BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Suddath Relocation Systems of MN, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Suddath Relocation Systems of MN, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Suddath Relocation Systems of MN, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1974 Business started: 01/01/1919 Business started locally: 01/01/1919 Business incorporated 01/01/1900 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Transportation
1110 Centre Pointe Curv, Saint Paul MN 55120
http://www.dot.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-3000
customerservice@mnpass.net

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

US Department of Transportation
400 7th St SW, Washington DC 20590
http://www.dot.gov
Phone Number: (202) 366-4000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
General Manager, Owner/Manager
Contact Information
Principal: General Manager, Owner/Manager
Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials

Products & Services

According to the information provided by the business, Suddath, founded in 1919, is one of the nation's largest providers of moving, transportation, storage and logistics solutions. With a convenient, one-stop service center in Minneapolis, Suddath provides reliable local, long-distance and international moving services to families, corporations, hospitals and libraries in the Minneapolis/St. Paul metro area.

Industry Tips
Estate Sales Moving

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Suddath Relocation Systems of MN, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7100 Washington Ave S

    Eden Prairie, MN 55344 (952) 232-6974

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/1/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was grossly overcharged for the services provided to me. On October 2nd, 2015 Debra *** came to my home to provide an estimate of what it would cost to move my belongings. She estimated 6440lbs at a cost of $4400.44. When the movers actually came to move my household on December 11th, 2015 the packed truck weighed only 4300lbs. Additional charges that were included in my bill and not performed were: the use of a O-shuttle, and crating my mattresses. As agreed upon in the initial estimate, I was responsible for all the packing, including my mattresses. These services were not provided. In addition to the substantial overestimate and cost, the price actually went up in Dec, the slowest time of year to move. After I became aware of the overcharge, I called around to other movers and asked for an estimate for the services performed. The average cost after researching the sale was $2300, and that includes the shipment to Fargo, ND. I am also concerned about an employees job at the company. Mike ********** was the only employee that said something to me about the lack of fair pricing, he is absolutely looking out for the customer. I would hate to see any retaliation on him and his high value system, even though the company he works for doesn't seem to hold those same values. My Order number is ************* My bill came to $4946.64 and was charged to my credit card. I feel like I was taken advantage of and now the sales representative and her boss will not return my phone calls.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $2,500.00 credited back to my credit card.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/12/28) */ Re: ***** ****** BBB Complaint: ******** To Whom It May Concern, This response is tendered on behalf of Suddath Relocation Systems of Minnesota, LLC ("Suddath") in response to the Better Business Bureau complaint ********. Suddath moved Ms. ****** from Minnesota to North Dakota. Ms. ****** subsequently filed a claim alleging that Suddath overcharged for its services. Ms. ******'s shipment was booked on Suddath's binding, no weight-credit tariff. The total of the bound charges included: transportation services, valuation, cartons, packing, and/or unpacking, and additional services. Because of strict household goods regulations governing the services Suddath provides, it does not have the flexibility to change the pricing structure once the shipment has loaded. Further, Ms. ****** acknowledged and signed the bill of lading accepting the bound price for services. Suddath hopes that this response is helpful to the Better Business Bureau when investigating this claim. Should you find that you need additional information from Suddath, please let me know. Very truly yours, Hannah ****** Legal Administrative Assistant **************@suddath.com ************** Jacksonville, FL 32247 Ph: ************ ************* www.suddalh.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/12/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The fact that I was charged for items I made clear I was not going to use i.e., packing/unpacking, the shuttle van, cartons, etc. This was made clear to consultant at the time of consultation and she assured me that I was not being charged for it. I am more than willing to pay for the services I actually used, but the fact that not only I was grossly overcharged using a no weight credit-tariff is evidence that the company was in-fact confident in their inaccuracy of estimation. Their estimate was approximately 33% OVER than the actual measurement. This error margin is unacceptable and the customer should not be the one responsible for the lack of training and expertise of this company. For the average person that doesn't use a moving company regularly, Suddath Relocation Services of MN clearly capitalized on the inexperience of the party using their services. Additionally, this company has displayed a huge disservice to the customer by not returning phone calls, emails or any correspondence whatsoever. This action alone is very offensive and shows their lack of integrity company wide. Final Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2016/01/19) */ *** See Attached ***

1/20/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
11/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Suddath relocation movers to pick up, store in a climate controlled safe environment, for one year. I was advised not to get extra insurance. I hired Suddath to move, store in a sealed temperature controlled container. I was assured everything would be safe and stored and returned one year later... Things or returned broken and smashed lost or stolen. I've gone through several agencies including the Attorney General in the Hennepin county attorney and the sheriffs department to try to resolve this matter. *** ******* the COOis of no help and rude and very irresponsible IN A POSITION THAT REQUIRES COMMON SENSE

Desired Settlement: At the very least, they cannot replace some of these items. I would like to be reimbursed for my pick up, storage, and redelivery. And for the broken items that need to be fixed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/02) */ *** Hard Copy Attached *** Dear Mr. ****** The Suddath Companies This response is tendered on behalf of Suddath Relocation Systems of Minnesota, LLC ("Suddath) in response to the Better Business Bureau complaint XXXXXXXX. Ms. ******** claims that while in Suddath's storage her valuables went missing, which had an estimated value of $100,000. She claims that Suddath stole her property, and she is requesting that Suddath either reimburses her the full value of the property or return the property. Despite Ms. ********'s allegations, Suddath has attempted to rectify the situation; however, Ms. ******** **** not allow the settlement of this claim. The Eden Prairie Police Department conducted an investigation of this matter and found no criminal grounds on which Suddath *** be guilty of wrongdoing. The case number is XXXXXXXX. Additionally, Ms. ******** signed a Warehouse Receipt & Storage Contract on March 21, 2014 with a Declared Value of Property provision that states Suddath's liability for damages shall be limited to $.60 per pound, per article. The declaration of value is coverage for direct physical loss or damage to the property. Contrary to Ms. ********'s allegations, Suddath sent Ms. ******** a copy of the settlement offer on March 14, 2015. The settlement offer outlined the items missing with a description and value. As stated in the settlement offer, based on a conversation between Ms. ******** and ******* ******** a customer care claims adjuster at Suddath, the check for the amount owed to Ms. ******** was not sent out because she wanted to seek legal advice first. Suddath stands by the prior offer made to Ms. ********. The offer presented to Ms. ******** is in accordance with the Warehouse Receipt & Storage Contract. Suddath hopes that this response is helpful to the Better Business Bureau when investigating this claim. Should you find that you need additional information from Suddath to process this response, please let me know. Respectfully, ****** ****** Legal Administrative Assistant *************@suddath.com P.O. Box XXXXX - Jacksonville, FL XXXXX Ph: 904.390.XXXX XXX.******** • www.suddath.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Suddath Relocation continues to send the same photocopied letter. When I hired them I was promised my goods would be moved, stored and delivered in the shape that they left my Minneapolis residence. They stole items, clearly can't be approved, but that does not make the outcome any different. I would like to be reimbursed my original moving costs, storage, and moved items into my new location. The amount is $4,382.77. Suddath has hundreds and hundreds of complaints against them and their business operations. Suddath and *** ******* are clearly at fault with their promise and contract... I look forward to hearing from you soon.. thank you, ********... *** ******** Final Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2015/11/03) */ *** Hard Copy Attached *** ******** ***** Better Business Bureau *** S. ***** Ridge Circle Burnsville, MN XXXXX The Suddath Companies Re: *** ******** BBB Complaint: XXXXXXXX Dear Mr. ****** This response is tendered on behalf of Suddath Relocation Systems of Minnesota, LLC ("Suddath) in response to the Better Business Bureau complaint XXXXXXXX. Ms. ******** claims that while in Suddath's storage her valuables went missing, which had an estimated value of $100,000. She claims that Suddath stole her property, and she is requesting that Suddath either reimburses her the full value of the property or return the property. Despite Ms. ********'s allegations, Suddath has attempted to rectify the situation; however, Ms. ******** **** not allow the settlement of this claim. Ms. ******** signed a Warehouse Receipt & Storage Contract on March 21, 2014 with a Declared Value of Property provision that states Suddath's liability for damages shall be limited to $.60 per pound, per article (see attached). The declaration of value is coverage for direct physical loss or damage to the property. The claim was settled based on the valuation of $.60 cents per pound that Ms. ******** selected and signed for. Suddath sent Ms. ******** a letter on *** 5, 2015 offering a settlement. Suddath has not received a response back from Ms. ********. Suddath stands by the prior offer made to Ms. ********. The offer presented to Ms. ******** is in accordance with the Warehouse Receipt & Storage Contract. Suddath hopes that this response is helpful to the Better Business Bureau when investigating this claim. Should you find that you need additional information from Suddath to process this response, please let me know. Respectfully, ************* Legal Administrative Assistant *************@suddath.com P.O. Box XXXXX • Jacksonville, FL XXXXX Ph: XXXXXX.7100 • 800.******** • wwwsuddath.com

9/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Goods damaged during move. Goods insured for full replacement cost. Failure to cover replacement cost. Extremely untimely service. Bicycle was damaged during move due to negligence of movers. Bicycle was documented on the high value disclosure form and insured for full replacement cost. Suddath (and an inspector they hired) agrees that they damaged the bicycle but refuse to cover replacement cost. Offered value is about 1/10th of replacement cost. Suddath has been asked about this and refuses to provide details of their decision. Very vague references are provided which do not reflect the actual bicycle they damaged nor any valid method of replacing it. Additionally the speed of service was extremely slow; claim submitted 7/25/14 and offer for 1/10th value finally made 10/8/14 after prompting.

Desired Settlement: Provide full replacement cost of damaged goods per insurance contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/16) */ *** Hard copy Attached *** We take care of it. October 16, 2014 BBB of Minnesota & North Dakota ****** River Ridge Cir. Burnsville, MN XXXXX The Suddath Companies Re: ****** *****, Complaint #XXXXXXXX To Whom it May Concern, In response to the consumer complaint filed by ****** *****, Suddath Relocation Systems of Minnesota, LLC ("Suddath") tenders the following. Mr. ***** contracted with United Van Lines, LLC (UVL} to provide moving services in June 2014. Suddath, a disclosed household goods agent for UVL assisted in providing the move services. During the course of the move, Mr. *****'s bike was reported to have been damaged. Mr. ***** submitted a claim for the bike on July 25, 2014. Suddath hired an independent third party to complete an inspection of the bike damage as well as research the bike replacement cost. The enclosed inspection report and research from a qualified bike dealer on the value of the bike was submitted to Suddath on October 2, 2014. Based on the inspection report and research, Suddath submitted a settlement offer on October 8, 2014 to Mr. *****, as set forth below. Under the Full Replacement Value Guidelines (FVR), Suddath's maximum liability for an item is either the cost of the repairs or replacement cost, whichever is less. Suddath offered Mr. ***** a total of $1,035 for Full Replacement Value for damage to Mr. *****'s bike. If Mr. ***** disagrees with Suddath's position as outlined above, UVL participates in an independent arbitration program available through American Moving Storage Association (AMSA). Suddath provided Mr. ***** information on the arbitration program on October 8, 2014. Thank you, and if you need anything further please contact us at your convenience. Very Truly Yours, **********. ****** Corporate Counsel Post Office Box XXXXX • Jacksonville, Florida XXXXX-XXXX Ph: 904.******** • 800.******** • www.*******.com Consumer Response /* (-5, 10, 2014/11/11) */ ***Document Attached*** How has this been closed? I just review it (response went to junk e-mail, with no other followup emails or call) and see no response from the business who is not meeting their obligation. They didn't even price out the replacement of my bicycle. Their method used the wrong model year for my bicycle and didn't reflect items that had been upgraded on my bike- had they done that they would have come up with $1815 (file being attached). This is just using their method correctly. I still disagree as it does not cover replacement cost as a replacement has not been found. It is nearly impossible to find a replacement- their contractor tried and failed. Cover replacement cost of bicycle per contract! Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2014/11/11) */ Suddath's response does not address the complaint. As they state "Suddath's maximum liability for an item is either the cost of repairs or replacement cost, whichever is less." The nature of the damage makes it irreparable as confirmed by the 3rd party hired by Suddath, leaving replacement as the option. The $1035 that Suddath has offered for "Full Replacement Value for damage" is not valid. The value was determined by looking utilizing a bicycle blue book website and looking up a DIFFERENT BICYCLE. If the same website is used to look up the CORRECT BICYCLE to the best of the websites ability (the website allows for slight customization of parts on the bicycle, however my bicycle has been upgraded beyond what the website is capable of assessing) a replacement cost of $1815 is calculated (document already attached to claim). If Suddath had honestly applied the technique they chose to employ they would have calculated this $1815 value. However, this still does not replace the bicycle. A replacement bicycle has not been found and most likely cannot be due to the nature of the bicycle (very expensive for a bicycle with few produced and many of those damaged from 'normal' use while racing). The third party employed by Suddath looked and could not find a replacement per a phone conversation I had with him. In regard to Suddath being liable for "replacement cost", one cannot buy something that does not exist. This is why the claim was submitted for replacement with Trek's current version of this bicycle (which can be purchased at any Trek dealer). I also have a full lifetime warranty from Trek on the frame which would not exist with any option but replacement with the new model of this bicycle from Trek. Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2014/12/05) */ December 5, 2014 BBB of Minnesota & North Dakota 220 S. River Ridge Cir. Burnsville, MN 55337 Re: ****** *****, Complaint #******** To Whom it May Concern, In response to the consumer complaint filed by ****** *****, Suddath Relocation Systems of Minnesota, LLC ("Suddath") tenders the following. Mr. ***** filed a claim for Full Replacement Value (FRV) for damage to his bicycle. During the claims process, Suddath requested that Mr. ***** provide valuation of his bicycle to substantiate his claim, however, nothing was ever provided to Suddath. As such, Suddath hired an independent third party to complete an inspection of the bicycle damage as well as research the bicycle replacement cost. As indicated in Suddath's first response to Mr. *****'s complaint, Suddath's maximum liability under FRV for an item is either the cost of the repairs or replacement cost, whichever is less. FVR costs do not include upgrades to the replacement item. Based on the inspection report and research by the third party, Suddath submitted a settlement offer of $1,035 for Full Replacement Value for damage to Mr. *****'s bicycle. Mr. ***** is now claiming that the settlement offer is not sufficient to replace his bicycle. If Mr. ***** can provide Suddath with valuation of his bicycle, Suddath will review the information and advise of any modification to its settlement offer. Very Truly Yours, ************************ Corporate Counsel


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Suddath Relocation Systems of MN, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart