Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/17/1999

Two Men and A Truck

Phone: (952) 894-8606Fax: (952) 894-8468View Additional Phone Numbers3401 W Burnsville Pkwy, BurnsvilleMN 55337-4287

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/17/1999

BBB has determined that Two Men and A Truck meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Two Men and A Truck's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Two Men and A Truck

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
12/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was quoted a price over the phone and I was overcharged. The general manager contacted me offering a refund and he never followed through.
I hired movers to help me move on a Monday. They called at the last minute and canceled due to truck issues. I was surprised they didn't have a backup vehicle. I had to take another day off work to accommodate their issues. I emailed the general manager asking if he could provide a discount due to the inconvenience. He did not reply to my email. I was quoted over the phone the rate of $135 per hour for two men. I was charged $145 per hour for two men. An automated email was sent to me asking how they did. I was dissatisfied with their services and I let them know. The General manager, ************** contacted me by phone, he admitted he did see my email and failed to reply. He asked how he could help meet my satisfaction and he offered me the refund of the $10 per hour quoted. He also offered to reduce the travel time by 15 minutes. He contacted me while I was at work and I did not have the invoice in front of me at the time. I asked him to give me a call back the next day as I had the day off and I could go over the invoice with him. He has never called me back and I never received the refund. The services were provided on Thursday, September 18th, 2014. He contacted me by phone in October. It is now the middle of December. The total I paid was $590.

Desired Settlement
$150 for the inconvenience and length of time they have been holding on to my money. I also agree to remove my Google maps review if the settlement is matched.

Business Response
Good Afternoon,

We here at Two Men and a Truck apologize for any issues that we have caused. We are happy to compensate for the issues that happened with Mr. ************* move.

On his original move date we had a truck not start up and we called some of our morning customers to see if anyone would be able to switch their move date. I got a hold of Mr. ************* and he said that they could reschedule for Thursday and that will give them some more time to get ready for their move. Unfortunately, our system automatically switched the move rate to our normal rate and we did not catch that change.

Out of customer service we will be glad to compensate for the miss charge and the lateness of receiving the check.

We take pride in our customer service and apologized for the issue.

Thank you
Two Men and a Truck



12/02/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Signed up to have property moved @ $135/ hr. We agreed that it would take about 2+ hours to do this. When I got proposed bill it charged me for $101
On 10/14 I agreed to have them move my property for $135/hr x 2+ hrs. When I got proposed bill $101 was planned to be charged for truck travel time at $101. I spoke with 3 people at business.(******,****, ****). I recall no one telling me of this charge in advance during my 3 conversations. I cancelled and will shop else where to see if charges are the same. I do not dispute the apprpriateness of the charge but rather the fact that I don't believe Iwas informed.

Desired Settlement
I seek no settlement

Business Response
I am writing in response to Mr. *****'s complaint, #********* It s extremely rare that a customer is not informed of the travel time fee when receiving an estimate or booking their move. It is an integral part of building an estimate and a critical piece of the conversation We have over and over again with our customers every day. We move over 400 customers per month, and the last thing we want is to surprise any of them on move day with any unexpected fee.
If Mr. ***** was not noticed of his travel fee, or it was not sufficiently understood, I apologize `for that. Fortunately, Mr. ***** was sent documentation of all of our fees well in advance of his move, as all of our. customers are, and he had ample opportunity to cancel the service without incurring a fee of any sort. It is never our intention to deceive, and I hope the evidence here backs that up.
1f you have any other questions about please Contact me anytime.
Sincerely, ***********
Two Men and a Truck (952)********

09/24/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 5/14/12 had movers move my furniture,they broke marble from top to dresser in half.Called ***,said they would replace,never did as agreed. glued it
5/14/12 Hired 2 Men & Truck to move me, in process, broke the top of antique marble top dresser in half. Spoke with a ***/Sales person, he agreed to replace top. *** contacted Princess Marble Burnsville. Marble co. told *** they did not have color. After over a month and a half. I went to Princess Marble, chose a piece for replacement.
I called *** from movers, he said he had his guys in Edina, glue it, and they are marble experts, work with marble all the time. Edina location is another 2 men & truck to glue. I was never contacted before or after glue job which I never agreed to. I want that piece replaced.

Desired Settlement
Estimated cost is $180.00 dollars, I would get it replaced with this money. I will need the original piece to get correct measurements,to get it replaced, since the Mover Co. has not been able to get this done.

Business' Initial Response
Original business response was received by fax and has been converted to text.




I received your letter regarding Mr. ********'s damaged piece of stone. We have repaired the piece and it is currently in our office. Unfortunately Mr. ******** will not accept delivery of anything other than a brand new replacement piece. I think that Mr. ********'s demand in this instance goes beyond what he is entitled to as a result of this damage.
First, Mr. ******** Was provided with a document titled ''Limitations on Liability'' prior to his move on May 14"'. Under the heading ''Marble, Slate, and Stone'', emphasis in the original, it states: ''Items made of these materials. . .are excluded from coverage under our damage policy. The existence of hairline
cracks and unseen weaknesses in these materials make it impossible for us to cover them under our damage policy because damage resulting from these inherent traits cannot be prevented through additional care or handling.'' This is a standard exception to coverage. for household goods movers for the reasons stated. These inherent traits in stone coupled with the Weight and density of the stone itself make it impossible to prevent fractures occurring as a result of even a slight bump in a road.

Second, Mr. ******** signed and was provided with a copy of our ''Moving Services Agreement.'' Under the section titled ''Damage Claims,'' emphasis in the original, it states that: ''If a damage is caused by our
service, Two Men and a Truck reserves the right to repair the damage(s) in question. If we determine that
a damage cannot be repaired, we reserve the right to either replace or compensate (Actual Cash Value) for the damage." These policies are not unique to us, and they are standard within the Two Men and a Truck franchise system and among household goods movers generally.
Regardless of the policies stated above we still want a happy customer, and we will frequently go beyond our obligation to achieve that overriding goal *** spoke with Mr. ******** regarding the piece a couple
'of times. Mr. ******** claims repeatedly that he was told by *** that we would replace the piece with a
new piece. ***'s worked here for a long time, He is very familiar with our policies, and he did not tell I
Mr. ******** that we would have a new piece made. *** told Mr. ******** that we would see what we can

E1o'to get the damage taken cafe of, but he never told him we would get him a new pie06- He did tell

Has been in contact With Princess Marble to look into the damage. Princess Marble actually made finding a replacement piece seem unrealistic. After several calls and return calls by ***, they suggested that we would have to special order a closely matching full slab, which they would then out down to size. This would certainly have cost much more than the $180 ******** is asking for, and when coupled with the difficulty in getting a call returned felt like a code for ''We don't really want to screw around with this.'' We eventually found another vendor, Stonemaster and Son's Inc, who suggested that the repair was the most realistic option.
Mr. ******** never told us that he_ would only accept a replacement piece. Had he notified us before we spent the money to get the piece repaired, we would have happily paid Mn ******** what we would have spent on the repair which he could apply toward a replacement piece if he wanted to go that route. Instead, we had the piece professionally repaired by Stonemaster & Son's, Inc in Edina for $171.64. Mr. ******** is mistaken When he says we had another Two Men and a Truck franchise make the repair. Stonemaster and is located near the Edina Two Men and a Truck franchise, but it is definitely a separate business that specializes in stone fabrication and repair.
I am very sorry that Mn ********' s stone piece was damaged during the move. It's an unfortunate reality that damages are going to happen once in a while in this business. We do our best to address and rectify these situations when they do occur, and I feel that in this case we have done that 'fairly. Had we' known that Mr. ******** would only accept a replacement piece We would have handled it differently, but we didn't know. Clearly Mr. ******** is disappointed with the resolution of this, and I'm truly sorry for that,' but I think we have acted reasonably in this case. ' ' - -"
Please let me know if you haié any questions or need anything else me.

07/02/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They were hired to move my very expensive, irreplaceable credenza and bookcase. They broke an upright in two, can't fix it, won't give me money back.
They moved my stuff March 25, 2011. After trying to get resolution, and multiple phone calls, they agreed to give me my money back, but still have not after 14 months, also stopped returning my phone calls.

Desired Settlement
Full refund of approx. $500. The cost to fix their errors will be over $2k to me, and too much of a hassle.

Business' Initial Response
Business response has been converted to text by the BBB.

I am very familiar with Mr. ******'s issue. It was a long process to eventually get a resolution for Mr. ******. Our goal was always to repair the damaged piece, which unfortunately we were unable to do. We eventually settled on $500 to compensate Mr. ****** for this damage, and our notes indicate that he was paid and the issue is resolved. Here is the embarrassing part... I checked and it appears that no actual check was ever written. I distinctly remember feeling relieved that this was behind us, but I guess my relief was premature. I have sent Mr. ****** a check for $500, and also a copy of this fax.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Moving Services - Labor & Materials

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/17/1999Business started: 05/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Transportation
1110 Centre Pointe Curv
Saint Paul, MN55120-4103
(651) 296-3000
http://www.dot.state.mn.us

Contact Information
Principal: Nicholas Bailey (General Manager) Chad Werner (Marketing)
Business Category

Movers, Moving Services - Labor & Materials

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Two Men and A Truck, this company provides residential and commercial moving services. Serving the 11 county Metropolitan area. Commercial moving statewide. Owner-operated.

Alternate Business Names
Bailey & Son Trucking Inc
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.
Industry Tips
Moving

If you choose to do business with Two Men and A Truck, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Two Men and A Truck

3401 W Burnsville Pkwy

Burnsville, MN 55337-4287

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3401 W Burnsville Pkwy 

    Burnsville, MN 55337-4287(952) 894-8606

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Two Men and A Truck is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (651) 209-6345
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Movers

Moving
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.