. We will gladly go pick up the boxes, if this is the course we take the customer will not receive the deposit back. In order to receive the deposit back all boxes must be returned to our warehouse by customer located at, **************** Minneapolis, MN 55408. Between the hours of 10:00 am and 2:00 pm This is our standard operating police for box rental. Thanks **** Backdahl

2/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had this company help move several items from one house to another house. During this move, my master bedroom wall unit was damaged beyond repair. I used this companies moving service on September 21, 2013 to help me move several items between 2 homes. When my Master bedroom, Californa King Wall Unit, was being moved, the movers picked it up and ended up breaking it beyond repair. I contacted ****, whom was our contact for our move at this company and he submitted a claim for us back on September 24, 2013. I had already had a bad experience with this company with being late on the day of my move and were already unhappy with them before they broke my bedroom set and **** knew this. I have had a terrible time getting **** to respond to my phone calls and emails since this happened. I have sent an average of 3 emails and phone calls or more a month since the claim was submitted. I finally received an answer back on February 6, 2014 asking me if I would settle on $150.00 for the damages so we could finalize the claim. **** told me the claims department would be sending out a check to me on February 27, 2014. I still haven't received the check for this as of today. I have emailed and called **** several times and on March 20, 2014, **** told me he was having the claims dept. re-issue another check which I still haven't received. This was the last response I have received from ****. I have sent several emails and made several call in an attempt to get this taken care of but none of which have been returned. It has now been almost 9 months and this hasn't been taken care of. With the delay with this claim, I am now not going to settle on the $150.00 since it has taken this long and also for the time I am spending on trying to contact this company and the stress of dealing with someone who has no customer service etiquette. This company has been horrible to deal with from the start and they actually double charged my credit card for the move as well and it took them over 6 months to refund the 2nd charge that was charged on my credit card. I would like this matter taken care of ASAP as it has been almost 9 months since my move.

Desired Settlement: As a settlement I would now accept $575, which is $350 for the bedroom set they broke as well as $25/month for delayin this process. I will keep increasing it $25/month until it is settled. I am not in the wrong and I didn't break my bedroom set and I won't be able to repair it. I will only be able to make sure it doesn't get worse than it already is or try and to replace it with a used one which are well over what I will settle for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/03) */ We have sent out to date three checks to the address provided by Ms. ******, after checking our bank records, none have been deposited. We do not deny the damage, we came to an agreement on a resolution, $150 for damages. we can issue another check to Ms. ****** in the amount of $125, (deducting $25 to offset the canceling check /stop payment fees). Or Ms. ****** may come in to our office and retrieve the check herself as there seems to be an issue with her receiving the checks we have sent out. Thanks Backdahl Moving/Uptown Transfer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have not had any problems receiving mail from anyone else so I will not accept a check in the amount of $125.00. I want a copy of the checks that have been sent to me to prove that they have been sent. Because I haven't received a response about any of the checks since March 20, 2014 until now, I shouldn't have to take less than the amount I settled for originally. I want a copy of the checks that you have sent me so I can verify the address you have sent them to because there is no reason that I shouldn't have received them. This company is the only company that I haven't received mail from and 3 checks doesn't make sense. If the company can send me a copy of all checks that would be great. I will not take less that what I originally agreed on and since it has taken so long and I have had to contact this company without getting a response back,it is their responsibility to make sure this gets solved not mine since I didn't make the mistake. Its called Good Customer Service. Please forward a copy of all 3 checks that were sent so I can verify the information is correct on them. Since I am the one not getting responses back since March until now, I won't be accepting anything less than my original agreement and if this can't be resolved, the agreement amount will change since it isn't my fault any of this is happening or that this has taken so long. I have contacted this company regarding this matter over 30 times between phone messages, and emails with only 10 respomses back through this whole ordeal. I would like this taken care of but I won't be penalized for not receiving a check from this company when I get everything else I am mailed with the exception of these checks??

12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Furniture and walls damaged Uptown Transfer moved personal items from a rental to a house on 10/25/14. Several things were damaged, including dresser drawers, poker table top and walls/ceilings. The drivers took photos of the damage and told us ** would contact us on Monday to determine if repair would be done or if a monetary agreement would be met. He never called us. We had to reach out to him and he had no idea who we were or what damage had taken place. We scheduled a meeting with him to come to the house and see the damage on 11/7. He did not show up and when we called to see why, he said he forgot. We rescheduled for 11/10. He did not show up and we did not hear from him. We had to call the office and spoke with ****** (owner?) and ** called soon after to reschedule a time. We set up a time to meet on 11/16 between 10am and 1pm. He also said he would call that morning to give us a better idea of the time. We had not heard from him by 10:30 and called. He said he didn't get to the office and would not be meeting with us in the window he gave us.

Desired Settlement: $500 to cover damage items

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/12/12) */ We have contacted this customer and came to a settlement agreement of $300.00 Check is in the mail today - 12-12-2014

11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Taken from Scanned Doc On 2/20/2014 the Hennepin county Sheriff's Office served a Writ of Recovery (eviction order) at a property I own in Brooklyn Park Minnesota. Uptown Transfer was contracted to come to the site and inventory, pack and remove any property remaining that belonged to the tenant. A deposit of $800.00 was paid to Uptown Transfer to start this process. A truck and crew, sub contracted, by Uptown Transfer arrived at our site and removed most of the tenant's property. A second truck and crew arrived on 2/21/2014 and removed the remaining property of the former tenant. This property was to be taken to a storage facility and held until the landlord (myself and my wife) recovered the expense of removing the property and legal expenses incurred in the eviction process. All the above is in accordance with Minnesota State Statute 504B.365 EXECUTION OF THE WRIT OF RECOVERY OF PREMISES AND ORDER TO VACATE. Until payment is made I held a lien on this property. On the morning of 2/27/2013 ****** Backdahl, the owner of Uptown Transfer called my wife (****************) and informed her that the tenant had contacted him and wished to recover her property from Uptown Transfer. Permission was given by ******** to collect money owed and transfer the property to the former tenant. No permission was ever given to settle for less than what was owed. Later this same morning, ****** Backdahl called **************** and informed her that he had returned the property to the former tenant and negotiated the money owed at a loss. Mr. Backdahl went on to inform ******** that we would not be recovering our deposit of $800 but would receive our legal expenses of $485. On approximately 3/14/2014 we received a check for $485 and an invoice (attached) from Uptown Transfer. We believed we would receive $1285 to cover our deposit and legal expense. I also believe there are irregularities on the invoice in the way of crew sizes and crew hours on site. I believe Uptown Transfer had no legal or ethical right to negotiate the expense recovery at a loss and assign that loss to us. On or about 4/14/2014 I spoke to Mr. Backdahl on the telephone about the above concerns and beliefs and was informed that he was not willing to make good our $800 expense and the loss was ours. He at one time offered to refund another $315. I declined that offer believing I should not have to settle. Our contention - Uptown Transfer owes us $800.00

Desired Settlement: Our contention - Uptown Transfer owes us $800.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/05/21) */ We never received a first notice of complaint. The owner, ****** Backdahl did talk to Mrs. ******* about the tenant redeeming his property & she said to do the best we could at collecting what we can. The bill came to $3015 the tenant had only $2700. That was the best we could do. Mrs. ******* had given us a $800 deposit on the invoice so we took that off the amount & the refund was $485. We never agreed to collect legal fees... That is never in our scope of the job. Our offer of $315 for a refund still stands so that this can be resolved.

4/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Uptown Transfer has refused to authorize furniture service to repair dropped and broken entertainment unit. On October 19, 2013 Uptown Transfer moved furniture and approximately 25 plastic containers of household items. As explained in first contacting Uptown Transfer I had to have a large heavy desk and a large, heavy entertainment unit moved to different locations in the apartment before bringing in the contents of the moving truck. When attempting to take the entertainment unit part in order to move it to the bedroom they dropped part of it causing it to fall and collapse the whole unit and break. Part of one of the columns hit someones foot in the room and the entertainment unit was rendered broken. The moving men immediately called their boss ****** Backdahl who told me he would absolutely take care of the damage or replace. I was told I could take it where I wanted to for repair and chose ******** Furniture Service. As of December 4th he has refused to authorize repair to ******** Furniture or to give me any explanation. I did pay him in cash in full at the time the remained of the move was finished.

Desired Settlement: I want the entertainment unit restored to its original condition and ******** Furniture authorized to fix piece. Also any other incidental costs ******** would charge, such as delivery, etc. The person whose toe was injured is not part of this complaint.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/01/13) */ After further review of the situation we have decided to turn it into our insurance company. They will be contacting Ms. ******* to assess the damage and proceed accordingly. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/01/20) */ Response taken over the phone: Insurance company will not take claim because it is under $1,000 so they state that it is Backdahl's responsibility. Backdahl has not contacted me. I want the business to contact furniture repair and give ok to fix.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Uptown Transfer, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart