BBB Accredited Business since

Berger Transfer & Storage, Inc.

Phone: (651) 639-2260 Fax: (651) 639-2277 View Additional Phone Numbers 2950 Long Lake Rd, Saint Paul, MN 55113 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.bergerallied.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Berger Transfer & Storage, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Berger Transfer & Storage, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Berger Transfer & Storage, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1973 Business started: 01/01/1910 Business started locally: 01/01/1910 Business incorporated 02/08/1949 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Transportation
1110 Centre Pointe Curv, Saint Paul MN 55120
http://www.dot.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-3000
customerservice@mnpass.net

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Chuck Speth, Marketing Manager William Dircks, President David Lorier, Owner/Manager Diane MacIver, Owner/Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Chuck Speth, Marketing Manager
Business Category

Movers

Service Area
Berger Transfer & Storage, Inc. provides their services in AFTON, ANDOVER, ANOKA, APPLE VALLEY, ARDEN HILLS, BAYPORT, BELLE PLAINE, BETHEL, BLAINE, BLOOMINGTON, BROOKLYN CENTER, BROOKLYN CTR, BROOKLYN PARK, BURNSVILLE, CARVER, CENTERVILLE, CHAMPLIN, CHANHASSEN, CHASKA, CIRCLE PINES, COLOGNE, COLUMBIA HEIGHTS, COLUMBIA HTS, COLUMBUS, COON RAPIDS, CORCORAN, COTTAGE GROVE, CRYSTAL, DAYTON, DELLWOOD, EAGAN, EAST BETHEL, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDINA, ELKO, ELKO NEW MARKET, ELKO NEW MRKT, EXCELSIOR, FALCON HEIGHTS, FALCON HGTS, FARMINGTON, FOREST LAKE, FRIDLEY, GOLDEN VALLEY, GREENWOOD, HAM LAKE, HAMBURG, HAMEL, HAMPTON, HANOVER, HASTINGS, HEIDELBERG, HILLTOP, HOPKINS, HUGO, INDEPENDENCE, INVER GROVE, INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, JORDAN, LAKE ELMO, LAKE ST CROIX BEACH, LAKELAND, LAKELAND SHORES, LAKELAND SHRS, LAKEVILLE, LANDFALL VILLAGE, LANDFALL VLG, LAUDERDALE, LINO LAKES, LITTLE CANADA, LONG LAKE, LORETTO, MAHTOMEDI, MAPLE GROVE, MAPLE PLAIN, MAPLEWOOD, MAYER, MEDICINE LAKE, MEDINA, MENDOTA, MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MENDOTA HTS, MINETONKA BCH, MINETONKA MLS, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNETNKA BCH, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA BEACH, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MOUND, MOUNDS VIEW, MOUNDSVIEW, NEW BRIGHTON, NEW GERMANY, NEW HOPE, NEW MARKET, NEW PRAGUE, NEW TRIER, NEWPORT, NO OAKS, NORTH OAKS, NORTHFIELD, NORWOOD YOUNG AMERICA, NOWTHEN, NYA, OAK GROVE, OAK PARK HEIGHTS, OAK PARK HGTS, OAK PARK HTS, OAKDALE, ORONO, OSSEO, OTSEGO, PINE SPRINGS, PLYMOUTH, PRIOR LAKE, RAMSEY, RANDOLPH, RICHFIELD, ROBBINSDALE, ROCKFORD, ROGERS, ROSEMOUNT, ROSEVILLE, SAINT ANTHONY, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT PAUL, SAVAGE, SHAKOPEE, SHOREVIEW, SOUTH SAINT PAUL, SOUTH ST PAUL, SPRING LAKE PARK, SPRING LK PK, SPRING PARK, ST CROIX BCH, ST CROIX BEACH, ST LOUIS PARK, ST MARYS POINT, ST MARYS PT, STILLWATER, SUNFISH LAKE, VADNAIS HEIGHTS, VADNAIS HTS, VERMILLION, VICTORIA, W LAKELAND, W SAINT PAUL, W ST PAUL, WACONIA, WATERTOWN, WAYZATA, WEST LAKELAND, WEST SAINT PAUL, WEST ST PAUL, WHITE BEAR LAKE, WHITE BEAR LK, WHITE BEAR TOWNSHIP, WHITE BEAR TP, WILLERNIE & WOODBURY, MN.
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Berger Transfer & Storage, this company is a household moving and storage company. They service local, domestic, international, industrial and offices.

Industry Tips
Estate Sales Moving

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Berger Transfer & Storage, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2950 Long Lake Rd

    Saint Paul, MN 55113 (651) 639-2260 (651) 639-6459 (800) 328-2459

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Allied moving co. lost items during move and has broken items during move and has not fullfilled their contract obligation re: 100% full replacement. Berger moving company (Allied) moved our household goods from GA to FL on 09/01/15. They lost the leaves to both of my tables and refuse to replace the leaves. They also damaged our couch that was less than 6 months old - we have the receipt. I contacted Allied Berger on 09/11/15 inquiring about the loss of my leaves to determine if they were in their warehouse. I was informed that they would look into the issue of my lost items. In addition, I was sent the claim form to be completed which was completed and set via email to Allied claims on 10/19/15. I received a letter in the mail from Allied claims on 11/28/15 stating that they are not resposnible for the lost leaves and that they "believe" the couch was already damaged. The couch was not damaged prior to the move and the driver was trying to fix it after he moved it into our home and our leaves were lost during the move. The "movers" had two loads on the truck and did not load the second household properly (per the driver). Therefore, the second set of household goods "fell" on top of our household goods which resulted in breakage of items. In addition, both sets of household goods were intermingled and therefore, we were sending back good that belonged to the other owners that the movers delivered into our house during the move-in phase. There was so much confusion due to the shifting of the goods in the truck that our leaves were not delivered and we were unaware of this until we opened our boxes. I informed Berger Allied on 09/11/15 that the leaves were not delivered and they stated they would research the issue. The date of the pick-up of items was : 09/01/15 and the delivery date was 09/05/15. Our contract number is: REG #******

Desired Settlement: The full replacement contract that we executed should be followed and we should receive the full replacement value for the couch that was damaged during the move. In addition, we would like for the company to complete a search for our missing table leaves and for the table leaves to be delivered to our new home. If the table leaves cannot be found then we expect new table leaves to be made for our tables or for the replacement cost of two new tables that would seat up to 8 people for each table. We expect the company to fullfill their contractural obligation that we paid an additional $800 in addition to their normal moving fee in the event of loss or damage of household goods.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/08) */ Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Ms. ********'s complaint. Her claim was handled by Allied Claim Services. I have been in contact with Allied Claim Services and they have agreed to accept liability for the damage to Ms. ********'s sofa. They will work with her regarding this item. Allied Claim Services is also looking further into the missing table leaves. There are no table leaves on the inventories and the driver indicates that all items he loaded were delivered. Allied Claim Services will communicate their position regarding the claimed missing leaves once they have reviewed further. Thank you. Diane ******* Director of Claims Berger Transfer and Storage Phone) ************ ******@bergerallied.com

9/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Allied did not deliver our international shipment as paid for and agreed to in a liftvan door to door but instead delivered our boxes loose in a truck 5/13/14 - Sales Rep David ****** from Allied provided quotes for an international shipment of household goods. Customer Service Rep Renee ******* later emailed quotes and other relevant information as well as answering questions I had about the process. One question was "Just to clarify everything packed in the lifvan will stay in the liftvan all the way to our final home delivery destination?" and Renee's reply was "Your liftvan will stay intact and will only be opened and unpacked at time of delivery." 1/22/15 - All items packed and loaded directly in the liftvan and secured shut (Reference # *******). 1/25/15 - Paid $4577.41 via check, which included $4227.41 for the shipment in a liftvan door to door and $350 for Insurance. 4/30/15 - I emailed Renee that our shipment was delivered 24/4 but several items were damaged and expressed concern that our boxes were delivered loose in the delivery truck and not inside the liftvan. Renee replied that she would check with her forwarder why the liftvan was unloaded prior to arrival at our residence and would follow up with me. 5/2/15 - Renee emailed me "To follow upon your feedback, customs didn't inspect your shipment, but Quarantine did; it was Quarantine's tape on the boxes after they inspected it. I was also advised that the goods were removed from the liftvan and loaded loose in the truck due to limited space available in the truck on delivery day." 5/10/15 - I emailed Renee "After David came out and did a quote for us, I specifically asked you in an email if our liftvan would stay intact and not be separated/opened until delivery at our residence and you replied that the 'liftvan will stay intact and will only be opened and unpacked at time of delivery.' It was Allied's responsibility to ensure that our shipment was delivered as promised. It was a significant feature of why we chose Allied to handle our shipment because it would stay in the liftvan door to door, even though Allied's quote was significantly higher than other companies not using a liftvan. We are extremely dissatisfied that we did not receive the service as agreed to and paid for. We would like to know what compensation you can offer us?" 5/12/15 - Renee emailed me "I have to investigate this further with the delivery agent. If they were considering removing your shipment from the liftvan prior to delivery, I would like to know why the question wasn't posed to you or me asking permission to do so. I hope to have an answer in the next few days." 5/27/15 - Renee emailed me "I was advised that once the goods are taking out of the liftvan for Quarantine, that they are not put back into the liftvan. The delivery agent picks up the shipment from quarantine loose." 5/28/15 - I emailed Renee "Please refer back to our original email below. It was Allied's responsibility that our shipment was delivered as promised in a liftvan door to door. We did not receive the service as agreed to and paid for, so we would like to know what compensation you can offer us?" 6/12/15 - Renee emailed me "We would like to offer you a meal on us (up to $100) for the inconvenience caused by the nature of your delivery..." 7/2/15 - I emailed Renee "...As Allied did not deliver the service as paid for and promised in a liftvan door to door, I require a partial refund in the amount of $1,055.41 USD...see 'settlement' section of this complaint ...I believe this payment is a fair resolution and compromise as Allied did not deliver the service as paid for and promised in a liftvan door to door. I look forward to your reply within 14 days..." 7/30/15 - Renee emailed me "We sent a check to you today via UPS...in the amount of USD $150. We are refunding you the cost of a new liftvan. Although the shipment was not delivered to your residence in a liftvan as a result of the quarantine process, it was loaded into and moved via ocean in the liftvan with transportation charges being based on the goods in the liftvan... we have closed your file."

Desired Settlement: We paid Allied for their service expecting our boxes to stay intact in the liftvan door to door and we have no way of knowing when our boxes were actually unpacked from the liftvan. Had we known that Allied could not guarantee that our shipment would remain in the liftvan door to door, we would have used another competitor shipping company that was significantly cheaper. We also had to make an insurance claim for several items that were damaged in transit. I believe these items may not have sustained as much damage, if any, if they had stayed in the liftvan door to door. It was Allied's responsibility that our shipment was delivered as promised in a liftvan door to door. As Allied did not deliver the service as paid for and promised in a liftvan door to door, we require a partial refund in the amount of $1,055.41. The way I have calculated this amount is by using a competitor's quote that we received at the same time as Allied's quote, for a comparable full pack with door to door sea service minus their cost for using a liftvan (which would be comparable to the service we received as Allied did not deliver our shipment in the liftvan to our final residence). The competitor's quote of $3,470 was based on 1407 lbs (allowing leeway of an additional 143 lbs), then minus $198 for not using a liftvan, the competitor's cost would be $3,272. I subtracted that from the final amount we paid to Allied of $4227.41 for 1264 lbs. $4,227.41 - $3,272 + $100 (offered by Allied for our inconvenience) = $1,055.41 total payment. A check can be mailed to us for $1,055.41 via a trackable and secure method. We believe this payment is a fair resolution and compromise as Allied did not deliver the service as paid for and promised in a liftvan door to door.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/17) */ Allied's intention is always to keep the transportation of their international shipments as simple and care free as possible. We are however subject to the laws and regulations of the country the shipment is coming or going into. We do inform the customers about the requirements, restrictions, and limitations of the country they are being transfered to. For whatever reason, this particular shipment was put into quarentine. At that point it is out of Allied's hands. Austrailian officials do not follow the agreements we had with our customers concerning delivering everything contained in the lift van. If anything were to be missing or broken, the customer should file a claim, which they are intitled to. In this particular shipment, we were actualy under the estimated charges, even after the addional coverage was added to the costs. We feel we did our best. The only issue was caused by the controling government. At that point we made a good will offer to help reduce the stress caused by the shipment going into quarentine. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Allied was never "under the estimated charges" so I don't know why they are stating that in their reply now or to what they are referring. We purchased a service based on the assurance, as stated in an email from them, that our "liftvan will stay intact and will only be opened and unpacked at time of delivery". They are now not addressing the fact that they outright lied. The fact that we were never informed that control of our shipment was "out of their hands" once it left the country and they told us exactly the opposite is false and misleading business practice. We were advised that our shipment could be inspected by customs and quarantine but were never informed that that would mean our liftvan would be unpacked completely before it reached the final destination. If Allied could not deliver their services as promised due to "government actions out of their control" we should have been informed of that before we purchased their services so we could take that into consideration. Allied need to be accountable for what they tell customers and not be able to promise anything just to get their business with no consequences. We watched the Allied movers pack our boxes into the liftvan and they placed heavy boxes on the bottom and lighter fragile boxes on top. When the boxes arrived at the final destination loose in the delivery truck, the boxes were stacked several high with the lighter fragile boxes on the bottom and the heavy boxes on top. Many were crushed with the seams and corners busted open and we have photos documenting the damage, how it was packed in the liftvan and in the delivery truck. Even the local delivery men were surprised at the condition of the boxes and said they had been packed poorly at the origin. We paid Allied for a full pack with door to door service so it it is their responsibility to ensure our shipment was delivered correctly all the way to the final destination. After several emails back and forth with Allied trying to get an explanation and resolution and then requesting a partial refund, they finally offered $100 dollars and then increased the amount to $150 for our inconvenience and stress and stated our cased was closed. This small offer in no way compensates us for the fact that they did not deliver the service as described and paid for nor the hassle of having to chase answers and a resolution for months after our shipment was delivered. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/09/15) */ The desire to keep everything contained in lift vans was a disire of Berger Allied and Lisa Atkins, however only verbal desire and not on a written contract. The fact that the lift vans were subject to customs inspections from the country they were entering was documented. Your frustration should be directed to the Australian government. Once they removed the items from the lift vans, they were note handled as we would. You have however purchased the Gold Plan Protection and are entitled to file a claim on any damages. Again, we are only at the hands of a countries laws once it crosses our borders.

3/27/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Berger Allied overcharged me $589 for its services and continues to harass me for payment even after the invoice was paid in full. In October 2014, I contacted Berger Allied ("BA") about enlisting their services for a household relocation from Minnesota to Texas. BA's representative surveyed the items to be moved and BA sent me an estimate on October 14, 2014, for $3,272. I then notified BA that I'd like to add a few small personal items to the move, and BA submitted a revised estimate on October 16, 2014, for $3,885. I agreed to that amount, and BA loaded my items in Minnesota onto its trucks. On November 21, after BA had picked up my things in Minnesota but before delivery in Texas, a BA agent sent me an email that the invoice would come to $7,063, and demanded payment. I protested immediately that the amount was almost double what I had agreed to. Berger demanded that I pay 110% of the estimated cost -- i.e., $4,274 -- on the move date. Even though I suspected BA was acting inappropriately, I paid $4,274 on November 24, 2014, because I needed my items delivered. BA delivered my items the next day. On November 28, 2014, BA emailed me to say that it had weighed my items inaccurately and would send a revised invoice. On December 3, BA sent me a revised invoice for $4,925 and demanded I pay an additional $651 on top of the $4,272 payment I had made on November 24. On December 15, I wrote to BA that the new invoice was unreasonably high and far beyond what I had agreed to pay. I requested an explanation as to why the invoice differed so dramatically from the estimate. BA agreed to provide one. Over the next two months, BA representatives continued to harass me for payment without providing the explanation as to the charges on the invoice. On February 12, 2015, nearly two months after my initial request, BA sent me an email purporting to explain the high invoice, but it did not resolve my concerns. I responded on February 27 that BA's explanation was inadequate. I suggested that either the estimate or the weighing system was botched, and that either way, I owed no additional amount. Nevertheless, in the interests of bringing closure to the matter, I offered to pay a final $200 in full satisfaction of the invoice. On March 2, BA's General Manager emailed me and conceded that BA had "major problems getting your shipment rated properly." He admitted that it was "hard to understand where the problem originated from concerning the weights." He agreed to accept a $200 payment in full satisfaction of the invoice and to write off the remainder. On March 3, I paid BA $200, bringing my total payment to $4,474 -- or 115.2% of BA's revised estimate. I thought that resolved the matter, but on March 9, 2015, I received yet another email from a different BA employee to "seek payment status on the balance of the invoice." I feel that BA has deceived me throughout the moving process. BA estimated my move would cost $3,885, then demanded over $7,000, then revised that down to almost $5,000 after I refused to pay. The General Manager personally admitted the weighing systems were subject to "major problems" and that even he did not understand why the invoice was so high. If the General Manager of a moving company cannot vouch for the accuracy of his own weighing systems, he should not pass that problem onto a consumer in the form of an overcharge. And it is doubly inappropriate to harass me even after I paid the invoice in full.

Desired Settlement: Berger Allied had admitted that there were "major problems" with its weighing systems. And it continues to harass me even after the General Manager agreed to a full release. In this situation, when the General Manager himself cannot explain problems measuring a shipment's weight, I think the proper practice would be to charge the customer the estimated amount and no more. I therefore think BA should refund to me $589, which is the amount I have paid above what the estimate called for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/16) */ Berger Transfer does acknowldge the issues with ************' shipment and has done it's best to rectify the problem. We saw the issue with the weighing process and we autthorized a rewiegh. I instructed to use the smallest weigth to rate the shipment. The original estimate for the shipment was based on an educated guess of the total weight. The shipment was stored in a warehouse and the salesman was not able to fully access everything. In addition to that issue, internally we had a new employee that became confused over the agreement I had with ****. I have since appologized and I do believe we are working on a better relationship.

11/6/2014 Delivery Issues
10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Professional movers hired inexperienced concrete contractors to sub as movers. They smashed a path light while moving furniture but refuse to repair. We moved over the summer with Berger Allied. We had our new home inspected and we personally inspected it on the day of closing. The day following closing, the movers arrived. Two of the movers told us that they were not professional movers. Instead, the company had been short of workers so they had hired two concrete contractors so substitute as movers. During the move, one of the path lights was broken. One of the concrete contractors pointed this out to me. I then spoke to the driver and took him to see it. This was a requirement of the moving company - that I notify the driver. We subsequently filed our insurance claim but the company will not honor it. They claim they do not know how the light was broken. Since we had an inspection done (which did not identify any issue) and since we did a walk through with our realtor the day of the closing, we know quite clearly how it was done and we also know that one of the concrete contractors pointed out the problem and suggested that we complain. The driver failed to note this on the paperwork and now the company refused to pay.

Desired Settlement: We request that the company repair or replace the broken light. Because it is part of a set of six lights and because a match cannot be found, it will be necessary to replace all six. We estimate the cost to be $400.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/14) */ We have spoken to Mr. ********* and are in the process of offering him a goodwill gesture to take care of the broken outdoor lights. Any damage to furniture will be taken care of through our normal claims process. **************

10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Damaged and missing high value items! On July 11, 2014 my household goods were bed loaded into a semi in Alaska for a long distance relocation move by my agency to New York. Upon arrival on August 7, 2014. About 1/3 of my items were missing and some high value items damaged. I have a hand carved California king bed worth approximately 33,000. The were chunks missing out of the hand carving, parts of the bed and part of the footboard cracked and unusable. A brand new contemporary dining room set broken and parts missing, expensive antiques, jewelry and leather coats missing. I contacted the company on 8/8/14 to alert them to this and was asked to ask the realtor in Alaska to look in the house to be sure nothing was left. I replied that the house in on the market and it is empty. I also asked for the chain of custody for the goods and I was given a text book answer that the load was completed on 7/11, vehicle locked and secure, another shipment loaded (automobile)which was not mine and the vehicle departed on 7/16 following all DOT regulations, and unloaded at the warehouse in New York on 7/25/14. When the shipment arrived on 8/7/14 it was crated and I asked where did it get crated and I was told at the warehouse in New York. I practically begged the manager to have everyone involved to search their warehouses because I wanted my goods and did not want to participate in the claims process. But she expeditiously sent me the forms and offered to help. But I am an educated person don't need help filling out a form so this irritated me to no end. When they unloaded on 8/7/14 the first thing I noticed was the lightness of the load and I asked the loaders were was the rest of my goods. One of the guys replied "we have more at the warehouse". But the next load they brought was barely nothing. They give you this bingo sheet to mark off the items as they are unloading to bring into your house. There were approx. 396 boxes and about 70 of them were missing. Someone from the company had already check or lined through the items as if they were received and I challenged them and they asked me to fill out the exception report. First of all you can't remember every little thing that was stolen in 5 minutes you need to go through everything to get a good indication. Once we figure out how bad it was we filed a claim and then somehow the police got involved and search our house because the agency asked them to as if we were committing fraud. I don't know how an agency as large as mine can hire a company like this with all the complaints against them like mine. This agency should be investigated because they billed my agency for goods that were never received. Last but no least after we filed the large claim and the police did not find any of our goods in our house. Miraculously a crate of our goods show up in a warehouse with a name that is similar to ours.(not really). Why did the goods not show up when I begged them to look for it? Also what I find strange is that some of the goods that were packed together in the same box (I witnessed this), made it and the high dollars ones did not. Think about this, how could this have happened if there was a so called chain of custody for the goods. This is the worst service I have every received and I do not recommend anyone if they can help it use this service. You will get screwed over and there will be nothing you can do, but be treated as if you are a criminal!

Desired Settlement: I want all my items that are damaged repaired if possible or a full refund issued. I want all the missing items refunded and or replaced ASAP! I do not appreciate being treated like some common criminal just because of my skin color. We should have received the service that was paid for and we did not. People that work for you and or contracted by you should be licensed and bonded and they should be investigated to see what happened to our goods. Someone stole them, I know it, I just can't prove it. How is it that you all of a sudden found some goods with a name that sounds like ours? More importantly how did all the missing goods show up together when they were not packed in the same boxes? Were they set aside so they could easily be stolen? This is totally unacceptable service and I want this resolved immediately. I do not want this to impact my holidays as much of my special holiday dishes, servers, plates, and bake ware is also missing. I wish that I had look up your organization in BBB before we moved our items as I would have sent them through FedEx so I could be sure they would have arrived. I can not replace some of these items and it is truly just a shame that I have had to endure this kind of abuse from your organization. I want a quick resolution so I can move on with this horrible experience. But rest assured if the opportunity arises again to use your company I will avoid it as much as possible and will tell everyone that I know to do the same.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/09/30) */ Hello, Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Ms. *****'s complaint. Ms. ****** is correct that she notified our office immediately that items were missing from their shipment. We immediately notified the company who stored their shipment in New York. Unfortunately, they did not initially find any of the missing items. We received a claim form from Mr.and Mrs. ****** on 9/1/14 The claim was submitted to our insurer for handling. Berger Transfer did not have any involvement in contacting the police to search through the *****'s house. On 9/11/14 we received word that the warehouse in New York located a vault containing cartons that belonged to the *****'s. The vault was incorrectly scanned under another customer's name (*******). We notified Mr. *****'s that a vault was located and delivery of the vault occurred on Monday, September 15th. An adjuster was assigned by our insurer to be present during the delivery of this vault to identify items that were claimed as missing which were found in the vault. The process went on into Tuesday, September 16th. Since this time, Mr.and Mrs. ****** have emailed replacement quotes from the internet for their damaged items. The adjuster assigned by our insurer has gathered all of the information and is compiling a report to submit to our insurer so they may begin to compensate Mr. and Mrs. ****** for the damaged items. The adjuster is trying to get this report completed and to our insurer by Tuesday, September 30th. Additionally, our insurer called Mr. ****** this morning to let him know that they are open to advancing them some compensation for their damages, however, they cannot do so based on the emails they have received. They need a report from the adjuster who was at the *****'s residence. This has been a very unfortunate situation. We sincerely apologize to Mr.and Mrs. ****** for the inconvenience and trauma this has caused. Their claim will be addressed by our insurer. They will let Mr. and Mrs. ****** know what if any additional information they will require in order to issue compensation for the items claimed. The contact information for our insurer is as follows: ************** Marine Claims Adjuster ************************************ ******************************* Chicago, Illinois 60606 USA Office: +************** Fax: +************** E-mail: **************@agcs.allianz.com Thank you. ************* Director of Claims Berger Transfer and Storage Phone) ************ ******@bergerallied.com

9/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gross negligence and incompetence resulted in substantial damage to our belongings. Inadequate compensation and poor customer service. My wife and I used Berger Transfer in Houston, TX for a move in June 2014. The packing crew failed to complete a proper inventory and mishandled many of our belongings. This resulted in several thousands of dollars of damage to items, including sentimental items, one-of-a-kind pieces of artwork, and other irreplaceable items. Most of our furniture was also damaged or completely destroyed. The damage was astounding. At our new home in Indiana, the movers who unloaded the truck said it was the worst move they have ever seen in 25 years in the business. 30% of the boxes were ripped, crushed, or torn from improper packing and handling; 31% of our items were damaged; several pieces of furniture were completely destroyed. The claims process was slow and resulted in a settlement far less than the value of our damaged items, time, and stress as a result of this move. They also denied liability for items that went missing during the move, using the erroneous and incomplete inventory completed by the packers as justification. Despite the gross negligence and incompetence on the part of the packers and movers, Berger refused to refund any of the $1,400 we paid to have our items professionally packed. Their negligence, lack of respect for customers and property, and unwillingness to be held accountable are absolutely deplorable and unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: We seek to have the packing fee of $1,449 refunded. The packers were responsible for extensive damage to our belongings. The service was completely unacceptable and indeed detrimental .

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/16) */ ***** **** contracted with Allied Vanlines to perform their move from College Station TX, to Great Bend, IN. They were packed on 6/10/14, loaded on 6/11 and delivered on 6/21. Mr. **** contacted ************ the CSR on 6/23 to report his claim and how to begin the claims process. The Allied claims department received the completed claim form. Allied claims went through their due Diligence during the claims settlement process. They either replaced or repaired most of the items listed. There was a chair, shelf and bookcase that were denied because the damage was noted on the inventory prior to loading. They also could not substantiate or support the amount claimed on books that were "crushed". $150 was allowed for the books. Mr.**** was issued a check from Allied for $2555, had items repaired and received a free debris pick up as well. Mr. **** also wanted to be compensated for (1) the time spent during the claim process for him and his wife's PHD rate of $50 each at 58 hours = $2900. (2) $1000 emotional distress caused from the claim (3)full refund of packing services $1449. Allied denied all three. We truly regret that a claim occurred. We strive everyday to be the very best we can be. In this case, Allied Vanlines settled the claim fairly and ethically. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response simply explains what happened. It does not address my complaint. Allied has repeatedly claimed that they have done their "due diligence" and acted "fairly and ethically". I have no doubt that they feel they have acted that way, but as the consumer, I wholeheartedly disagree. This company acted with serious negligence and carelessness for our belongings. When asked to make it right, they offered us a mediocre settlement and took little to no responsibility for the actions of their employees. Unacceptable.

7/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Very poor customer service by Moving Coordinator, extremely poor communication and ultimately a late delivery. Fraudulent billing. I am very frustrated with Berger, a company that belongs under the Allied Van Lines company. While the initial process of scheduling, recieving the quote and the initial request was easy and straight forward, everything since then has been completely unprofessional and frustrating. There are the multiple areas where Berger has failed to do what they said they would do in the signed contract/quote: My house hold goods were not picked up on the scheduled Pick Up date on 2 JUN 2014. As scheduled and coordinated through myself, the Ft. Stewart Army Base Transportation Office and A-1 Horton (the government contracted Non-Temporary Storage location in Atlanta, GA, where my goods have been in storage during my recent deployment), my goods were not picked up on 2 JUN 2014. Not only were they not picked up as scheduled, but I had no idea that they had not been picked up until A-1 Horton emailed me this fact on Friday, 6 JUN 2014. I was not able to physically be there at the pick up site, due to the fact that my new job started on 2 JUN. Berger ensured me that this was not an issue, and that no representative was required. Obviously by me not being there nor having a local representative, meant that the date came and went with no notice by Berger. I was not notified by Berger that my items were not picked up on 2 JUN 2014 by my Moving Coordinator, Ms. *************. It was A-1 Horton that emailed me regarding the no call-no show by Berger on the coordinated date of pickup. When I found out my items had not been picked up, I called Ms. ******* to inquire as to the lack of communication. There was only excuses of why the driver was not able to pick up my items, due to an incorrect estimates and a full truck. She did not offer any resolution to the situation. She then asked me if I would like the number of the driver to contact him regarding when he could pick up my items. This was ridiculous! This is HER JOB as my moving coordinator! Ms. ******* is consistently clueless as what is happening with my items and agrees to things she never follows through on; such as forwarding me the email of her direct supervisor, and when I requested written documentation regarding the fact that Berger will pay all fees associated with leaving my items in government contracted sotrage past the date of 7 JUN 2014. On 10 JUN 2014 and there was still no confirmation of a driver scheduled to pick up my household goods. Per my quote, the last day of scheduled delivery is 13 JUN 2014, which is becoming less and less likely, due to the transportation time. Delivery slipped to 19 JUN, I had to scramble to find someone to take delivery at my new apartment, as I had a work trip scheduled out of town. I thought my issues would be over after delivery, but they continued. Ms. ******* assessed a "Shuttle Fee" to my delivery charges that she hand-wrote in onto my moving quote. This was despite the fact that I had confirmed with a previous agent with Berger, Mr. ************* and her, and both the pick up and drop off locations that a tractor trailer would have easy access and that this charge would not be necessesary. Well, wouldn't you know, after seeing a higher than expected credit card charge from Berger, I requested an itemized list of charges, where I saw the hand written in Shuttle Fee. I was livid. After two emails to Ms. ******* and her supervisor, Mr. ******, a week apart, I got zero response to the incorrect charge. It was not until after I filed a Charge Dispute with my credit card, AMEX, and sent a third email to Ms. ******* and Mr. ******, that I got any response. Mr. ****** has promised a credit of the Shuttle Fee. We'll see if that happens. I understand that the summer time is a busy time of the year for moving companies, but this negligence with a lack of communication is inexcusable. I am constantly calling Ms. ******* for some sort of status on my items. She is incompetent and never knows what is going on.

Desired Settlement: Requesting refund of fraudulently charged "Shuttle Fee" of $497.20.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/30) */ Berger did have the shuttle charge of $497.20 on the paperwork so the crew that loaded the mini storage at origin did take a smaller truck to load and our biller billed for the shuttle. upon receiving our customers complaint and researching the accessibility of the storage unit, it does look like the shuttle was not needed. Berger agreed to a full shuttle refund of $497.20 and the refund has already been returned to our customer. We received an email from Ms. ******** that she received the full refund. We would like to extend our appologies to Ms. ******** for any inconveniences caused by Berger Transfer & Storage.

7/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Issues involving loading and transporting of goods, estimation of weight/price, and unloading and storing of goods in the storage facility Taken from an email excerpt of correspondence with business (damage to goods was found after inspection): First, the loading and transporting of goods. As you see from the first picture below, our items that were loaded onto the truck did not fit in the container itself. Many of our items were placed in the truck cab and others (including our mattresses) were shrink wrapped and placed on the back of the truck. We were not aware of this being standard protocol, per *****, and were not informed until the very end that this would be taking place. We were/are concerned about the security and condition (we have not been able to inspect and verify as of yet) of our items. The temperatures and rainy conditions were not ideal for transporting goods outside of the container and the security of items in the cab and outside of the container is very concerning. We will be able to inspect and verify our goods at the beginning of July and are hoping we don't run into any issues. Second, the estimation of weight and price. The estimated weight of our shipment was 7000 lbs. as ***** stated in his previous email. The final weight came in at 8410 lbs., over a 16% difference. We decided not to ship some items that were part of the original estimate to save on cost. These items included: Grill - ~125 lbs. Exercise weights - 256 lbs. Adirondack Chairs - ~40 lbs. Large Screen TV - ~50 lbs. Many items from mudroom and bedroom closets - ~100 lbs. (conservative) If you were to include these in the shipment, it would've totaled ~8981 lbs., over a 28% difference. In *****'s email, he states that the actually quantity of items shipped was much greater than the estimate. Could you please pass along the documentation of the estimate which states the quantity of items, I don't have anything that states this. Whether measured by quantity or weight, the estimation that was given to us was significantly different than the actually, which in turn caused an elevated cost we were not prepared for. I also believe in your estimate it states if the charges for services is greater than 10%, the customer is required to pay 110% of the estimate and the remaining charges 30 days after delivery. Our estimate was $5179.87 and our final bill was $5808.03. This was $110.17 over what should have been charged initially and adds more question in our minds about level of service. Lastly, I would like to talk about the unloading and storing of items in the ****, ** facility. ***** and I took a trip out to **** last weekend to search for a home. During our trip we took the time to go to the storage facility to inspect our items. We were extremely surprised at how our items were placed in storage. We were told in the very beginning that Berger-Allied is very experienced and professional in unloading in storage facilities. By the estimation of goods at the beginning, ***** recommended a 10 x 20 storage shed and said they would make full use of the space. He also mentioned they would place an aisle down the middle, not stacking goods to the ceiling, and placing things in an organized fashion to make it easily accessible for us. This was a huge selling point in your service as it seemed there was great care placed in our things and we would be able to hit the ground running when we arrived in ****. You can see from the second picture below why we were extremely disappointed when we arrived at the storage facility last Thursday. Our items were stacked to the ceiling (8' ceilings) and there was approximately 6-8' of floor space left in the front of the storage locker. I think ***** made a fair recommendation on the locker size but nothing that was stated previously was followed. It was stated in a previous email that the items looked to be in good condition. We have yet to verify since we were not able to get at the majority of items and will not be able to until the beginning of July (this includes the items that were stored outside of the container in transit).

Desired Settlement: We are looking for financial compensation to reconcile the issues we have had with Berger. We are looking for a refund of $623.16 to cover the over estimation on the initial quote. We are also looking for a replacement cost of $1000 for the items that were damaged in storage. This includes file cabinets, houseware items, bedding, etc.. Lastly, we are looking for $500 to cover the cost of time dealing with this situation and away from my normal job. The total proposed settlement would be $2123.16. I have a lengthy email to provide that details the entire interaction of the Berger associate and myself outlining the issues, admittance of inadequate service, and the lack of agreement on a proposed settlement. I also have a website created that shows pictures of our items in storage and the damage that was done. I can also provide additional pictures taken outlining the loading and storage of our items.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/07/15) */ I have been in constant contact with the customer once the shipment arrived in Oregon and have tried to help with whatever we could in the process. I have been turned down by the customer with each offering. There has been four issues that concerned the customer, the final weight was more than the estimated weight, the items that did not fit in the body of the truck, which were wrapped and "tail gated", the way the shipment was stacked in the mini storage,and the damaged items. The estimate was based on actual weight of the shipment obtained when the truck was weighted the day of loading. The customer was aware it was only an educated guess and was aware of the legal contract and signed for it. The estimated weight was 7,000 lbs and the final weight, once actually weighed was 8,140 lbs. This resulted in the final charges to be $628.14 higher than the estimate. As a sign of good faith, I offered to pay some of the cost to move the customer's belongings from the mini storage to their new home. They declined my offer of approximately $210.00. Concerning the tail gating, stacking in the mini storage and resulting damages, Berger Transfer did not haul the shipment. A moving company out of Washington state hauled the shipment. That portion was out of our control, however, because the customer booked with us, I offered to help cover the damages. That offer was refused. There is not much more we can do. We had a contract and followed it, we were not the hauler, but offered help as a goodwill offering. The damaged items in question were not even packed by us. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/07/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The representative at Berger has been in contact with me throughout the process albeit sometimes taking over 10 days for a response. I would not deem this as constant. I have turned down two offers that Berger has offered. The first having a team rearrange the storage facility that they packed not according to what was sold in the original agreement. This was denied because it did not serve a purpose at the time and may have only caused more mishandling and damage to our goods. The second was an offering to cover 16% off an hourly charge of $131/hour to move our goods from the storage facility into our new residence. At an estimate of 8 hours, that calculates to a $167.68 discount, not $210 as was stated in the previous response. This was turned down due to the fact that with these additional moving costs along with our previous moving costs it would give us a discount of $168.68 on a total moving bill of $6843.03, less than a 2.5% discount. This did not seem justifiable. The original weight estimate of the move was off by a significant amount from the final weight, even when we removed ~571 lbs of goods that was originally estimated. This is after a representative went through our home and we identified everything that was going to be shipped. His original estimate, had we shipped everything that was identified, was off by over 28%. The legal contract also stated that they would only bill for 110% of the estimate and the remaining would be due 30 days after delivery. They collected all money from the credit card ($110.17 over their contract obligations) after delivery. I have never refused Berger to help cover damages. In our email correspondence, I stated that I had filed a complaint with the BBB and "Dependent on the outcome of the complaint, I will decide whether to fill out the claim damage form on your website.". I also find it very difficult to understand how Berger is passing blame to a third-party moving company. This is a contractor of Berger and Berger must take full responsibility of that contractor's actions. We were not even aware that a third-party was involved until this point. Due to the discrepancies noted above in response to the Berger representative's comments, I am now questioning the integrity and honesty of Berger as a company.

11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Berger Allied broke my stuff and won't pay for it. Berger Allied had their sales agent come to my house. He had me sign a contract. They broke several items in the move. Their delivery agent admitted fault in breaking the items and said it would be paid for. Its been several months and their insurance carrier is refusing to pay to replace the broken items. These people are terrible don't use their service.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to pay for what they broke. Their delivery agent said they would. Now their insurance carrier won't pay for things.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/25) */ Hello, I have reviewed Mr. *****'s complaint as well as his claim which was settled by Allied Van Lines. Mr. ***** filed a claim for a dresser - he paid $250.00 in 2010, and claimed $500.00, a brass lamp (gift), coffee cup, saucer and small plates (gift), and a missing power cord for a television $10.00. The valuation Mr. ***** chose carried a $250.00 deductible. The Allied adjuster who handled his claim issued a settlement as follows: Dresser $250.00, Table lamp $80.00, dishware $40.00, power cord $10.00 less the $250.00 deductible. A check in the amount of $130.00 was issued to Mr. *****. Mr. ***** sent a letter to the adjuster disagreeing with the settlement and indicating that he did not know that he only had one type of coverage. He thought that both applied. Additionally, he requested compensation for a $68.00 fee to assemble his IKEA dresser as well as a $99.00 delivery fee. He also requested an additional amount of $35.00 for his dishware. His letter was reviewed by a different individual at Allied. She agreed to issue an additional $35.00 for the dishware and advised Mr. ***** that they do not pay for assembly and shipping fees until the expense is incurred. She asked Mr. ***** to forward the receipt for these expenses and he would be reimbursed. She also send Mr. ***** information from the interstate tariff which outlined valuation options. There is only one valuation for a shipment, not two. There is a guaranteed price pledge which was signed by Mr. ***** in which he chose coverage with a $250.00 deductible. It is unfortunate damage occured as a result of Mr. *****'s relocation, however, his claim was handled appropriatly by Allied Van Lines. Mr. *****'s complaint indicates that our insurance carrier won't pay to replace the broken items. We do not offer insurance with a move as we are not licensed to sell insurance, what is offered is valuation which is through Allied Van Lines and Allied has not refused to pay for the damage, they have simply settled the claim according to the coverage selected and paid for by Mr. *****. We wish our response could be more favorable, however, we hope you understand our position in this matter. ************** Director of Claims Berger Transfer and Storage Phone) ************ ******@bergerallied.com

10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: provided a claim on 4/8/13 and have yet to receive a response after several attempts. Delivery occured on 3/27/13. A claim was submitted on 4/8/13. An adjuster came to our home approximately 4 weeks after claim submittal. Our claim included damage to several pieces of expensive furniture. In addition to the furniture, our claim also included home damage such as door frames, stair wall (patch of paint and stucco removed, and damaged stair bannister). We were informed by claim adjuster, ******, that the furniture would be covered by the standard rate (we did not purchase additional insurance), but that our home damages would not be covered. She informed me that the policy stated that customers had to inform Berger of home damages the same day of the delivery. My response was that that policy was not in the Berger contract I was provided and that the delivery men did not inform me of that policy. In June I spoke to a manager about the details of the damage and was promised a response within a couple of days. It is now October,10, 2013 and I have yet to receive a response. To make matters worse, on September 28, 2013 one of our sons went to go lay down on our king bed and the bed and frame collapsed while he was on the bed. He was hurt in the process and was also very scared. While inspecting the cause, we discovered that the delivery men did not assemble the bed frame correctly. There was a missing piece that held up the frame. Rather than informing us of the lost part, they put the frame together without notifying us. I am now extremely concerned about how our children's beds were put together. I would like Berger to address the damages cited on our claim and to address the incident that took place with my son and our bed and frame. I would like all repairs made to our furniture and for someone to come out and inspect the other beds that were assembled.

Desired Settlement: We want our furniture repaired and our home damage repaired. We want an inspector to come out and confirm that all the other beds in our home were assembled properly. We want to discuss with Berger the incident that took place with our son.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/18) */ Hello, I have spoken with **************** and discussed a settlement with her. She has agreed to this settlement and advised she would advise the BBB that her complaint has been resolved. Thank you! ************* Director of Claims Berger Transfer and Storage Phone) ************ ******@bergerallied.com


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Berger Transfer & Storage, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart