BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Nystrom Moving & Storage, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Nystrom Moving & Storage, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Nystrom Moving & Storage, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 11, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1948 Business started locally: 01/01/1948 Business incorporated 01/01/1995 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

US Department of Transportation
400 7th St SW, Washington DC 20590
http://www.dot.gov
Phone Number: (202) 366-4000

Minnesota Department of Transportation
1110 Centre Pointe Curv, Saint Paul MN 55120
http://www.dot.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-3000
customerservice@mnpass.net

Business Management
Jayne Nystrom, CFO John Nystrom, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Jayne Nystrom, CFO
Business Category

Movers Piano & Organ Moving Referral - Storage Facility

Alternate Business Names
Nystrom Moving Nystrom's Moving
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Nystrom Moving & Storage, Inc., this company offers residential and commercial moving and storage services.

Industry Tips
Estate Sales Moving

Additional Locations

  • 1872 Sargent Ave

    Saint Paul, MN 55105 (651) 227-6888 (952) 227-6888 (612) 659-7947 (651) 771-1857 (651) 690-3317 (651) 224-3722

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Workers took long break/lunch on furniture move and charged ($110.00) for time . They damage furniture and will not repair. Do not respond to call. Arranged for 26 foot truck and 3 men for move from Farmington to Apple Valley. The day before I called to discussed we had too much for one truck. Agreed to 2 trucks and 4 men. Advised that due real estate closings on from home sale and also closing on to home sale may be lag time from finish loading to time unloading home available. I was told no problem workers would take break or lunch. We estimated finish loading noon and home available to unload 1 PM. My family member left loading house approx. noon, took lunch, on 20 to 25 minute drive from load home to unload home. Arrived new home before 1PM. Moving trucks arrived slightly after 1 PM. Mover charged for time of start to time of finish, with no off time (rate is $220.00 per hour). Have damage to china cabinet caused when movers separated top section from base section. One member of moving crew did touch up which in the light of the room at that time looked OK. In better light and closer inspection was poor cover up of damage. Nystom promised to call to arrange for someone to come to inspect damage, possibly by repair professionals. Did not happen, only lip service.

Desired Settlement: We want refund of 1/2 hours time while workers were on lunch or break and want china cabinet repaired properly

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/30) */ My name is *************, and I am the owner of Nystrom Moving. I originally talked to Mr ***** regarding the missing time and the damaged furniture. His complaint was different when he first spoke to me than it is in this complaint. I told him I would talk to the crew and respond to the missing time and the question of damages. When I spoke to the crew leader, he had a different assessment of the issues so I asked him to follow through with the customer in order to avoid myself as the middleman. Having heard no further complaint from either party I thought the situation had been satisfactorily resolved, and I was shocked to see a BBB complaint stating, "they damage furniture and will not repair" and "do not respond to call". The crew lead did respond to the customer, but did not follow through with his promise to arrange to have someone come out to look at the damage. The crew lead did also respond to the time issue but not to the customer's satisfaction. The customer never called back to speak with me. I called Mr ***** immediately upon receipt of this complaint and agreed to refund the 1/2 hr time ($110) for lunch. (Normally the crew would take 1/2 hr off the clock for lunch, but did not in this case due to a misunderstanding of the time they were expected at the offloading site). I have no problem refunding the 1/2 hour for a lunch break. My crew lead had agreed that damaged furniture should be repaired, and had told Mr ***** that we would arrange for someone to fix the damage. Evidently that was not set up properly or timely so the complaint was made. I have arranged for one of two furniture repair companies to contact Mr ***** during the week of Jan 5 to repair the damage at our expense, as it should have been done in the first place. I wish he had contacted me, rather than rush to a complaint with the BBB or anyone else. I always stand behind our product and service. Sincerely, ************* Owner, Nystrom Moving Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) nystrom promised to send repair company to fix damage and to pay us $110.00 for excess time charged. Repair has been made on 1/12/2015 BUT NO MONEY HAS BEEN RECEIVED AS OF THIS TIME Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/01/14) */ The repair was made on 1/12 by ******** Furniture Repair, and I received his report and invoice on 1/13 in the morning. The check was cut for the $110 refund in the afternoon of 1/13 and dropped in the mailbox at the post office in St Paul in the late afternoon of 1/13. Customer should be in receipt of the check within a day or so, and will have received exactly what he was asking of my company. Again, this would have been accomplished in the first place without a BBB complaint.

12/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I originally called the company to get information on a move for the future. When I wanted to get a day & time set-up is when problem evolved. I called on Tuesday 6/10 LM my call was returned Wednesday 6/11 they left VM with no info. I called back 6/12 got actual person was given 2 time slots when I said I would like to check & get back to them I was conveniently disconnected. That evening I called & LM that time slot 1-2 would work please call me. Got no response so I called & got someone to answer & when I explained who I was & about what was conveniently hung up on.

Desired Settlement: Understanding that in the future someone needs to be more timely with return calls in the first place & also leave detailed information as the customer has requested if also leaving a VM. When taking calls not disconnect or hang up on people. If they don't have employees to work or don't want to work just say so but I thought that's what business is all about offering a service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/02) */ I am very sorry that this customer did not receive what she was looking for from my company. We did not have times available to move her piece of furniture that corresponded with the times she wanted the move to occur, and in exchanging phone calls to work out the time over a period of 4 days from Jun 10th to Jun 13th, opportunities kept closing. June is a very busy time of the year and Fridays and Saturdays are the busiest days of the week. June 13th was a Friday. I also was called away with a sick/disabled spouse on the 12th and the 13th, and left the phones for my company with a trusted crew member who often fills in for me when I have to be away. He was aware of the times that this customer and I were trying to work out, but again, the calendar was filling in and he was having difficulty accommodating her needs. Joe insists he did not hang up on this customer and it is unlikely as he and I both bend over backwards to fill people's needs. He does answer phones from a forward to a cell phone, so it is possible that the connections were poor, or reception was dropped. He should have followed up however, if that was the case. I spoke with this customer today, July 2nd, on this my third attempt to reach out to her with regard to her complaint, and tried to reach a resolution. She stated today that there is no resolution. She said there was no way to satisfy her since her piece of furniture was already moved and she wanted to make a complaint to let us know that we should be doing business in a different manner. I said I wished she had spoken to me and given me, the owner, a chance to satisfy her before filing a complaint and she said that she had already had the furniture moved before she filed the complaint, so there was nothing I could have done for her with regard to moving her furniture. According to my message log, she was looking to have the furniture moved on Fri, Jun 13 or Sat, Jun 14 for which I gave her 3 options on those days. I was away from the phones on Thurs, Jun 12 in the afternoon and on Fri, Jun 13 all day. Her experience with Joe must have occurred during those days, and she must have had the furniture moved after she filed the BBB complaint. I could have, and would have, worked something out with her had she just called me and brought the poor customer service to my attention personally. Instead, she quickly filed a complaint with the BBB and has no interest in a resolution. She is correct, a call should be returned promptly. However, sometimes circumstances are such that it just cannot be and a business suffers when they miss an opportunity to be of service. The customer states that details should be left in a voicemail message. Often it is difficult to leave all details in a voicemail message, especially with a complex scheduling calendar, and when options are given through a message, there is no guarantee that the time slot will be available when the call is returned in response to a message. She states that she was hung up on, and I respectfully disagree with that assessment. We do not have employees that do not want to work. The fact that she states she spoke with someone in the evening shows that he was being diligent in answering the phone and trying to be attentive to service even after hours. Again, today I tried to offer a resolution and she kept restating that there is no resolution, except to complain. That is resolution for her. It leaves me with nothing but a blemish and no way to satisfy this person. I am very sorry that she had a poor experience with my company. On the rare occasion that I have any negative feedback from a customer, I always tell people that I am happy to have the information, as I would not know of these problems or perceptions unless they called me, and that, with the information, I am able to address the issues and correct the problems. I wish this customer had given me the chance to try to satisfy her. she probably would have received a free move, as I am often accused of 'giving away the store' in the name of making happy customers. Sincerely, ***** Nystrom Owner, NystromMoving


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Nystrom Moving & Storage, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)